Dublin propaganda

Replying To cavanman47:  "I suppose if you put yourself in Lee's shoes, you'd have to ask - if I keep getting away with, then why stop now?

On the flip side, Dermot Connolly keeps getting punished yet keeps re-offending - surely that's a source of greater frustration for any manager/fan."
100% agree on both points Cavanman

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/09/2016 14:11:55    1920164

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Here we go again with the Mayo dark arts, and all this nonsense about the Dubs being bullied. The first dirty tackle the last day was by Kevin McManaman. The worst tackle the last day was by Michael Dara. All good manly stuff when it's the Dubs, but when it's Lee or Colm Boyle it's the dark arts. Mayo can't be held responsible for anything written by Spillane, O Rourke etc. and as for Enda and that nonsense, he's a politician enough said. As for exhortations for war and that rubbish, do you honestly believe that Mayo changed their approach because of what some pundit said. That's as ridiculous as thinking Jim McGuinness came down to talk tactics the week before the final. I don't like the off the ball stuff that goes on. I don't like to see Lee pull Diarmuid to the ground off the ball, which he did. I don't like to see Diarmuid pull Lee to the ground off the ball, which he did. I don't like to see Brian Fenton pull Kevin McLoughlin to the ground off the ball, which he did. I don't like to see Johnny Cooper swinging a kick at Cillian O Connor off the ball, which he did. I'm sure there are many instances of other Mayo players misbehaving as well but what gets to me is the hypocrisy being displayed in casting the Mayo lads as the villains of the piece and The Dubs as knights in shining armour. Just a little bit of balance like we get from Cue and one or two others, is that to much to ask for? We can all beat the drum and adopt the 'Ulster says no' approach from time to time, but the constant we're right and you're wrong attitude is getting wearisome at this stage."
"what gets to me is the hypocrisy being displayed in casting the Mayo lads as the villains of the piece and The Dubs as knights in shining armour. Just a little bit of balance like we get from Cue and one or two others, is that to much to ask for?

But the majority of posts on here have actually been the opposite, so yeah it is far too much to ask for. In what parallel world do people here think the Dubs are knights in shining armour?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 28/09/2016 14:26:50    1920167

Ata boy Breff!!!!
Welcome to the dark side!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/09/2016 14:39:08    1920173

Its the fact that up to recently, Mayo have always been seen in the media and in public perception as the "good guys". Seen by some as misfortunes and others as gallant and heroic but ultimately, as not good enough. Their players were spoken of in glowing terms and very little if anything negative was said about them, bar the odd barb here and there. But nothing to compare with the grief Dublin or Tyrone or Donegal have received.
The Mayo fans were happy with this love in for their team, they werent winning Sams but they won the nations hearts and respect

Now, suddenly AOS is not as popular as he once was, Keegan is being cast in a villain role and doubts are being cast over some of their better players.

I honestly think half the reason for the Mayo fans like Law and a few others (notable exceptions for Flaker, Yew Tree and JamesH) offended response is that they just are not used to this level of criticism or analysis of their less than savoury arts. Up to recently, it was airbrushed.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/09/2016 14:57:50    1920176

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Its the fact that up to recently, Mayo have always been seen in the media and in public perception as the "good guys". Seen by some as misfortunes and others as gallant and heroic but ultimately, as not good enough. Their players were spoken of in glowing terms and very little if anything negative was said about them, bar the odd barb here and there. But nothing to compare with the grief Dublin or Tyrone or Donegal have received.
The Mayo fans were happy with this love in for their team, they werent winning Sams but they won the nations hearts and respect

Now, suddenly AOS is not as popular as he once was, Keegan is being cast in a villain role and doubts are being cast over some of their better players.

I honestly think half the reason for the Mayo fans like Law and a few others (notable exceptions for Flaker, Yew Tree and JamesH) offended response is that they just are not used to this level of criticism or analysis of their less than savoury arts. Up to recently, it was airbrushed."
There could be an element of the Liam, however most of the complaints I have read have been around the partiality of the reporting. As well as Mayo supposedly playing like animals with their 'dark arts' Dublin were rubbish and only have to find another gear and they'll have too much for Mayo next day, it is disrespectful to one of the other perennial contenders to be so dismissive.

None of the big 3 / 4 or however many are considered big these days can claim any moral superiority as everyone dabbles in the dirt, the media definitely are selective in their criticism of said activities and that tends to go hand in hand with their county of origin.

Personally whilst it was a close game I don't think either team were any great shakes last day out and both have ample room for improvement and I'd say there wont be too much between them again on Saturday, regardless of whoever improves the most.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 28/09/2016 15:44:40    1920195

Replying To duckula20:  "There could be an element of the Liam, however most of the complaints I have read have been around the partiality of the reporting. As well as Mayo supposedly playing like animals with their 'dark arts' Dublin were rubbish and only have to find another gear and they'll have too much for Mayo next day, it is disrespectful to one of the other perennial contenders to be so dismissive.

None of the big 3 / 4 or however many are considered big these days can claim any moral superiority as everyone dabbles in the dirt, the media definitely are selective in their criticism of said activities and that tends to go hand in hand with their county of origin.

Personally whilst it was a close game I don't think either team were any great shakes last day out and both have ample room for improvement and I'd say there wont be too much between them again on Saturday, regardless of whoever improves the most."
Duckula, i am saying it since game 1
This idea that all the improving is to come from Dublin is BS
Mayos forwards have just as much improving to do
this game is a total 50/50

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/09/2016 16:08:35    1920208

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Its the fact that up to recently, Mayo have always been seen in the media and in public perception as the "good guys". Seen by some as misfortunes and others as gallant and heroic but ultimately, as not good enough. Their players were spoken of in glowing terms and very little if anything negative was said about them, bar the odd barb here and there. But nothing to compare with the grief Dublin or Tyrone or Donegal have received.

I honestly think half the reason for the Mayo fans like Law and a few others (notable exceptions for Flaker, Yew Tree and JamesH) offended response is that they just are not used to this level of criticism or analysis of their less than savoury arts. Up to recently, it was airbrushed."
Liam I don't want to be liked by you or the Mayo team to be everybody's favourite losers I just want to win an all Ireland and I don't care how it's achieved or how bad a game of football it is. If Keegan and the other lads keep players like Connolly quiet I don't care how they do it if they get away with it. The main gripe is ye dubs give out about Mayo have become a cynical team like we are supposed to come to croke park and lie down when the current Dublin team are very cynical as are all the top teams are. The father ted skit about reality and dreams comes to mind!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 28/09/2016 19:07:24    1920264

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Liam I don't want to be liked by you or the Mayo team to be everybody's favourite losers I just want to win an all Ireland and I don't care how it's achieved or how bad a game of football it is. If Keegan and the other lads keep players like Connolly quiet I don't care how they do it if they get away with it. The main gripe is ye dubs give out about Mayo have become a cynical team like we are supposed to come to croke park and lie down when the current Dublin team are very cynical as are all the top teams are. The father ted skit about reality and dreams comes to mind!"
Spodggy i get wat your saying and understand and agree with the Premis 100% .....but...... Most of the people saying that are NOT dubs.....look again. Many many people from all corners saying it. Your theory its just Dubs is rubbish buddy

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/09/2016 20:15:39    1920278

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ray Cosgrove is one of the only people I have heard from Dublin give a balanced view. He said that Lee Keegan doesn't do anything that Cooper and McMahon don't do for the Dubs. He said people are just looking for issues and he said bar yellow card incident he said the 2 lads gave as good as they got. I'm tired of reading this nonsense."
Read Ger Brennan in today's Herald. We Dubs are not as prejusiced as you think :-).

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 28/09/2016 20:35:07    1920282

I see new footage has emerged of Keegan attempting to break up the pitch and Connolly manages to pull him to the ground from behind. But sure who cares eh?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 28/09/2016 20:36:54    1920283

Replying To Joxer:  "Yeah but how many Celtic Crosses has Lee got on his sideboard?"
Oh great an old fashioned p***ing contest. Takes me right back to my childhood. What a pity one has to grow up.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/09/2016 20:37:11    1920284

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I see new footage has emerged of Keegan attempting to break up the pitch and Connolly manages to pull him to the ground from behind. But sure who cares eh?"
Doesn't fit the narrative and doesn't sell newspapers up in the Big Smoke, Flaker. Don't be silly with your romantic notions of objectivity.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/09/2016 21:40:40    1920297

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Oh great an old fashioned p***ing contest. Takes me right back to my childhood. What a pity one has to grow up."
I wouldn't say you'd have to go back too far Llaw by the look of it. It was a joke bud. Relax. Looks like your cruising back for comments that might upset you.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/09/2016 21:40:51    1920298

Replying To Gleebo:  "Doesn't fit the narrative and doesn't sell newspapers up in the Big Smoke, Flaker. Don't be silly with your romantic notions of objectivity."
Yeah I'd be suspicious of it. Was this before, during or after Connolly had the shirt ripped off his back? Only for the video and photos of it you'd swear it was made up to sell newspapers.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/09/2016 22:20:34    1920306

Ciaran Whelan was right. Black card the instigator, let the man who wants to play, play.

https://twitter.com/chacawley/status/781197567665340416

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 28/09/2016 23:43:34    1920327

Replying To Joxer:  "I wouldn't say you'd have to go back too far Llaw by the look of it. It was a joke bud. Relax. Looks like your cruising back for comments that might upset you."
Didn't look like a joke to me but I'll take your word for it, and no I'm not upset as I am not silly enough to let anything said on here upset me. As for it not being long since I was young, I wish.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/09/2016 23:55:31    1920333

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I've come to the conclusion that them Dub lads are as cute as foxes. As my old neighbour used to say 'you couldn't bate them with a stick'. It all started with Senan on Sky. "What's the news from the sideline Senan? "The Dublin management are very annoyed at the late hits going in". Loosely translated this meant that Mayo were beating the s***out of the poor Dubs who were unable to stand up for themselves. Mind you Michael Dara and Kev Mc did a good job of standing up for themselves but no matter the seed had been sown. Next up it was Ciaran on The Sunday Game, looking straight at the camera like Charlie Haughey in one his hair shirt speeches, and telling us that football as we know it would be saved if Lee got a card early on in the replay. I presume what he meant was that Diarmuid could roam the pitch unfettered, kicking points with either foot, Dublin would win handily and normal service would be resumed. Another seed was sown. Mayo are the aggressors and some referee needs to stand up and be a hero, well in Ciarans eyes anyway, before it's too late. A clip of Lee pulling down Diarmuid was added for effect. The fact that there was also a clip available of Diarmuid pulling down Lee seemingly was deemed to be irrelevant. As if that wasn't enough along comes Alan in one of the Sunday papers. In praising Lee, kind of, he manages to say that he goes over the edge of legal from time to time. He also adds that it's the job of the officials to ensure that the game is played inside the rules but that at times Conor Lane let things go. He also saw Lee pull down Diarmuid, not once but twice. I'm sure he meant to add, in the interest of fairness, that he saw Diarmuid pull down Lee, but with deadlines and all that it just didn't make the cut. Not just another seed but the whole feckin lawn. Today we have Paul who goes as far as to suggest that linesmen and umpires should spend the replay trying to catch any indiscretion from Lee and go 'straight telling' to the referee. Drip...drip....drip. I thought at first it was random, now I'm having doubts. Now you can say it's only pundits and who takes heed of them, but remember Brolly and the black card. I don't understand the whole get Lee thing myself. Surely the Dubs have enough confidence in their own ability that they know they'll beat Mayo with or without Lee. Are they just trying to be sure, to be sure and remove any semblance of doubt. Or is there a possibility that maybe, just maybe, there is a little worry somewhere in the back of their minds that this Mayo, unlike other Mayos, won't go away...... nah that can't be it. Can it? As I said, them Dubs, cute as foxes."
And the Scutter Pump goes into overdrive

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 29/09/2016 01:09:30    1920344

Replying To superbluedub:  "Show me where any Dublin supporter refered to Dublin as the almighty Dubs ??
Grow up you little child
As for rattled ? are you having a laugh ?
3 All Irelands and 4 leagues in 5 years , what has Mayo got"
If I was a Dublin fan, I'd have a bit more grace and humility because in the eyes of a lot of GAA people, your recent achievements ring quite hollow due to the fact that:
1) massive playing population dwarfing every other county by multiples of 10
2) at least 9 players on the Dublin team are professional and don't tell me otherwise because real GAA people know exactly whats going on
3) Huge finances that can make the team professional
4) playing all the games in Croke Park, Bernard Brogan is what? 32? Never played a championship match outside of Croke Park until this year
5) continuous favourable decisions from referees, especially towards the Hill 16 end.
6) overwhelming influence in the media

Dublin are basically Chelsea, Man City and PSG combined together and multiplied by 50 in terms of advantages. At least these soccer clubs play against other professional teams and play away from home as much as they play at home.

Enjoy your victories lads, but you know, bit of humility wouldn't go astray.

And as for Lee Keegan, lets put a camera and mike on Philly McMahon so we can hear what he does and says to his opponents.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 29/09/2016 09:37:52    1920370

keegan acts in appropiately on the pitch at times, thats the truth, stating other players do it as well doesnt make it right. why do mayo people continue this blind support, if its wrong it wrong. Keegan has now created a huge pressure point on his head becuase of his own actions. I am confident he will answer that pressure in the usual mayo way and implode. Thats as honest as i can say.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 29/09/2016 10:03:47    1920383

Replying To Crinigan:  "If I was a Dublin fan, I'd have a bit more grace and humility because in the eyes of a lot of GAA people, your recent achievements ring quite hollow due to the fact that:
1) massive playing population dwarfing every other county by multiples of 10
2) at least 9 players on the Dublin team are professional and don't tell me otherwise because real GAA people know exactly whats going on
3) Huge finances that can make the team professional
4) playing all the games in Croke Park, Bernard Brogan is what? 32? Never played a championship match outside of Croke Park until this year
5) continuous favourable decisions from referees, especially towards the Hill 16 end.
6) overwhelming influence in the media

Dublin are basically Chelsea, Man City and PSG combined together and multiplied by 50 in terms of advantages. At least these soccer clubs play against other professional teams and play away from home as much as they play at home.

Enjoy your victories lads, but you know, bit of humility wouldn't go astray.

And as for Lee Keegan, lets put a camera and mike on Philly McMahon so we can hear what he does and says to his opponents."
Lantern heart of jaysus :))))))

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/09/2016 10:06:22    1920386