Congrats Dublin

Congrats to Dublin - as they did against Kerry had the composure when it mattered
No team can live with the strength dublin have from the bench - especially when games are now 80-85 minutes - Cluxtons accuracy was also a telling factor

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 03/10/2016 12:11:58    1921826

Well done Dublin, better team over the two games by a point - fine margins huh? I said at the start of the year I didn't think they'd retain Sam - I thought hunger would be an issue. I've been proved very wrong. Congrats to them with perhaps Jack McCaffrey to come back next year looking his starting spot. Gavin got to be thinking of the three in a row, great times to be a Dub - enjoy it lads!

My heart breaks for Mayo players and people to be honest, I have to admit I wanted them to get over the line so much. But unfortunately that's not how sport goes. They are close - so very close. Their day surely must come. I hope the people of Mayo stick with these guys and this team.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 03/10/2016 13:27:51    1921872

Haven't been on for a couple of days as emotions were understandably raw. Fair play to the Dubs as you can't argue with the result. We really screwed thinks up royally on the line but that isn't Dublins fault. their experience of winning finals really told in the end. Some of those lads could end up with as many medals as Spillane and co. I know it won't last but respect for Dublin fans and posters as very little triumphalism being displayed. As for our lads, some of them need a rest until next May. Bring in a scatter of young lads and if we get relegated in the league so what. Will be a long road back but if the desire is there we may not be finished yet. Mayo for Sam 2017 anyone.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/10/2016 14:58:16    1921929

Congratulations to Dublin who are, by a distance, the best team in he country now.

What separates them from the rest is how Jim Gavin & his management team have learned from their mistakes, shed the "total football" nonsense & are now prepared to win ugly if that is what it takes.

Dublin also have a great bench which was used to great effect on Sat evening & they are going to be a tough nut for all the other counties to crack in the coming years.

Bring it on!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/10/2016 19:34:21    1922084

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Congratulations to Dublin who are, by a distance, the best team in he country now.

What separates them from the rest is how Jim Gavin & his management team have learned from their mistakes, shed the "total football" nonsense & are now prepared to win ugly if that is what it takes.

Dublin also have a great bench which was used to great effect on Sat evening & they are going to be a tough nut for all the other counties to crack in the coming years.

Bring it on!!"
by a distance?..were the best team but a missed free away from extra time

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 03/10/2016 20:36:29    1922108

Replying To alano12:  "by a distance?..were the best team but a missed free away from extra time"
Dublin should have won by more and it sort of felt like they did to me that they did in strange way, they were both very strange games, the og's the first day, Hennelly's mistakes on Saturday, it all felt a bit surreal to me, maybe there is some truth in this curse story.

El_Torro (Tyrone) - Posts: 155 - 03/10/2016 22:07:07    1922153

Replying To El_Torro:  "Dublin should have won by more and it sort of felt like they did to me that they did in strange way, they were both very strange games, the og's the first day, Hennelly's mistakes on Saturday, it all felt a bit surreal to me, maybe there is some truth in this curse story."
possibly but dont think best by a distance..no doubt better team win but its closer then a lot make out

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 03/10/2016 23:05:41    1922177

Replying To El_Torro:  "Dublin should have won by more and it sort of felt like they did to me that they did in strange way, they were both very strange games, the og's the first day, Hennelly's mistakes on Saturday, it all felt a bit surreal to me, maybe there is some truth in this curse story."
Dublin were very wasteful over the last 10-15 minutes

We had two very good chances for goals if the right ball was given and a couple of poor wide's

Poor decision making by some of our lads at the most critical of times, we should have been further ahead than 3 points coming into the injury time

COC shouldn't have had a chance to tie up the game with that late free, but that's what happens when you're that sloppy and wasteful, I couldn't believe we had given them such a good chance to tie the game up

We were fortunate, and fair play to COC he wasn't anywhere near where the foul was committed when he took the free

He made the free at least 10-20% easier by the time he kicked the ball, he made it a lot easier for himself but he was tired and under pressure and dragged it wide

But again, we should have been home and dry but that's what happens when you waster valuable opportunities

We got lucky but the 4 points from play from the impact subs made the difference

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/10/2016 10:47:45    1922265

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dublin were very wasteful over the last 10-15 minutes

We had two very good chances for goals if the right ball was given and a couple of poor wide's

Poor decision making by some of our lads at the most critical of times, we should have been further ahead than 3 points coming into the injury time

COC shouldn't have had a chance to tie up the game with that late free, but that's what happens when you're that sloppy and wasteful, I couldn't believe we had given them such a good chance to tie the game up

We were fortunate, and fair play to COC he wasn't anywhere near where the foul was committed when he took the free

He made the free at least 10-20% easier by the time he kicked the ball, he made it a lot easier for himself but he was tired and under pressure and dragged it wide

But again, we should have been home and dry but that's what happens when you waster valuable opportunities

We got lucky but the 4 points from play from the impact subs made the difference"
Who gave away the free for entering the throw-in that time? Never saw a replay. Crazy brainfreeze!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 04/10/2016 11:20:53    1922292

Who gave away the free for entering the throw-in that time? Never saw a replay. Crazy brainfreeze!
Breffni39 (Cavan) - Posts:10487 - 04/10/2016 11:20:53 1922292

Ciarán Kilkenny. Apparently he was watching the AFL Grand Final that morning!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/10/2016 11:42:15    1922303

Replying To Breffni39:  "Who gave away the free for entering the throw-in that time? Never saw a replay. Crazy brainfreeze!"
think it was Kilkenney.

I called it before it even happened as Dublin had done the same against Kerry and got away with it.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 04/10/2016 11:44:45    1922306

Replying To Breffni39:  "Who gave away the free for entering the throw-in that time? Never saw a replay. Crazy brainfreeze!"
Honestly don't know Breff

I had my head in my hands at that stage

We made life overly complicated in the closing stages

But it was good enough, just about.

Maybe that's how you have to win a back to back.. fall over the line

Buy by jaysus there were some true heroics mixed in there from Dublin to boot

I'll never forget Darren Daly's block for as long as I live...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/10/2016 11:56:02    1922313

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:15918 - 04/10/2016 10:47:45

He did indeed. Saw that last night on TG4.

Maybe the fact that he was stealing so many yards is what put him off. It might have been in the back of his mind that the ref may have called him back. That distraction for even a nanosecond might have been enough to put him off because let's face it O'Connor nails those frees all day long for me. From where he strikes the free it is not that difficult a kick.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/10/2016 12:05:17    1922318

Replying To MesAmis:  "He made the free at least 10-20% easier by the time he kicked the ball, he made it a lot easier for himself but he was tired and under pressure and dragged it wide

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:15918 - 04/10/2016 10:47:45

He did indeed. Saw that last night on TG4.

Maybe the fact that he was stealing so many yards is what put him off. It might have been in the back of his mind that the ref may have called him back. That distraction for even a nanosecond might have been enough to put him off because let's face it O'Connor nails those frees all day long for me. From where he strikes the free it is not that difficult a kick."
It was almost a tap over for him by the time he was done with his manoeuvre

A player of his free taking ability off his right foot from that angle

That's almost a 10 outta 10 for him from that spot

He absolutely bought a huge gain in the angle and distance by the time he took the free

You're right perhaps he knew it and it was on his mind.. we'll never know!

But we shouldn't have let it come down to that!

Hugely wasteful and the game should have been put to bed at that stage

We got lucky.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/10/2016 12:31:14    1922337

Replying To jimbodub:  "Honestly don't know Breff

I'll never forget Darren Daly's block for as long as I live..."
Darren Daly seems like he'll be a quiz question. No idea of the specifics but how many AIs has he played in and won vs how many minutes championship has he played? He's the direct opposite of Alan Dillon.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 04/10/2016 13:27:33    1922361

Replying To Breffni39:  "Darren Daly seems like he'll be a quiz question. No idea of the specifics but how many AIs has he played in and won vs how many minutes championship has he played? He's the direct opposite of Alan Dillon."
He was on the panel in 2011 but didn't feature in the final

He played the entire 2nd half against Mayo in 2013 - coming on for Jack McCaffrey

He had about 15 minutes against Kerry in 2015

He came on for about 8 minutes in the first game against Mayo and couldn't get close enough to COC

He came on for about 5-6 minutes in the replay = One legendary block for the ages

So he definitely has at least 3 medals (not sure if he got a medal in 2011) and has featured in 4 finals

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/10/2016 14:32:48    1922402

Delighted for all involved. Best side in the country over the last number of years. Best management also and that was proved the last day when decisions needed to be made they weren't found wanting. No doubt they will like all great teams finally be beaten but for what they have achieved they can never be questioned as anything other than a great side.
Won't get into comparing them with teams of the past as that is not a runner but fair to say they would definetly figure in any conversation relating to the best ever and no dishonor in loosing to them whatever about the disappointment .

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 05/10/2016 14:10:34    1922852

Fair play to the Dubs they are worthy AI Champions.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/10/2016 18:16:22    1922985

Replying To jimbodub:  "Honestly don't know Breff

I'll never forget Darren Daly's block for as long as I live..."
Kilkenny gave away that free, he said he puts that down to watching AFL the night before
I'd say the lads gave him some stick about that later on

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 05/10/2016 18:50:48    1922997