Dublin propaganda

Replying To jimbodub:  "Gleebo

How many has Keegan setup in that time?

4 v 3 tells it the simpletons way. For me Mayo miss Keegan's influence more that we miss Connolly's

It's not my narrative

It's the simple truth and it's not only former Dub players highlighting it or current county players who have come out the worst.

Tyrone learnt all about it too, he's been getting away with an awful lot and it is cynical play

Playing the man and not the ball time and time again and going unpunished for it

Even when there's blatant black card offences"
0-4 v 0-3 is the simpletons way?Nice Jimbo.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/09/2016 18:23:07    1919812

Keegan has been involved in pulling and dragging and usually gets booked along with his marker, it's laughable to suggest he gets away with serious offences off the ball. The sooner we all want to move into the real world the better. Mayo were laughed at for years for playing lovely stuff but not being cynical, now they push the boundaries and there is no end to the bullshit accusations. Get a grip lads.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 27/09/2016 18:24:21    1919814

DC is hardly the most loved player in Ireland, but you get the sense there is very little love out there for LK either.

I sense both players are hugely respected, but neither are loved outside their own patch.
I live in Limerick as ye know and regularly hear people say what a player DC is, but almost always with the caveat of him being a gurrier lol
Utter BS of course but so what! The same lads then would have huge respect and fondness for Brogan and Cluxton for example.

Same with Keegan, everyone and anyone who knows anything about football can see what a super player he is, but again when you hear him mentioned in conversation, its almost always with that caveat of him being a rogue etc etc where as lads would have more love for Colm Boyle or Keith Higgins.
You get the sense the neutrals would love to see them both sent off inside the first 5 mins!
Maybe for the game it would be great if both were booked early!

Personally, for me they are probably the two best footballers in Ireland right now.
I wonder if Jim put DC in at 14, would Lee follow him?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/09/2016 18:26:36    1919815

Keenan isn't the only player to play that way against Connolly. The dogs in the street and every pundit knows this.
If you can't beat him at football then stop him from playing.Done the same thing against Sean Cavanagh. That's his role so you just have to rely on referees and officials to do their part.If Connolly is the aggressor then punish him but if it's Keenan who instigates it then card him and that'll sort it soon enough.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/09/2016 18:37:12    1919818

Replying To Ccgall4:  "Lee Keegan is no saint but neither is Diarmuid Connolly. Why so has there been such one sided derogatory commentary from the Dublin camp (which is being fed to the media) re Lee Keegan?

Such rhetoric is surely being put out there with the hope of influencing the referee on Saturday?

If the almighty dubs are so good and unbeatable why resort to this type of ploy?"
Grow a pair, stop whinging and try not to get so rattled next time...

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 27/09/2016 18:37:45    1919819

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "DC is hardly the most loved player in Ireland, but you get the sense there is very little love out there for LK either.

I sense both players are hugely respected, but neither are loved outside their own patch.
I live in Limerick as ye know and regularly hear people say what a player DC is, but almost always with the caveat of him being a gurrier lol
Utter BS of course but so what! The same lads then would have huge respect and fondness for Brogan and Cluxton for example.

Same with Keegan, everyone and anyone who knows anything about football can see what a super player he is, but again when you hear him mentioned in conversation, its almost always with that caveat of him being a rogue etc etc where as lads would have more love for Colm Boyle or Keith Higgins.
You get the sense the neutrals would love to see them both sent off inside the first 5 mins!
Maybe for the game it would be great if both were booked early!

Personally, for me they are probably the two best footballers in Ireland right now.
I wonder if Jim put DC in at 14, would Lee follow him?"
Spot on liamo.In regatds Connolly moving to full forward i doubt Keegan would follow but im sure the Mayo lads have a better idea of that.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/09/2016 18:47:09    1919822

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Keegan has been involved in pulling and dragging and usually gets booked along with his marker, it's laughable to suggest he gets away with serious offences off the ball. The sooner we all want to move into the real world the better. Mayo were laughed at for years for playing lovely stuff but not being cynical, now they push the boundaries and there is no end to the bullshit accusations. Get a grip lads."
This idea that Mayo were laughed at for years for playing 'lovely' football really amuses me.Its an myth, a total myth.
First of all who exactly is laughing at Mayo?
Secondly Mayo don't play lovely football whatever that is.If I was asked to pick a county that play 'lovely' I might suggest Galway but even they have abandoned so called 'lovely' football.
If Mayo were laughed at for anything its for getting carried away with themselves anytime the have the remotest chance of winning Sam and then bottling it on the big day.For being deluded in short, for acting like they have 20 Sams instead of the paltry 3 they have.
This notion that Mayo are footballing innocents playing the beautiful game for years but getting nowhere is pure propaganda.
The only people I hear spreading it are Mayo people.
Cop on lads.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 27/09/2016 18:48:46    1919824

Replying To Gleebo:  "Keegan has outscored Connolly over the past four championship meetings between the sides, and Connolly only got his solitary point the last day because Clarke hit his kickout straight to him. Keegan also has seen far less red cards than Connolly in his career. Facts are a bit inconvenient to your narrative, Jimbo."
Yeah but how many Celtic Crosses has Lee got on his sideboard?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/09/2016 19:00:37    1919829

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Keenan isn't the only player to play that way against Connolly. The dogs in the street and every pundit knows this.
If you can't beat him at football then stop him from playing.Done the same thing against Sean Cavanagh. That's his role so you just have to rely on referees and officials to do their part.If Connolly is the aggressor then punish him but if it's Keenan who instigates it then card him and that'll sort it soon enough."
Once is a mistake, twice means you haven't a clue..........!!
Its KEEGAN ffs

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/09/2016 19:06:11    1919830

Replying To Condorman:  "This idea that Mayo were laughed at for years for playing 'lovely' football really amuses me.Its an myth, a total myth.
First of all who exactly is laughing at Mayo?
Secondly Mayo don't play lovely football whatever that is.If I was asked to pick a county that play 'lovely' I might suggest Galway but even they have abandoned so called 'lovely' football.
If Mayo were laughed at for anything its for getting carried away with themselves anytime the have the remotest chance of winning Sam and then bottling it on the big day.For being deluded in short, for acting like they have 20 Sams instead of the paltry 3 they have.
This notion that Mayo are footballing innocents playing the beautiful game for years but getting nowhere is pure propaganda.
The only people I hear spreading it are Mayo people.
Cop on lads."
Don't get carried away good lad. I am not trying to say they played magical football. But you absolutely cannot deny that Mayo were seen by the majority as a team who played open football for years and years and didn't have the cuteness of cynical side to their game to get over the line. They still haven't got over the line but they have brought huge physicality to the game over the last few years and it has annoyed a lot of people. There has been many, many threads on this over the last 3 or 4 years.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 27/09/2016 19:14:42    1919839

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Once is a mistake, twice means you haven't a clue..........!!
Its KEEGAN ffs"
Haha, Jesus Liam, who ate the rind off your rashers this morning? It's probably autocorrect on his phone

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 27/09/2016 19:26:27    1919849

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Once is a mistake, twice means you haven't a clue..........!!
Its KEEGAN ffs"
OK , I haven't a clue judge Rinder.
I beg your pardon. Like your one to talk with all the sh1te you put out of you.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/09/2016 19:32:38    1919851

Replying To cavanman47:  "Haha, Jesus Liam, who ate the rind off your rashers this morning? It's probably autocorrect on his phone"
A silly mistake granted but I think most people would assume it was just an honest error.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/09/2016 19:39:20    1919856

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Keenan isn't the only player to play that way against Connolly. The dogs in the street and every pundit knows this.
If you can't beat him at football then stop him from playing.Done the same thing against Sean Cavanagh. That's his role so you just have to rely on referees and officials to do their part.If Connolly is the aggressor then punish him but if it's Keenan who instigates it then card him and that'll sort it soon enough."
Keegan scored two of the points of the season against Tyrone, as well as nullifying Cavanagh, so this idea that he can't play football is nonsense.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/09/2016 19:41:51    1919858

Replying To avonali:  "ehhh...this is the counter-narrative. Up to now the narrative has been that intense Mayo defending has successfully curbed Dublin's attacking threat."
Nope, the narrative has been that Dublin played badly/ struggled in the rain and that Mayo won't get near them in the replay. Now the 'Keegan is hurting poor Dermo' angle is being placed in the so-called 'national' press.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/09/2016 19:47:25    1919860

Dubh-Linn, my apologies brother!
Stressful day!!
I take it back....i was WAY over the top there
Sorry buddy

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/09/2016 19:49:32    1919863

Replying To Gleebo:  "Keegan scored two of the points of the season against Tyrone, as well as nullifying Cavanagh, so this idea that he can't play football is nonsense."
Not suggesting for one minute that he can't play football and would be far better doing it the whole game for Mayo but spends long spells of games getting involved it pulling and dragging also. He's well able to contribute on the scoreboard but I think he's sent out to dog players like Connolly too and it's let go too much IMO.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/09/2016 19:49:35    1919864

for mayo to win I think lee keegan has to be freed up to play football
surely thers someone else that can mark connoly maybe chris barret
keegan is too good a player to spend the whole match tracking connoly
and could have a huge influence on game

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 27/09/2016 20:05:14    1919871

Replying To Gleebo:  "Keegan scored two of the points of the season against Tyrone, as well as nullifying Cavanagh, so this idea that he can't play football is nonsense."
He can certainly play football. He just needs to concentrate on that aspect of his game. Diarmuid kept him penned back the last day and they cancelled each other out.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/09/2016 20:05:34    1919872

Both these boys are joint favourites at even money for yellows. Not sure what odds for both players...probably the same...

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 27/09/2016 20:10:25    1919874