2017- Challengers to the 'Big 5'

Replying To royaldunne:  "Id say Louth v Meath would be in navan should it happen the wee beat Wicklow, if Wicklow prevail I expect it to be in aughrim .
I do think the potential meeting between ourselves and Louth and Kildare and Laois would be a excellent double header."
Royaldunne are you all set for Sunday for the Cilles match? I heard all the Dubs feel at home in Bettystown with all the Cilles bunting put up in the area. Betty might make his return if the Cilles win this Sunday.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/10/2016 13:37:05    1926231

Looks like Cavan have a realistic chance of an Ulster final; as do Fermanagh, Monaghan, Armagh & Down as we are all on the opposite side of the draw to Donegal/Derry/Tyrone.

It gives some encouragement seeing some other posters saying good things about Cavan improving and being competitive but to be honest, I was at the All Ireland Semi's and having seen the standard and then having watched the 2 finals, I dont hold out much hope. We need at least a COnor McManus type of forward to really kick on. Maybe he is looking for a transfer? ;)

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 14/10/2016 14:30:39    1926254

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Mononghan are a one man outfit and will struggle to make the Ulster final from the preliminary round. They will have to beat Fermanagh, Cavan and Armagh probably to even make the final. Roscommon are very poor as they proved in this years championship.
ulster83 (Tyrone) - Posts:19 - 14/10/2016 09:19:26 1926056

We may be a one man outfit but we are one hell of a one man outfit. And i tell you this we are enough of a one man outfit to brush past Fermanagh Cavan and Armagh because in all seriousness there isn't one player in these counties that comes near to being able to mark our ONE MAN."
Yet Connor McManus was held scoreless from play until Fermanagh got reduced to 14 men with 10 minutes to go the last time they played...

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 14/10/2016 15:25:36    1926279

Replying To pdempsey:  "One of Dublin, Mayo or Kerry will win All Ireland. Tyrone may challenge but I'd be surprised if they can beat any of the top 3. Rest of teams are also rans (in terms of winning All Ireland) and I'd be very surprised if any of them get within an arses roar of the top 3 once we get to Quarter Final Stage."
None of the team's you mentioned might not even get to the final. Mayo had a lot of luck this year, they did not look like a top two or three team in the summer.
Had Tyrone or Donegal made the AI final neither would have been a walkover to Dublin or anyone else.
We are a long way off from Sept 17 so lots of things can happen
One thing I have a felling is the black card will be used next year more often and it should be to cut out all the cynical play.
A few teams like Kerry Donegal will have new lads playing, Donegal has had good u21/18 teams in the last few years and Kerry has had good minors. Tyrone have as much a chance of winning Sam as Mayo have especially as I thought Mayo were lucky to beat them this year. The missed goal cost Tyrone that day in my book Also with A Walsh declaring for the cork footballers they could well win Munster.
Dublin look assured in Leinster but you will have the likes of Tyrone / Donegal coming through the back door and they will be tough enough for anyone at the q final stage
To sum up if Dublin were out of the running there would be more than Kerry or Mayo fighting it out.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 14/10/2016 16:58:04    1926314

Replying To OLLIE:  "Royaldunne are you all set for Sunday for the Cilles match? I heard all the Dubs feel at home in Bettystown with all the Cilles bunting put up in the area. Betty might make his return if the Cilles win this Sunday."
Oh 100% Ollie cant wait. Yeah the dubs probably think its to honor them :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/10/2016 18:20:03    1926323

Replying To ulster83:  "1. Dublin - Seemed to be running out of steam as the season went on and this will give everyone else hope
2. Kerry - Should be stronger this year and best of the rest
3. Donegal / Tyrone - Nothing between these 2 Donegal should have beaten us in Ulster this year and they seem to have more Youth coming through whereas Tyrone lack full forward line. Expect a bug Ulster push from Donegal this year
5. Mayo - Falling back into the pack too many miles on the clock they have been on the road since 2011
6. Cork - Always capable of a big upset and should be more organised this year
7. Cavan - Could have Beaten Tyrone this year and with the new manager in place can push on
8. Tipp - Can be dangerous in the qualifiers again
9. Fermanagh - Very Dangerous for anyone again, dark horse for Ulster, should have beaten Mayo this year only for some dreadful sportsmanship in the Mayo Camp
10. Meath - Will they be stronger now with McAntee in charge? Im not so sure they dont seem to have anything coming through.

Clare, Derry, Monaghan, Roscommon would be best of the rest
Realistically only Dublin, Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone can challenge"
What utter rubbish.......Mayo were the 2nd best team in the country last year and have been the most consistent team in the country (excluding Dublin) the past 4-5 years, to have them behind Donegal and Tyrone is complete madness. I would also argue that Mayo are better than Kerry but that's not as clear cut.

Ultimately if anyone apart from Dublin, Mayo or Kerry win it will be a shock. Teams who could possibly beat the above 3 with some improvement include Donegal and Tyrone. Outside this Monaghan, Tipp, Meath, Cavan, Cork, Galway, Roscommon, Clare and Fermanagh are most likely to reach a quarter final but have no chance of winning an All Ireland in 2017 - If any of those got to a semi final it would be a great achievement.

razor425 (Roscommon) - Posts: 45 - 17/10/2016 21:58:02    1927105

Kerry haven't beaten Dublin for a while think it's before 2011 so they are due a victory, the same with Tyrone against Mayo, think it's before 04 since Tyrone last beat Mayo in the championship, will 2017 be their year, don't bet against it. In 2017 if the 4 provincial winners make the All Ireland semis it's Ulster v Leinster and Munster v Connacht so potentially you could be looking at a Kerry v Mayo and Donegal/ Monaghan v Dublin (it would be very hard for a team to win 2 in a row in Ulster) so I think Tyrone will enter the qualifiers and make the quarter finals at least. Unless Cork make a decent try at Munster it's hard to look past Kerry, would love to see someone other than Cork Kerry winning that crown, probably Mayo maybe Roscommon (doubt if Galway make 2 in a row in Connacht). Dublin with a walkover in Leinster, wouldn't even break a sweat, Ulster is Donegal Monaghan or Tyrone, 2 in a row? Doubtful.
My prediction Kerry for Sam 2017, 3 years is too long in Kerry especially with Dublin winning 2 in a row, Kerry the last team to do so, they will move heaven and earth to deny Dublin 3 in a row. The final Kerry v Tyrone (Tyrone through the qualifiers)

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 17/10/2016 23:51:08    1927130

Replying To ulster83:  "The post is about 2017 not 2016.
Tyrone and Donegal are better equiped to challenge Dublin and Kerry than Mayo are.
Mayo will struggle to go again and where lucky in 2016. All the really beat was a poor Tyrone team who didn't know how to attack, that will change this coming year and Donegal will be stronger mark my words.

Cavan and Meath both have made excellent manager appointments and will be stronger.
Mononghan are a one man outfit and will struggle to make the Ulster final from the preliminary round. They will have to beat Fermanagh, Cavan and Armagh probably to even make the final. Roscommon are very poor as they proved in this years championship."
Your post makes even less sense than your last one. How are tryone going to be so much better in attack next year? How are dongal going to be better despite losing some of there best players. Mayo were very unlucky not to win an all Ireland the are not going to fall off.
Monaghan are not a one man team the have won as much as tryone in the last few years. Roscommon had a better year then either cavan/Meath and have better players then both.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 18/10/2016 00:14:06    1927133

I've said this on another thread but if we can get Neil Gallagher back for one last year injury free then there might be a sting in the tail of this supposedly finished Donegal team. Obviously there is a big difference between club and county levels but the big man was absolutely superb in Sunday's county final. He really dictated things from midfield, totally dominating the physical exchanges and spraying passes around. Himself and Murphy have a great understanding and they compliment each other so well. When Gallagher needed a breather Murphy came out from full forward to midfield for a few minutes. I can see no reason why something similar couldn't work in the county colours.

The only thing is that Glenswilly have a potential Ulster winning campaign ahead of them. Both players could probably do with a nice long winter break but it is what it is.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9147 - 18/10/2016 09:28:34    1927152

Replying To ROS1:  "Your post makes even less sense than your last one. How are tryone going to be so much better in attack next year? How are dongal going to be better despite losing some of there best players. Mayo were very unlucky not to win an all Ireland the are not going to fall off.
Monaghan are not a one man team the have won as much as tryone in the last few years. Roscommon had a better year then either cavan/Meath and have better players then both."
roscommon would not have better players than Cavan. Would be really concerned this year in division 1 about Roscommon they are on course to ship some MASSIVE defeats. Think Joe Brolly was right about them even though i dont agree with him much. Also Roscommons treatment of Fergal O Donnell was appaling

ulster83 (Tyrone) - Posts: 114 - 18/10/2016 11:05:26    1927186

Replying To ulster83:  "roscommon would not have better players than Cavan. Would be really concerned this year in division 1 about Roscommon they are on course to ship some MASSIVE defeats. Think Joe Brolly was right about them even though i dont agree with him much. Also Roscommons treatment of Fergal O Donnell was appaling"
Ye are first up ulster
Take it easy on us yet being a super power

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 18/10/2016 11:20:00    1927194

MesAmis (Dublin) -Most Dublin football folk that I have spoken to would say the one team they were afraid off was Tyrone. Mayo were lucky to get to final (and unlucky in the final) and of course the can improve. They are a very good side but the manager will also have to improve.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/10/2016 11:42:30    1927200

Replying To browncows:  "MesAmis (Dublin) -Most Dublin football folk that I have spoken to would say the one team they were afraid off was Tyrone. Mayo were lucky to get to final (and unlucky in the final) and of course the can improve. They are a very good side but the manager will also have to improve."
I'm not most Dublin folk though ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13713 - 18/10/2016 11:47:24    1927202

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Ye are first up ulster
Take it easy on us yet being a super power"
Still think most people will fancy Tyrone for All ireland in 2017 with Dublin Tiring, Tyrone will be majority of country's bet to dominate for next few years

ulster83 (Tyrone) - Posts: 114 - 18/10/2016 12:52:12    1927221

I'm not most Dublin folk though ;)
MesAmis (Dublin

very clever to deduce that!!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/10/2016 13:10:02    1927230

Ulster83 - Do not underestimate Dublin, they will be eager to replace any tiring players, they have players on the fringes and they have time to look at the county championship to unearth new talent. Jack McCaffery will be back which will be a big boost. Players such as Cormac Costlloe,
Con O'Callaghan and Conor McHugh should refresh any team.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 18/10/2016 13:22:05    1927234

Replying To Whammo86:  "Mayo were not lucky in 2016.

Their defence was excellent. Whilst their attack was a bit weak I don't think they'd swap theirs for Tyrone's. They'll challenge again this year.

Tyrone are solid but they really seem to rely on the likes of the Cavanaghs, Harte and Donnelly to see them through. Their support cast, McCarron excluded, to those players really needs to improve for them to be in proper contention."
Tyrone will be playing division 1 football this year again

That's important. as every other counties fans reminded us all year

They developed a game plan that worked quite well against the teams it had to in division 2 and Derry, Cavan replay.

It wasn't as effective after that, probably because Donegal and Mayo were division 1 teams and they make a lot less mistakes and the game plan thrived on turnovers

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 18/10/2016 13:44:26    1927242

Replying To riverboys:  "Kerry haven't beaten Dublin for a while think it's before 2011 so they are due a victory, the same with Tyrone against Mayo, think it's before 04 since Tyrone last beat Mayo in the championship, will 2017 be their year, don't bet against it. In 2017 if the 4 provincial winners make the All Ireland semis it's Ulster v Leinster and Munster v Connacht so potentially you could be looking at a Kerry v Mayo and Donegal/ Monaghan v Dublin (it would be very hard for a team to win 2 in a row in Ulster) so I think Tyrone will enter the qualifiers and make the quarter finals at least. Unless Cork make a decent try at Munster it's hard to look past Kerry, would love to see someone other than Cork Kerry winning that crown, probably Mayo maybe Roscommon (doubt if Galway make 2 in a row in Connacht). Dublin with a walkover in Leinster, wouldn't even break a sweat, Ulster is Donegal Monaghan or Tyrone, 2 in a row? Doubtful.
My prediction Kerry for Sam 2017, 3 years is too long in Kerry especially with Dublin winning 2 in a row, Kerry the last team to do so, they will move heaven and earth to deny Dublin 3 in a row. The final Kerry v Tyrone (Tyrone through the qualifiers)"
2008 enroute to Sam ;-)

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 18/10/2016 13:54:11    1927246

Replying To ulster83:  "Still think most people will fancy Tyrone for All ireland in 2017 with Dublin Tiring, Tyrone will be majority of country's bet to dominate for next few years"
Admire your confidence. I wouldn't be so sure of an AI for Tyrone unless they unearth some better inside forwards. Cavanagh's ability to play will also be critical (another year in the legs, maybe more injury prone). I think Tyrone and Mayo are similar in that they don't have enough top class forwards. Top teams definitely, but I'd still fancy Kerry to come through the pack, simply because of their scoring ability.

...and you never know... if Donegal actually start using our forwards properly, we could give anyone a run

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 18/10/2016 14:16:57    1927256

Replying To himachechy:  "Admire your confidence. I wouldn't be so sure of an AI for Tyrone unless they unearth some better inside forwards. Cavanagh's ability to play will also be critical (another year in the legs, maybe more injury prone). I think Tyrone and Mayo are similar in that they don't have enough top class forwards. Top teams definitely, but I'd still fancy Kerry to come through the pack, simply because of their scoring ability.

...and you never know... if Donegal actually start using our forwards properly, we could give anyone a run"
I don't think he's talking about his own personal opinion, I think he's talking about public opinion.

Things like Barry Cahill coming out 2 days after the final to say Tyrone would be Dublin's main rival next year etc.

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 18/10/2016 15:07:03    1927274