Financial Doping in the GAA

Look people like Jimbo and Hairylemon won't admit (because they can't admit) that Dublin's rise to success has been consciously aided by a deliberate policy from Croke Park to ensure they are given more money than the rest of us combined to develop on their potential.

Are this current Dublin team deserving All-Ireland winners - YES. But look at the advantages they have been given in terms of conditioning, training, background expertise (facilitated by this central funding) which the rest of us can only dream of.

Accusing those of us, who think this is fundamentally at odds with the ethos of the GAA, of bitterness etc is complete deflection.

As is attempts to point to a Centre of Excellence or a stadium re-development as proof others are doing just as well from Croke Park.

Just on that red herring of a point - No, Dublin don't have a Centre of Excellence BUT they still have the sports facilities available at 3 Universities in the city as well as the biggest IT in the country there, let alone being able to use Abbotstown!

Croke Park is the governing body, it is there to ensure in as much as it can their should be a level playing field. Instead it throws money on a county that already has the financial backing of 4-5 major and lucrative sponsorship patterns and has already all those natural advantages I spoke about.

How can any of you see a figure of €275 being spent by Croke Park on every player in Dublin as opposed to €19 in Kerry or €22 in Mayo and defend that?!!

We have the same old argument cropping up again that Dublin bring in more revenue to the GAA and so they should get more. Man United doubtless have bigger attendances and tv audiences than Stoke. But the Premiership's central pool of money is not divided on that basis is it?!

And more to the point, let's say Dublin have an average attendance of 50,000 between League and Championship for a population of 1.2 million people.

Is that any more impressive or rewardable than Kerry having an average attendance of 15,000 between League and Championship per a population of 150,000.

This is not an attempt, speaking for myself anyway, to tarnish Dublin's recent All-Irelands. But it just so happens that a lot of this evidence is now coming out in the wake of Saturday's final.

No one can defend one county being given such multiplies of the GAA's funding at the expense of all the others - regardless of how successful they are or who they are.

To reiterate, this is not about Dublin doing what they can with the money they have secured for themselves from sponsorship etc. That is a different issue that needs to be addressed.

This is about the governing body of a sport throwing the vast majority of its development funding at Dublin and effectively giving two-fingers to the rest of us.

Financial doping - there is no other word for it.

Like the Sky deal before it it is the antithesis of the very essence of the GAA and its ethos.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/10/2016 16:27:45    1923378

Last word

I'd support a reduction of the current level of funding going to Dublin because as it stands its no long warranted

The DCB vision has now been achieved, that's why this funding exits in the first place, the DCB came up with an action plan and delivered on it perfectly.

I just don't think a reduction is going to make a bit of difference

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 16:58:21    1923393

Replying To TheUsername:  "Lets be honest, It wouldnt be an issue if Dublin were not beating every county over the last couple of seasons and arguable the last six years, even though those players were born in the 80s and 90s. God we will have some team when the financial doping period team comes through.

Just to mention people make the assumption that everyone who plays GAA in Dublin is from Dublin, that is certainly not the case, an arguemnt is there that we are cradling other counties players in the game who find themselves migrated.

I think Jimbob makes some excellent points, any funding difference will be made up a different way the Dublin "brand" is at fever pitch and i would say the county board are rubbing there hands together at the next commercial round of deals. In the end it wont be that significant anyway. Its about structure then funds really.

Its kind of amusing all these white elephants around the country, centre of excellences, Dublin dont have one and train on muddy pitches out the north side. Maybe the should be renamed centres of "we got really close to Dublin this year", which seems to be the yard stick for success this year."
In fairness, I think it would be an issue even if Dublin were not as successful as the are. You point about looking forward to when the 'doping' generation comes through... I think that's exactly what the rest of the country are afraid of.

That's a good one about muddy pitches in north Dublin. Dublin should get on to the sports council / Abbotstown and they'll probably lay you a new pitch for free.... seeing as they gave you the entire centre of excellence for free, they might as well sort the pitch

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 06/10/2016 17:03:08    1923396

Just on that red herring of a point - No, Dublin don't have a Centre of Excellence BUT they still have the sports facilities available at 3 Universities in the city as well as the biggest IT in the country there, let alone being able to use Abbotstown!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1815 - 06/10/2016 16:27:45

Universities and an IT in the capital who would have thought it? And with sports facilities? Yeah you wouldn't see that in Cork, Limerick or Antrim.

Surely Abbotstown is a red herring of a point as well then? Unless of course you think a national campus or some of the biggest 3rd level institutions shouldn't be in the capital.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 06/10/2016 17:20:06    1923415

Replying To TheHermit:  "Look people like Jimbo and Hairylemon won't admit (because they can't admit) that Dublin's rise to success has been consciously aided by a deliberate policy from Croke Park to ensure they are given more money than the rest of us combined to develop on their potential.

Are this current Dublin team deserving All-Ireland winners - YES. But look at the advantages they have been given in terms of conditioning, training, background expertise (facilitated by this central funding) which the rest of us can only dream of.

Accusing those of us, who think this is fundamentally at odds with the ethos of the GAA, of bitterness etc is complete deflection.

As is attempts to point to a Centre of Excellence or a stadium re-development as proof others are doing just as well from Croke Park.

Croke Park is the governing body, it is there to ensure in as much as it can their should be a level playing field. Instead it throws money on a county that already has the financial backing of 4-5 major and lucrative sponsorship patterns and has already all those natural advantages I spoke about.

How can any of you see a figure of €275 being spent by Croke Park on every player in Dublin as opposed to €19 in Kerry or €22 in Mayo and defend that?!!

We have the same old argument cropping up again that Dublin bring in more revenue to the GAA and so they should get more. Man United doubtless have bigger attendances and tv audiences than Stoke. But the Premiership's central pool of money is not divided on that basis is it?!

And more to the point, let's say Dublin have an average attendance of 50,000 between League and Championship for a population of 1.2 million people.

Is that any more impressive or rewardable than Kerry having an average attendance of 15,000 between League and Championship per a population of 150,000.

This is not an attempt, speaking for myself anyway, to tarnish Dublin's recent All-Irelands. But it just so happens that a lot of this evidence is now coming out in the wake of Saturday's final.

No one can defend one county being given such multiplies of the GAA's funding at the expense of all the others - regardless of how successful they are or who they are.

To reiterate, this is not about Dublin doing what they can with the money they have secured for themselves from sponsorship etc. That is a different issue that needs to be addressed.

This is about the governing body of a sport throwing the vast majority of its development funding at Dublin and effectively giving two-fingers to the rest of us.

Financial doping - there is no other word for it.

Like the Sky deal before it it is the antithesis of the very essence of the GAA and its ethos."
It took a huge amount of work on the ground thehermit and you rather simpleton like conclusions are quite ignorant

In fact, you sound ridiculous and it's obvious you have ZERO idea what you are talking about on this subject

This was plan devised and implemented by the DCD, then put into practice by it's Clubs and it's 1000's of volunteers over many years
The games development grants is just money, it's only money.

It was people that made that money work and devised the structures, put the practices in place and gave the 1000's of hours of free service to make it work.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 17:20:54    1923416

That's what you don't get and quite blatantly ignore.

It was a resounding success built off the back of Dublin GAA's outstanding work and dedication to become better and growing our games in the capital.

Now that we've achieved that, I say "we" because I've been a volunteer on the ground

Yes, I think it's time to reduce the current level as I feel the work done up to this stage is strong enough for us to move away from the current level of funding, any shortfall I think can be filled by our own commercial gains in recent years.

While Kerry ignored their underage structures, Dublin did the exact opposite over that time, and put in years of dedicated and self motivated work

I for one take great pride in how far we have come and considering the amount of funding we generate every year for the GAA as a whole, which is redistributed to everyone, year after year.

Whatever we received and made work for us over the last 11 years

We've returned many times over.

The Spring Series alone (another DCB initiative completely off our own backs) has been continually picked up, and has generated a huge sum of additional funds through TV right deal's, sponsorship add on's, and various other TV sales streams of revenue generation into the GAA

No other county can claim such a successful initiative

But as per the norm so many positives are ignored when it comes to Dublin GAA

So excuse me for not giving a rats arse about your worthless opinions.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 17:21:26    1923417

Replying To keithlemon:  "I wouldn't take this article as gospel. Someone previously made the point that the line "the GAA handed over €1,460,400 to the capital in a games development grant, more than any province" is incorrect. In the financial statement McKenna mentions, Ulster, Munster & Leinster (minus Dublin) receives more in funding. Dublin does receive more than Connacht but County Dublin has twice the population of Connacht and on a per capita basis Connacht receives far more.
McKenna does seem to have a bit of an agenda here to spite Dublin's recent success. We all know that Dublin do have more resources and probably receive more than most counties in terms of development grants / sponsorship but I don't see Mr McKenna asking for transparency of income and expenditure across the board for all counties, not just from HQ but from all external investments too.
I hate to see journalists just tap into a pretty ignorant conception that Dublin are only successful now because they have more resources to sell papers. I don't remember anyone asking for any great investigations of 'financial doping' when Kerry and Kilkenny were dominating their respective sports."
what county are you from may i ask?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 06/10/2016 17:25:44    1923422

Replying To jimbodub:  "Last word

I'd support a reduction of the current level of funding going to Dublin because as it stands its no long warranted

The DCB vision has now been achieved, that's why this funding exits in the first place, the DCB came up with an action plan and delivered on it perfectly.

I just don't think a reduction is going to make a bit of difference"
Fair play Jimbo. A fair and magnanimous post there. Given the structures now in place in Dublin and their ability to raise their own finance, you may well be right that it won't make a difference. So all the more reason to distribute the funds to other counties for a period. Giving preference to other population centres and counties who struggle to raise finance commercially would be a good start.

It won't lead to inter-county success automatically for anyone, but could go some way to balancing things out and help county & club players within those counties (better coaching and facilities for players and lift some of the financial pressure from clubs and county boards)

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 06/10/2016 17:30:28    1923425

Lets compare the 2 biggest urban areas in Dublin and Cork.

Dublin has 38k GAA members and Cork has 33k members, so one one expect relatively similar funding figures. Except the average Dublin receive €274 in funding per member while in Cork it's a paltry €16

Same goes for other big urban area like Limerick, Galway and Belfast who could certainly do with a slice of the huge 10 year investment Dublin have experienced

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 06/10/2016 17:38:32    1923427

Replying To jimbodub:  "That's what you don't get and quite blatantly ignore.

It was a resounding success built off the back of Dublin GAA's outstanding work and dedication to become better and growing our games in the capital.

Now that we've achieved that, I say "we" because I've been a volunteer on the ground

Yes, I think it's time to reduce the current level as I feel the work done up to this stage is strong enough for us to move away from the current level of funding, any shortfall I think can be filled by our own commercial gains in recent years.

While Kerry ignored their underage structures, Dublin did the exact opposite over that time, and put in years of dedicated and self motivated work

I for one take great pride in how far we have come and considering the amount of funding we generate every year for the GAA as a whole, which is redistributed to everyone, year after year.

The Spring Series alone (another DCB initiative completely off our own backs) has been continually picked up, and has generated a huge sum of additional funds through TV right deal's, sponsorship add on's, and various other TV sales streams of revenue generation into the GAA

So excuse me for not giving a rats arse about your worthless opinions."
You can call me any name under the sun, you can become as petty as you want and you can make every excuse you like.

The one basis statistic that this is all about is as follows:

The GAA is giving €275 per player in Dublin versus an average of €20 per player everywhere else.

As you accuse me or ignorance about Dublin so you have shown your ignorance about Kerry.

For example, the 3 in a row minor success we have achieved has been built on a plan laid down by the Kerry GAA in 2010. A plan which completed transformed our underage set-up, introduced development squads and a range of other initiatives and strategies which have borne a wonderful fruit

BUT this has been achieved without having Croke Park throw hundreds of thousands of their development funding at our feet.

Just like Dublin, Kerry has hundreds of coaches and volunteers putting in the hard work and graft to ensure underage and senior success.

But we, like everywhere else, have to do it without the luxury of access to the vast majority of Croke Park's development funding.

But Jimbo as Wellington once said to a newly promoted corporal - you know how to defend an indefensible position, I will give you that.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/10/2016 18:25:30    1923441

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Just on that red herring of a point - No, Dublin don't have a Centre of Excellence BUT they still have the sports facilities available at 3 Universities in the city as well as the biggest IT in the country there, let alone being able to use Abbotstown!

Universities and an IT in the capital who would have thought it? And with sports facilities? Yeah you wouldn't see that in Cork, Limerick or Antrim.

Surely Abbotstown is a red herring of a point as well then? Unless of course you think a national campus or some of the biggest 3rd level institutions shouldn't be in the capital."
I fail to see whatyou are getting at.

A point raised on here was that Dublin does not have a Centre of Excellence but the likes of Kerry are building one, to show that we are also well looked after. The implication being the Dublin boys were training in mud all year long.

The Dublin team has access to state of the art facilities in the likes of DCU and UCD, so they need a Centre of Excellence when they have such options? A red herring, as I said.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/10/2016 18:31:03    1923447

Replying To jimbodub:  "It's not my fault if you cant recognise the link"
Seriously what do you even mean by that sentence. I asked a simple question and that's the line you throw back? What's the point engaging with a poster like yourself. You should go into politics or perhaps GAA politics which is for experts in fudging like your good self.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 06/10/2016 18:32:05    1923448

I'm afraid jimbo has already given his last post on the mattee. Twice.

buttybrennan (Cork) - Posts: 58 - 06/10/2016 20:08:06    1923476

Replying To jimbodub:  "The bit where you speaking out of your arse Kingdomboy

That bit."
Great argument lad :-) if you don't agree with jimbo you're talking out your arse :-) priceless.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/10/2016 20:37:25    1923494

Replying To witnof:  "Can someone write an article how much money do the Dubs make for the GAA, and then we can discuss the net net figures."
Can someone explain the logic of this argument? The GAA is not a profit making entity, its existence is to promote the games within its organisation and their development. The money raised by ANY county doesn't matter, it should ALL be going back equally to every county to improve the game.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 06/10/2016 20:43:06    1923497

Replying To jimbodub:  "So it's more progressive to spend 10's of millions on a stadium

Rather than pump even half of that money into every club across Cork including your own?

Yes how progressive to have grand while elephant stadium sitting idle for months on end

The GAA have also invested millions in that project that could have been pumped into games development across the country to benefit young kids

Don't see you moaning about that!

Your own county board spent above everyone apart from Dublin in 2015 on their inter county teams, rather than focusing spend on young lads across Cork.

So please, in reality I think your issues should be focused a little closer to home!

You want to spend millions on grand vanity projects go ahead!

But where do you think a large portion of the money is coming from!

Don't come on here with your hysterics and "what's the point" comments about unequal funding when it's your own spending 10's of millions that could and probably should be pumped into underage structures within your own county, and the GAA's large investment should be going on games development across the country!

But sure it's grand when it's coming your way though right!

Same logic goes for the BS artists from Kerry....

You've plenty of €€€€ floating around down there between you both and are vastly superior on that front compared to 90% of every other teams across the country!

Poor mouth BS artists... spouting disinformation and out right lies."
why are you continually discussing cork and taking shots at them instead of debating the topic?..its childish and paints dub fans in a bad light

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 06/10/2016 22:21:15    1923534

Replying To keithlemon:  "I heard that all Dublin underage lads get limo's to training, get spa treatments after a match before they head up to the club house for some prawn sandwiches and wide selection of smoothies"
your comments paint dublin fans in a bad light..stop being arrogant

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 06/10/2016 22:23:07    1923537

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Just on that red herring of a point - No, Dublin don't have a Centre of Excellence BUT they still have the sports facilities available at 3 Universities in the city as well as the biggest IT in the country there, let alone being able to use Abbotstown!

Surely Abbotstown is a red herring of a point as well then? Unless of course you think a national campus or some of the biggest 3rd level institutions shouldn't be in the capital."
well they could be based centrally

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 06/10/2016 22:26:10    1923538

Replying To jimbodub:  "That's what you don't get and quite blatantly ignore.

So excuse me for not giving a rats arse about your worthless opinions."
but the question remains why were they provided such large amounts of money especially compared to smaller counties who receive 0 funding and are largely ignored...there is no need to act so arrogant about it...people are allowed to ask questions no matter what county they are from which you seem to take major issue with

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 06/10/2016 22:28:03    1923540

in most sports leagues the money is shared between all the members..what is with the entitlement with some people on here

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 06/10/2016 22:30:14    1923541