John Small black card or not?

Replying To MadgeKing:  "So everyone missed James McCarthy's definite red card on Vaughan then?"
Definite red card for McCarthy. Linesman was looking derictly at it. Anyone that has payed the game understand s what McCarthy was at. He clearly drove his hip into Vaughan's head. Smalls hand trip on Moran was a black. Simple. Doherty should have been given a yellow if not a red. Cooper got a black by letter of the law. Keegan's was not a black. Yellow card. Connolly waving imaginary card was ridiculous (but it worked). McLoughlin Brogan and more should of got blacks. Small should of got a red for attempted strike. Anyone that has played the game surely can see clearly what's going on in front of them. Unfortunately alot of officials and spectators have never played the game to any sort of standard so this leads to confusion. The likes of RTEs analysis doesn't help as too many pundits have their own agendas so they like to muddy the water instead of calling it as they see it.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 04/10/2016 15:47:44    1922446

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What's the point in going over all this again, Dublin are champions and getting annoyed about black yellow or red cards won't change that."
All over and done with - only question left is what do Mayo have to do to get a fair deal from refs in an All1Ireland final. Maybe that is their curse- that reffing decisions will always go against them in the final.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 04/10/2016 16:29:43    1922473

Replying To Green_Gold:  "He definitely did hand trip Andy Moran, so technically it should have been a black card. Now it's not the worst tackle in history but it is a black card. You can clothes line an opponent and get away with a yellow card, a simple hand trip like what Johnny Cooper did gets you a black card and end of your match, for me that makes no sense. I know the black card is there to stop cynical play but when you fall down your hands naturally start grappling to get to the ball. I'd have to say that John Small's hand trip looked more cynical and he knew what he was doing. I'd be in favour of getting rid of the black card and award a free in front of the posts for a cynical foul."
Problem with a Free in front of the Posts for a cynical foul is that it could leave it open to the "handy free" and "drawn game syndrome" if you know what I am saying...and open to more criticism of a different type!

JUNIOR_B_SUB (Donegal) - Posts: 25 - 04/10/2016 17:13:46    1922506

Replying To Breffni39:  "I agree about the Small "punch", he was clearly trying to break away from CO'C"
By Jasus he'd have broke more than away if he had connected with the punch COC was trying to join the Mayo attack and Small dragged him down and then held him down the linesman seen every bit of it Between him and the ref they decided not to either black or red card Small I guarantee if it was Keegan on Connolly he'd have gone

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 04/10/2016 17:34:38    1922518

It looked to me like like Small deliberately pulled down Moran which is a black card. I never noticed the timing of the whistle as an issue.

I was just reading Philly McMahon's criticism of the black card by the way. He committed the most blatant card offence in the League. Nevertheless he hasn't missed the opportunity to jump on the bandwagon.

We're putting so much time into it and working on top of that, travel up to Mayo, four hours, your family travels up to see you play and you last three minutes on the pitch, and you're sitting in the stand going, 'What is this all about like?'

"I'm trying to represent the sport, this organisation, what's it doing for me if I'm sitting in the stand after three minutes after maybe a mistake or maybe an accidental collision, whatever it is?

It was the most blatant third man tackle and exactly the kind of thing the black card is there to stamp out. Good man Philly. Up there with his "What happens on the pitch stays on the pitch" defense after eye gouging Kieran Donaghy,

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 04/10/2016 18:10:32    1922534

Black card should have been issued first and then a red later on. Obvious from way up in the Hogan and yet ref and officials missed it.
Got neither! And now Dubs are the team of their generation! When your luck is in, it's in.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 04/10/2016 18:21:17    1922540

Definitely a black.......McShane for one for Tyrone for a lot less. Doherty was a yellow. Thought it was poor form from Connolly waving a card at the ref,really don't want that to creep into the game.
I think we can agree the black is not fit for purpose.....has to be scrapped. Then again Mr McGee could get the waterworks out again and it would probably stay in place.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 04/10/2016 18:35:27    1922548

Black card without a doubt, and McCarthy very lucky not to get red

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 04/10/2016 19:49:19    1922583

Replying To cluichethar:  "By Jasus he'd have broke more than away if he had connected with the punch COC was trying to join the Mayo attack and Small dragged him down and then held him down the linesman seen every bit of it Between him and the ref they decided not to either black or red card Small I guarantee if it was Keegan on Connolly he'd have gone"
If he wanted to punch him he could have. For a team with a world champion boxer in the management he'd surely have connected. :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 04/10/2016 20:16:52    1922593

The GAA better sort this black card out soon.
Do they want this to be the top topic of conversation for much longer,
Is it not clear enough that its ruining the game, the whole country are disgusted with it,
Eugene Magee , Jarlath Burns and Paul Early are singing its praises only because they introduced it.
Behind it all they too surely can see this cannot continue, the best referees in the country cannot implement it.
Its heart breaking to see our best footballers sent off the field for petty fouls,
They devote their lives to the GAA, they deserve a lot better.

ulleJ1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 18 - 04/10/2016 20:17:30    1922594

Replying To ulleJ1:  "The GAA better sort this black card out soon.
Do they want this to be the top topic of conversation for much longer,
Is it not clear enough that its ruining the game, the whole country are disgusted with it,
Eugene Magee , Jarlath Burns and Paul Early are singing its praises only because they introduced it.
Behind it all they too surely can see this cannot continue, the best referees in the country cannot implement it.
Its heart breaking to see our best footballers sent off the field for petty fouls,
They devote their lives to the GAA, they deserve a lot better."
Is there not a really simple solution here; revert to the old system of yellow and red (two strikes and you are off with no replacement) and for taking a player out who is through on goal with only keeper to beat it's a straight red....end of.

northernsoul (Leitrim) - Posts: 78 - 04/10/2016 21:34:05    1922618

Replying To cluichethar:  "By Jasus he'd have broke more than away if he had connected with the punch COC was trying to join the Mayo attack and Small dragged him down and then held him down the linesman seen every bit of it Between him and the ref they decided not to either black or red card Small I guarantee if it was Keegan on Connolly he'd have gone"
COC should have got black for throwing Small to the ground. He's a sleeveen of a player. Always whining to officials.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 04/10/2016 22:12:59    1922637

Replying To Breffni39:  "If he wanted to punch him he could have. For a team with a world champion boxer in the management he'd surely have connected. :)"
aye, the 'punch' was not directed at COC's face

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 04/10/2016 22:13:59    1922638

Replying To liner:  "Black card should have been issued first and then a red later on. Obvious from way up in the Hogan and yet ref and officials missed it.
Got neither! And now Dubs are the team of their generation! When your luck is in, it's in."
Mayo are all Ireland champs for ifs and buts, though in fairness.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 04/10/2016 22:14:59    1922640

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "COC should have got black for throwing Small to the ground. He's a sleeveen of a player. Always whining to officials."
Then he starts slapping the ground like a five year old having a fit!

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 04/10/2016 22:18:55    1922642

Replying To theduke66:  "Then he starts slapping the ground like a five year old having a fit!"
Yep. Just like the drawn game last year, when he swings a dig at connolly while giving out to the linesman about connolly, as connolly' son the ground in a headlock. The golden boy.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 04/10/2016 22:43:40    1922653

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "Mayo are all Ireland champs for ifs and buts, though in fairness."
True Gav, before the game I said that everything had to go our way in order to win this game which be down to the finest margins. Sadly this never happens where Mayo are concerned, and the decisions and twists of fate that have gone against us in most big games from McEneany in 96 up to last Saturday have been well aired.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 04/10/2016 22:58:23    1922657

Replying To liner:  "True Gav, before the game I said that everything had to go our way in order to win this game which be down to the finest margins. Sadly this never happens where Mayo are concerned, and the decisions and twists of fate that have gone against us in most big games from McEneany in 96 up to last Saturday have been well aired."
I feel sorry for the mayo players like the majority of people but that's simply not true! Mayo rode their luck all year. It was for this reasin that I thought it was your year. Penalty v Fermanagh being the most obvious one. Or Cavanagh going off v Tyrone. Or CoC still being on the pitch to kick the equaliser in the drawn game when he should have been black carded minutes before. Even in the replay 7.5 mins of extra time was played and a chance to equalise. So this notion that mayo never get the nod from lady luck is a little bit wide of the mark imo.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/10/2016 07:27:07    1922685

Should have been a black card for Small but it hardly would have made a great consequence to the result. It happened early in the game and Dublin had a ready made replacement in Eric Lowndes. Small didn't have as good a game as the first. Had Small gotten a black for the heel trip I wonder if Cooper would have chanced doing the same later on

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 05/10/2016 08:08:21    1922690

Replying To Jackeen:  "I feel sorry for the mayo players like the majority of people but that's simply not true! Mayo rode their luck all year. It was for this reasin that I thought it was your year. Penalty v Fermanagh being the most obvious one. Or Cavanagh going off v Tyrone. Or CoC still being on the pitch to kick the equaliser in the drawn game when he should have been black carded minutes before. Even in the replay 7.5 mins of extra time was played and a chance to equalise. So this notion that mayo never get the nod from lady luck is a little bit wide of the mark imo."
After Donegal went 2 goals in in 2012 AI final ref gave Mayo free after free after free to get them back into it. Mayo got 35 frees to Dublins 12 in 2013. In the drawn game last year we had MDM, Bastick off with blacks, Small and Connolly off with red. Ye got a penno for diving into a throng of Dublin players which earned ye a soft draw. In the drawn game this year only black card awarded to McCarthy, none for Mayo. Ye got 28 frees to 17 in the replay last Saturday night.

Yeah, the refs are biased against ye all right.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 05/10/2016 08:43:22    1922696