Posters ruining the game

Irish people have to complain about something, after months of constant rain we are the only people that would complain of sunburn after 1 day of sunshine, I love watching the games from years ago, the clatter of shoulders and hard but fair play of the 70s, 80s, the epic replay after replay of Dublin and Meath in 91, the Ulster champs winning Sam in 91, 92, 93 and 94, Dublin finally winning in 95, ahem we'll skip over 96 and 97, Galway 98 and so forth, people find fault in everything but I would choose our games a million times over than sit and watch the sport of our neighbours in England, soccer, can't see the point of fans applauding and groaning when a shot at goal end up hitting the corner flag? If that were football or hurling that player would get some roar of abuse for taking on such a stupid shot. We complain because we love our games as pure and as simple as that

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 26/09/2016 23:01:54    1919492

Replying To joncarter:  "i would argue that the diving, cheating etc that has crept into our games has caused far more damage than anything said on this message board.
You had a Tyrone minor recently taunting a Donegal player about the death of his father. thats worse than anything Ive ever read on here, and youll find that most posters on here also play, too (or at least have played)
Im all for good hard play but there has to be some honour involved in it too, and there is no excuse for being "dirty"."
5th time - Here we go again joncarter doing his anti-Tyrone thing. The incident he refers to was an allegation that never was proved but obviously joncarter was there and it's fact - irrespective of whether it happened or not and given the amount of incidents that happen in GAA including a kid getting assaulted recently by an adult in a hurling game in Kilkenny - this guy only sees Tyrone being the problem - again shame on joncarter!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 27/09/2016 05:33:14    1919504

Firstly,welcome Beepee. I get what you are saying but the choir boys posting on here sometimes have never kicked a ball in there lives and therefore have no understanding of the game or any idea of what it is like to be in the "heat of battle",and how sometimes that can lead to lads lashing out or engaging in some verbals on the field. Most people know this and know there are lines that shouldn't be crossed.
Secondly,Jon Carter,you are still coming on here with a "hard one" for all things Tyrone. I mean what's with this man? Are ye even from Galway? Your own county has its own colorful characters so why don't you use them as examples instead of referring to Tyrone players everytime you want to highlight some negative point? You point out about a Tyrone minor allegedly saying something to another teams player,and if it's true it's completely unacceptable,but how come you only point out our sins but not when we are sinned against? It's an absolute fact that Peter Harte had some references made to him about his cousin,Mickeys daughter,I don't here you crying about that. Your own players have been as guilty as any others of dirty tactics and feigning injury in recent times as any other teams so reference them if you want to make the point.Hanley for drag downs is every bit as skillful as Sean Cavs was. Last year against Armagh ye got 2 black carded and feigning injury from players also. This year more of the same so stop with this anti Tyrone stuff please. Even other county's posters are calling you out for it now. It's very hypocritical in all fairness.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 27/09/2016 08:50:55    1919515

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Firstly,welcome Beepee. I get what you are saying but the choir boys posting on here sometimes have never kicked a ball in there lives and therefore have no understanding of the game or any idea of what it is like to be in the "heat of battle",and how sometimes that can lead to lads lashing out or engaging in some verbals on the field. Most people know this and know there are lines that shouldn't be crossed.
Secondly,Jon Carter,you are still coming on here with a "hard one" for all things Tyrone. I mean what's with this man? Are ye even from Galway? Your own county has its own colorful characters so why don't you use them as examples instead of referring to Tyrone players everytime you want to highlight some negative point? You point out about a Tyrone minor allegedly saying something to another teams player,and if it's true it's completely unacceptable,but how come you only point out our sins but not when we are sinned against? It's an absolute fact that Peter Harte had some references made to him about his cousin,Mickeys daughter,I don't here you crying about that. Your own players have been as guilty as any others of dirty tactics and feigning injury in recent times as any other teams so reference them if you want to make the point.Hanley for drag downs is every bit as skillful as Sean Cavs was. Last year against Armagh ye got 2 black carded and feigning injury from players also. This year more of the same so stop with this anti Tyrone stuff please. Even other county's posters are calling you out for it now. It's very hypocritical in all fairness."
Hes a selective memory seanie as well as questionable political views, Im happy to refresh his memory though.

An antrim hurler in early 2000s was given the 'british b**tard' treatment by a particular galway defender but sure that's only banter no doubt!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 27/09/2016 11:03:11    1919561

Replying To bumpernut:  "Hes a selective memory seanie as well as questionable political views, Im happy to refresh his memory though.

An antrim hurler in early 2000s was given the 'british b**tard' treatment by a particular galway defender but sure that's only banter no doubt!"
Yes it is a very selective memory at work bumpernut. The old "British b@*t@rd" line,a gentleman and a scholar I'm sure lol.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 27/09/2016 19:33:27    1919853