Congrats Dublin

Well done dublin..unlucky mayo' there a great side who always give us a tough game..great day in croker yesterday for us..great times for a dubs fan watching this great dublin team..over the moon'''brilliant..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 02/10/2016 10:11:59    1921383

Replying To yew_tree:  "Well done Dublin. The better team yet again. We can only look at our own failing again. This Dublin team ARE one of the great football teams. Time to drown the sorrows in the capital yet again. Still proud to be a Mayo man."
respect for such a reply when things are still so raw. Respect.

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 02/10/2016 10:34:24    1921386

Replying To Spoddgy:  "I am annoyed that the rivalry is getting bitter had a guy spewting rubbish beside me about Mayo disgraceful stuff no doubt a mayo man somewhere today spewted something as rotten! That Dublin team are as good as anything in 40 years they are brilliant we are never far off just lack that extra killer instinct in the final third. Come on hats down they are fantastic!"
Sound Spodgy,it is getting a bit dirty alright.Look ,I've been at games where some of the drivel you hear coming outa so called fans is pathetic.We have them just as much as any county. Had two Kerry biddys behind us and you want to hear the anti Dub sour and spiteful stuff they were roaring.A kerry guy beside me looked genuinely embarrassed and eventually one Dublin woman gave them a lash of her tongue and shut them up.
Anyway ,hard luck, were you the lad that came over by boat the day before.Sounds like you really wanted to be there.
He'll be back again no doubt ,that team is too good not to be.Nothing between them.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 02/10/2016 10:56:49    1921400

Well done Dublin.
Id say there are a few sore men today.
You are the best team in the country right now but a word of caution for the 3 in a row.
Mayo going away no time soon, and we look forward to locking horns again next year ;

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 02/10/2016 11:04:31    1921405

Replying To Vishred:  "Well done Dublin.
Id say there are a few sore men today.
You are the best team in the country right now but a word of caution for the 3 in a row.
Mayo going away no time soon, and we look forward to locking horns again next year ;"
Cheers.

To be honest us Dubs aren't even thinking about 3 in a row or anything like that.
All we really wanted was for this excellent Dublin team to achieve Back2Back All Ireland titles.
(I thought we blew a great opportunity in 2014 and was not sure we would do 2-In-A-Row SAM's after that to be honest).
Now this Dublin team can truly be considered as an all time Great Dublin Team - Legends.
And they deserve that accolade.

As for Mayo - ye will be back. Not doubt.
Tough draw ahead of ye next year though with Kerry to meet ye in the AI semi, should ye both win your provinces.
Kerry are up and coming and will be a serious threat going forward to all.
But all the best to Mayo next yr.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 02/10/2016 11:26:45    1921416

Replying To Spoddgy:  "I am annoyed that the rivalry is getting bitter had a guy spewting rubbish beside me about Mayo disgraceful stuff no doubt a mayo man somewhere today spewted something as rotten! That Dublin team are as good as anything in 40 years they are brilliant we are never far off just lack that extra killer instinct in the final third. Come on hats down they are fantastic!"
I wonder if you were seated near me in the Davin Stand? Fella a couple of rows behind me coming out with the most disgraceful anti-Mayo guff. In fairness there were decent Dubs in my row who were apologising for his nonsense.

Give Dublin their due, 4 in 6 seasons is some achievement and they passed a test of character over the two days.

Life is often not fair and I felt disappointed for the majority of our marvelous support, many of whom stayed behind for the presentation after the final whistle. We go again in January.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 02/10/2016 11:46:24    1921424

Congrats to Dublin and to all their supporters .

I've seen my county do it twice and it's the best feeling in the world .

It's a super Dublin team . Enjoy the next few days although you's are bloody used to it by now lol.

Well done .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 02/10/2016 11:51:44    1921428

Well done Dublin. Good win. Better team on the day. Good team with some great players. I feel for some of the Mayo boys. Dedicated their lives to the cause and got nothing back. Must be hard for those boys to take. Keegan and Vaughan's legs were badly missed in second half. This Mayo team will not be back but Mayo will. Mayo abú

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 02/10/2016 12:06:56    1921433

Kudos to you Yew Tree for your most gracious congrats.
Hard luck to Mayo, ye could have and maybe even should have won it.
Stick at it boys.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 02/10/2016 12:07:18    1921435

Congrats to Dublin. Back to back All Irelands is no mean feat and completely rubbishes the lack of hunger argument that floats about after winning an All Ireland. You'll be the team to beat again next year and it's up to all the rest of us to aim for that.

Enjoy Sam and the celebrations.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 02/10/2016 12:40:20    1921448

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "Congrats to Dublin. Back to back All Irelands is no mean feat and completely rubbishes the lack of hunger argument that floats about after winning an All Ireland. You'll be the team to beat again next year and it's up to all the rest of us to aim for that.

Enjoy Sam and the celebrations."
Thank you! I have one very happy husband. Such a tense match. Atmosphere was just amazing. Can't believe they did it as i was sure it was Mayos year. It just felt like all their cards were stacking up at the right time but credit to our boys they weren't gonna give that title up without a fight. So proud of those boys....i know how much dedication it takes for them...for ALL IC players. Credit to Mayo for 2 amazing games. Another one point win that could have been their title as easily. Knowing what my husband went through personally after the 2014 defeat to Donegal, it amazes me how the Mayo lads are able to gear themselves up year after year. They too are a special bunch and my heart hurt for some of them on the pitch yesterday. Andy Moran & Hennelly especially. Sport can just be so cruel. To my fellow posters on here from Mayo....notably Yew Tree , JamesH & Green & Red...there are no words of consolation so i won't even try. I can't even say I've been there cos I've never been to a final that we have lost. What can ye do but dust yourselves off and go again. Is anybody else exhausted??? :)

COYBIB WE DID IT!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/10/2016 17:30:01    1921538

Replying To Jackeen:  "Thank you! I have one very happy husband. Such a tense match. Atmosphere was just amazing. Can't believe they did it as i was sure it was Mayos year. It just felt like all their cards were stacking up at the right time but credit to our boys they weren't gonna give that title up without a fight. So proud of those boys....i know how much dedication it takes for them...for ALL IC players. Credit to Mayo for 2 amazing games. Another one point win that could have been their title as easily. Knowing what my husband went through personally after the 2014 defeat to Donegal, it amazes me how the Mayo lads are able to gear themselves up year after year. They too are a special bunch and my heart hurt for some of them on the pitch yesterday. Andy Moran & Hennelly especially. Sport can just be so cruel. To my fellow posters on here from Mayo....notably Yew Tree , JamesH & Green & Red...there are no words of consolation so i won't even try. I can't even say I've been there cos I've never been to a final that we have lost. What can ye do but dust yourselves off and go again. Is anybody else exhausted??? :)

COYBIB WE DID IT!"
Yeh I'm fecked Jackeen, congrats to you and the 'hubby', enjoy the fruits :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 02/10/2016 17:43:51    1921544

Going through the year is some achievement and they are the best team in the country, but they are not far ahead as we thought they were. Mayo twice put it up to them an could have won both days. Kerry gave them a serious test and even Donegal gave them something to think about. Next year is not a foregone conclusion.

However it does show the paltry state of the rest of Leinster football ( apart from an honourable mention to Longford ) and they have serious looking at themselves to do, besides just blaming all the money the Dubs are getting, for their own ineptitude.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 02/10/2016 21:23:37    1921649

Heart breaking stuff for Mayo. Commiserations. Very proud of our Dublin players. Was in at the celebrations in Smithfield. What a lovely group of lads. Very special team.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/10/2016 21:36:23    1921655

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Congrats to Dublin and to all their supporters .

I've seen my county do it twice and it's the best feeling in the world .

It's a super Dublin team . Enjoy the next few days although you's are bloody used to it by now lol.

Well done ."
Must agree with you-- no better feeling than to see your county lift Sam and I saw it twice myself.
Best days of my life , 1992/2012
So well done to Dublin and to their supporters.
Don't forget Dublin and their supporters had a hard few years1996-2010 so must give them credit
Only for big bad Donegal and Jimmy Mac ye would probably have four in a row. Still ye have done well
Let's hope RG gets Donegal right for next season and can mount a serious challenge in the championship.
Plus we have a big fixture in the league Donegal v Dublin down by the banks of the Finn in 2017.
Let's hope all ye Dubs travell in big numbers to Ballybofey.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 02/10/2016 22:14:55    1921664

Only for fecking Cork and Clarke as well we could of been looking at 6 in a row. But as Ulsterman says we're an average team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/10/2016 22:33:47    1921670

Hard luck Mayo and fair play Dublin.

See ye both next year...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/10/2016 01:08:25    1921706

Absolutely congrats to one of the greatest dublin teams of all time and possibly heading for one of the greatest teams of all time.

They have answered every question thrown at them time and time again.

Mayo, well what can you say, honestly your heart would break for them. But they will be back, their time is coming I feel and it might not be that far away.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 03/10/2016 08:57:35    1921729

Congrats to Dublin. Was epic stuff.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 03/10/2016 09:29:18    1921737

Congratulations to Dublin and all their supporters. Overall, this season has just been a master class from this squad. To go unbeaten and retain the All Ireland means that this team are up there with the true greats and will be remembered for years to come.
Although Fenton is probably looking at footballer of the year, Dublins true strength is not just in it's individuals but the overall panel. Saturday night showed that.
I think a couple of things might change for Dublin next year though, age waits for no man and it showed on Saturday that some members needed to step aside for the good of the team, most notably Bernard Brogan who, for me, is the best forward Dublin have ever had - even better than his brother. You look at the likes of Costello and young O'Callaghan who is coming through and how they might be the starting corner forwards next year. Flynn looked a lot more comfortable at midfield and Jack McCaffrey is still to come back. You never know, they might utilise him in the half forward line such is their riches in the half back line. I think MDMA's days of starting at midfield might be gone as he proved on Saturday as well as in the replay last year, he proves far more effective now coming off the bench.
I reckon Cluxton has one more year in him but I think they need to start planning for the future here and bring in the next keeper. Their full back line still looks healthy with Davy Byrne coming in there this year and looking like he's played for years. The rumour is that Rory won't be back next year but I wouldn't write a return off completely, he's still young enough to be back in a couple of years.

As strong as Dublin are, I don't think the rest are that far off them. It's all about what happens on a given day and regardless of the fortune that Kerry had for the 2 goals against Dublin anything can happen. Mayo had their chances as well when the game was there to be won. Dublin's biggest problem is managing expectation.
In any case, that's something for Dublin to worry about next year. Congrats again lads, enjoy the back to back.

Ps Does this qualify Dublin as the first Snuffy Double Winners since Cork, i.e. teams who won the REAL back to back as they didn't lose their province

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/10/2016 10:29:11    1921757