Dublin propaganda

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "I for one am hoping to see the Dubs play as we know they can tomorrow and win this game handy enough, should be a good enough day for football and I expect that to suit the Dubs forwards better than the last day, also hoping to see Maurice Deegan cracking down on Keegan with an early yellow and to be alert to diving from COC and AOS,
Dubs to win by 5+ at their ease."
I hope your message was tongue and cheek. If not you sir are away with the fairies

Ccgall4 (Mayo) - Posts: 21 - 01/10/2016 03:11:58    1920994

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Think the Dublin bias this week has been appalling .

Certain posters on here and a few articles I've read this week would put me off the Dubs .

I always congratulated them in victory but I'd find it hard to anymore .

They hold every advantage that is possible in the game that we don't even need to go into however basic manners is lost on some ( not all ) ."
Yawn.

Intelligent input there!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/10/2016 10:41:30    1921029

Replying To 37sowhat:  "Dream come true ! It is going to happen this time Mayo will conquer I base my forecast on what I saw the last day Mayo are physically stronger than Dublin are fitter in that they had the legs for the extra 7 mins Dublin did not like being on the receiving end Deena will let it flow and Mayo will take up where they left off the team who force the draw nearly always win replayI can see Vaughan Boyle and Keegan give more help to Cillian O Connor and watch out for Alan Dillon Dublin are in new territory a team more physical than they are and a ref that will give more latitude to Mayos physicality"
By more physical you mean foul.....

The ref will let Mayo foul?

Grand.......sure our boys are just making up the numbers.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/10/2016 10:44:25    1921031

Replying To arock:  "
Replying To Crinigan:  "[quote=Kurt_Angle:  "Dublin are basically Chelsea, Man City and PSG combined together and multiplied by 50 in terms of advantages.

You're absolutely sure there's very little hyperbole there?

Real GAA people would know what the GAA stands for and would understand the concept of why the GAA is amateur for example. The would generally be clued in and have a concept of fairness also.

So the GAA hierarchy aren't "real GAA people" then? Neither are the rank and file who volunteer within the Dublin GAA clubs? How many posters here don't acknowledge the advantages Dublin have - population, play nearly all games in their home county, ability to generate money etc.? Very few, I'd guess. Are you "real" if you acknowledge this or do you have to rail against it on an online forum to be "real" in your book?"
I never said rank and file people in Dublin aren't real GAA people. Also, I'm sure much of the GAA hierarchy are aware of whats going on. But you won't hear it discussed in the media, apart from a few of the braver journalists (Ewan McKenna for example).

My point is that given the blindingly obvious advantages in Dublin's favour, one would think that their supporters would at least be a little embarrassed to boast about how many All Ireland medals they have won in their recent years as compared to Mayo.

Re the PSG/Man City/Chelsea analogy, PSG annihilated Caen recently 6-0 in Ligue Un.

A club with massive resources from oil rich sponsors, dwarfing tiny Caen. How much do Dublin get in sponsorship from AIG alone? 4 million euros over 5 years apparently. How much do Meath for example get? 40k Euros a year. How much do Longford get? Or Leitrim? Or Down? At least Caen are equally professional in that their players are remunerated so theres a degree of a level playing field.
Also at least PSG played Caen in Caen and don't play every single important game in the Parc des Princes like Dublin in Croke Park (even having their own dressing room). Also, look at the pick Dublin has? How would you quantify that in terms of playing population and resources over the likes of Carlow or Sligo? So the advantages Dublin have over other teams in Gaelic football is a very high multiple over the advantages enjoyed by the likes of a PSG etc (hence the x 50).

If you don't see that as a Dublin fan, fair enough. But a lot of the rest of us see it.

Sure enjoy it anyway. Good luck to yis. Just be humble because otherwise it comes across as laughable."
AIG Sponsorship is worth an awful lot less than the myth makers suggest:
"believed to be worth in excess of €4m over a five-year period." - check it out.
Now do the maths on that and when you arrive at your yearly sum - you can then divide it up by four - Hurling, Football, Camogie, Ladies Football - so you'd be lucky to pay for pitch hire for development squads (because unlike other poor deprived counties our county teams don't have their own pitches). But its nice to believe we have vast resources - we don't but going over all this again, and again is pretty pointless when you consider how mind-numb'ingly prejudiced some people are."]Ewan McKenna is a f#@kw*t who makes a living from writing crap about Dublin football. He has no idea about Dublin football. I've called him out on this......he hasnt a clue. He just does a Wooly Parkinson and claims things are FACT because he says so. I think Ewan McKenna is TheMaster!!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/10/2016 10:49:26    1921034

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Think the Dublin bias this week has been appalling .

Certain posters on here and a few articles I've read this week would put me off the Dubs .

I always congratulated them in victory but I'd find it hard to anymore .

They hold every advantage that is possible in the game that we don't even need to go into however basic manners is lost on some ( not all ) ."
What in the name of Shane Curran do you expect on an anonymous forum???

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 01/10/2016 10:56:52    1921039

The funny thing is..is that Keegan isn't actually a great defender. Good with ball in hand but not a great tackler. He could have had 3 blacks and as many second yellows in the semi final.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/10/2016 11:09:17    1921046

Replying To tiobraid:  "The funny thing is..is that Keegan isn't actually a great defender. Good with ball in hand but not a great tackler. He could have had 3 blacks and as many second yellows in the semi final."
Hate to say it but I told ya so!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/10/2016 20:51:35    1921224

Replying To Ccgall4:  "Lee Keegan is no saint but neither is Diarmuid Connolly. Why so has there been such one sided derogatory commentary from the Dublin camp (which is being fed to the media) re Lee Keegan?

Such rhetoric is surely being put out there with the hope of influencing the referee on Saturday?

If the almighty dubs are so good and unbeatable why resort to this type of ploy?"
Because in a game of tight margins every little thing helps.
And it worked - First time they, LK & DC, tangled Deegan black cards LK who had just scored a cracking goal.
If it wasn't that incident it was gonna happen first chance he got.
You have to admire the chutzpah of it.

Fair play to Dublin - winning is all that matters ad they won.
They should be very proud of that bit of work - they secretly [ ignoring the ht tweet ;-) ] are I suspect.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 03/10/2016 13:42:52    1921881

Dublin are the best team and deserved to win. That said Mayo GAA should demand the lions share of the gate receipts from the replay. Their fans deserve that. And Mayo county board should invest in good quality coaching.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 03/10/2016 13:52:17    1921887

Its been a saga really, between himself and Connolly and i think its a by product of the sending off last year.

In hindsight the publicity last year after his initial pull down on Connolly (Connolly reaction was in no means condonable) has always going to have a target on his and Connolly's head this year.

I thought it was a bit ridiculous and niaeve that he even tried it in the first game, given the media attention with the cynical play on Connolly all this year and the history between Connolly and Keegan, the duel was always going to be under the microscope. I think he was concious of it to and Dermot had far more freedom in the second game.

I don't think it surprising he got a black card. Yet it was a forced error from a bad decision by the keeper. I wouldnt have been surprised if Connolly had gotten a red card for retaliating either.

It went for Keegan last year in the first game, with the Connolly red, it went against him this year, such is sport if you play a high risk game you have to be prepared for the consequences.

I would acknowledge John Small was a very lucky boy though, (the first incident mind).

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/10/2016 14:21:23    1921901

Replying To tiobraid:  "Hate to say it but I told ya so!!"
Are you replying to your own posts?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/10/2016 14:25:42    1921910

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its been a saga really, between himself and Connolly and i think its a by product of the sending off last year.

In hindsight the publicity last year after his initial pull down on Connolly (Connolly reaction was in no means condonable) has always going to have a target on his and Connolly's head this year.

I thought it was a bit ridiculous and niaeve that he even tried it in the first game, given the media attention with the cynical play on Connolly all this year and the history between Connolly and Keegan, the duel was always going to be under the microscope. I think he was concious of it to and Dermot had far more freedom in the second game.

I don't think it surprising he got a black card. Yet it was a forced error from a bad decision by the keeper. I wouldnt have been surprised if Connolly had gotten a red card for retaliating either.

It went for Keegan last year in the first game, with the Connolly red, it went against him this year, such is sport if you play a high risk game you have to be prepared for the consequences.

I would acknowledge John Small was a very lucky boy though, (the first incident mind)."
Think the worst I saw of Keegan was last year's Championship game against Galway. As the ref prepared to throw in at the start of the game, Keegan had the Galway half-forward in a headlock and pulled him to the ground. There was a bit of rolling around then and when the linesman reported it to the ref both got yellow-carded. The problem is the instigator has then got off effectively scott-free as he gets the same punishment as the initial victim. The GAA needs to be able to distinguish between instigator and someone's who's protecting himself.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 03/10/2016 14:38:39    1921917

Replying To galwayford:  "Dublin are the best team and deserved to win. That said Mayo GAA should demand the lions share of the gate receipts from the replay. Their fans deserve that. And Mayo county board should invest in good quality coaching."
Why?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/10/2016 14:54:28    1921926

Replying To opa01:  "Think the worst I saw of Keegan was last year's Championship game against Galway. As the ref prepared to throw in at the start of the game, Keegan had the Galway half-forward in a headlock and pulled him to the ground. There was a bit of rolling around then and when the linesman reported it to the ref both got yellow-carded. The problem is the instigator has then got off effectively scott-free as he gets the same punishment as the initial victim. The GAA needs to be able to distinguish between instigator and someone's who's protecting himself."
He is developing a reputation now and its a hard thing to shake, because of it the majority of the decisions go against you, its the same with Dermot Connolly and Eoin O Gara, they get blacks and reds when others wouldnt. I fear Keegan is going the same way and he will be scrutinsed for the rest of his career.

Isnt it a great pity, that we are discussing his discpline when he scored a goal that would bless any all ireland final, a terriffic footballer.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/10/2016 15:31:10    1921951