Resentment of the greats - Dublin Only?

Replying To neverright:  "Why this craving for more praise? You have a good team who have had a lot of success so why not be happy with that. There has been a paper thin margin between Dublin and Mayo over the past few years but you have won three All Ireland whilst Mayo still have to win one. Appreciate what you have and stop whining."
I am not craving for praise at all., nor am I whinging.
I am trying to figure out if there generally is a resentment against Dublin being successful
I just don't understand that other teams seem to be praised for their footballing abilities where it is justified (even by rivals).

Yet when Dublin are successful it is like a fart hanging in the air for the rest of the country and a litany of excuses are trotted out.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/10/2016 16:14:32    1923369

To those thumbs downers on that article I posted - may I refer you to one sentence in it:

If you find the facts negative or bitter, then your problem is with the facts and with reality and if you do not know money makes a telling difference, you really don't understand modern sport.

Lets see those red thumbs again .....lol

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/10/2016 16:18:25    1923371

Replying To theweanling:  "I don't fully agree with that statement, sure enough Dublin do get the lions share of the funding. that cannot be disputed. here is the link https://www.balls.ie/gaa/gaa-investment-in-dublin/348120
I'm not sure if you have a chip on your shoulder over some comments or what but there is a lot of people including myself that look at this Dublin team and hold them in the highest regard. The only time I've ever seen them live was at the league final this year and they were breath taking. For the month of April to be playing at such a high level was admirable and they kept it up and beat anything that came in there way to rightfully put their claim in as one of the best teams of the last 50 years or more......
the likes of Kilkenny, Connolly, Cooper, Brogan ( I could go on) only come about once in a while. Regardless of what funds they have these players are supremely talented. Money is only part of the equation.
However the disparity of money spent per head on players from Dublin and Mayo for example is mind boggling. Can anyone explain that?"
Money plays a part regardless of talent.

Imagine if Matty Forde, Paul Durkan, et al were from Dublin - they would be sorted with work and would be available to play county football. Do you not find it incredible that Ballyboden could fly Durkan home from the middle east for every game yet Donegal can't afford to?

I've been writing on this board a long time and the biggest change in the GAA that I have seen since I started can be summed up by the following:

There was once a post (before the days of individual threads) listing the great things about the GAA vs the
English Premier League (think it was just after Abramovic took over at Chelsea) and the final line of the post read "Roman Abramovic is trying to buy the Premier League - you can't buy Sam".
That is simply no longer the case and any notion that our game is now "amateur" has been completely lost.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 06/10/2016 16:24:44    1923375

Replying To benched:  "The great Kerry team of the 70s and 80s who could have won 8 in a row only for Seamus Darby! They are now lauded in hushed tones and misty eyes as the greatest football team in the history of the GAA.

Dubs 83?
As for the rest - can't agree the Dubs are the only team resented for winning, happens all the time"
I was going for a sustained period of dominance two or more all-irelands or where they were viewed as collective like in the 90s with the re-emergence/emergence of the Ulster teams.

But if you are going on single all-ireland's I would say it would be between Dublin 1983 and Donegal 2012 for the most resented wins in isolation for varying reasons.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/10/2016 16:26:56    1923377

Really, because you know anytime Kerry is mentioned on here there's nothing but respect, admiration and goodwill for everything we have won and done in the history of the game ...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/10/2016 16:38:43    1923385

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "To those thumbs downers on that article I posted - may I refer you to one sentence in it:

If you find the facts negative or bitter, then your problem is with the facts and with reality and if you do not know money makes a telling difference, you really don't understand modern sport.

Lets see those red thumbs again .....lol"
I find McKenna's post bitter, not the facts. Of course money plays a huge part in todays GAA, I don't think anyone, Dubs included, are disputing that.
What I would dispute is McKenna wrapping up Dublins recent success completely down to money and saying that competing teams such as Mayo are the equivalent of a non league team playing a premier league club when they face Dublin.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/10/2016 16:40:51    1923387

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "To those thumbs downers on that article I posted - may I refer you to one sentence in it:

I wouldn't even dignify that article with a red thumbs down.

Most of his article is completely subjective and biased/provocative.

Saying "Bernard Brogan might as well be commenting after an o'Byrne Cup game!"

Bernard Brogan never sounds excited the writer of the article (a lillywhite by the way) obviously has never heard any of the adverts that Bernard Brogan is in!
As for saying that Dean rock "said cliches". All GAA people say cliches! "Doing it for the parish" "These are the lads I grew up with" etc.

I noticed how the writer of the article did not use Micko's Kildare team as a reference point where a substantial number of players from other counties were head-hunted and brought to Kildare.
What brought them there?

The writer also fails to understand the complexity of problems that the GAA in Dublin have to contend with. Instead of being criticised for getting their house in order he should be praising them for their foresight and planning in light of such difficulties

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/10/2016 16:41:33    1923388

anyone who thinks Dublin are the only AI winners to recieve begrudgery or a higher level of it than other teams either only started watching the game 2 years ago or they have their head up the oul proverbial

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 06/10/2016 16:56:33    1923392

There'll be an asterisk beside the Dublin wins 2011-16. The GAA decided to manufacture a team - based, without doubt, on talented players coming through - but the funding being received is horrendously unbalanced,

When I had this argument with Dubs, they say it's the population. Dublin has (fag packet calc) 25% of the population, but get 50+% of the funding. It's based on clubs. Dublin has 3% of the clubs but 50+% of the funding. It's based on player numbers. Dubin has fewer players than Louth, Meath and Kildare combined, but get an amount that dwarfs their combined funding by a huge factor.

I saw a tweet this morning that showed that showed the funding per player and the nearest any county got was about 1/4 of what Dublin registered players get per capita. Some counties, like Tipperary, are getting ONE-TWELFTH of what Dublin are getting per player capita.

This Dublin team is a product of GAA marketing men and women. "Build it, they (sponsors) will come". Overhype Dublin and the sponsors will lap it up. It's a joke and is only hurting the game in the longer run. Dublin boyos might nyah nyah about "their" wins, but they didn't do it on their own.

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 06/10/2016 16:59:05    1923394

Replying To TheHermit:  "Really, because you know anytime Kerry is mentioned on here there's nothing but respect, admiration and goodwill for everything we have won and done in the history of the game ..."
You are doing a ridiculous amount of whiney, poor me posts on here today. Everything alright?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12123 - 06/10/2016 17:03:10    1923397

Great teams are generally only fully appreciated years after they have gone.

That's the way it is.

In the future (hopefully years and years down the line), When the cycle comes full circle and we find ourselves in the doldrums again craving an all Ireland title, Only then will this immense Dublin team get the credit they deserve.

With success, Comes an inevitable amount of envy from your rivals. Its natural. Irish people as a race absolutely HATE anything, or anyone, that is in any way successful in life because it makes themselves feel inadequate, And rest assured they will take the maximum amount of pleasure if/when a time comes that you end up failing. The more a brilliant team win, The more people will que up waiting for them to fall on their arse so they can feel joy from their misery. Coz god forbid people in life strive for anything more than average.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/10/2016 17:04:05    1923399

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "I am not craving for praise at all., nor am I whinging.
I am trying to figure out if there generally is a resentment against Dublin being successful
I just don't understand that other teams seem to be praised for their footballing abilities where it is justified (even by rivals).

Yet when Dublin are successful it is like a fart hanging in the air for the rest of the country and a litany of excuses are trotted out."
What's weird for me is that Dublin don't seem fully comfortable in glorying in their status as probably the best team we have ever seen since the Kerry side of the 70s & 80s. They are playing down their dominance. The weirdest thing is that Dublin I think have lost 1 game across league and championship in 2 years and no one is even mentioning it. Like that is complete history; no team ever done that I would imagine. If it were Kildare or any other county we'd be rubbing it in every other county's faces but Dublin seem more intent on focusing on how tough it was too win the All ireland rather than bathing in the glory of an incredible record breaking season. Just find it weird.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 06/10/2016 17:04:51    1923400

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "
Replying To Offside_Rule:  "contd...

Deep down Dublin fans know this but have long had safeguards. They mention Kilkenny and Kerry when there is no numerical comparison. They mention how close Mayo got, when they have not been beaten in 29 games, most of which are akin to the Harlem Globetrotters humiliating the Washington Generals. They mention how this is a special generation and while it is, so is the next one and the one after that - indeed this final was telling as it was not the special generation that won it, it was instead the next generation with the likes of Rock and substitute Cormac Costello proving decisive. If you find the facts negative or bitter, then you problem is with the facts and with reality and if you do not money makes a telling difference, you really don't understand modern sport.

This is not difficult stuff. In fact after that 2014 World Cup final, sitting on a beach with soccer journalists, they asked about football. From a sphere of monopolisation and big bucks, they laughed at what the GAA had done and what they had made Dublin. But no one who truly cares about and loves the game is laughing now. Sadly, it is fitting that in these years of boom for the minority and bust for the majority in Ireland, the national game has been subjected to the same sort of ultra-capitalism in a ruthless form. The governing body jumped straight into bed with its cash cow and closed the door. All we can now see is the result of what went on.

Still the GAA expect us to lap up relatively tiny projects here and there, such as their €125,000 a year offered to Kildare, Meath, Louth and Wicklow to help with coaching. But smaller counties than Dublin actually need much more money than Dublin to balance out demographic disparity. This is merely loose change being flung at a homeless man to lighten the wallet and change perception. Do not buy that for a minute for they have long since chosen their partner. Aogan O Fearghail may have physically given Cluxton the trophy at the weekend, but his organisation long ago gave it to them.

In 1989 economist Francis Fukayama wrote an essay titled The End of History in which he described the collapse of communism and the triumph of capitalism as the end of mankind's ideological evolution. Across the 2000s though we saw the triumph of capitalism in what is supposed to be an amateur sport, and the result is the end of football's history. Dublin may have predictably won, but the game is the huge loser in all of this."
Could you expand on that and go over it again. I dozed off there for a bit."
Not my article to expand on. Just read it the other day then thought it ironic in relation to the opening posts points made so just decided to share. Though you probably have dozed off by this point given your attention span or lackof .... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/10/2016 17:06:24    1923402

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "

I wouldn't even dignify that article with a red thumbs down.

Most of his article is completely subjective and biased/provocative.

Saying "Bernard Brogan might as well be commenting after an o'Byrne Cup game!"

Bernard Brogan never sounds excited the writer of the article (a lillywhite by the way) obviously has never heard any of the adverts that Bernard Brogan is in!
As for saying that Dean rock "said cliches". All GAA people say cliches! "Doing it for the parish" "These are the lads I grew up with" etc.

I noticed how the writer of the article did not use Micko's Kildare team as a reference point where a substantial number of players from other counties were head-hunted and brought to Kildare.
What brought them there?

The writer also fails to understand the complexity of problems that the GAA in Dublin have to contend with. Instead of being criticised for getting their house in order he should be praising them for their foresight and planning in light of such difficulties"
I get what you are saying gormdubhgorm - as I said in my last post there I read the opening post and the points being made then remembered that article I read the other day and smiled to myself so decided to go find it. I agree with the jist of the article (as I have posted on the GAA financing many times before on here) in that its the GAA who have created this problem - and that it's not Dublins fault as they have done good with what has been afforded to them. But for those Dubs who keep trying to dismiss the financial side as not being a factor - they are deluded.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/10/2016 17:12:14    1923409

Replying To keithlemon:  "Fair point, but the way some make out, Kerry are the Leicester City of the GAA world"
No they certainly aren't and they certainly aren't shy when they win, it was particularly annoying when we were strong in the football in the noughties but to try and paint Kerry in the same light as Dublin is absolutely laughable.

They are devoted (obsessed even) to Football and have organically developed their Footballing Culture over the past 100 years + they certainly didn't receive undue assistance from the hierarchy to get to the top

I think it's wrong to say people don't respect the players themselves greatly and their talents , it's just everyone can see the huge assistance the GAA has given the organisation as a whole over the last decade and how increasingly hard it will be for anyone to compete realistically in the long-term with them. It kinda feels pre-ordained that Dublin are going to win bagfuls of AI's in the future before a ball has been kicked

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 06/10/2016 17:13:30    1923410

Every supporter thinks their team is the best when winning and cant understand why everyone cant see it. Now from a Meath point of view we never appeared to be overly appreciated outside of our county. We felt (feel) that Cork, Mayo, Tyrone, Louth, Kildare Cavan and of course Dublin despise us. If I recall correctly in 95 at the home coming for the Dublin team the Dublin supporters were singing where you could stick the Royal County. The fact that most of the main stream media is Dublin based there does appear to be a love in with the media for Dublin - like Ciaran Wheelan is on the Sunday Game panel and all he has to his credit is 2 All Stars, as a Dub he naturally looks at things through sky blue glasses. This gets up people nose and turns people off Dublin. Plus the fact Dublin get the majority of funding, majority of games in Corke Park, majority of 50 / 50 calls from the referees on the pitch and the majority of their players seem to be looked after by the corporate sector. There is also some of the current players on the Dublin team who are unlikable due to their attitude both on an off the field. All this taken into consideration the current Dublin team are doing well to get any appreciation from the 31 other counties.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 06/10/2016 17:22:42    1923419

Replying To Breffni39:  "You are doing a ridiculous amount of whiney, poor me posts on here today. Everything alright?"
Just enjoying a bit of banter Cavan man and its a valid point.

You only have to look back on what you post yourself in relation to a topic on Kerry. You've been doing enough of it today as well.

County's that are successful are always getting it in the neck, it was us in 2014, its Dublin now.

Any wonder there's no Kilkenny lads on here.

At least there is a good 5-10 Kerry posters on here to fight the good fight.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/10/2016 17:26:14    1923423

Replying To anto_meath:  "Every supporter thinks their team is the best when winning and cant understand why everyone cant see it. Now from a Meath point of view we never appeared to be overly appreciated outside of our county. We felt (feel) that Cork, Mayo, Tyrone, Louth, Kildare Cavan and of course Dublin despise us. If I recall correctly in 95 at the home coming for the Dublin team the Dublin supporters were singing where you could stick the Royal County. The fact that most of the main stream media is Dublin based there does appear to be a love in with the media for Dublin - like Ciaran Wheelan is on the Sunday Game panel and all he has to his credit is 2 All Stars, as a Dub he naturally looks at things through sky blue glasses. This gets up people nose and turns people off Dublin. Plus the fact Dublin get the majority of funding, majority of games in Corke Park, majority of 50 / 50 calls from the referees on the pitch and the majority of their players seem to be looked after by the corporate sector. There is also some of the current players on the Dublin team who are unlikable due to their attitude both on an off the field. All this taken into consideration the current Dublin team are doing well to get any appreciation from the 31 other counties."
LOL!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/10/2016 18:07:33    1923435

Some incredible shite being spouted here by a load of bitter u know whats!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/10/2016 18:22:07    1923439

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "
Replying To Dubh_linn:  "[quote=Offside_Rule:  "contd...

Deep down Dublin fans know this but have long had safeguards. They mention Kilkenny and Kerry when there is no numerical comparison. They mention how close Mayo got, when they have not been beaten in 29 games, most of which are akin to the Harlem Globetrotters humiliating the Washington Generals. They mention how this is a special generation and while it is, so is the next one and the one after that - indeed this final was telling as it was not the special generation that won it, it was instead the next generation with the likes of Rock and substitute Cormac Costello proving decisive. If you find the facts negative or bitter, then you problem is with the facts and with reality and if you do not money makes a telling difference, you really don't understand modern sport.

This is not difficult stuff. In fact after that 2014 World Cup final, sitting on a beach with soccer journalists, they asked about football. From a sphere of monopolisation and big bucks, they laughed at what the GAA had done and what they had made Dublin. But no one who truly cares about and loves the game is laughing now. Sadly, it is fitting that in these years of boom for the minority and bust for the majority in Ireland, the national game has been subjected to the same sort of ultra-capitalism in a ruthless form. The governing body jumped straight into bed with its cash cow and closed the door. All we can now see is the result of what went on.

Still the GAA expect us to lap up relatively tiny projects here and there, such as their €125,000 a year offered to Kildare, Meath, Louth and Wicklow to help with coaching. But smaller counties than Dublin actually need much more money than Dublin to balance out demographic disparity. This is merely loose change being flung at a homeless man to lighten the wallet and change perception. Do not buy that for a minute for they have long since chosen their partner. Aogan O Fearghail may have physically given Cluxton the trophy at the weekend, but his organisation long ago gave it to them.

In 1989 economist Francis Fukayama wrote an essay titled The End of History in which he described the collapse of communism and the triumph of capitalism as the end of mankind's ideological evolution. Across the 2000s though we saw the triumph of capitalism in what is supposed to be an amateur sport, and the result is the end of football's history. Dublin may have predictably won, but the game is the huge loser in all of this."
Could you expand on that and go over it again. I dozed off there for a bit."
Not my article to expand on. Just read it the other day then thought it ironic in relation to the opening posts points made so just decided to share. Though you probably have dozed off by this point given your attention span or lackof .... ;-)"]Jaysus, I was think it was a bit high brow for you alright. ;-)
Now , where's that cocoa.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/10/2016 18:40:04    1923452