Resentment of the greats - Dublin Only?

Replying To realman2:  "What's weird for me is that Dublin don't seem fully comfortable in glorying in their status as probably the best team we have ever seen since the Kerry side of the 70s & 80s. They are playing down their dominance. The weirdest thing is that Dublin I think have lost 1 game across league and championship in 2 years and no one is even mentioning it. Like that is complete history; no team ever done that I would imagine. If it were Kildare or any other county we'd be rubbing it in every other county's faces but Dublin seem more intent on focusing on how tough it was too win the All ireland rather than bathing in the glory of an incredible record breaking season. Just find it weird."
You are correct it seems this level of success has caught Dublin supporters by surprise like a pauper winning the lotto.
I was thinking to myself that Fenton could retire now like an undefeated boxer 29-0 and he has two Sams, two leinsters two leagues and one all-star (most likely two). Which is mad altogether.

The players attitude is summed up by Connolly was asked after the AI "How does it feel to win the all-ireland, a back to back?"
He said "We do not see it as defending we go out to win it for this year"

Personally I think no Dub wants it to end anytime soon, so there is fear of sitting back and admiring achievements and living on past glories.
Also most Dublin fans are not used to this level of success and don't really know what the done thing is
Dublin fans are not quiet by nature and the Kerry quiet smugness would not work. So most of the talk among Dubs fans is "can it continue?" "who will beat us" "any retirements"?.
There are a few generations of Dubs fans who are used to being pessimistic about the teams chances can we compete with the Ulster teams, Meath and Kerry etc. Between 95-11 Dublin never even got to a final. 83 was a punch up and the 70's team was just folklore.

There is already talk about not mentioning the treble by Cian O'Sullivan!

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/10/2016 18:46:50    1923453

What difference does it make what anybody else says or doesn't say about this great side. If they like us , great, and if they don't well let them go sh1te. There's begrudgers and whingers in every walk of life so it's not going to be any different in GAA.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/10/2016 18:47:17    1923454

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "No they certainly aren't and they certainly aren't shy when they win, it was particularly annoying when we were strong in the football in the noughties but to try and paint Kerry in the same light as Dublin is absolutely laughable.

They are devoted (obsessed even) to Football and have organically developed their Footballing Culture over the past 100 years + they certainly didn't receive undue assistance from the hierarchy to get to the top

I think it's wrong to say people don't respect the players themselves greatly and their talents , it's just everyone can see the huge assistance the GAA has given the organisation as a whole over the last decade and how increasingly hard it will be for anyone to compete realistically in the long-term with them. It kinda feels pre-ordained that Dublin are going to win bagfuls of AI's in the future before a ball has been kicked"
Ah yes, the organically developed football heroes as opposed to the manufactured argument. It's never a case that the other team won, it's always that Kerry lost right? If only life was that simple but unfortunately hurlingwarrior, Dublin have developed players organically as well despite what some might claim and have beaten Kerry because they were a better team just like Tyrone or Down or Donegal in the last 6 years.
Funny that a poster from Limerick should appear today (with all 9 posts to his name so far) and weigh in with such an argument I've heard Kerry people spout over many many years.
We were only talking about other posters who we haven't seen around here in a while funnily enough, makes me wonder.....

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/10/2016 19:07:24    1923462

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Some incredible shite being spouted here by a load of bitter u know whats!"
Enjoy it, that's when you we've "made it" :D

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/10/2016 19:10:45    1923463

The petty threads continue. Dublin are respected. Some people will have a pop, some with valid points, some not so valid. But some Dublin posters a look in the mirror as well, some tripe being posted by them as well. This thread is pointless, what response were you expecting? Who cares? Enjoy your success. Who gives a toss whether people like you are not?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/10/2016 19:29:07    1923466

Ha dubh_linn, high brow indeed and a lot of journalistic waffle around the main point being made. The clue though that it wasn't my words were the title and authors name at the very start of the post - I would have been far more straight to the point... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/10/2016 19:29:13    1923467

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "The Kilkenny hurling team are lauded and praised to the hilt by the GAA community.

When the Ulster football teams had the great run in the 90s it was viewed as a "breath of fresh air".

When Kerry and Tyrone had their recent period of prolonged success they were viewed as tenacious, marvellous footballing teams .The word tenacious would have been used in spades with tyrone.

When Galway won their two recent football all-irelands they were viewed as "swashbuckling, flair team".

When Meath had their period of success they were viewed as "never day die never give up, tough as anything"

When Cork won back to back AI in the football and were successful in hurling when that period is spoken of Teddy McCarthy is called the last great dual player in Gaelic Games.

The great Kerry team of the 70s and 80s who could have won 8 in a row only for Seamus Darby! They are now lauded in hushed tones and misty eyes as the greatest football team in the history of the GAA.

Dublin have a period of success comparable to the Kerry team of the last decade. The response? THEY BOUGHT IT

My question is why is this Dublin team the only great team who is resented?

If they are the begrudger's choice, they must surely get the title of the most resented team in the history of the GAA?"
Just enjoy it ffs and stop letting the begrudgers get to you. Youve a fantastic team full of born and bred dubs who ye should be proud of.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 06/10/2016 19:39:15    1923469

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Ha dubh_linn, high brow indeed and a lot of journalistic waffle around the main point being made. The clue though that it wasn't my words were the title and authors name at the very start of the post - I would have been far more straight to the point... ;-)"
I'm sure you would, I'm sure you would with glee ;-)
I get the points made in that article alright and it's not the first time they have been wheeled out either.Every year Dublin do well we have them raised. Yes ,the GAA invested in Dublin but I believe it was investment that was badly needed as Dublin have serious competition from other sports and with the poor state of hurling in the city it has most definitetly benefited that code too.Dublin winning all Ireland's I think is not to the detriment of the game but a huge boost to it. At the risk of sounding smug,I think this team plays bloody good football and are a great advertisement for the game.it's simply a cycle we are benefiting from and it will come to an end.Of course there will always be imbalances in resources in every sport.We are making hay while the sun shines and God knows we were getting pi**ed on for long enough. I get the point he's making though.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/10/2016 20:21:17    1923484

it's great when Kerry win the All Ireland. They go home and go about their business and you don't hear from them again for months.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 06/10/2016 20:21:29    1923485

Replying To keithlemon:  "Ah yes, the organically developed football heroes as opposed to the manufactured argument. It's never a case that the other team won, it's always that Kerry lost right? If only life was that simple but unfortunately hurlingwarrior, Dublin have developed players organically as well despite what some might claim and have beaten Kerry because they were a better team just like Tyrone or Down or Donegal in the last 6 years.
Funny that a poster from Limerick should appear today (with all 9 posts to his name so far) and weigh in with such an argument I've heard Kerry people spout over many many years.
We were only talking about other posters who we haven't seen around here in a while funnily enough, makes me wonder....."
Funny indeed Keith....also funny that we haven't seen Tonny around since the Dubs won. He apparently was from Mayo but waxed lyrical about Kerry in every post. Much like hurlingwarrior actually. Gas!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/10/2016 20:26:02    1923488

Replying To liner:  "it's great when Kerry win the All Ireland. They go home and go about their business and you don't hear from them again for months."
Liner, it's a forum for GAA discussion.The posters are anonymous . What do you expect. It's mostly BS and piss taking with almost any sensible attempt at decent discussion degenerating into a slag fest.
You'll have plenty of the Kerry experience to refresh your memory next year if you have forgotten already your last encounter.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/10/2016 20:33:59    1923493

Dublin have a period of success comparable to the Kerry team of the last decade. The response? THEY BOUGHT IT

My question is why is this Dublin team the only great team who is resented?

If they are the begrudger's choice, they must surely get the title of the most resented team in the history of the GAA?
gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts:603 - 06/10/2016 14:24:22

There is no doubt this Dublin team will be ranked amongst the greats, their back to back All Ireland's and feat of winning 4 x All Ireland's this decade will ensure that. They will likely add to this tally in the 3 remaining years of this decade, because they are a superb team. I have immense respect for the Dublin players, and Pat Gilroy and Jim Gavin management teams.

However Dublin fans will always have to contend with jibes about the vast amount of money invested over the past 8-10 years or so, and the advantages that gave them both on and off the field of play. I don't believe the Dublin team or Dublin GAA is resented, I believe fans from other counties resent the length the GAA went to in order to make Dublin successful, all in the name of keeping the game healthy in the Capital, which had to be done in fairness.

Example of Imbalance:
The 9 Counties in Ulster, with a combined population of approx 2.1 million people (Almost a 3rd of the entire Island of Ireland's population), and combined have received less than 20% of what Dublin GAA received for Games Development. And that can be averaged out over the last 6 years or so, that's a huge imbalance and hard to vindicate.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/10/2016 20:44:25    1923499

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Liner, it's a forum for GAA discussion.The posters are anonymous . What do you expect. It's mostly BS and piss taking with almost any sensible attempt at decent discussion degenerating into a slag fest.
You'll have plenty of the Kerry experience to refresh your memory next year if you have forgotten already your last encounter."
The Kerry lads know how to win!

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 06/10/2016 20:46:07    1923501

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "You are correct it seems this level of success has caught Dublin supporters by surprise like a pauper winning the lotto.
I was thinking to myself that Fenton could retire now like an undefeated boxer 29-0 and he has two Sams, two leinsters two leagues and one all-star (most likely two). Which is mad altogether.

The players attitude is summed up by Connolly was asked after the AI "How does it feel to win the all-ireland, a back to back?"
He said "We do not see it as defending we go out to win it for this year"

Personally I think no Dub wants it to end anytime soon, so there is fear of sitting back and admiring achievements and living on past glories.
Also most Dublin fans are not used to this level of success and don't really know what the done thing is
Dublin fans are not quiet by nature and the Kerry quiet smugness would not work. So most of the talk among Dubs fans is "can it continue?" "who will beat us" "any retirements"?.
There are a few generations of Dubs fans who are used to being pessimistic about the teams chances can we compete with the Ulster teams, Meath and Kerry etc. Between 95-11 Dublin never even got to a final. 83 was a punch up and the 70's team was just folklore.

There is already talk about not mentioning the treble by Cian O'Sullivan!"
Dublin are free to enjoy this run anyway they want. It's not how any other county would celebrate such an incredible run (very low-key) but up to them.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 06/10/2016 21:11:42    1923509

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I honestly disagree gorm. As a dub abroad in limk, this Dubs team is fiercely respected and as popular as ever a Dublon team can be. We have been heaped with praise. I disagree with your point buddy. I think we get plenty respect. But i will say one thing, the wiay the 2 days after the final were reported was pretty ridiculous. You would have thought 20 Mayo men took to the field and beat themselves to death with ash plants with no sign of an opposition. It was all about poor mayo"
More money to be made for the media from Mayo not winning an all Ireland and of course we oblige! What would they write about if we did win an all Ireland suppose the talk would change to Roscommon Cavan or Kildare

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 06/10/2016 21:14:17    1923510

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "
Replying To Offside_Rule:  "To those thumbs downers on that article I posted - may I refer you to one sentence in it:

If you find the facts negative or bitter, then your problem is with the facts and with reality and if you do not know money makes a telling difference, you really don't understand modern sport.

Lets see those red thumbs again .....lol"
I wouldn't even dignify that article with a red thumbs down.

Most of his article is completely subjective and biased/provocative.

Saying "Bernard Brogan might as well be commenting after an o'Byrne Cup game!"

Bernard Brogan never sounds excited the writer of the article (a lillywhite by the way) obviously has never heard any of the adverts that Bernard Brogan is in!
As for saying that Dean rock "said cliches". All GAA people say cliches! "Doing it for the parish" "These are the lads I grew up with" etc.

I noticed how the writer of the article did not use Micko's Kildare team as a reference point where a substantial number of players from other counties were head-hunted and brought to Kildare.
What brought them there?

The writer also fails to understand the complexity of problems that the GAA in Dublin have to contend with. Instead of being criticised for getting their house in order he should be praising them for their foresight and planning in light of such difficulties"
Yet the last two Kildare men with all Ireland medal were wearing cork jerseys when they wore them

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 06/10/2016 21:17:55    1923513

Replying To benched:  "The great Kerry team of the 70s and 80s who could have won 8 in a row only for Seamus Darby! They are now lauded in hushed tones and misty eyes as the greatest football team in the history of the GAA.

Dubs 83?
As for the rest - can't agree the Dubs are the only team resented for winning, happens all the time"
If Kerry had won in 1982, they would have won 5 in a row, not 8 in a row that you stated. Kerry won 4 in a row from 1978 to 1981.
Offaly won in 1982. In 1983 Kerry lost to Cork in the Munster Final and Dublin beat Cork in the semi -final. Dublin won the All-Ireland in 1983. Kerry won 3 in a row from 1984 to 1986.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 06/10/2016 21:20:26    1923514

Replying To liner:  "The Kerry lads know how to win!"
A bit sour are we !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/10/2016 21:33:45    1923515

The Kerry lads know how to win!
liner (Mayo) - Posts:708 - 06/10/2016 20:46:07

Yep, but It's the losing bit your struggling with these days

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/10/2016 21:39:51    1923518

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "A bit sour are we !"
off home they go and not a word out of them. Job done.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 06/10/2016 22:02:38    1923524