FAO Mayo Fans

Reading the posts it seems most are about black cards. I really think it is time to get rid of the black card as it is causing too much controversy. Such a pity as they were two excellent games and all that people are talking about is the decisions of the ref.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1883 - 02/10/2016 20:45:09    1921627

While this thread might be meant well it is pure patronising shite. If Mayo are good enough they will win an All Ireland. If not then they won't. It's as simple as that. In Limerick we have lost a rake of hurling finals as well since we last won an All Ireland simply because we weren't good enough. And no Mayo team has got as close to winning one recently as we did in 94. We lost it because obviously we weren't good enough.

So give over the old "ah aren't Mayo great aul lads to keep coming back" rubbish.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 03/10/2016 11:47:15    1921808

From what I 've seen of the last 3 All Ireland winning Kerry minor teams I guarantee you its not going to get any easier for Mayo.
Tyrone too will be better next year.
Cork won't be as bad next year.
Galway flopped in Croke Park but the signs are there that they are stirring again.
And most of all remember that we Dubs aint going to relinquish our hard won crown easily.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 03/10/2016 12:26:00    1921838

Replying To mike03:  "While this thread might be meant well it is pure patronising shite. If Mayo are good enough they will win an All Ireland. If not then they won't. It's as simple as that. In Limerick we have lost a rake of hurling finals as well since we last won an All Ireland simply because we weren't good enough. And no Mayo team has got as close to winning one recently as we did in 94. We lost it because obviously we weren't good enough.

So give over the old "ah aren't Mayo great aul lads to keep coming back" rubbish."
Mike Mike Mike Mike since 94 we have lost two replays by one point and one by one point of say that's closer than 5 point loss and remember the first one we were leading both games and dominantly with a few minutes to go but didn't close it out. And then lost the replay by a point not 5 points that closer than Limerick my friend 96 we were good enough I believe I still don't think that Meath were the better team sorry lads!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 03/10/2016 13:24:50    1921870

By the way I completely disagree with you Liam in your OP you compare us to Mayo.You are comparing apples and oranges man.Yes we had all those near misses in the early 90s but a lot of us could remember the win in 83 and the glorious wins in the 70s, and we tasted success in 95.
Mayo have had no such success to fortify them.Its been 65 years for them, very few Mayo people know the joy of being All ireland Champs.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 03/10/2016 14:45:42    1921921

Replying To Condorman:  "By the way I completely disagree with you Liam in your OP you compare us to Mayo.You are comparing apples and oranges man.Yes we had all those near misses in the early 90s but a lot of us could remember the win in 83 and the glorious wins in the 70s, and we tasted success in 95.
Mayo have had no such success to fortify them.Its been 65 years for them, very few Mayo people know the joy of being All ireland Champs."
Condor i am 37 so i and my gen were only 4/5 in 83 so had no memory of it

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/10/2016 15:20:13    1921947

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Condor i am 37 so i and my gen were only 4/5 in 83 so had no memory of it"
Fair enough Liam.I'm 55 by the way.
We can only imagine how bad the Mayo fans feel.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 03/10/2016 17:50:17    1922044

Very sorry to see Mayo lose again yesterday, no county deserves the torture they endure

GalwayPaddy (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 03/10/2016 18:18:34    1922059

Replying To mike03:  "While this thread might be meant well it is pure patronising shite. If Mayo are good enough they will win an All Ireland. If not then they won't. It's as simple as that. In Limerick we have lost a rake of hurling finals as well since we last won an All Ireland simply because we weren't good enough. And no Mayo team has got as close to winning one recently as we did in 94. We lost it because obviously we weren't good enough.

So give over the old "ah aren't Mayo great aul lads to keep coming back" rubbish."
At long last some one says it as it is. I put up a similar post using an Irish term but it wasn't allowed for some reason. You have to see that it's the same clique of people at it all the time on here, patronising each other looking for likes, it's absolutely laughable. I'm glad someone called it.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 03/10/2016 18:52:16    1922070

Replying To moc.dna:  "At long last some one says it as it is. I put up a similar post using an Irish term but it wasn't allowed for some reason. You have to see that it's the same clique of people at it all the time on here, patronising each other looking for likes, it's absolutely laughable. I'm glad someone called it."
Mayo need leaders like Galway had in 98 and 2001.

GalwayPaddy (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 03/10/2016 19:19:03    1922076

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Mike Mike Mike Mike since 94 we have lost two replays by one point and one by one point of say that's closer than 5 point loss and remember the first one we were leading both games and dominantly with a few minutes to go but didn't close it out. And then lost the replay by a point not 5 points that closer than Limerick my friend 96 we were good enough I believe I still don't think that Meath were the better team sorry lads!"
well if you are happy to accept patronising claps on the back then ye will we never win anything.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 03/10/2016 19:25:38    1922079

Replying To shaggylegend:  "I was at the game, lets call a spade a spade Deegan was awful. He gave the major decisions against Mayo. Your heart has to go out to Mayo. Dublin butchered loads of attacks yesterday and should have beaten out the gate if they were more clinical, the example was the blocked shot by Brogan at the end that eventually led to the free that O'Connor missed, The ball should never been given to Brogan.
But back to the main facts the pulling and dragging by the Dublin backs off the ball went unpunished. Small was a clear Black Card in the first 15 Minutes he missed with the deliberate pull down and then hand tripped him. Deegan Bottled that call, Hurson the linesman should have told him as could his umpires that it was black. Cooper got black that just a natural instinct its unlucky but was a black. Keegan no way was it a black its a bad attempt at a tackle not a pull down, yellow card should have been the decision. The penalty for me was harsh in the ultra slow mo replay he does catch the legs of Andrews but he clearly played the ball first. The grab of the player is a natural coming together after playing the ball. McMenamin goes through on goal was more of a penalty than the first one. The ones in the middle of the field just before half time i cant comment as i didn't see it.But surely the only thing Aidan O'Shea was missing was a saddle when Cian O'Sullivan and co continuously fouled for at least 5 seconds.

Look fair play to Dublin for winning they have been brilliant over the last 5 years. Going the thought the whole League and Championship without losing is a sign of greatness, but you need to ride your luck at times and take whatever breaks that come your way. Wasn't a vintage year in terms of performance by Dublin but its a results business and Jim Gavin and co won't care how they win as long as the win."
Well I am a neutral and I certainly have no link to Mayo, but I felt that when Mayo were a point in arrears in the second half A O'Shea was blatantly fowled both inside and outside the square and they seemed to have two very creditable claims to scoreable frees ignored with a few minutes of those incidents. Several people are saying the Dubs were abetter team and had far better forwards but yet they only won by one solitary point out of thirty one scores. BTW I do not buy this argument that a forward line is worse because a lot of their scores come from frees. Frees are only awarded because the backs are unable to contain good forwards by foul means and this should not end up being a reflection on forwards.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 03/10/2016 19:42:01    1922088

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "No glee I. You are wrong. Why don't mayo supporters stand up and say stop. Feehan bottled it completely. In the me lee before half time Connolly should have got a black card he blocked vaughans run. Small should have got a Red card. He threw a punch at oconnor. Red for attempted strike. McMahon should have got a red card punched parsons right in front of coldrick. McMahon then fouled Oshawa in the penalty area. Finally no penalty for Dublin. He nelly got a touch on the ball. Pathetic performance by Feehan. Let's call it for what it is"
an obviously drunk poster here. the worst offence I saw in the game was the ASSAULT on Cooper after the Mayo goal by Doherty. totally off the ball, totally unneccessary and on a man who didnt see it coming. surely one of the umpires or both of them seen it. it was blatant and warranted a straight red.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/10/2016 21:55:53    1922148

The Mayo players won't need any patronising commiserations this week. They'll feel lower than a snake's arse and will feel no want whatsoever to rehash the game over and over. They know they were very close and little things could have went for them on the day but didn't. On another day Cillian would have pointed that free and they could have gone on to win the game in ET. It just wasn't to be.

Mayo have a good crop of players coming through as well as perhaps more importantly, a strong and hungry footballing culture. They aren't going anywhere. They'll be eager to reclaim what they'd consider their rightful Connacht crown and will be involved at the business end of things again next Autumn you can be sure.

Dublin were worthy winners. They just had that wee bit of an extra attacking dimension with their substitutions. MDMA is a great man to bring on as opposition legs & minds are tiring. He rampages through the middle and opens things up for Dublin's shooters - most notably Cormac Costello on Saturday. They'll be eager to claim a 3 in a row. Who knows, if ROC and McCaffrey rejoin they'll be even more formidable. But they are beatable. I don't buy into this poor mouth notion that Dublin have too many resources, money and bla bla bla for other teams to be able to compete.
Counties need to innovate and use the tools at their disposal to bring more to the table when it comes to challenging the top teams, my own county included. Otherwise why bother.

Enjoy your celebrations Dublin fans! The winter will hopefully pass by quickly and before long we'll be attending the provincial warmup tournaments!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9190 - 04/10/2016 12:20:55    1922332