Dublin propaganda

Replying To Crinigan:  "If I was a Dublin fan, I'd have a bit more grace and humility because in the eyes of a lot of GAA people, your recent achievements ring quite hollow due to the fact that:
1) massive playing population dwarfing every other county by multiples of 10
2) at least 9 players on the Dublin team are professional and don't tell me otherwise because real GAA people know exactly whats going on
3) Huge finances that can make the team professional
4) playing all the games in Croke Park, Bernard Brogan is what? 32? Never played a championship match outside of Croke Park until this year
5) continuous favourable decisions from referees, especially towards the Hill 16 end.
6) overwhelming influence in the media

Dublin are basically Chelsea, Man City and PSG combined together and multiplied by 50 in terms of advantages. At least these soccer clubs play against other professional teams and play away from home as much as they play at home.

Enjoy your victories lads, but you know, bit of humility wouldn't go astray.

And as for Lee Keegan, lets put a camera and mike on Philly McMahon so we can hear what he does and says to his opponents."
Excellent post.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 29/09/2016 10:19:24    1920391

Replying To Crinigan:  "If I was a Dublin fan, I'd have a bit more grace and humility because in the eyes of a lot of GAA people, your recent achievements ring quite hollow due to the fact that:
2) at least 9 players on the Dublin team are professional and don't tell me otherwise because real GAA people know exactly whats going on
4) playing all the games in Croke Park, Bernard Brogan is what? 32? Never played a championship match outside of Croke Park until this year
5) continuous favourable decisions from referees, especially towards the Hill 16 end.

Dublin are basically Chelsea, Man City and PSG combined together and multiplied by 50 in terms of advantages. At least these soccer clubs play against other professional teams and play away from home as much as they play at home.

And as for Lee Keegan, lets put a camera and mike on Philly McMahon so we can hear what he does and says to his opponents."
yawn !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 29/09/2016 10:23:17    1920393

Replying To roundball:  "Ciaran Whelan was right. Black card the instigator, let the man who wants to play, play.

https://twitter.com/chacawley/status/781197567665340416"
That should free up Keegan to play the attacking game that he is excellent at. Gain might be unhappy though.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 29/09/2016 10:25:08    1920395

Humility me ring!!

Where was all the humility from people on here when Dublin where getting our arses handed to us on a plate by Kerry and Tyrone down the years ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/09/2016 10:30:16    1920401

Replying To Joxer:  "Yeah I'd be suspicious of it. Was this before, during or after Connolly had the shirt ripped off his back? Only for the video and photos of it you'd swear it was made up to sell newspapers."
Lol the shirt ripped off his back? In the same incident both men had a hold of each others jerseys and wouldn't let go and one of the jerseys ripped. The same incident where Connolly gave Keegan a couple of light slaps across the face? Go check out the footage of Connolly dragging Keegan when he is going forward and there is more footage of Connolly kneeling over a Mayo player pushing his face into the ground. If you are gonna go with the bullshit narrative that Keegan tortured poor Dermot you might want to acknowledge the fact that Connolly committed the more serious offences throughout the game.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 29/09/2016 10:53:11    1920414

Replying To Joxer:  "Yeah I'd be suspicious of it. Was this before, during or after Connolly had the shirt ripped off his back? Only for the video and photos of it you'd swear it was made up to sell newspapers."
I'd say it was probably before Connolly swung several punches at Keegan, caught ar an teilifis. No red card was forthcoming though: fancy that!

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/09/2016 11:09:20    1920425

No hint of hyperbole there, I'd imagine.

Who are these "real GAA" people you speak of? Are other GAA fans / participants imaginary?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 29/09/2016 11:14:19    1920429

Replying To CaogaCuig:  "And the Scutter Pump goes into overdrive"
At last a Dub who agrees with me. Well done sir!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/09/2016 11:27:12    1920432

Crinigan - You state that there are at least nine players on the Dublin team that are professional. Could you name these players?. Could you give me a definition as to what you mean by professional ?. Using that same criteria are there any professionals on the Mayo, Kerry and Donegal teams.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 29/09/2016 11:28:09    1920433

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "No hint of hyperbole there, I'd imagine.

Who are these "real GAA" people you speak of? Are other GAA fans / participants imaginary?"
No in fact, there is very little hyperbole.

Real GAA people would know what the GAA stands for and would understand the concept of why the GAA is amateur for example. The would generally be clued in and have a concept of fairness also.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 29/09/2016 11:42:31    1920440

Precisely why a Dublin win on Saturday won't be praised throughout the country and any future wins will be greeted with indifference until these advantages are culled.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 29/09/2016 11:48:48    1920443

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "No hint of hyperbole there, I'd imagine.

Who are these "real GAA" people you speak of? Are other GAA fans / participants imaginary?"
Why focus on that rather than actually addressing his points?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 29/09/2016 11:52:30    1920445

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol the shirt ripped off his back? In the same incident both men had a hold of each others jerseys and wouldn't let go and one of the jerseys ripped. The same incident where Connolly gave Keegan a couple of light slaps across the face? Go check out the footage of Connolly dragging Keegan when he is going forward and there is more footage of Connolly kneeling over a Mayo player pushing his face into the ground. If you are gonna go with the bullshit narrative that Keegan tortured poor Dermot you might want to acknowledge the fact that Connolly committed the more serious offences throughout the game."
Only one shirt ripped cos Keegan is stronger than Connolly, and Keegan is now the bad guy cos of his strength

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 29/09/2016 12:18:40    1920457

Replying To Crinigan:  "No in fact, there is very little hyperbole.

Real GAA people would know what the GAA stands for and would understand the concept of why the GAA is amateur for example. The would generally be clued in and have a concept of fairness also."
Dublin are basically Chelsea, Man City and PSG combined together and multiplied by 50 in terms of advantages.

You're absolutely sure there's very little hyperbole there?

Real GAA people would know what the GAA stands for and would understand the concept of why the GAA is amateur for example. The would generally be clued in and have a concept of fairness also.

So the GAA hierarchy aren't "real GAA people" then? Neither are the rank and file who volunteer within the Dublin GAA clubs? How many posters here don't acknowledge the advantages Dublin have - population, play nearly all games in their home county, ability to generate money etc.? Very few, I'd guess. Are you "real" if you acknowledge this or do you have to rail against it on an online forum to be "real" in your book?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 29/09/2016 12:23:52    1920459

"... in the eyes of a lot of GAA people" you mean the usual malcontents who recycle urban and rural myths based on prejudice? Or are GAA people only found outside of the English pale (albeit Meath was a key component of this Pale).

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 29/09/2016 12:42:49    1920464

Who is this Lee Keegan fella? I presume he plays for Mayo what with all the crying they're doing about some imaginary campaign against him that doesn't exist.

The two things that Mayo are well known for across the country are:
1) Diving near the opposition goal to draw easy frees.
2) Sly off the ball hits when the ref isn't looking.

Thankfully the refs are waking up to this. I'm not sure what all this hysterics from Mayo is about, they've been found out too many times to start complaining now.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 29/09/2016 12:44:04    1920465

Replying To Jimin10:  "Precisely why a Dublin win on Saturday won't be praised throughout the country and any future wins will be greeted with indifference until these advantages are culled."
bitter much ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 29/09/2016 12:44:41    1920466

Here's hoping we're not talking about black, yellow and red cards or potential black, yellow or red cards by 7pm on Saturday evening.

Plenty of good scores, nothing soft, gaelic football at its best played by the 2 best teams in the country.

And whoever has the most scores on the scoreboard at the end of the match will be the worthy winners, as Brian Cody might say. No moans, no whinges but players shaking their opponents hand. And in the old fashioned way, what happens on the field stays on the field.

Good luck to all. And remember how lucky you all are to be able to support your county in an all ireland football or hurling final. Roughly a third of counties won't compete in a senior men's all Ireland over an 80 year span. You've had 2 in a fortnight! And a few more over the last 4 years.

Laois for Sam in my lifetime! And Liam too!
P.s. I come from a long line of long livers but even that might be stretching it a little.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 29/09/2016 13:00:07    1920474

Replying To Laois76:  "Here's hoping we're not talking about black, yellow and red cards or potential black, yellow or red cards by 7pm on Saturday evening.

Plenty of good scores, nothing soft, gaelic football at its best played by the 2 best teams in the country.

And whoever has the most scores on the scoreboard at the end of the match will be the worthy winners, as Brian Cody might say. No moans, no whinges but players shaking their opponents hand. And in the old fashioned way, what happens on the field stays on the field.

Good luck to all. And remember how lucky you all are to be able to support your county in an all ireland football or hurling final. Roughly a third of counties won't compete in a senior men's all Ireland over an 80 year span. You've had 2 in a fortnight! And a few more over the last 4 years.

Laois for Sam in my lifetime! And Liam too!
P.s. I come from a long line of long livers but even that might be stretching it a little."
Well said. I'd add, let the best team win, but that's feckin Dublin.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/09/2016 13:33:43    1920489

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Dublin are basically Chelsea, Man City and PSG combined together and multiplied by 50 in terms of advantages.

You're absolutely sure there's very little hyperbole there?

So the GAA hierarchy aren't "real GAA people" then? Neither are the rank and file who volunteer within the Dublin GAA clubs? How many posters here don't acknowledge the advantages Dublin have - population, play nearly all games in their home county, ability to generate money etc.? Very few, I'd guess. Are you "real" if you acknowledge this or do you have to rail against it on an online forum to be "real" in your book?"
I never said rank and file people in Dublin aren't real GAA people. Also, I'm sure much of the GAA hierarchy are aware of whats going on. But you won't hear it discussed in the media, apart from a few of the braver journalists (Ewan McKenna for example).

My point is that given the blindingly obvious advantages in Dublin's favour, one would think that their supporters would at least be a little embarrassed to boast about how many All Ireland medals they have won in their recent years as compared to Mayo.

Re the PSG/Man City/Chelsea analogy, PSG annihilated Caen recently 6-0 in Ligue Un.

A club with massive resources from oil rich sponsors, dwarfing tiny Caen. How much do Dublin get in sponsorship from AIG alone? 4 million euros over 5 years apparently. How much do Meath for example get? 40k Euros a year. How much do Longford get? Or Leitrim? Or Down? At least Caen are equally professional in that their players are remunerated so theres a degree of a level playing field.
Also at least PSG played Caen in Caen and don't play every single important game in the Parc des Princes like Dublin in Croke Park (even having their own dressing room). Also, look at the pick Dublin has? How would you quantify that in terms of playing population and resources over the likes of Carlow or Sligo? So the advantages Dublin have over other teams in Gaelic football is a very high multiple over the advantages enjoyed by the likes of a PSG etc (hence the x 50).

If you don't see that as a Dublin fan, fair enough. But a lot of the rest of us see it.

Sure enjoy it anyway. Good luck to yis. Just be humble because otherwise it comes across as laughable.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 29/09/2016 13:49:18    1920501