Financial Doping in the GAA

Replying To jimbodub:  "The Hermit says:

I see Jimbo has brought up Kerry's Centre of Excellence. Well the vast majority of the money used to build it was raised through our own funds-raising in Kerry and among Kerry supporters in the US and Britian. We did it on our own steam.

Really know... was it indeed!!

No where near the "vast majority"

Well unfortunately there's this little thing called "facts" that really have no place in your above statement

You had millions handed to you for that place

See the links that have been posted to the breakdown of costs

For shame Kerry lads... disingenuous lies, bitterness, sour grapes, BS conspiracies, attacking refs...

Ye are really slipping lads, very poor form.

"Of the €4.7 million raised to date, the GAA, the Munster Council and long-time Kerry sponsors Kerry Group each donated €1 million, giving Kerry GAA a vital base of €3 million to start with. An additional €1 million was raised through the 'Friends of Kerry' organisation and through funding from the National Lottery, with the Kerry County Board seeking to raise the remaining €1.8 million, €700,000 of which has already been raised through events like the one being held in New York on May 28""
Bertie would be proud of your deflection waffle.

This has nothing to do with how much county boards spend. Who has the most expensive centre of excellence. Who can fund raise what or who has the best sponsorship deal.
This has to do with the fact that the GAA think Dublin should get 4 times as much funding as the next county per registered player.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 06/10/2016 14:21:54    1923285

Replying To benjyyy:  "There are 2 separate issues here and people are conflating them. The amount that a county spends, whilst certainly a good topic for discussion, is not relevant for the purposes of this discussion. This is about the funding that the GAA itself provides to the counties and how, based on the evidence in the story, does not seem fair or at least requires further explanation from the GAA. How much Dublin makes for the GAA should not be a reason for this disparity."
I've addressed that issue

The GAA are currently looking into this

But again it's not the real problem and that's the most frustrating part that is lost on so many, again I've gone into the reality of the situation, it's there if anyone wants to read it

Other counties get millions from the GAA that could be spread out amongst everyone for games development.

Yet this is never seen as a negative, and then you have those very counties poor mouthing about when Dublin get investment?

It's just a bit hypocritical, I'm all for Dublin getting a cut in the current level of games development funds as I think Dublin GAA can easily fill the shortfall. Lets the small amount be redistributed and just watch for absolutely zero change.

Then what?

It's very rich to see the poor mouthing coming from Cork and Kerry posters

While they enjoy massive economic advantages over 90% of every other county

Give me a break. haha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 14:23:40    1923286

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "Yes they had to fundraise for it, they were just given a €12m facility in Abbotstown like Dublin were"
Read the article.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/10/2016 14:28:29    1923290

Replying To Crinigan:  "Spot on and it really really says a lot about the GAA ethos and spirit of the many Dublin fans who come out with this nonsense about other counties being bitter and what about Kerry and Kilkenny. Ye know full well that the situation is shameful so stop hiding behind calling everyone who calls it bitter or culchies.

The Kerry and Kilkenny acheivements are all the more remarkable given the financial doping of Dublin, the Man City/PSG/Chelsea combo of the GAA.

For me, their All Ireland's are diminished and don't mean much to a lot of GAA folk. That might be harsh. But such is their ridiculous and frankly shameful financial advantages (on top of all the other advantages bestowed on them) that there is a little celebration of their achievements. If they don't win every year they are seriously underperforming.
Ok, D Connolly is a great footballer...but give other good two footed players in many other counties the boot deals, the finances to cover work, the strength and conditioning expertise, the medical expertise, the supplements, etc and there'd be a lot more Diarmuid Connollys on other county teams. In Meath, the players have to pay for their own training gear for example!"
I heard that all Dublin underage lads get limo's to training, get spa treatments after a match before they head up to the club house for some prawn sandwiches and wide selection of smoothies

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/10/2016 14:35:21    1923292

Interesting piece about the chairman of a Cork club on the mainpage - link

"How could anyone justify refusing us on three occasions when other clubs around the country got repeated grants? It is infuriating other clubs, who are awash with facilities, got a second tranche and we were ignored. Club legend Brian Corcoran rang me the other day and wanted to know why we were being repeatedly overlooked. I couldn't give him an answer because we didn't get one ourselves," Aherne told The Irish Examiner.

"I'm loathe to blame Government because our application obviously wouldn't have gone that far. It is a civil servant who decided we are worth nothing. This is a facility all clubs in the area and schools will be able to avail of when complete.

Some fair points although I'm not sure what relevance Brian Corcoran has to the story. Understandably if you saw neighbouring clubs get grants on a regular basis and you're putting in a strong application then you'd be questioning why you're being overlooked. Maybe it's bias, or maybe it's a case of a poor application.

Those in Dublin, unfortunately, couldn't see the benefit.

This is the real clincher, the sports capital unit is actually based in Killarney. Maybe they were just sending their applications to the wrong address (all applications are processed online now anyways). Still though, if the 'Dubs are out to get us' approach works for the Healy-Rae's then it might work for sports clubs as well.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 06/10/2016 14:36:22    1923293

Explain what part of my post was a lie please?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/10/2016 14:44:57    1923299

People should realise that graph is per capita funding, it doesn't take population into account

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 06/10/2016 14:50:01    1923303

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "You should read this book OP unbiased and truthful unlike a lot of the stuff that is spouted by some.

GAAconomics: The Secret Life of Money in the GAA - Michael Moyinhan

I've read that book but thanks anyway the graph listed in OP doesn't account for population it's based on per capita

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 06/10/2016 14:53:13    1923309

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Explain what part of my post was a lie please?"
That all of the funding was done by Kerry County Board.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/10/2016 14:54:07    1923310

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "People should realise that graph is per capita funding, it doesn't take population into account"
Exactly....how hard is it to grasp that and how unfair it is?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 06/10/2016 15:01:40    1923317

Replying To Jackeen:  "That all of the funding was done by Kerry County Board."
OK so they funded the vast majority of it and received a capital grant for the remainder, that is the same of everyone else (Tyrone - Garvaghey for example) Not a €12m facility just handed over for nothing and masqueraded as a 'National' facility.

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 06/10/2016 15:01:49    1923318

No you hang on.

Maybe if you dug down deeper you might have a reason for this figure.

Footballers - Monaghan, Donegal, Tyrone, Derry, Croke Park x 2, Killarney x 2, Limerick, Thurles
Hurlers - Kilkenny, Croke Park, Galway, Thurles x 3, Wexford

But of course I don't expect you to understand that.

The bare facts are in the graphic. €274 per player in Dublin - circa 16 times what Cork receives. And you have the audcacity to state that we are doing well out of it.

buttybrennan (Cork) - Posts: 58 - 06/10/2016 15:03:10    1923319

Replying To jimbodub:  "You do realise that there's currently a review underway by the GAA into this situation

Dublin will prop have no more than a 20% reduction at most 25%

I t wouldn't be in the GAA's interest to destabilise the growth of the sports in Dublin considering a 1/4 of the population lives there, and that figure is only going to increase in the next 20 years.

Split up that additional amount evenly (just using the logic of fairness)

You're looking at a pretty small figure to be redistributed

And not forgetting Dublin's current AIG deal was brokered at a time of great financial uncertainty, I would expect Dublin's next deal be it with AIG or another party, I can see that being a bigger and more lucrative deal compared to the current one.

So IMO Dublin will just fill the gap that's left from the GAA cutting development grants

This issue of funding when it arises is never really thought about properly by many"
As I stated my query is with the head GAA admin. Not really Dublin's fault. You seem to know that GAA is decreasing development funding to Dublin and redistributing around the country fairly. Can find any official statement from GAA to back it up. Stop resorting to calling people who question this level of funding as sour, bitter or whatever. My concern is the future of the GAA. Dublin has many natural advantages already and doesn't need favourable assistance from GAA. It's that simple. I notice that you are focusing on Kerry centre of excellence and Cork stadium. That has nothing to do with OP. Stick to the point at hand. Also why did you not address the point by HurlinWarrior? To paraphrase, why is it that 10-15 euro is granted towards the development of a child in Dublin for every euro granted to the development of a kid in Galway, Limerick or Mayo? Why is it? Is it fair? You also failed to address the 1 million from the Sports Council?

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 06/10/2016 15:15:27    1923330

The bit where you speaking out of your arse Kingdomboy

That bit.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 15:15:59    1923331

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "People should realise that graph is per capita funding, it doesn't take population into account"
Hahaha

Priceless

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 15:17:06    1923332

Replying To witnof:  "Can someone write an article how much money do the Dubs make for the GAA, and then we can discuss the net net figures."
In their home ground, Coke Park, or on their travels?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/10/2016 15:18:51    1923333

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "Yes they had to fundraise for it, they were just given a €12m facility in Abbotstown like Dublin were"
They partially fund raised for it

Not all of it

Millions came from GAA, Munster Council, Kerry Group, The Lotto

You'd swear they did it all though raffle tickets the way yiz are going on haha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 15:22:22    1923335

We did fund raise all the money our selfs . Do you think the GAA and Munster council just said I hear ye are building a centre of excellence here is a million euro ? I'm sure our county board had to jump through some hoops for the GAA to get that money.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/10/2016 15:32:01    1923349

Replying To buttybrennan:  "No you hang on.

Maybe if you dug down deeper you might have a reason for this figure.

Footballers - Monaghan, Donegal, Tyrone, Derry, Croke Park x 2, Killarney x 2, Limerick, Thurles
Hurlers - Kilkenny, Croke Park, Galway, Thurles x 3, Wexford

But of course I don't expect you to understand that.

The bare facts are in the graphic. €274 per player in Dublin - circa 16 times what Cork receives. And you have the audcacity to state that we are doing well out of it."
That is only a part answer to the points I put to you and even at that and....

You spent what you spent!

You are spending 10's of millions on a white elephant down there that will takes decades to pay off and barely be filled twice a year for GAA purposes

The GAA has also handed you millions for it!

You then state this is progressive while also making a point about young kids in Cork not getting adequate funding for games development!!

You're spending 10's of millions that could be invested into the very thing you want!

And the GAA has handed you millions that could be going into helping out Longford, Carlow, Clare, Sligo etc etc etc

You're a cash rich county and have financial advantages far exceeding 90% of other teams

Give me a break!

Now on the redistribution of finances to better games development across the county

100% - It should happen but even if you take 30% off Dublin and split it evenly it's a tiny amount of money!

Whatever keeps you happy, but yiz will be bleating on about something else soon after when that has zero impact.

Listening to Cork and Kerry lads playing the poor mouth really is priceless stuff....

"It's not fair"

While getting millions from the GAA to build grand vanity projects

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 15:40:18    1923354

Replying To Weary:  "As I stated my query is with the head GAA admin. Not really Dublin's fault. You seem to know that GAA is decreasing development funding to Dublin and redistributing around the country fairly. Can find any official statement from GAA to back it up. Stop resorting to calling people who question this level of funding as sour, bitter or whatever. My concern is the future of the GAA. Dublin has many natural advantages already and doesn't need favourable assistance from GAA. It's that simple. I notice that you are focusing on Kerry centre of excellence and Cork stadium. That has nothing to do with OP. Stick to the point at hand. Also why did you not address the point by HurlinWarrior? To paraphrase, why is it that 10-15 euro is granted towards the development of a child in Dublin for every euro granted to the development of a kid in Galway, Limerick or Mayo? Why is it? Is it fair? You also failed to address the 1 million from the Sports Council?"
It's not my fault if you cant recognise the link

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 15:42:34    1923358