Rob Hennelly, I'm still proud of him, always will be

Replying To GetOverTheBar:  "Feel extremely sorry for the guy - very disappointed for him, especially after his public backing towards the Cork u21 goalkeeper earlier in the year.

Lads, if you think he's good enough or not that's your opinion and your certainly entitled to it but surely today is not the day to be hitting the internet with it to be honest with you. Have some kind of tact at least."
I disagree.

On this forum we all like to analyze games, where they were won and lost and turning points.

It is impossible to analyze this game properly without acknowledging that a bizarre management decision along with some shocking goalkeeping probably cost Mayo an All Ireland. It was a poor performance but that's all it was. Nothing more or nothing less.

I haven't read or heard anyone attacking Rob Hennelly on a personal level and hope it doesn't happen but at the end of the day he will be criticised for his performance on Saturday and rightly so.

At the end of the day nobody died and it's just a game of football.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 03/10/2016 14:23:42    1921904

I don't blame Rochford. He made a decision that he thought was right. In the first game I thought Clarkes kickouts were poor and he was responsible for 3 points in a row at one stage.
Robs kickouts were poor on Saturday and he would know that himself but no worse than Cluxton or Clarkes in the first game. He dropped one ball, how many times do you see a player drop a ball? Only thing is he dropped his two yards from his own goal line.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 03/10/2016 14:25:07    1921907

I was convinced Clarke would have been on from the start of the 2nd half

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/10/2016 14:32:28    1921914

Replying To gotmilk:  "I don't blame Rochford. He made a decision that he thought was right. In the first game I thought Clarkes kickouts were poor and he was responsible for 3 points in a row at one stage.
Robs kickouts were poor on Saturday and he would know that himself but no worse than Cluxton or Clarkes in the first game. He dropped one ball, how many times do you see a player drop a ball? Only thing is he dropped his two yards from his own goal line."
You are wrong, Clarke made 2 mistakes on kickouts in the first game. A 3rd one was not his fault it was a mix up with the defenders. Clarke was not just there for kickouts he gives security under a highball. Hennelly is a good reflex shot stopper but concedes a lot of goals. I don't want to be down on the guy, he does his best and had a bad day. But people are looking for fault in Clarke that isn't really there. Every keeper has one or 2 bad kickouts, Cluxton does as well. Clarke should have started, end of.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 03/10/2016 14:57:10    1921928

The media are blaming Hennelly but I would ask the question who was marking the Dublin player that kicked the high ball on top of the goalie, why wasn't that ball blocked instead of allowing the kick, how come the Dublin player that won the penalty was unmarked, the Mayo defender was 10 yards away from him, I would ask why Mayo had 6 or 7 players on the pitch that had a poor performance, they aren't getting an earful from people, rumours in the county is players called the shots before the game and wanted that goalie on, the same story was around before the Galway game and Mayo played poorly, ifs buts and maybes will drive you daft. The best thing Rob Hennelly can do is to tog out for his club Breaffy next Saturday and drive his team forward and put in a man of the match performance between the sticks and try to bury the memory of this game and move forward. His message for the Cork U21 goalie last April/ May was fantastic, time for all of us to do likewise and put this game behind us and support him in whatever he does in the future

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 03/10/2016 14:58:59    1921931

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You are wrong, Clarke made 2 mistakes on kickouts in the first game. A 3rd one was not his fault it was a mix up with the defenders. Clarke was not just there for kickouts he gives security under a highball. Hennelly is a good reflex shot stopper but concedes a lot of goals. I don't want to be down on the guy, he does his best and had a bad day. But people are looking for fault in Clarke that isn't really there. Every keeper has one or 2 bad kickouts, Cluxton does as well. Clarke should have started, end of."
Clarke had poor kickouts that went unpunished the first day too.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 03/10/2016 15:17:09    1921945

Replying To riverboys:  "The media are blaming Hennelly but I would ask the question who was marking the Dublin player that kicked the high ball on top of the goalie, why wasn't that ball blocked instead of allowing the kick, how come the Dublin player that won the penalty was unmarked, the Mayo defender was 10 yards away from him, I would ask why Mayo had 6 or 7 players on the pitch that had a poor performance, they aren't getting an earful from people, rumours in the county is players called the shots before the game and wanted that goalie on, the same story was around before the Galway game and Mayo played poorly, ifs buts and maybes will drive you daft. The best thing Rob Hennelly can do is to tog out for his club Breaffy next Saturday and drive his team forward and put in a man of the match performance between the sticks and try to bury the memory of this game and move forward. His message for the Cork U21 goalie last April/ May was fantastic, time for all of us to do likewise and put this game behind us and support him in whatever he does in the future"
Spot on! The blame game is pointless really. Win together lose together and im sure the team feel like that. I'm glad COC isnt been vilified for missing that free too. He did so much right over both finals.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/10/2016 15:21:00    1921949

Replying To riverboys:  "The media are blaming Hennelly but I would ask the question who was marking the Dublin player that kicked the high ball on top of the goalie, why wasn't that ball blocked instead of allowing the kick, how come the Dublin player that won the penalty was unmarked, the Mayo defender was 10 yards away from him, I would ask why Mayo had 6 or 7 players on the pitch that had a poor performance, they aren't getting an earful from people, rumours in the county is players called the shots before the game and wanted that goalie on, the same story was around before the Galway game and Mayo played poorly, ifs buts and maybes will drive you daft. The best thing Rob Hennelly can do is to tog out for his club Breaffy next Saturday and drive his team forward and put in a man of the match performance between the sticks and try to bury the memory of this game and move forward. His message for the Cork U21 goalie last April/ May was fantastic, time for all of us to do likewise and put this game behind us and support him in whatever he does in the future"
You know that rumour might make sense.

Rochford has been very quiet on the Hennelly thing regarding selection and performance.

Mayo players have previous in this area.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 03/10/2016 15:26:35    1921950

Replying To keithlemon:  "I know it's probably too soon and the dust hasn't settled but I've got to ask: Will the Mayo players look to oust Rochford now?

I would argue that they were closer to beating Dublin the first game last year than they were over the two games this year. The decision to oust the previous management was based on the lack of preparation. They looked more than prepared for this final this year. Tactically they looked smarter this year, their defence was excellent against Tyrone and especially Dublin.
But, as Tomas O'Se said, their shortcomings are mainly up front. I won't regurgitate Tomas' article but I do agree that Mayo lack a good enough game plan up front to beat the best teams. Ok, losing Keegan was always going to have a massive impact on their game plan but all teams need to adapt. As close as the game was, I never felt that Mayo were going to out score Dublin or to get a number of points on the trot in the last 20 minutes to overturn them. It was mainly a number of soft frees that kept them in it in the last 10 minutes or so.

I don't mean to knock Mayo when they're down but I for one have never been a fan of player power or the excuses that are made for thinking that players know better than the manager. I'm sure people could point the finger and say it works had Mayo won on Saturday, but I'm thinking about Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly here. I wonder how they would have fared on Saturday, would they have dropped their keeper, would they have sacrificed Lee Keegan as a man marker when his forward running is probably more devastating than some of the forwards?

We'll never know but at what point to the players might stop believing in Rochford and do the same to him."
you have to factor in holmes was put in charge due to county board against players wishes

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 03/10/2016 15:34:20    1921954

Replying To daytona11:  "You know that rumour might make sense.

Rochford has been very quiet on the Hennelly thing regarding selection and performance.

Mayo players have previous in this area."
Any manager of use would have taken off Hennelly at H/T

Especially with such a good replacement sitting on the bench

It was clear to see he was struggling and we were profiting greatly from it

I wonder was he (Rochford) strong armed into not being able to make that call?

Not sure, it was that or he didn't want to admit his error?

I said it at H/T that I'd be surprised if Hennelly came back out, and I was glad because it would have been another sub used and would further enhance our stronger options later in the game, if they were forced into a change.

Glad he didn't get taken off at H/T now of course

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/10/2016 15:35:44    1921956

Replying To gotmilk:  "I don't blame Rochford. He made a decision that he thought was right. In the first game I thought Clarkes kickouts were poor and he was responsible for 3 points in a row at one stage.
Robs kickouts were poor on Saturday and he would know that himself but no worse than Cluxton or Clarkes in the first game. He dropped one ball, how many times do you see a player drop a ball? Only thing is he dropped his two yards from his own goal line."
would have to blame rochford..dont know how he avoids blame as its a major decision to change your keeper who has been playing well most of the championship

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 03/10/2016 15:35:55    1921957

I really wouldn't pay too much attention to rumours concerning the Mayo team, they've been swirling around the county side for as long as I can remember and rarely turn out to be true. Remember the ones about Richie Feeney in 2013? That sort of nonsense.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/10/2016 15:36:26    1921958

Incredible how important kick outs have become

All the talk is about pushing up on Cluxton

But Dublin are amongst the best at pushing up on opposition kick outs with great success

Cluxton has also been going longer in the last two games with great success

I think we over relied on going short and it was sussed, it took Kerry to wake us up a wee bit

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/10/2016 15:46:18    1921973

Does anyone else find it a bit mad he put a picture of himself getting the black card up on social media?

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 03/10/2016 15:46:52    1921975

Replying To Victorious87:  "Does anyone else find it a bit mad he put a picture of himself getting the black card up on social media?"
Did he? on what twitter or something?

If he did do that it's quite odd alright

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/10/2016 15:50:40    1921976

Replying To gotmilk:  "Clarke had poor kickouts that went unpunished the first day too."
He had 3 or 4 at the most in total. But Cluxton had 2 or 3 as well. Clarke a better keeper, end of.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 03/10/2016 15:50:49    1921977

Players shouldn't have a choice in management. It's not a democracy and all that nonsense.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 03/10/2016 16:04:38    1921988

Replying To alano12:  "would have to blame rochford..dont know how he avoids blame as its a major decision to change your keeper who has been playing well most of the championship"
Major decision to change Brogan, MCMC as well. Neither of those changes worked well but I don't see Gavin getting blamed for them. Rochford made a decision he thought was the right one. If Clarkes kickouts were better the first day Mayo would have won. Rochford tried to change it, it backfired.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 03/10/2016 16:13:20    1921993

Replying To TheFlaker:  "He had 3 or 4 at the most in total. But Cluxton had 2 or 3 as well. Clarke a better keeper, end of."
Cluxton has had a horrible year, he was great in the second half on saturday but any other game i've seen him in he has been very poor. In hindsight Clarke being dropped was a bad decision. Rochford made a call to try and rectify a problem from the first game, it backfired.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 03/10/2016 16:15:44    1921995

Replying To jimbodub:  "Did he? on what twitter or something?

If he did do that it's quite odd alright"
On instagram, the qoutes from the homepage are from the instagram post

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 03/10/2016 16:21:27    1922000