Are Mayo Bottlers??

Replying To GalwayPaddy:  "Lads, way I see it is 32_4_1 make the most sense on this forum. I dont like to say it but the more I look back the more I have to say they bottled it. If traditional counties like Galway or Kerry had these players they would win an All Ireland with them."
The Galway hurlers have a very similar record to the Mayo footballers since 1989 in All Ireland finals (Mayo footballers played 10 finals, lost 8 drawn 2; Galway hurlers played 7 finals, lost 6, drawn 1). Both have drawn finals that they should have won. If Mayo footballers are bottlers are Galway hurlers bottlers ?.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1356 - 04/10/2016 16:18:01    1922465

Not bottlers no, but I don't think you can underestimate what losing all these finals over the years does mentally. You have got leaders there of course, and they may tell you point blank it doesn't effect them - maybe it doesn't. But history weighs heavily, it has to.

I think this is a very special bunch of Mayo players in all honesty and I think they'll win an All-Ireland before long. But at some point the likes of Aidan O'Shea, Keegan, Vaughan or Cillian O'Connor just have to grab a final by the scruff and say enough is enough. We're not letting this one pass. Of course they've come up against some great teams in the past 5 years, but at you have to look internally and think what can we do different? A small example was O'Connors missed free on Saturday. Of course it's not a gimme, of course he's tired, it's been a gruelling day of football. But you simply cannot miss those. Not to win an All-Ireland. There's no excuse for that, and I think he'll know it himself. If what I've seen of O'Connor over the years is true, he'll be practicing his frees from all angles all winter, and if that opportunity pops up again, he won't miss.

Eventually it's not bad luck, it's a losing mentality. Which doesn't make them "bottlers", because they are brave and fight tooth and nail to get as close to the holy grail as is possible, but still they lose.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/10/2016 16:21:41    1922468

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Why do people keep saying that Mayo need better forwards or that they are one forward short of greatness? Just look at the team and the subs, they are fantastic. The culture in the GAA is that second place is the worst place to be but in the Olympics and other sports this is not the case. No other county could have rattled the dubs for 154 minutes. The fact that Mayo have 8 senior runners up medals since 1989 is a great achievement."
We keep saying it because it's true. All the 'experts' on the Sunday Game also echoed this, and we have being saying it for a long time. Some Mayo folk try to distract from this but it's as plain as the nose on your face. If ye had a Brogan or Murphy or a McManus on your side, ye'd have won it by now.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 04/10/2016 16:32:07    1922475

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'd actually like to see Mayo finally win one

Just so we don't have to listen to this "poor Mayo, isn't it awful" stuff over and over and over"
Exactly, most counties would kill to be in their position but no all this "to win just once" and curse b/s makes them a special case for sympathy. Drives me mad.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 04/10/2016 16:42:50    1922480

Replying To 32_4_1:  "I don't see how anyone can call them anything other than bottlers. They epitomise the term. No leaders or backbone when it really counts. No ability to grind it when the going gets tough. An excuse that is becoming all too common in their defense is that on paper they were always the weaker team going into the final. Maybe so, but many teams are weaker on paper and still manage to rise to the occasion and grind it out? The weaker team on paper theory kind of gets thrown out the window when you factor in some of the great positions they got themselves into, only to find new ways to lose and throw it all away. How many times were Meath teams of the past weaker on paper and got played off the field yet still came out on top? Mayo have a "soft" mentality, just like the current Meath team. It seems people are trying to be kind to Mayo as to not kick someone when they are down, but sure that's just the way it is. They need to toughen up"
Meath skitter the pants when they see Dublin Mayo run them to one point after a replay and have never been far off them yet we are as soft as Meath, you have me lost on the rhetoric!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 04/10/2016 16:59:16    1922494

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Why do people keep saying that Mayo need better forwards or that they are one forward short of greatness? Just look at the team and the subs, they are fantastic. The culture in the GAA is that second place is the worst place to be but in the Olympics and other sports this is not the case. No other county could have rattled the dubs for 154 minutes. The fact that Mayo have 8 senior runners up medals since 1989 is a great achievement."
We keep saying it because it's true. All the 'experts' on the Sunday Game also echoed this, and we have being saying it for a long time. Some Mayo folk try to distract from this but it's as plain as the nose on your face. If ye had a Brogan or Murphy or a McManus on your side, ye'd have won it by now.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 04/10/2016 17:01:55    1922495

The terms "bottlers" really annoys me.
This reminds me of the Tipp v Kilkenny thing. Tipp were being labelled "bottlers" and in the same breath, people were saying that the Kilkenny were the greatest hurling team of all time - which they were. In any other era, Tipp would have won 3 / 4 more All Irelands, its very fine margins.
Instead of saying Mayo are "bottlers", why not applaud this great Dublin team and their ability to grind out results.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 04/10/2016 17:03:30    1922497

Replying To GalwayPaddy:  "Lads, way I see it is 32_4_1 make the most sense on this forum. I dont like to say it but the more I look back the more I have to say they bottled it. If traditional counties like Galway or Kerry had these players they would win an All Ireland with them."
Galway are more traditional than Mayo? You do know we have more minor and u21 all Ireland's than you and more Connacht titles seeing as we only won 3 between 52 and 80 plus after 1951 we had the same amounts of all Ireland's. Remember you won two all Ireland's after a period of 32 years without one and since haven't won in croke park! If these guys played for Galway the would never got near a final.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 04/10/2016 17:06:29    1922498

Bit of a disservice to the teams that actually bet Mayo in the last finals if you're going to label them bottlers I think.

Toe to toe with one of the best teams to play the game, after almost 5 hours of football against the Dubs in the last 2 championships they're only down by 8 points overall. Most other teams would be doing well to keep it that low after one half against them.

They were never heavy favourites for any of the finals they played in. If you're beaten by a team most expect you to be beaten by I'm not really sure how anybody can have a go at you afterwards. Even after the drawn game a couple of weeks ago a lot of people were saying Mayo had missed their chance, the same people probably didn't give them much of a chance to begin with.

To go through that amount of heartbreak at the latter stages of the championship year on year and to keep coming back as strong as before takes a hell of a lot of effort, physically and mentally. If other counties had the same determination and hunger and tried to focus it on improving themselves then the football championship would be a much tougher competition. They deserve every bit of credit they get for being able to challenge so regularly.

Some of the people knocking Mayo will be the same ones who moan about the advantages Dublin have, and how it's too hard for the rest of us to compete with them. Happily ignoring the fact that Mayo have one of the few groups of players who actually believe they are equals, and have proved capable of putting it up to them.

If Mayo are bottlers then the rest of us are going nowhere anytime soon.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 04/10/2016 17:07:17    1922500

Replying To realdub:  "We keep saying it because it's true. All the 'experts' on the Sunday Game also echoed this, and we have being saying it for a long time. Some Mayo folk try to distract from this but it's as plain as the nose on your face. If ye had a Brogan or Murphy or a McManus on your side, ye'd have won it by now."
Definitely don't have the forward corps like Dublin our forwards need to improve or at least play with a better game plan or with less fear and make some space and take domes scores in finals seemed to play into contact instead of like dublins forwards!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 04/10/2016 17:10:44    1922502

Mayo players are not bottlers and weren't really unlucky either. This year, as last year, Dublin were better than Mayo (and everyone else at the moment) and they played better on Sunday. Everything else being equal the team the better forward (or whatever) will win. That was Dublin.

But, from the Mayo point of view, the needless errors keep mounting, But this isn't bad luck it's a sign of a lack of ability, this time mostly by the management. I don't know what possessed them to change the goalkeeper...but this type of stuff is madness and as long as it keeps up they'll struggle. You can't say it's bad luck if you do stupid things, and no Mayo person I saw at the game was saying that. Cut the self inflicted mistakes out and your chances greatly improve, but that's part of the game, not down to luck. Poise on the pitch and sideline are needed. Time for few forwards from the U21s and Aidan O'Shea out of the forward line, and never again try to be to smart with the selections.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 04/10/2016 17:33:25    1922517

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "The terms "bottlers" really annoys me.
This reminds me of the Tipp v Kilkenny thing. Tipp were being labelled "bottlers" and in the same breath, people were saying that the Kilkenny were the greatest hurling team of all time - which they were. In any other era, Tipp would have won 3 / 4 more All Irelands, its very fine margins.
Instead of saying Mayo are "bottlers", why not applaud this great Dublin team and their ability to grind out results."
Yeah but Tipp never had the litany of self-inflicted calamities that Mayo had, plus Tipp already had an All-Ireland win against Kilkenny under their belt from 2010.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 04/10/2016 17:39:42    1922520

It is really annoying to read some of the comments on here about Mayo being "Bottlers".

Over the last decade very few teams can classify themselves being consistently competitive probably Dublin / Kerry / Mayo / Donegal / Tyrone

other than these counties who is competing at the highest level year in year out?

There are numerous counties with great football traditions and great players that have not stepped up to the plate. it is up to every county to organise themselves and their teams to compete at the highest level. failure to do so only serves to ask the question why? this extends beyond the senior team to underage structures, management, fundraising, clubs and the fans themselves.

If we all sat on the ditch and criticised then none would aspire to better themselves and Dublin would walk to AI victory without a challenge a bit like what they do in Leinster

Lots of counties need to take a serious look at themselves and wonder why are we not even remotely near challenging at the end of the season?

Why because they are bottlers!!!!!

2winjustonce (Mayo) - Posts: 65 - 04/10/2016 17:50:13    1922522

Galway Paddy is just stirring it with this stupid thread. Surprised so many HS posters have taken the bait.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 04/10/2016 18:15:59    1922537

Replying To ballydalane:  "Yeah but Tipp never had the litany of self-inflicted calamities that Mayo had, plus Tipp already had an All-Ireland win against Kilkenny under their belt from 2010."
Not comparing like with like.draw a line from Galway to Dublin and very little serious hurling north of that.
Football more difficult competition to win

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 04/10/2016 18:21:34    1922541

Replying To centerfield:  "Not comparing like with like.draw a line from Galway to Dublin and very little serious hurling north of that.
Football more difficult competition to win"
Tipp also had a huge tradition of beating Kilkenny prior to the Cody era.Kilkenny only had one championship win over Tipp between 1922 and 2002.(1967 All-Ireland Final).Tipp also have a great record in All-Ireland Finals.Their ratio of wins to losses in All-Ireland Finals is a lot better than Kilkenny's.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 04/10/2016 18:57:29    1922556

sadly yes id have to agree that they are bottlers..more than good enough to win an all ireland and have constantly made silly mistakes and errors and shown a lack of composure when it mattered most

in a lot of sports you have to fail before you succeed look at the dubs who constantly failed like cluxton brogans etc up to 2011...sadly mayo have hard to suffer quite a lot but next year will possibly be their year

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 04/10/2016 19:26:28    1922568

Dont think they are bottlers, they gifted Dublin three goals over the two games and still only lost out by one point, very few teams if any ,other than the dubs capable of beating them. Came down to choice of keeper on the day.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 04/10/2016 19:45:36    1922581

Replying To realdub:  "We keep saying it because it's true. All the 'experts' on the Sunday Game also echoed this, and we have being saying it for a long time. Some Mayo folk try to distract from this but it's as plain as the nose on your face. If ye had a Brogan or Murphy or a McManus on your side, ye'd have won it by now."
true dat, those lads you mentioned are class. even if Mayo had a Damien Comer style forward that would be a huge plus

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 04/10/2016 20:08:46    1922586

What a load of crap! Mayo have been consistently been one of the best teams in the country in recent years. They have gone toe-to-toe with the top teams and beaten them all except Kerry. Counties like Meath and Kildare on the other hand, who have just as much resources and footballing tradition as Mayo, simply roll over and play dead at the sight of a Dublin jersey. My own county's recent efforts in Croke Park have been equally pathetic - when Galway come up against Kerry in particular, they are well beaten before the ball is even thrown in. I have no doubt that Mayo will continue to be a major force for years to come. I hope they win an all-Ireland soon, but even if they don't, they will certainly continue to be far more successful than the counties of most of the "bottling" theorists.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 04/10/2016 20:15:16    1922592