Dublin propaganda

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Ask yourselves lads, who does this battle suit more?
The half back or the half forward
Do you think DC wants this nonsense?
Suits LK and Mayo a lot more than is suits DC and Dublin"
The half back that has outscored Diarmuid 0-4 v 0-3 from play in their last 4 championship clashes?Who exactly is marking who?I'm hearing Dubs on the Dubs forum praising Diarmuid for curbing Keegan's influence?I thought it was supposed to be the other way round.Come on lads we're losing the run of ourselves a wee bit i feel.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/09/2016 16:04:00    1919730

Let the football do the talking on Saturday, i'm confident enough, it will be a very good Mayo team that beats Dublin, if they ever do.

I actually get frustrated with Dermo at times for getting mixed up with the gamesmanship, its simple really Dermo 3 - 0 Keegan All-Ireland titles, whats the argument and why would you be bothered with him.

He should take him for a walk around the pitch and create space in the backline if he is man marked, put Keegan to the test and make him make a decision on whether to stick or twist. He will prob try to grandstand it though.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/09/2016 16:06:21    1919735

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Ask yourselves lads, who does this battle suit more?
The half back or the half forward
Do you think DC wants this nonsense?
Suits LK and Mayo a lot more than is suits DC and Dublin"
Keegan has scored more in their head to head in championship. You're right Keegan is being targeted by Connolly. Thanks for your concern

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 27/09/2016 16:09:03    1919737

Good God but the Dublin fans are moaning about everything.....if it's not tickets and the hill, it's the ref, if it's not the ref its other counties and know it's Keegan for daring to lay hands of St Diarmuid..........Connolly is an absolute super footballer but to suggest he is some kind if an angel that is being picked on by big bad Keegan us laughable

As Connolly has proven time and time again on the field he is well able to dish it out and look after himself.......the Dubs are looking to cement their place in history as one of the greatest teams in history and all we are hearing is moaning from Dublin fans, good God I'd hate to see it if ye had a bad team, your team will do their talking on the field suggest ye let them get on with it

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 27/09/2016 16:16:37    1919743

Gas thread in fairness

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/09/2016 16:43:14    1919758

Replying To Gleebo:  "Keegan has outscored Connolly over the past four championship meetings between the sides, and Connolly only got his solitary point the last day because Clarke hit his kickout straight to him. Keegan also has seen far less red cards than Connolly in his career. Facts are a bit inconvenient to your narrative, Jimbo."
I think that's the issue tbough gleebo...that connolly gets punished where keegan doesn't. They are as bad as each other.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/09/2016 16:44:57    1919760

Replying To Jackeen:  "I think that's the issue tbough gleebo...that connolly gets punished where keegan doesn't. They are as bad as each other."
Gleebo

How many has Keegan setup in that time?

4 v 3 tells it the simpletons way. For me Mayo miss Keegan's influence more that we miss Connolly's

It's not my narrative

It's the simple truth and it's not only former Dub players highlighting it or current county players who have come out the worst.

Tyrone learnt all about it too, he's been getting away with an awful lot and it is cynical play

Playing the man and not the ball time and time again and going unpunished for it

Even when there's blatant black card offences

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/09/2016 17:07:43    1919773

Replying To Jackeen:  "I think that's the issue tbough gleebo...that connolly gets punished where keegan doesn't. They are as bad as each other."
Which would be fine if that were reflected in the previews of Saturday's replay, but at least half a dozen Dublin pundits have suggested otherwise in so-called 'national' media. As I said before, either our lads get a counter-narrative going or Deegan will be influenced beforehand, as in 2012.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/09/2016 17:11:41    1919777

Replying To Jackeen:  "Its not nonsense. I think connolly gets carded for what he does but Keegan flashes us his cheeky grin and gets away with it more often than not. Personally i would live to see Gavin push Dermo up to FF. I think Keegan would struggle out of position plus the two of them would be a lot closer to the officials for babysitting."
Lads will you get over yourselves. Seriously. You would swear Keegan is some kind of hatchet man donkey they way you are going on. There was one flashpoint the last day, for the rest of the game Keegan was doing nothing different than any man marker does in any high profile game . This is cringey stuff. Connolly has the whole of Croke park to find the space if he is good enough. You would swear he had a hold of poor Dermos Jersey for 70 minutes. Cringey stuff. Teams are always going to target Connolly because sooner or later he will lose the rag. Get over it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 27/09/2016 17:25:53    1919784

Replying To Ccgall4:  "Lee Keegan is no saint but neither is Diarmuid Connolly. Why so has there been such one sided derogatory commentary from the Dublin camp (which is being fed to the media) re Lee Keegan?

Such rhetoric is surely being put out there with the hope of influencing the referee on Saturday?

If the almighty dubs are so good and unbeatable why resort to this type of ploy?"
ahhh...this is music to my ears....for the first time I am sensing unease in Mayo fans....

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 27/09/2016 17:27:54    1919785

Replying To Gleebo:  "Which would be fine if that were reflected in the previews of Saturday's replay, but at least half a dozen Dublin pundits have suggested otherwise in so-called 'national' media. As I said before, either our lads get a counter-narrative going or Deegan will be influenced beforehand, as in 2012."
ehhh...this is the counter-narrative. Up to now the narrative has been that intense Mayo defending has successfully curbed Dublin's attacking threat.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 27/09/2016 17:35:44    1919791

The mighty Dubs.........they're on the run!

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 27/09/2016 17:37:55    1919792

Replying To Ccgall4:  "Lee Keegan is no saint but neither is Diarmuid Connolly. Why so has there been such one sided derogatory commentary from the Dublin camp (which is being fed to the media) re Lee Keegan?

Such rhetoric is surely being put out there with the hope of influencing the referee on Saturday?

If the almighty dubs are so good and unbeatable why resort to this type of ploy?"
whats this almighty dubs bulls--t ? its the likes of yourself that's saying that silly crap.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 27/09/2016 17:42:07    1919793

Of course it is going to be a talking point - it's one of the great battles of the game.
Keegan ripping the jersey off Connolly in the drawn game, made a lot of people stand up and have an opinion on him. I think that was a mistake, it was just too obvious.
Keegan is playing mind games - he knows he can get into Connolly's head and the test is how far he can take it. At some point an umpire or linesman will pull him up.
If I was a Mayo fan I'd love Keegan as a player, but you can sense by the postings on this thread that they are aware he is on thin ice and are super defensive of him as a result.
I think the former Dublin players see this too, they know Keegan is vulnerable because of his previous behaviour, and in highlighting it they are getting involved in psychological warfare as well.
It's a great side show to what should be a great game.

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 471 - 27/09/2016 17:45:17    1919798

I would beg to differ. How many serious striking incidents has Keegan been involved in on and off the field? Being a pain in the ass and pulling and dragging as Keegan sometimes does is not as bad as what his opponent has been involved in.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 27/09/2016 17:45:47    1919799

Replying To jimbodub:  "Gleebo

How many has Keegan setup in that time?

4 v 3 tells it the simpletons way. For me Mayo miss Keegan's influence more that we miss Connolly's

It's not my narrative

It's the simple truth and it's not only former Dub players highlighting it or current county players who have come out the worst.

Tyrone learnt all about it too, he's been getting away with an awful lot and it is cynical play

Playing the man and not the ball time and time again and going unpunished for it

Even when there's blatant black card offences"
Nope, it's simplistic rather than simple, Jim. Connolly has kept up his scoring rate against the other top sides (Kerry, for instance) but has been much quieter against Mayo in recent meetings, so I'd say it's a relevant stat alright. Keegan will be leading candidate for Footballer of the Year should Mayo win on Saturday, such is his importance to the team.

Tyrone are just as able to mix it in the dark arts as anyone else, S. Cavanagh particularly, so I'd be wary about casting them as the victims, as the likes of Darragh and Tomas O Se and Oisin McConville have alluded to.

No-one is saying that Keegan is as pure as the driven snow, or that Mayo aren't able to mix it. But the narrative driven by mostly former Dubs is imbalanced and inaccurate for reasons that I've alluded to previously. And I must say that it grates to hear the likes of Whelan and Keith Barr bang on about protecting players, given their pedigrees!

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/09/2016 17:51:43    1919801

Replying To superbluedub:  "whats this almighty dubs bulls--t ? its the likes of yourself that's saying that silly crap."
God - ye seemed so full of that kind if talk before the first game. Rattled.

Ccgall4 (Mayo) - Posts: 21 - 27/09/2016 17:55:54    1919805

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I would beg to differ. How many serious striking incidents has Keegan been involved in on and off the field? Being a pain in the ass and pulling and dragging as Keegan sometimes does is not as bad as what his opponent has been involved in."
That he has been punished for? Very little compared to his marker. That's my point. He is skating on thin ice at this stage. One day he will get punished and i think the posters here know it!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/09/2016 18:11:37    1919807

Yeah this paranoid diversion is a clear and obvious attempt by the Mayo mafia to delay the red card Keegan is long overdue by one more game.

WAKE UP SHEEPLE

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 27/09/2016 18:21:45    1919810

Replying To Ccgall4:  "God - ye seemed so full of that kind if talk before the first game. Rattled."
Show me where any Dublin supporter refered to Dublin as the almighty Dubs ??
Grow up you little child
As for rattled ? are you having a laugh ?
3 All Irelands and 4 leagues in 5 years , what has Mayo got

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 27/09/2016 18:21:55    1919811