Financial Doping in the GAA

So let me get this straight a Dublin child gets anywhere from €10-15 (depending on which county you compare them to) to every euro a child in Limerick,Cork, Galway, Mayo receives?

How is that fair in anyway? Why is the Dublin kid more important in the eyes of the GAA than a young lad elsewhere in Ireland?

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 06/10/2016 12:53:04    1923216

Hang on a second now lad kerry county board raised every penny them selfs for the centre of excellence over the last 6-7 years where as ye got a free 12 million facility from the GAA. If this financial doping happened in anyother sport there would be people going to jail.
Also you say the GAA are going to reduce ye'r 1.5 million a year grant but that's not true you are WRONG they actually said they won't reduce it but will TRY and increase what every other county gets.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:4245 - 06/10/2016

Croke Park, the Munster Council and team sponsor Kerry Group have each donated €1 million; Friends of Kerry pledged €700,000 and the National Lottery gave €300,000 - link

The facility in Abbotstown is available for all GAA clubs and counties to avail of, it might look a bit coincidental with it being in Dublin but where else would you have a placed a national sports campus? Admittedly you could have spread different sports HQ's around the country but you need to take things like population. access routes and infrastructure into consideration as well, plus spreading HQ's out all over the place kinda takes from the idea of a central facility to begin with.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 06/10/2016 12:58:35    1923221

Money doesn't create naturally gifted footballers like Diarmuid Connolly and Ciaran Kilkenny, money doesn't make players eat the right foods, money doesn't put in the hard work in the gym during the winter months and on the training field 4-5 nights a week during the rest of the year. Even without the investment of money this Dublin team would still be the best team in the country. I can still remember in 2011 Jack McCaffrey, Ciaran Kilkenny, Paul Mannion, John Small and Cormac Costello all being exceptional minor footballers even before they were introduced to the senior panel. Its the pick of players that Dublin have that sets them apart. Mayo have players of the same calibre and nobody complains about money being invested in Mayo so this whole argument of money should be forgotten about.

pitch_invader (Mayo) - Posts: 154 - 06/10/2016 12:59:29    1923224

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hang on a second now lad kerry county board raised every penny them selfs for the centre of excellence over the last 6-7 years where as ye got a free 12 million facility from the GAA. If this financial doping happened in anyother sport there would be people going to jail.
Also you say the GAA are going to reduce ye'r 1.5 million a year grant but that's not true you are WRONG they actually said they won't reduce it but will TRY and increase what every other county gets."
Lies!

http://sportsnewsireland.com/gaa/gaa-kerry-gaa-closing-in-on-e5-8-million-funding-target-for-centre-of-excellence/

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/10/2016 13:03:18    1923226

Replying To jimbodub:  "Old story that was covered here months ago!

The GAA is currently reviewing this situation with the end goal of reducing those figures

But get your head out of the sand

Dublin should always be getting a high figure, with the population that's here and which is increasing by the year, that growth made up mostly of country people leaving rural Ireland, but as mentioned the GAA are currently reviewing this with the end goal of reducing that figure

You'll all get a little more, but not much... you'll find that out soon enough

When that makes no difference whatsoever.

What will your excuse be then?"
Jimbo are ya familiar with Dublin underage structure and recent results, the last 3 or 4 years in comparison to to 3 or 4 previous show a drastic drop in results, that aligned with the imminent retiring of literally irreplaceable players such as Flynn cluxton and brogan will see a drip back in standards of the senior team, not a massive one, but still one nonetheless. Its only natural, the last 6 years or so is impossible too sustain no matter his much money they get

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 06/10/2016 13:04:23    1923230

Replying To jimbodub:  ""Mind boggling"

What a complete over statement that is!

But this is the sort of sensationalism we're up against

Look at what Cork GAA spent in 2015 to win sweet FA

Cork were a close 2nd to Dublin

So don't be playing the Cork poor mouth with your "what's the point" nonsense

How much is your own CB spending on a stadium that will be barely filled a couple of times a year again....?? 10's of millions.... and you're getting a huge amount of funding from the GAA

Perhaps that would be better spent elsewhere no?

How much is Kerry spending on a new Centre of Excellence.. over €5 Million isn't it!

Same old poor mouth tripe..."
Yes I do find it mind boggling how there is such a disparity. I'm involved with the juvenile side of my club attempting to help my county with the next generation and then you read this and wonder is it all a waste of time? So yes its a small bit mind boggling how this is let happen.

The stadium will be filled twice a year. Who told you that? Are you aware of business plan for the stadium. It's not all about the GAA you know - they are other ways to raise revenue.

The likes the Cork and Kerry are being progressive by building their own stadiums and centres of excellence something that Dublin GAA doesn't need to do.

These are only pathetic attempts to change the direction of the debate. What 'excuse' have you to put to the likes of Galway people if they raise their concerns about these figures?

buttybrennan (Cork) - Posts: 58 - 06/10/2016 13:05:49    1923232

I'm glad someone finally started a topic on this in light of the new evidence released this week.

Doubtless anyone highlighting this will be accused of sour grapes. So be it!

The evidence and figures are now as clear as a summer's day and they cannot be denied any longer.

Croke Park through its funding and funding distribution policies has created a situation where one county has been given what may now be an unassailable advantage over any of their other main rivals.

Now this isn't the Dublin GAA's fault. They are there to ensure the success of Dublin teams and if someone is giving them the money to do this of course they will take it, we all would.

But this goes against every fiber of the GAA and its amateur ethos.

Look at the research Shane Managan has published on twitter in the past week.

Dublin GAA gets €275 odd per registered player in Development funding.

One of their main rivals Kerry get €19 per registered player.

Dublin have 39,000 players registered compared to 15,000 odd in Kerry.

So Dublin have 62% more registered players and are given 14.5 times the amount of Development funding as Kerry.

This is crazy and any fair minded GAA supporter would agree with this.

Dublin have innumerable natural advantages in terms of population, transport, facilities, work opportunities for young people etc. There is nothing that can be down about them as they are the product of decades of Government policy.

However the GAA is now exacerbating those 'natural advantages' with huge amounts of funding that will make it impossible in the long term for even the likes of Kerry or Kilkenny to match them.

The issue is not that Dublin can attract the best sponsorship and make more in that than anyone else (although that is something in light of the amateur ethos that needs to be seriously looked at). If Dublin were just using the money they get from sponsorship to drive this that would be one thing.

The issue is the GAA has thrown more money at Dublin than the other counties combined for several years now. And still the rest of us are expected to be able to compete with this.

I think Ewan McKenna hit the nail on the head with his term 'financial doping', because what else is this? The GAA is now popular in Dublin, they don't need this money, areas like Cork, Limerick, Galway, Belfast city do.

I see Jimbo has brought up Kerry's Centre of Excellence. Well the vast majority of the money used to build it was raised through our own funds-raising in Kerry and among Kerry supporters in the US and Britian. We did it on our own steam.

When we produced that great team of the 2000's it was trough grit and hard work on players and their development it was not aided by getting multiples of what any other county got in development funding from Croke Park.

Dublin have a backroom team of what, 65-66 personal for their senior footballers?

Do we all think it is just a coincidence that Dublin tend to win games in the last 5-10 minutes. That is a product of their conditioning, funded by the money Croke Park is lavishing on them.

They are creating a side of players whose athleticism cannot be matched by other counties because we lack the funding to pour into that side of the game.

Can you imagine any other major sport where one team/ country is conferred with such advantages as part of a deliberate policy by that Sport's Government body.

This has to end, and it will only end when the likes of the Kerry, Cork, Kilkenny, Galway, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Tipperary etc County Boards stand up and call the GAA out on this.

Please God it is done before we are left with a one team Championship.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/10/2016 13:05:55    1923233

Lets be honest, It wouldnt be an issue if Dublin were not beating every county over the last couple of seasons and arguable the last six years, even though those players were born in the 80s and 90s. God we will have some team when the financial doping period team comes through.

Just to mention people make the assumption that everyone who plays GAA in Dublin is from Dublin, that is certainly not the case, an arguemnt is there that we are cradling other counties players in the game who find themselves migrated.

I think Jimbob makes some excellent points, any funding difference will be made up a different way the Dublin "brand" is at fever pitch and i would say the county board are rubbing there hands together at the next commercial round of deals. In the end it wont be that significant anyway. Its about structure then funds really.

Its kind of amusing all these white elephants around the country, centre of excellences, Dublin dont have one and train on muddy pitches out the north side. Maybe the should be renamed centres of "we got really close to Dublin this year", which seems to be the yard stick for success this year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/10/2016 13:15:09    1923237

Replying To buttybrennan:  "Yes I do find it mind boggling how there is such a disparity. I'm involved with the juvenile side of my club attempting to help my county with the next generation and then you read this and wonder is it all a waste of time? So yes its a small bit mind boggling how this is let happen.

The stadium will be filled twice a year. Who told you that? Are you aware of business plan for the stadium. It's not all about the GAA you know - they are other ways to raise revenue.

The likes the Cork and Kerry are being progressive by building their own stadiums and centres of excellence something that Dublin GAA doesn't need to do.

These are only pathetic attempts to change the direction of the debate. What 'excuse' have you to put to the likes of Galway people if they raise their concerns about these figures?"
Hang on

Lok at what Cork GAA spent on their Inter Couty teams in 2015

You were 2nd in the spending chart and only narrowly behind Dublin

So save me your hysterics... the point I'm making is that both Kerry and Cork are doing very very well for themselves

Cork have it pretty damn good in fact and have a final advantage of every other county apart from Dublin in 2015

So your nonsensical " what's the point" rubbish is just that

Pure self pitying rubbish based on BS...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 13:24:38    1923246

Yes they had to fundraise for it, they were just given a €12m facility in Abbotstown like Dublin were

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 06/10/2016 13:32:27    1923250

WELL kINGDOMBOY?

Kind of says it all about your opinion on this subject

My point was 100% accurate

But don't worry about the apology

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 13:32:28    1923251

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'm glad someone finally started a topic on this in light of the new evidence released this week.

Doubtless anyone highlighting this will be accused of sour grapes. So be it!

The evidence and figures are now as clear as a summer's day and they cannot be denied any longer.

Croke Park through its funding and funding distribution policies has created a situation where one county has been given what may now be an unassailable advantage over any of their other main rivals.

Now this isn't the Dublin GAA's fault. They are there to ensure the success of Dublin teams and if someone is giving them the money to do this of course they will take it, we all would.

But this goes against every fiber of the GAA and its amateur ethos.

Look at the research Shane Managan has published on twitter in the past week.

Dublin GAA gets €275 odd per registered player in Development funding.

One of their main rivals Kerry get €19 per registered player.

Dublin have 39,000 players registered compared to 15,000 odd in Kerry.

So Dublin have 62% more registered players and are given 14.5 times the amount of Development funding as Kerry.

This is crazy and any fair minded GAA supporter would agree with this.

Dublin have innumerable natural advantages in terms of population, transport, facilities, work opportunities for young people etc. There is nothing that can be down about them as they are the product of decades of Government policy.

However the GAA is now exacerbating those 'natural advantages' with huge amounts of funding that will make it impossible in the long term for even the likes of Kerry or Kilkenny to match them.

The issue is not that Dublin can attract the best sponsorship and make more in that than anyone else (although that is something in light of the amateur ethos that needs to be seriously looked at). If Dublin were just using the money they get from sponsorship to drive this that would be one thing.

The issue is the GAA has thrown more money at Dublin than the other counties combined for several years now. And still the rest of us are expected to be able to compete with this.

I think Ewan McKenna hit the nail on the head with his term 'financial doping', because what else is this? The GAA is now popular in Dublin, they don't need this money, areas like Cork, Limerick, Galway, Belfast city do.

I see Jimbo has brought up Kerry's Centre of Excellence. Well the vast majority of the money used to build it was raised through our own funds-raising in Kerry and among Kerry supporters in the US and Britian. We did it on our own steam.

When we produced that great team of the 2000's it was trough grit and hard work on players and their development it was not aided by getting multiples of what any other county got in development funding from Croke Park.

Dublin have a backroom team of what, 65-66 personal for their senior footballers?

Do we all think it is just a coincidence that Dublin tend to win games in the last 5-10 minutes. That is a product of their conditioning, funded by the money Croke Park is lavishing on them.

They are creating a side of players whose athleticism cannot be matched by other counties because we lack the funding to pour into that side of the game.

Can you imagine any other major sport where one team/ country is conferred with such advantages as part of a deliberate policy by that Sport's Government body.

This has to end, and it will only end when the likes of the Kerry, Cork, Kilkenny, Galway, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Tipperary etc County Boards stand up and call the GAA out on this.

Please God it is done before we are left with a one team Championship."
In tears here at the plight of Kerry football. Be strong lads, sending thoughts and prayers.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 06/10/2016 13:35:29    1923254

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hang on

So save me your hysterics... the point I'm making is that both Kerry and Cork are doing very very well for themselves

Cork have it pretty damn good in fact and have a final advantage of every other county apart from Dublin in 2015

Pure self pitying rubbish based on BS..."
jimbo -

he pulled you up on changing the direction of the debate and he's right - this is about not the 1st time in the past month I've replied to a poster and ask them to actually address the post they are "responding" to rather than simply attack the poster's own county

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 06/10/2016 13:36:35    1923256

Ok Hermit, I'll bite. I haven't seen the posts on Twitter as I'm not on it but in relation to:
"Dublin GAA gets €275 odd per registered player in Development funding.
One of their main rivals Kerry get €19 per registered player."
What does that figure mean exactly. What does 'Development funding' entail?
Do they actually give a full breakdown of costs for registered Dublin players? Or is it just a case of looking at numbers saying column A is bigger than column B therefore there's something wrong?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/10/2016 13:39:25    1923261

The Hermit says:

Really know... was it indeed!!

No where near the "vast majority"

Well unfortunately there's this little thing called "facts" that really have no place in your above statement

You had millions handed to you for that place

See the links that have been posted to the breakdown of costs

For shame Kerry lads... disingenuous lies, bitterness, sour grapes, BS conspiracies, attacking refs...

Ye are really slipping lads, very poor form.

"Of the €4.7 million raised to date, the GAA, the Munster Council and long-time Kerry sponsors Kerry Group each donated €1 million, giving Kerry GAA a vital base of €3 million to start with. An additional €1 million was raised through the 'Friends of Kerry' organisation and through funding from the National Lottery, with the Kerry County Board seeking to raise the remaining €1.8 million, €700,000 of which has already been raised through events like the one being held in New York on May 28"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 13:39:57    1923262

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hang on

Pure self pitying rubbish based on BS..."
There are 2 separate issues here and people are conflating them. The amount that a county spends, whilst certainly a good topic for discussion, is not relevant for the purposes of this discussion. This is about the funding that the GAA itself provides to the counties and how, based on the evidence in the story, does not seem fair or at least requires further explanation from the GAA. How much Dublin makes for the GAA should not be a reason for this disparity.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 06/10/2016 13:42:38    1923264

Replying To buttybrennan:  "There were no questions being asked about Kilkenny or Kerry because there was no financial doping going on. The figures are in the public domain now hence the questioning form the general public.

We are all members of the GAA. We are entitled to know where all the money is going.

Those figures are mind boggling. Makes you wonder 'whats the point'."
Spot on and it really really says a lot about the GAA ethos and spirit of the many Dublin fans who come out with this nonsense about other counties being bitter and what about Kerry and Kilkenny. Ye know full well that the situation is shameful so stop hiding behind calling everyone who calls it bitter or culchies.

The Kerry and Kilkenny acheivements are all the more remarkable given the financial doping of Dublin, the Man City/PSG/Chelsea combo of the GAA.

For me, their All Ireland's are diminished and don't mean much to a lot of GAA folk. That might be harsh. But such is their ridiculous and frankly shameful financial advantages (on top of all the other advantages bestowed on them) that there is a little celebration of their achievements. If they don't win every year they are seriously underperforming.
Ok, D Connolly is a great footballer...but give other good two footed players in many other counties the boot deals, the finances to cover work, the strength and conditioning expertise, the medical expertise, the supplements, etc and there'd be a lot more Diarmuid Connollys on other county teams. In Meath, the players have to pay for their own training gear for example!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 06/10/2016 13:45:40    1923268

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "So let me get this straight a Dublin child gets anywhere from €10-15 (depending on which county you compare them to) to every euro a child in Limerick,Cork, Galway, Mayo receives?

How is that fair in anyway? Why is the Dublin kid more important in the eyes of the GAA than a young lad elsewhere in Ireland?"
You should read this book OP unbiased and truthful unlike a lot of the stuff that is spouted by some.

GAAconomics: The Secret Life of Money in the GAA - Michael Moyinhan

[url=]https://www.amazon.com/GAAconomics-Secret-Life-Money-GAA/dp/071715453X

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/10/2016 13:59:27    1923273

Replying To buttybrennan:  "Yes I do find it mind boggling how there is such a disparity. I'm involved with the juvenile side of my club attempting to help my county with the next generation and then you read this and wonder is it all a waste of time? So yes its a small bit mind boggling how this is let happen.

These are only pathetic attempts to change the direction of the debate. What 'excuse' have you to put to the likes of Galway people if they raise their concerns about these figures?"
So it's more progressive to spend 10's of millions on a stadium

Rather than pump even half of that money into every club across Cork including your own?

Yes how progressive to have grand while elephant stadium sitting idle for months on end

The GAA have also invested millions in that project that could have been pumped into games development across the country to benefit young kids

Don't see you moaning about that!

Your own county board spent above everyone apart from Dublin in 2015 on their inter county teams, rather than focusing spend on young lads across Cork.

So please, in reality I think your issues should be focused a little closer to home!

You want to spend millions on grand vanity projects go ahead!

But where do you think a large portion of the money is coming from!

Don't come on here with your hysterics and "what's the point" comments about unequal funding when it's your own spending 10's of millions that could and probably should be pumped into underage structures within your own county, and the GAA's large investment should be going on games development across the country!

But sure it's grand when it's coming your way though right!

Same logic goes for the BS artists from Kerry....

You've plenty of €€€€ floating around down there between you both and are vastly superior on that front compared to 90% of every other teams across the country!

Poor mouth BS artists... spouting disinformation and out right lies.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/10/2016 14:06:35    1923276

Also:
"Do we all think it is just a coincidence that Dublin tend to win games in the last 5-10 minutes. That is a product of their conditioning, funded by the money Croke Park is lavishing on them."
Mayo finished the pace with Dublin on both occasions and in my opinion had a little bit more left in the tank in the first game. So what are Mayo doing that Kerry aren't?
Kerry were making the same excuses about how fit Tyrone were during their hay day, I remember some even alluding to drugs/PED's!!
Not just a simple case that one team might just be fitter than the other.....

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/10/2016 14:14:15    1923280