Is there bad blood between Dub and Mayo?

Replying To Gleebo:  "I honestly believe that if you sat all of the Mayo and Dublin posters down in a room to discuss the upcoming match, the debate would be a lot more civilised than it typically is on here. The faceless nature of social media means that as soon as one WUM or another says something inflammatory, the dialogue escalates really quickly. It's happened to myself quite a few times, to be fair. People go in to battle mode online.

I honestly don't hold anything against Dublin posters for things that are said here, and most I have met after matches are generally sound. However, you do come across the odd one who has utter disdain for us and country people in general. Given Mayo's large support we too have a few yobs."
Myself and Flaker have been verbally falking the shite outa each other for years on here, but I respect the guy! And I guarantee if we had a beer we would have a great ol chat. Same with Yew Tree. Yew is one of the top top boys on here as the Brits would say! Never had a cross word with him that I can remember but again, a fella I would hold in high regard, Even back in the ballboy era, much of an annoyance as he was, I had a soft spot for him. He was a worthy foe, likewise Whiterbananans!
Only Mayo poster I have no time for is Master. Not going into it just to say, he is one of the few fellas in 15 years on here I just wouldnt have a pint with.

Takes all sorts lads

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/09/2016 15:00:35    1920538

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Myself and Flaker have been verbally falking the shite outa each other for years on here, but I respect the guy! And I guarantee if we had a beer we would have a great ol chat. Same with Yew Tree. Yew is one of the top top boys on here as the Brits would say! Never had a cross word with him that I can remember but again, a fella I would hold in high regard, Even back in the ballboy era, much of an annoyance as he was, I had a soft spot for him. He was a worthy foe, likewise Whiterbananans!
Only Mayo poster I have no time for is Master. Not going into it just to say, he is one of the few fellas in 15 years on here I just wouldnt have a pint with.

Takes all sorts lads"
Ha no bad feelings towards you either Liam I just think this year you have reached peak Dublin tinted glasses and you are struggling to see some things which are clear to most neutral posters. As for the Master, where has he gone? There hasn't been a normal thread destroyed in a couple of weeks.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 29/09/2016 15:56:17    1920571

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Myself and Flaker have been verbally falking the shite outa each other for years on here, but I respect the guy! And I guarantee if we had a beer we would have a great ol chat. Same with Yew Tree. Yew is one of the top top boys on here as the Brits would say! Never had a cross word with him that I can remember but again, a fella I would hold in high regard, Even back in the ballboy era, much of an annoyance as he was, I had a soft spot for him. He was a worthy foe, likewise Whiterbananans!

Takes all sorts lads"
Where is The Master these days? A man never shy to give his opinions and especially on The Dubs. Can definitely see why Dubs wouldn't have a fondness for him.

It's a serious question. He'd be in his element on here the last few weeks. Anyone here know what the story is with him?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 29/09/2016 15:57:18    1920572

Keiths alarm goes off at half seven. He sits bolt upright in bed before jumping out and hurriedly throwing on his clothes. So much to do. The coach leaves at 2.00pm from Castlebar and with his car in the local garage he needs to organize a lift with one of the neighbours. The only public transport goes every second Tuesday. He tries to think are his Mayo shorts clean but believes they are still in the kitbag, work was manic this week and he didn't get a minute to wash them. They turn out to be a bit dirty but if he pulls the tail of the shirt over them sure they might do. Kettle on, cornflakes in the bowl, two slices of toast and then pack the bag. That done he rings the neighbour to see if he's free. The neighbour is dosing cattle but should be finished around half one. Hang on says Keith and I'll get the wellingtons. The trip to Dublin is a bit of an adventure. The coach has a 1987 reg. and, leaving behind a trail of black smoke, breaks down twice before Mullingar. The County Board hadn't budgeted for a replay and they would have had to make their own way to Dublin if Aido hadn't done a bucket collection at Balla mart. One lad from Islandeady even gave a fiver. Luckily enough Seamie is good with engines and they hit the M50 around nightfall. They were late enough leaving Castlebar as they had to wait two hours for Chrissie. Keith wasn't sure of the details but he heard something about road subsidence at Bangor Erris and the Mayo mountain rescue team. Luckily enough theirs is only the third stop in Dublin as their B&B is out near the airport. The room doesn't look too bad, a bit small maybe, but as he's sharing with Boyler he'll have to be on his best behaviour. To be continued...........

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/09/2016 16:05:33    1920576

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Keiths alarm goes off at half seven. He sits bolt upright in bed before jumping out and hurriedly throwing on his clothes. So much to do. The coach leaves at 2.00pm from Castlebar and with his car in the local garage he needs to organize a lift with one of the neighbours. The only public transport goes every second Tuesday. He tries to think are his Mayo shorts clean but believes they are still in the kitbag, work was manic this week and he didn't get a minute to wash them. They turn out to be a bit dirty but if he pulls the tail of the shirt over them sure they might do. Kettle on, cornflakes in the bowl, two slices of toast and then pack the bag. That done he rings the neighbour to see if he's free. The neighbour is dosing cattle but should be finished around half one. Hang on says Keith and I'll get the wellingtons. The trip to Dublin is a bit of an adventure. The coach has a 1987 reg. and, leaving behind a trail of black smoke, breaks down twice before Mullingar. The County Board hadn't budgeted for a replay and they would have had to make their own way to Dublin if Aido hadn't done a bucket collection at Balla mart. One lad from Islandeady even gave a fiver. Luckily enough Seamie is good with engines and they hit the M50 around nightfall. They were late enough leaving Castlebar as they had to wait two hours for Chrissie. Keith wasn't sure of the details but he heard something about road subsidence at Bangor Erris and the Mayo mountain rescue team. Luckily enough theirs is only the third stop in Dublin as their B&B is out near the airport. The room doesn't look too bad, a bit small maybe, but as he's sharing with Boyler he'll have to be on his best behaviour. To be continued..........."
Where the f**k was Chrissie!!!! There is always one!
Is Chrissie a fella or a girl, cos if its a fella, then serious action has to be taken Law!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/09/2016 16:41:26    1920593

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Keiths alarm goes off at half seven. He sits bolt upright in bed before jumping out and hurriedly throwing on his clothes. So much to do. The coach leaves at 2.00pm from Castlebar and with his car in the local garage he needs to organize a lift with one of the neighbours. The only public transport goes every second Tuesday. He tries to think are his Mayo shorts clean but believes they are still in the kitbag, work was manic this week and he didn't get a minute to wash them. They turn out to be a bit dirty but if he pulls the tail of the shirt over them sure they might do. Kettle on, cornflakes in the bowl, two slices of toast and then pack the bag. That done he rings the neighbour to see if he's free. The neighbour is dosing cattle but should be finished around half one. Hang on says Keith and I'll get the wellingtons. The trip to Dublin is a bit of an adventure. The coach has a 1987 reg. and, leaving behind a trail of black smoke, breaks down twice before Mullingar. The County Board hadn't budgeted for a replay and they would have had to make their own way to Dublin if Aido hadn't done a bucket collection at Balla mart. One lad from Islandeady even gave a fiver. Luckily enough Seamie is good with engines and they hit the M50 around nightfall. They were late enough leaving Castlebar as they had to wait two hours for Chrissie. Keith wasn't sure of the details but he heard something about road subsidence at Bangor Erris and the Mayo mountain rescue team. Luckily enough theirs is only the third stop in Dublin as their B&B is out near the airport. The room doesn't look too bad, a bit small maybe, but as he's sharing with Boyler he'll have to be on his best behaviour. To be continued..........."
Wtf !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 29/09/2016 16:46:54    1920598

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Where is The Master these days? A man never shy to give his opinions and especially on The Dubs. Can definitely see why Dubs wouldn't have a fondness for him.

It's a serious question. He'd be in his element on here the last few weeks. Anyone here know what the story is with him?"
He started to call people Nazi's on the Dubs forum

Namely me

He likened me to a Nazi for saying "Culchie"

A slight overreaction on his part

He hasn't been seen since

Good aul Mayo folk.. love an auld scrap online but are the first on the ships at any sign of trouble (literally)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2016 16:48:43    1920601

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Where is The Master these days? A man never shy to give his opinions and especially on The Dubs. Can definitely see why Dubs wouldn't have a fondness for him.

It's a serious question. He'd be in his element on here the last few weeks. Anyone here know what the story is with him?"
Yeah I wonder has he opted out for good. We could have done with him over the last few weeks trying to keep up with them pesky Dubs. He always gave as good as he got and went into detail to explain his point of view. I think even Jimbo misses him as he seems to be about to put away his laptop as well. The Master didn't suffer fools gladly but he was always readable.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/09/2016 16:59:19    1920610

I've nay bother with the soup takers

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2016 17:00:15    1920611

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Yeah I wonder has he opted out for good. We could have done with him over the last few weeks trying to keep up with them pesky Dubs. He always gave as good as he got and went into detail to explain his point of view. I think even Jimbo misses him as he seems to be about to put away his laptop as well. The Master didn't suffer fools gladly but he was always readable."
I won that though

I mean he was calling me a Nazi!

Come on... seriously!!

Hahaha..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2016 17:11:25    1920615

Replying To jimbodub:  "He started to call people Nazi's on the Dubs forum

Namely me

Good aul Mayo folk.. love an auld scrap online but are the first on the ships at any sign of trouble (literally)"
Not this again! I feel another political barney approaching...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/09/2016 17:24:47    1920621

Listen for all the messing

No one would begrudge Mayo of their 3/4 "All Ireland"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2016 17:34:02    1920624

Replying To Gleebo:  "Not this again! I feel another political barney approaching..."
Hahaha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2016 17:59:57    1920634

Replying To jimbodub:  "Listen for all the messing

No one would begrudge Mayo of their 3/4 "All Ireland""
The lads will have to shave the edges off their celtic crosses.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/09/2016 18:15:04    1920639

Only bad blood is in Mayo, sure aren't they all in-bred :)

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 29/09/2016 18:29:03    1920647

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Where the f**k was Chrissie!!!! There is always one!
Is Chrissie a fella or a girl, cos if its a fella, then serious action has to be taken Law!!"
A little poetic licence.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/09/2016 19:59:01    1920693

Replying To jimbodub:  "He started to call people Nazi's on the Dubs forum

Namely me

Good aul Mayo folk.. love an auld scrap online but are the first on the ships at any sign of trouble (literally)"
It's easy to be part of the sing when we're winning brigade Jimbo. Anyone from Mayo who stayed on here over the last few years listening to the bull**** coming from you and certain other Dubs is to be commended. I see you're talking about jumping ship yourself, just in case like. Talk about hypocritical!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/09/2016 20:08:02    1920697

I don't think there is really bad blood between the two counties, just a very strong rivalry that has developed over the last few meetings. Since the semi in 2012 there has never been much between the two sides, and when games are that close between teams then it always brings a bit of an edge. The problem, as many on here have already said, is keyboard warriors on facebook and various blogs, on both sides, that seem to revel in trading personal insults and belittling players that they don't like.
As for the on-going Keegan/Connolly debate, I can't imagine either of them really care what you, I or anyone else think of them and how they approach a game, and the only reason there is so much being made of it is the papers have had to fill an extra two weeks of copy since the final, so any sort of headline is better than nothing as far as they are concerned.
Like most on here I've never had a bad experience with Mayo fans, most real supporters from any county appreciate one another and what we go through to support our teams. Granted, there is always the chance of meeting an idiot of a supporter from any county, my own included, but the advantage of meeting them in real life is it's very easy to walk away from them. When they are taking over threads on message boards it's harder to ignore at times, but such is the world of social media.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 29/09/2016 20:27:19    1920705

Replying To AHP:  "I don't think there is really bad blood between the two counties, just a very strong rivalry that has developed over the last few meetings. Since the semi in 2012 there has never been much between the two sides, and when games are that close between teams then it always brings a bit of an edge. The problem, as many on here have already said, is keyboard warriors on facebook and various blogs, on both sides, that seem to revel in trading personal insults and belittling players that they don't like.
As for the on-going Keegan/Connolly debate, I can't imagine either of them really care what you, I or anyone else think of them and how they approach a game, and the only reason there is so much being made of it is the papers have had to fill an extra two weeks of copy since the final, so any sort of headline is better than nothing as far as they are concerned.
Like most on here I've never had a bad experience with Mayo fans, most real supporters from any county appreciate one another and what we go through to support our teams. Granted, there is always the chance of meeting an idiot of a supporter from any county, my own included, but the advantage of meeting them in real life is it's very easy to walk away from them. When they are taking over threads on message boards it's harder to ignore at times, but such is the world of social media."
Spot on !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 29/09/2016 20:44:11    1920709

Imagine if the internet was around during the 'Tony Keady' affair 1989, Tipp and Galway hurlers with a serious rivalry. No one controversy between Dublin and Mayo is in the same league. You could have a Scannal programme about it alone.

Or the Meath/Cork football rivalry 1987-90. The forums would be in serious overdrive.

The above 2 had bad blood. Mayo/Dublin has a bit to go yet to be at the bad blood level of the above too. But familiarity can breed contempt and there's potential for real bad blood there. It's a different era though now and there isn't as much real striking off the ball. Pulling, dragging, palms of hand in faces etc.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 29/09/2016 20:45:44    1920710