Dublin propaganda

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I could point out that Kavanagh was sent off for a foul on Aidan O Shea, that defenders on every team do what it takes to win and that there are several examples of Diarmuid instigating with the best of them, but I have the feeling I'd be wasting my time. I have no problem with people complaining about rough play and I would love to see the GAA getting to grips with the problem, either through video evidence leading to retrospective punishment or giving more power to umpires (although after the ladies debacle maybe they should dispense with umpires) or some other measure. The problem I have is that Lee is conveniently being made a scapegoat by certain journalists to suit their own agenda. I expect posters on here to be partisan and most posts, to be fair, are pretty harmless, but when you read articles in national papers which are certainly biased and at the very least mischievous, it's difficult not to react. Strangely enough I think there are so many articles on the same topic that it is leading to overkill and may well have the opposite effect to the one intended. I thought a couple of days ago that Lee would get an early yellow, now I'll be surprised if he does."
At least these articles are a change from the litany of articles calling on Mayo to bring "war", "mayhem", "anarchy", "trench warfare" or pick your military analogy of choice. Even the Taoiseach was calling on the brave Mayo "warriors" to go into battle for the honour of the county and all that malarky.

On another thread I posted how several pundits including Brolly and O Rourke were extolling the virtues of the Mick Lyons school of football where it was manly to split a guys nose open to the cartilage and that that's what kind of attitude Mayo need to bring to Dublin. Others were revisiting the battle for the Hill a few years back, praising Mayo's warrior spirit mar dhea ... the result of all this was the unseemly entry of both teams onto the pitch last day out. But this apparently is totally acceptable if it means getting an imagined mental edge on your opponent.

Its pretty disgusting stuff, does no credit to the most important occasion in the football calendar and goes against the whole ethos of "may the best team win". That's for softies apparently.

You've seen the other thread on this forum about "Dublin Bullied" ... these articles feed into that vein of thought emanating out of Dublin's camp and if it is true then Saturday is going to be very rough in my view. I think Dublin have had enough of the Mayo dark arts at this stage.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 28/09/2016 00:23:08    1920004

Replying To Jackeen:  "Its not nonsense. I think connolly gets carded for what he does but Keegan flashes us his cheeky grin and gets away with it more often than not. Personally i would live to see Gavin push Dermo up to FF. I think Keegan would struggle out of position plus the two of them would be a lot closer to the officials for babysitting."
It wouldn't make a difference right in front of the ref Lee pulled him to the ground not once but twice, just before the first goal.

murphy32 (USA) - Posts: 15 - 28/09/2016 03:26:52    1920008

Replying To Jackeen:  "Its not nonsense. I think connolly gets carded for what he does but Keegan flashes us his cheeky grin and gets away with it more often than not. Personally i would live to see Gavin push Dermo up to FF. I think Keegan would struggle out of position plus the two of them would be a lot closer to the officials for babysitting."
if the umpires could'nt see johnny cooper constantly pulling and dragging and hanging out of andy moran the last day then i dont think they'd see anything that goes on between keegan and connolly, we had a perfect view of it from about 10 or 12 row's back in the davin in the second half

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 28/09/2016 08:47:22    1920027

Replying To 37sowhat:  "I endorse Paul Clarkes comment that Lee Keegan is compromising his football skills by hanging out of Diarmuid Connolly I was appalled by what I saw in the drawn match. Tactical? Cynical? At the other end we had Mc Mahon and Cooper doing their outmost to sike the skills of Moran and O Connor we get the pundits lauding this as super intensity I feel saddened that football Gaelic that is has sold its identity and become a cross between rugby league and Aussie rule The sin bin from those disciplines is the only way to combat the cynicism that has taken over from skill"
I think it's fine to bemoan the overly physical aspect of the football, but to somehow imagine that this is a recent phenomenon is ridiculous. There has been a strong overly physical aspect to football for generations.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 28/09/2016 08:54:59    1920030

As if Maurice Deegan didn't have enough pressure on him before, the analysis from pundits on all media has really put a big spotlight on him. Deegan is a decent ref and I don't think he's too prone to rash decisions but I fully expect him to lay down a marker on the first 50/50. Whether right or wrong, the first lad that goes in with a hefty tackle will get a yellow. Any lads talking back to the ref for any decision against them, the free gets moved up no questions asked.
Eddie Kinsella did a really good job at doing this in the replay last year and it worked in keeping order.
Compared to the first game there were very few practicing the dark arts the second time around.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 28/09/2016 09:12:31    1920037

Replying To glasagusdhearg:  "if the umpires could'nt see johnny cooper constantly pulling and dragging and hanging out of andy moran the last day then i dont think they'd see anything that goes on between keegan and connolly, we had a perfect view of it from about 10 or 12 row's back in the davin in the second half"
Croke Park seats are the best there are. You are guaranteed to see everything that goes against yer team. By end of the game , we are all 100% convinced that most decisions favoured the opposition.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 28/09/2016 10:31:28    1920058

Ray Cosgrove is one of the only people I have heard from Dublin give a balanced view. He said that Lee Keegan doesn't do anything that Cooper and McMahon don't do for the Dubs. He said people are just looking for issues and he said bar yellow card incident he said the 2 lads gave as good as they got. I'm tired of reading this nonsense.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 28/09/2016 10:36:13    1920060

I see the Mayo Mafia have recruited Darragh O'Se to their PR portfolio. Yerra Yerra Yerra.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 28/09/2016 10:49:42    1920070

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ray Cosgrove is one of the only people I have heard from Dublin give a balanced view. He said that Lee Keegan doesn't do anything that Cooper and McMahon don't do for the Dubs. He said people are just looking for issues and he said bar yellow card incident he said the 2 lads gave as good as they got. I'm tired of reading this nonsense."
A balanced view = one you can conveniently accept?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 28/09/2016 10:50:29    1920071

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ray Cosgrove is one of the only people I have heard from Dublin give a balanced view. He said that Lee Keegan doesn't do anything that Cooper and McMahon don't do for the Dubs. He said people are just looking for issues and he said bar yellow card incident he said the 2 lads gave as good as they got. I'm tired of reading this nonsense."
Absolutely flaker.I'm not going to toe the party line on this one.In fact,i think Lee Keegan is a great bit of stuff.Excellent player.I see ex Dublin footballer Ger Brennan hasn't got a problem either.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/09/2016 10:53:15    1920072

Replying To BlastCalyle:  "I think it's fine to bemoan the overly physical aspect of the football, but to somehow imagine that this is a recent phenomenon is ridiculous. There has been a strong overly physical aspect to football for generations."
It's so true.

I studied history and in the course of my studies did a lot of research on the 1884-1914 period of the GAA.

There were a number of player deaths at gaa matches around the country due to fighting and foul blows. A couple from near where i'm from, around Castlecomer. Many games ended up being extensions of the faction fighting rural tradition. No exaggeration.

I remember reading about a gaa tournament in Carlow in the 1890s that descended into anarchy. Firstly there was a hurling match between two teams from around the area. A Laois club were to play in a football game against a Carlow team after this match. The Laois team stole hurls from one of the teams playing in the early match which they used to beat up their opponents. The Laois club team was banned for a few years.

So to conclude, while not condoning any off the ball fouling, we have come a long way!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 28/09/2016 10:54:47    1920075

Replying To Breffni39:  "A balanced view = one you can conveniently accept?"
Breff if you read any of my posts on these types of issues I am always consistent, whether it is a Mayo player of someone else. The amount of nonsense on here claiming that Connolly was fouled for the whole game is beyond a joke. People are trying to find issues that are not there. Andy Moran on multiple occasions had his run blocked by a player not even facing the direction of play. He wasn't the only one. People only see what they want to see. The amount of coverage against Keegan is laughable. The Sunday Game highlighted one flashpoint, because they couldn't find anything else. If McMahon or Cooper get away with pulling and dragging and one of our lads react getting a yellow or a red, you won't hear me moaning, that is part of the modern game. If someone gets away with a serious offence off the ball, that is a different story.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 28/09/2016 11:18:23    1920084

It was amazing after the Donegal - Dublin match to hear people discussing Connolly getting targeted . Pure embarrasing rubbish considering the same player tried to take Ryan McHugh out of the game .

McHugh was a victim throughout but not a mention .

I hope the ref doesn't bow to the pressure .

I

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 28/09/2016 11:35:10    1920094

Flaker

i think peoples main gripe with Keegan is his consistency in acting the divil and getting away with it
Remember him at the same shite in connacht last year, was it against Galway I think, not sure......last few mins Keegan pulls a fella to the ground, wastes time in a tight finish, ref doesn't add the time.

The crack with DC for 3 years now, the Cavanagh incident

Its the fact that he keeps doing it, and getting away with it. I think thats what annoys people about him.
Don't use DC as a defense for him, take him in isolation on this one as an individual. Lee is a fine footballer but he constantly acts the maggot and gets away with it,

If he gets the line Saturday, there wouldn't be much sympathy on a national level for him ya know? And it's not an anti Mayo thing.
I honestly think there is SO much national sympathy out there for Mayo, and ye are so used to the mainstream media mollycoddling ye (Joe excepted) and wishing ye to win, that when anyone has anything less than positive to say about one of ye're players, ye are not used to it and go into ruptures of annoyance. Not you personally Flaker as I accept that you are indeed a fair and balanced poster, but many of the Mayo fraternity.

Its the same with AOS. Ye got so used to him being spoken of as a demi God in footballing terms, and ye go to used to that warm fuzzy feeling of "they all love our Aido" that now that the tide has started to turn against him, ye kinda don't know how to take it!
Ironically, Joe Brolly was his biggest cheerleader for years and ye loved him for it, then Joe changes his mind and now he is warned not to set foot in County Mayo on facebook!!

Mayo fans (again, not you flaker) but many in the Mayo fraternity love it when people love them and espouse their virtues, but they cant hack it atall when its the other way around.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/09/2016 11:52:01    1920107

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "It was amazing after the Donegal - Dublin match to hear people discussing Connolly getting targeted . Pure embarrasing rubbish considering the same player tried to take Ryan McHugh out of the game .

McHugh was a victim throughout but not a mention .

I hope the ref doesn't bow to the pressure .

I"
Hardly amazing in fairness. Folk talk about lots of stuff after a game. Some Dubs may have talked about DC's treatment . No one I know did but am sure others had their own views. You wanted to highlight McHugh which others from Donegal may echo. Its the way of post match talk. Rarely will we have a group of fans spend time lamenting on the unfair treatment of the opposition.

I hope the ref does a good job on Saturday. This 'bowing' nonsense is BS.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 28/09/2016 12:04:02    1920111

Keegan has cleaned Dermo and is likely to do it again. Im not surprised by Dublin trying to paint keegan as the bad guy here. But there is 2 of them at it. Connolly struck Lee several times in last years drawn game. For me its the best forward in the game being marked by arguably the best man marker in the game. We should just sit back and enjoy..

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 28/09/2016 12:31:53    1920125

Jesus lads we would all love to see football like it was 15-20 years ago but those days are gone now. As the Alice cooper song goes no more mister nice guy!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 28/09/2016 13:28:24    1920153

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Flaker

i think peoples main gripe with Keegan is his consistency in acting the divil and getting away with it
Remember him at the same shite in connacht last year, was it against Galway I think, not sure......last few mins Keegan pulls a fella to the ground, wastes time in a tight finish, ref doesn't add the time.

The crack with DC for 3 years now, the Cavanagh incident

Its the fact that he keeps doing it, and getting away with it. I think thats what annoys people about him.
Don't use DC as a defense for him, take him in isolation on this one as an individual. Lee is a fine footballer but he constantly acts the maggot and gets away with it,

If he gets the line Saturday, there wouldn't be much sympathy on a national level for him ya know? And it's not an anti Mayo thing.
I honestly think there is SO much national sympathy out there for Mayo, and ye are so used to the mainstream media mollycoddling ye (Joe excepted) and wishing ye to win, that when anyone has anything less than positive to say about one of ye're players, ye are not used to it and go into ruptures of annoyance. Not you personally Flaker as I accept that you are indeed a fair and balanced poster, but many of the Mayo fraternity.

Its the same with AOS. Ye got so used to him being spoken of as a demi God in footballing terms, and ye go to used to that warm fuzzy feeling of "they all love our Aido" that now that the tide has started to turn against him, ye kinda don't know how to take it!
Ironically, Joe Brolly was his biggest cheerleader for years and ye loved him for it, then Joe changes his mind and now he is warned not to set foot in County Mayo on facebook!!

Mayo fans (again, not you flaker) but many in the Mayo fraternity love it when people love them and espouse their virtues, but they cant hack it atall when its the other way around."
I suppose if you put yourself in Lee's shoes, you'd have to ask - if I keep getting away with, then why stop now?

On the flip side, Dermot Connolly keeps getting punished yet keeps re-offending - surely that's a source of greater frustration for any manager/fan.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 28/09/2016 13:46:57    1920158

Replying To dubdec99:  "Grow a pair, stop whinging and try not to get so rattled next time..."
Brilliant. Succinct.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 28/09/2016 14:02:37    1920160

Replying To Beacaire Gorm:  "At least these articles are a change from the litany of articles calling on Mayo to bring "war", "mayhem", "anarchy", "trench warfare" or pick your military analogy of choice. Even the Taoiseach was calling on the brave Mayo "warriors" to go into battle for the honour of the county and all that malarky.

On another thread I posted how several pundits including Brolly and O Rourke were extolling the virtues of the Mick Lyons school of football where it was manly to split a guys nose open to the cartilage and that that's what kind of attitude Mayo need to bring to Dublin. Others were revisiting the battle for the Hill a few years back, praising Mayo's warrior spirit mar dhea ... the result of all this was the unseemly entry of both teams onto the pitch last day out. But this apparently is totally acceptable if it means getting an imagined mental edge on your opponent.

Its pretty disgusting stuff, does no credit to the most important occasion in the football calendar and goes against the whole ethos of "may the best team win". That's for softies apparently.

You've seen the other thread on this forum about "Dublin Bullied" ... these articles feed into that vein of thought emanating out of Dublin's camp and if it is true then Saturday is going to be very rough in my view. I think Dublin have had enough of the Mayo dark arts at this stage."
Here we go again with the Mayo dark arts, and all this nonsense about the Dubs being bullied. The first dirty tackle the last day was by Kevin McManaman. The worst tackle the last day was by Michael Dara. All good manly stuff when it's the Dubs, but when it's Lee or Colm Boyle it's the dark arts. Mayo can't be held responsible for anything written by Spillane, O Rourke etc. and as for Enda and that nonsense, he's a politician enough said. As for exhortations for war and that rubbish, do you honestly believe that Mayo changed their approach because of what some pundit said. That's as ridiculous as thinking Jim McGuinness came down to talk tactics the week before the final. I don't like the off the ball stuff that goes on. I don't like to see Lee pull Diarmuid to the ground off the ball, which he did. I don't like to see Diarmuid pull Lee to the ground off the ball, which he did. I don't like to see Brian Fenton pull Kevin McLoughlin to the ground off the ball, which he did. I don't like to see Johnny Cooper swinging a kick at Cillian O Connor off the ball, which he did. I'm sure there are many instances of other Mayo players misbehaving as well but what gets to me is the hypocrisy being displayed in casting the Mayo lads as the villains of the piece and The Dubs as knights in shining armour. Just a little bit of balance like we get from Cue and one or two others, is that to much to ask for? We can all beat the drum and adopt the 'Ulster says no' approach from time to time, but the constant we're right and you're wrong attitude is getting wearisome at this stage.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/09/2016 14:03:35    1920161