Dublin propaganda

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Well said. I'd add, let the best team win, but that's feckin Dublin."
Not necessarily Llaw. They have the best individuals probably but the team is a different matter. Be more than the sum of your parts.

I remember Ronan O'Gara talking about Ireland v The All-Blacks before the 2013 Aviva encounter. He said going on history, achievement, individual talent, consistent level of performance the All Blacks are the best team. But we just have to implement a plan, a way of playing and be better than them for one particular 80 minute period that has nothing to do with World rankings, silverware won or history. Just 80 minutes.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 29/09/2016 14:20:45    1920518

Think the Dublin bias this week has been appalling .

Certain posters on here and a few articles I've read this week would put me off the Dubs .

I always congratulated them in victory but I'd find it hard to anymore .

They hold every advantage that is possible in the game that we don't even need to go into however basic manners is lost on some ( not all ) .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 29/09/2016 15:04:58    1920541

Replying To Laois76:  "Not necessarily Llaw. They have the best individuals probably but the team is a different matter. Be more than the sum of your parts.

I remember Ronan O'Gara talking about Ireland v The All-Blacks before the 2013 Aviva encounter. He said going on history, achievement, individual talent, consistent level of performance the All Blacks are the best team. But we just have to implement a plan, a way of playing and be better than them for one particular 80 minute period that has nothing to do with World rankings, silverware won or history. Just 80 minutes."
And what a glorious defeat that was!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 29/09/2016 15:12:33    1920542

Replying To Breffni39:  "And what a glorious defeat that was!"
Ha ha! I knew that was coming. Ireland forgot about the last 2 minutes of the 80 that day :)

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 29/09/2016 16:43:37    1920596

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Think the Dublin bias this week has been appalling .

Certain posters on here and a few articles I've read this week would put me off the Dubs .

They hold every advantage that is possible in the game that we don't even need to go into however basic manners is lost on some ( not all ) ."
Well f*ck me! If you are that easily put of a county I doubt you had much time for us anyway. Put off by what? Posters on a forum like this or some journalist giving their two cents.
For Christ sakes man, cop on.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 29/09/2016 16:51:16    1920606

Replying To Breffni39:  "And what a glorious defeat that was!"
Then again comparing the Irish rugby team to the All Blacks isn't exactly quite the same as comparing Dublin and Mayo!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 29/09/2016 18:46:36    1920655

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Well f*ck me! If you are that easily put of a county I doubt you had much time for us anyway. Put off by what? Posters on a forum like this or some journalist giving their two cents.
For Christ sakes man, cop on."
That's a bit rich considering the giving out ye did about anything Kerry said recently

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 30/09/2016 11:17:13    1920825

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Think the Dublin bias this week has been appalling .

They hold every advantage that is possible in the game that we don't even need to go into however basic manners is lost on some ( not all ) ."
Seriously if a few lads posting on a forum (% of which are tongue in cheek) control your views, you need to get out more. Dublin is a great city , with great fans and with a lot of diversity. Ye should expand your research before judging.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 30/09/2016 12:28:33    1920846

Dream come true ! It is going to happen this time Mayo will conquer I base my forecast on what I saw the last day Mayo are physically stronger than Dublin are fitter in that they had the legs for the extra 7 mins Dublin did not like being on the receiving end Deena will let it flow and Mayo will take up where they left off the team who force the draw nearly always win replayI can see Vaughan Boyle and Keegan give more help to Cillian O Connor and watch out for Alan Dillon Dublin are in new territory a team more physical than they are and a ref that will give more latitude to Mayos physicality

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 30/09/2016 12:47:40    1920854

Replying To Crinigan:  "
Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Dublin are basically Chelsea, Man City and PSG combined together and multiplied by 50 in terms of advantages.

You're absolutely sure there's very little hyperbole there?

Real GAA people would know what the GAA stands for and would understand the concept of why the GAA is amateur for example. The would generally be clued in and have a concept of fairness also.

So the GAA hierarchy aren't "real GAA people" then? Neither are the rank and file who volunteer within the Dublin GAA clubs? How many posters here don't acknowledge the advantages Dublin have - population, play nearly all games in their home county, ability to generate money etc.? Very few, I'd guess. Are you "real" if you acknowledge this or do you have to rail against it on an online forum to be "real" in your book?"
I never said rank and file people in Dublin aren't real GAA people. Also, I'm sure much of the GAA hierarchy are aware of whats going on. But you won't hear it discussed in the media, apart from a few of the braver journalists (Ewan McKenna for example).

My point is that given the blindingly obvious advantages in Dublin's favour, one would think that their supporters would at least be a little embarrassed to boast about how many All Ireland medals they have won in their recent years as compared to Mayo.

Re the PSG/Man City/Chelsea analogy, PSG annihilated Caen recently 6-0 in Ligue Un.

A club with massive resources from oil rich sponsors, dwarfing tiny Caen. How much do Dublin get in sponsorship from AIG alone? 4 million euros over 5 years apparently. How much do Meath for example get? 40k Euros a year. How much do Longford get? Or Leitrim? Or Down? At least Caen are equally professional in that their players are remunerated so theres a degree of a level playing field.
Also at least PSG played Caen in Caen and don't play every single important game in the Parc des Princes like Dublin in Croke Park (even having their own dressing room). Also, look at the pick Dublin has? How would you quantify that in terms of playing population and resources over the likes of Carlow or Sligo? So the advantages Dublin have over other teams in Gaelic football is a very high multiple over the advantages enjoyed by the likes of a PSG etc (hence the x 50).

If you don't see that as a Dublin fan, fair enough. But a lot of the rest of us see it.

Sure enjoy it anyway. Good luck to yis. Just be humble because otherwise it comes across as laughable."
AIG Sponsorship is worth an awful lot less than the myth makers suggest:
"believed to be worth in excess of €4m over a five-year period." - check it out.
Now do the maths on that and when you arrive at your yearly sum - you can then divide it up by four - Hurling, Football, Camogie, Ladies Football - so you'd be lucky to pay for pitch hire for development squads (because unlike other poor deprived counties our county teams don't have their own pitches). But its nice to believe we have vast resources - we don't but going over all this again, and again is pretty pointless when you consider how mind-numb'ingly prejudiced some people are.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 30/09/2016 12:50:13    1920855

Replying To 37sowhat:  "Dream come true ! It is going to happen this time Mayo will conquer I base my forecast on what I saw the last day Mayo are physically stronger than Dublin are fitter in that they had the legs for the extra 7 mins Dublin did not like being on the receiving end Deena will let it flow and Mayo will take up where they left off the team who force the draw nearly always win replayI can see Vaughan Boyle and Keegan give more help to Cillian O Connor and watch out for Alan Dillon Dublin are in new territory a team more physical than they are and a ref that will give more latitude to Mayos physicality"
Mayo forced the draw last year too.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/09/2016 12:53:02    1920856

Replying To poguemahone:  "Seriously if a few lads posting on a forum (% of which are tongue in cheek) control your views, you need to get out more. Dublin is a great city , with great fans and with a lot of diversity. Ye should expand your research before judging."
I have been on the Dublin forum many many times congratulating le blues so I have never had animosity in that regard .

Yes its literally a few posters here however the narrative all season from the Dublin fraternity has been 'poor us' . The Connolly thing has been ridiculous. The guy needs to sort himself out on the pitch. Dublin beat us ( easy enough ) however Gavin and Co wouldn't give up on this Connolly getting targeted BS . The same player went to take McHugh out of it .

Look what I wrote after your win over Kerry on the Dublin forum. This poor man thing from Connolly is cringe.

Best of luck on Sunday .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 30/09/2016 13:03:15    1920861

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "I have been on the Dublin forum many many times congratulating le blues so I have never had animosity in that regard .

Yes its literally a few posters here however the narrative all season from the Dublin fraternity has been 'poor us' . The Connolly thing has been ridiculous. The guy needs to sort himself out on the pitch. Dublin beat us ( easy enough ) however Gavin and Co wouldn't give up on this Connolly getting targeted BS . The same player went to take McHugh out of it .

Look what I wrote after your win over Kerry on the Dublin forum. This poor man thing from Connolly is cringe.

Best of luck on Sunday ."
but this is the thing. Majority of us have never brought up the DC-LK discussion but it has become one of those things that has grown legs and is helping fill a few articles. If it wasn't that, it'd be something else.

I have read more newspaper articles and HS comments from indignant folk writing about those who speak up about protecting DC than those who have actually spoken up about protecting DC.

In general , you gotta shrug at whatever story is driving the pre match build up. The game is the game.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 30/09/2016 13:26:26    1920869

Replying To poguemahone:  "but this is the thing. Majority of us have never brought up the DC-LK discussion but it has become one of those things that has grown legs and is helping fill a few articles. If it wasn't that, it'd be something else.

I have read more newspaper articles and HS comments from indignant folk writing about those who speak up about protecting DC than those who have actually spoken up about protecting DC.

In general , you gotta shrug at whatever story is driving the pre match build up. The game is the game."
'The game is the game'

Love how you managed to sneak in my favourite line from The Wire .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 30/09/2016 14:40:59    1920899

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "'The game is the game'

Love how you managed to sneak in my favourite line from The Wire ."
Good man. Ye gotta know yer referencing on these forums...

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 30/09/2016 18:15:04    1920950

Sky Sports are advertising a few extremely overpaid lads with sticks chasing their balls around a field this weekend saying 'This is Tribal'.

The commitment, skill and atmosphere in the replay from both sides tomorrow night would have Sky Sports viewers asking who are the professionals and who are the amateurs?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 30/09/2016 18:51:57    1920956

Replying To 37sowhat:  "Dream come true ! It is going to happen this time Mayo will conquer I base my forecast on what I saw the last day Mayo are physically stronger than Dublin are fitter in that they had the legs for the extra 7 mins Dublin did not like being on the receiving end Deena will let it flow and Mayo will take up where they left off the team who force the draw nearly always win replayI can see Vaughan Boyle and Keegan give more help to Cillian O Connor and watch out for Alan Dillon Dublin are in new territory a team more physical than they are and a ref that will give more latitude to Mayos physicality"
I expect Deegan to impose his authority early. It will take several yellow cards but that works. "Letting the game flow" is a phrase neutrals like which is often code for "Let skin and hair fly".
Dublin and Mayo fans don't want to see that (mostly). If the rules are respected then the game will flow and these teams can deliver football of the highest calibre.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 30/09/2016 20:59:11    1920973

I for one am hoping to see the Dubs play as we know they can tomorrow and win this game handy enough, should be a good enough day for football and I expect that to suit the Dubs forwards better than the last day, also hoping to see Maurice Deegan cracking down on Keegan with an early yellow and to be alert to diving from COC and AOS,
Dubs to win by 5+ at their ease.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 30/09/2016 21:51:05    1920979

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "I for one am hoping to see the Dubs play as we know they can tomorrow and win this game handy enough, should be a good enough day for football and I expect that to suit the Dubs forwards better than the last day, also hoping to see Maurice Deegan cracking down on Keegan with an early yellow and to be alert to diving from COC and AOS,
Dubs to win by 5+ at their ease."
I on the other hand am hoping for none of the above.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/09/2016 22:08:11    1920982

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "I for one am hoping to see the Dubs play as we know they can tomorrow and win this game handy enough, should be a good enough day for football and I expect that to suit the Dubs forwards better than the last day, also hoping to see Maurice Deegan cracking down on Keegan with an early yellow and to be alert to diving from COC and AOS,
Dubs to win by 5+ at their ease."
Hahaa! The masses will not be pleased.
You're not allowed post that sort of stuff.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/09/2016 22:46:14    1920985