Dublin propaganda

Replying To Gleebo:  "Keegan scored two of the points of the season against Tyrone, as well as nullifying Cavanagh, so this idea that he can't play football is nonsense."
Ha ... ya after he got Cavanagh sent off !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 27/09/2016 20:20:13    1919877

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Dubh-Linn, my apologies brother!
Stressful day!!
I take it back....i was WAY over the top there
Sorry buddy"
That's OK Liam, I'll let you off this time ;-)
It's not looking good for those stress levels any time soon though. At least not until after Saturday.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/09/2016 20:25:19    1919882

Replying To superbluedub:  "Show me where any Dublin supporter refered to Dublin as the almighty Dubs ??
Grow up you little child
As for rattled ? are you having a laugh ?
3 All Irelands and 4 leagues in 5 years , what has Mayo got"
Oooh tetchy

Ccgall4 (Mayo) - Posts: 21 - 27/09/2016 20:31:34    1919886

Replying To rossy15:  "Ha ... ya after he got Cavanagh sent off !"
Lee Keegan got Cavanagh sent off for a high tackle on Aidan O Shea. Great logic there.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 27/09/2016 20:46:08    1919897

For a more nuanced view, read the Mayo News.

http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/28658-keegan-and-connolly-a-battle-for-the-ages

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/09/2016 21:31:35    1919908

Lads.....both Keegan and Connolly are great players, both well able to mix it as required and neither pure as the driven snow but one thing I'd say is that people should be careful about casting aspersions on amateur players who they actually know very little about. Winds me up when I hear people refer to players as gurriers, tramps etc not on and no need for it

I was in our club last year watching a Dublin match when lads were at the usual craic about Connolly being a gurrier etc but then were lost for words when I explained he had twice been up in our own club with the Vincent's underage hurlers.....cue silence and embarrassed looks, two great talents and reality is the one that comes out on top of their duel could well decide the destination of Sam.

The GAA is all about rivalry but we should celebrate that rivalry and the great players on both sides the right way

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 27/09/2016 21:51:37    1919916

Replying To superbluedub:  "Show me where any Dublin supporter refered to Dublin as the almighty Dubs ??
Grow up you little child
As for rattled ? are you having a laugh ?
3 All Irelands and 4 leagues in 5 years , what has Mayo got"
Mayo's got Dublin rattled !!

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 27/09/2016 22:00:43    1919925

Replying To liner:  "Mayo's got Dublin rattled !!"
Oh yeah, we're all rattled here in Dublin. Just hope our awful fear doesn't spread to the Dublin dressing room and infect the mindset of the team.
That would be awful.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 27/09/2016 22:10:54    1919934

Replying To liner:  "Mayo's got Dublin rattled !!"
Dream on lad.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 27/09/2016 22:13:51    1919936

Replying To Ccgall4:  "Oooh tetchy"
Nope just telling the truth .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 27/09/2016 22:16:25    1919937

Replying To rossy15:  "Ha ... ya after he got Cavanagh sent off !"
Their little wrestling match was instigated by Cavanagh and the second yellow had nothing to do with Keegan.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 27/09/2016 22:34:37    1919947

Nice piece.Definately a huge respect for esch other.Jeepers i cant wait for their next installment!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/09/2016 22:44:13    1919953

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I've come to the conclusion that them Dub lads are as cute as foxes. As my old neighbour used to say 'you couldn't bate them with a stick'. It all started with Senan on Sky. "What's the news from the sideline Senan? "The Dublin management are very annoyed at the late hits going in". Loosely translated this meant that Mayo were beating the s***out of the poor Dubs who were unable to stand up for themselves. Mind you Michael Dara and Kev Mc did a good job of standing up for themselves but no matter the seed had been sown. Next up it was Ciaran on The Sunday Game, looking straight at the camera like Charlie Haughey in one his hair shirt speeches, and telling us that football as we know it would be saved if Lee got a card early on in the replay. I presume what he meant was that Diarmuid could roam the pitch unfettered, kicking points with either foot, Dublin would win handily and normal service would be resumed. Another seed was sown. Mayo are the aggressors and some referee needs to stand up and be a hero, well in Ciarans eyes anyway, before it's too late. A clip of Lee pulling down Diarmuid was added for effect. The fact that there was also a clip available of Diarmuid pulling down Lee seemingly was deemed to be irrelevant. As if that wasn't enough along comes Alan in one of the Sunday papers. In praising Lee, kind of, he manages to say that he goes over the edge of legal from time to time. He also adds that it's the job of the officials to ensure that the game is played inside the rules but that at times Conor Lane let things go. He also saw Lee pull down Diarmuid, not once but twice. I'm sure he meant to add, in the interest of fairness, that he saw Diarmuid pull down Lee, but with deadlines and all that it just didn't make the cut. Not just another seed but the whole feckin lawn. Today we have Paul who goes as far as to suggest that linesmen and umpires should spend the replay trying to catch any indiscretion from Lee and go 'straight telling' to the referee. Drip...drip....drip. I thought at first it was random, now I'm having doubts. Now you can say it's only pundits and who takes heed of them, but remember Brolly and the black card. I don't understand the whole get Lee thing myself. Surely the Dubs have enough confidence in their own ability that they know they'll beat Mayo with or without Lee. Are they just trying to be sure, to be sure and remove any semblance of doubt. Or is there a possibility that maybe, just maybe, there is a little worry somewhere in the back of their minds that this Mayo, unlike other Mayos, won't go away...... nah that can't be it. Can it? As I said, them Dubs, cute as foxes."
What are you lot smoking down there in Mayo?

Forget Connolly ... Keegan did his usual trick and managed to get Sean Cavanagh sent off in your quarter final match. Conveniently you would like us all to forget that and pretend it never happened I suppose?

He's at the same craic game after game. His role is to embroil one of the best attackers on the opponents team and hopefully get them black or red carded. Hes been at this for a few years now.

He openly admitted that it was his job to do "whatever it takes" to win. That's unsporting and cheating in my book. You can't blame Connolly for what Keegan has been doing to everyone he's been marking. Its not hard to spot who the instigator / villain is in all this and its not Connolly.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 27/09/2016 22:53:44    1919957

Thanks ye all for catching up on me. Are most of you only realising now that the Dubs and media are two parts of the same pantomime horse? Dublin have ALWAYS has the hacks in their back pocket and they willingly do their bidding when summoned. To be accused by Dublin of being aggressive, over physical or indulging in the dark arts is like being called overweight by Humpty Dumpty. One only has to look at the sympathetic, fawning treatment that was meted out to Dublin by the media when they were accused of biting and eye gouging. EVERY day there were positive articles being pushed out by the media how the Dubs were the most saintliest beings since Padre Pio; it was pure spin and nothing else. The Dubs are hard to listen to at the best of times but their whinging and moaning over tickets and hypocrisy towards Keegan is just nauseating.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 27/09/2016 22:56:30    1919960

I endorse Paul Clarkes comment that Lee Keegan is compromising his football skills by hanging out of Diarmuid Connolly I was appalled by what I saw in the drawn match. Tactical? Cynical? At the other end we had Mc Mahon and Cooper doing their outmost to sike the skills of Moran and O Connor we get the pundits lauding this as super intensity I feel saddened that football Gaelic that is has sold its identity and become a cross between rugby league and Aussie rule The sin bin from those disciplines is the only way to combat the cynicism that has taken over from skill

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 27/09/2016 22:59:33    1919964

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Thanks ye all for catching up on me. Are most of you only realising now that the Dubs and media are two parts of the same pantomime horse? Dublin have ALWAYS has the hacks in their back pocket and they willingly do their bidding when summoned. To be accused by Dublin of being aggressive, over physical or indulging in the dark arts is like being called overweight by Humpty Dumpty. One only has to look at the sympathetic, fawning treatment that was meted out to Dublin by the media when they were accused of biting and eye gouging. EVERY day there were positive articles being pushed out by the media how the Dubs were the most saintliest beings since Padre Pio; it was pure spin and nothing else. The Dubs are hard to listen to at the best of times but their whinging and moaning over tickets and hypocrisy towards Keegan is just nauseating."
Do pantomime horses have back pockets?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 27/09/2016 23:08:48    1919967

Replying To Gleebo:  "Yes, Connolly wants that nonsense. Have a look at the clips below and ask yourself two questions: 1. Who is the instigator? 2. Are Mayo playing?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mKBtelSQ0JI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ikAF0cBfcPs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYavk-rLsn4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8kzJ0yLcWs

Connolly is just as capable of getting himself in trouble without Lee Keegan around."
Nice clips of DC there ... you must have been up ages finding them.

1 and 2 are not off the ball incidents and happen as part of the movement with the ball which DC is taking part in. 1 looks bad but only DC knows if he intentionally hit the guy in the head or not. 2 is just a mistimed / misdirected attempt at a shoulder which Kerry player made a meal out of. 3 was the Westmeath player responding to Darragh O Se's call to "pull Connollys tail to see if he will snap at you", guy rubbed his head going past (i.e. the Westmeath player was the instigator) 4. shows DC throwing the ball to the referee to restart play and being shouldered by the Donegal player who again, was the instigator.

In 3 and 4 DC overreacts. 4 is worse than 3 because he strikes to the chin with both hands which he shouldn't have done and rightfully saw red. However the Donegal player's delayed reaction and theatrical dive should have earned him a red as well for feigning injury. I'd give him a red card on principal as he both instigated and then "dived" to use a colloqial term

All you proved is that DC has a short fuse and is targeted by more than just Lee Keegan ... exactly what Darragh O Se and others have been calling on teams to do to Connolly because he stands up for himself.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 27/09/2016 23:10:07    1919968

Replying To avonali:  "Do pantomime horses have back pockets?"
Dublin pantomime horses can, and will have, whatever they want if they scream and whinge loud enough.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 27/09/2016 23:36:21    1919993

Replying To Beacaire Gorm:  "What are you lot smoking down there in Mayo?

Forget Connolly ... Keegan did his usual trick and managed to get Sean Cavanagh sent off in your quarter final match. Conveniently you would like us all to forget that and pretend it never happened I suppose?

He's at the same craic game after game. His role is to embroil one of the best attackers on the opponents team and hopefully get them black or red carded. Hes been at this for a few years now.

He openly admitted that it was his job to do "whatever it takes" to win. That's unsporting and cheating in my book. You can't blame Connolly for what Keegan has been doing to everyone he's been marking. Its not hard to spot who the instigator / villain is in all this and its not Connolly."
I could point out that Kavanagh was sent off for a foul on Aidan O Shea, that defenders on every team do what it takes to win and that there are several examples of Diarmuid instigating with the best of them, but I have the feeling I'd be wasting my time. I have no problem with people complaining about rough play and I would love to see the GAA getting to grips with the problem, either through video evidence leading to retrospective punishment or giving more power to umpires (although after the ladies debacle maybe they should dispense with umpires) or some other measure. The problem I have is that Lee is conveniently being made a scapegoat by certain journalists to suit their own agenda. I expect posters on here to be partisan and most posts, to be fair, are pretty harmless, but when you read articles in national papers which are certainly biased and at the very least mischievous, it's difficult not to react. Strangely enough I think there are so many articles on the same topic that it is leading to overkill and may well have the opposite effect to the one intended. I thought a couple of days ago that Lee would get an early yellow, now I'll be surprised if he does.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 27/09/2016 23:40:53    1919994

super intensity, tactical manly me rse, if its a Tyrone, Kerry,Armagh or Donegal team its cynical, disgusting, dark arts, a national outrage, but with Dublin and Mayo its high intensity, a great spectacle of a game. Lets hope Saturdays game is being talked about for its skills and great football and not the crop that's creeping into most football games these days. Both teams are more than capable of playing fantastic football and it can be a great game and may the best side win.
What happens if it is a draw after 8 mins added time { or is it only if its only a point or 2 in it }. Extra time or another replay?

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 27/09/2016 23:47:15    1919995