Posters ruining the game

Replying To joncarter:  "i would argue that the diving, cheating etc that has crept into our games has caused far more damage than anything said on this message board.
You had a Tyrone minor recently taunting a Donegal player about the death of his father. thats worse than anything Ive ever read on here, and youll find that most posters on here also play, too (or at least have played)
Im all for good hard play but there has to be some honour involved in it too, and there is no excuse for being "dirty"."
of all the incidents that have went on..you select something to do with tyrone..theres a suprise

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 24/09/2016 21:15:51    1918770

Replying To joncarter:  "im sure there were specific examples dotted throughout the history of the GAA, in fact I remember Spillane taking a dive once in a GAA gold match I watched,(one of his teammates dragged him up and balled him out of it by the way) but was it a mainstream tactic like it is now? I dont think so. I got into the GAA back in 1998, never missed a televised game in 5 years(bar the ones I went to), and the first time I ever saw it was in the all ireland semi of 2003 (Tyrone v Kerry) and again in that final (Phillip Jordan tricking the ref into sending off Diarmuid Marsden).
Been seeing it regularly ever since, from various different counties. (some more than others)
And just to point out, just because something has always been happening doesnt mean we should just accept it."
yes but there is no reason to be so biased about it and blame it on one county..its been going on for decades..wasnt same level of tv coverage then

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 24/09/2016 21:17:54    1918772

Replying To Beepee:  "This is my first thread on Hoganstand and to be honest only my second post but I have been a long time lurker on this site and read most threads on the national and Dublin forums. Im from Dublin, hurled and played football with my club for my entire life, Im 38 now so finished up, my dad played hurling for his county and was very successful and my brothers and sisters all played for most of their youth and adult lives. My friends and social circle basically revolve around the GAA and Im thankful of what the games and the organisation have given me.

The thing I cant get my head around is the posting of some people on here, they call players scum and accuse them of thuggery and nastiness at every turn. They slam teams for being cynical and scream about referees not carding players like they've murdered someone. Its like they never played the games. Our games are great, they are physical, competitive and yes combative, the way they should be. People get abused for being hard or dirty like these are awful things to be? If you've played you know that every team and every player bends the rules, that physicality and yes even a little bit of aggression are required to be successful. Im not trying to play the keyboard warrior, and im not condoning cheap shots or diving or any of that s££t but I don't understand why now every physical contact of a tough nature is being focused on and people are expanding these incidents as indicators of a players character.

In short our games are good, hard, physical and safe to play. Anyone who has played knows this, I challenge anyone to watch the 4 Dublin v Meath games from 1991 and tell me they weren't great, as tough, physical and combative as any games in GAA history. So my question is why all the hate for our games and the players? Cant we just leave them play and the referees decide and shake hands on it after without weeks of mickey mouse over analysis and personal attacks on players?

Up the dubs!!!!!"
When you read some of the posts here may be it should read posters ruining the forum.

Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 272 - 24/09/2016 21:46:55    1918777

In fairness to the lad, I agree with most of what he says even if the thread was loosely headed. There is plenty of banter on here, but there is also plenty of begrudging horseshite, on all sides!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/09/2016 22:13:19    1918785

Stupid thread, diving and sledging and are ruining the game, not what's posted on an anonymous forum.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 24/09/2016 22:50:00    1918797

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Stupid thread, diving and sledging and are ruining the game, not what's posted on an anonymous forum."
Spot on.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 25/09/2016 00:05:43    1918801

Replying To Beepee:  "Sorry to hear about your friend. I mean that genuinely.

To be fair I'm not taking any moral high ground, I'm discussing the reality of the game as I see it. If no one in you're club has every called anyone a name on the pitch or done something cynical fair play.

If like me players have occasionally lost their temper and called someone a f==er then I hope uve pulled them up on it immediately and questioned their manhood. Sounds like ur either in a club full of people with excellent manners or you're not being honest. I know that sounds personal but it's not meant that way."
No, you know well what I mean, yes if someone calls you a pri#k or a cu#t you might feck them back, that's generally par for the course. No I'm talking about constant verbals that get personal, that's the stuff of cowards & something I never tolerated as a player or a manager. Anyone condoning this is, is why the Gaa is rotten with it at the moment & as has been typical in the Gaa it's all swept under the carpet. I suppose the abuse dished out disgracefully to a great sportsman Lee Chin is part of the game & all. I hope your not coaching young lads as your thinking is not something I would like to see passed on. The type who defends the guy who elbows the head & defends it as a man's game, lots of them here already, not worthy of debating with.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 25/09/2016 00:16:27    1918803

OK thread title was a bad one, I meant the discussion after games is being ruined. I am not condoning diving or sledging. What I said was I can't honestly say I haven't lost my temper on a pitch and called someone a p###k. I always knew the difference between a real nasty player/incident when I was playing and a messy/bad tackle type of thing. I watched the drawn game and saw a competitive contest with savage intensity, maybe not the best football in the world but I enjoyed it. Mayo were the better side and Dublin were blessed with the two goals tbh. I wasn't paying for cards, I thought the ref did well but I turn on hoganstand and lads are talking about spear tackles and who should be sent off? Just makes no sense to me. Every game now is being discussed on the basis of who should have been sent off, what the ref missed and lately where the refs from/where he works? I just don't see the craic in that

Beepee (Dublin) - Posts: 17 - 25/09/2016 01:30:07    1918807

For that matter does anyone know how I change the title?

Beepee (Dublin) - Posts: 17 - 25/09/2016 01:40:04    1918809

1 I don't remember people on here calling any player scum.

2 Players do stuff in the pitch that is not acceptable and should not be allowed. Stating that they should be punished is surely good for the game.

What a player does on the pitch does not represent who he is as a person. I think most on here would appreciate that. Some people do bad things. McAuleys challenge last weekend was ridiculous, there's no place for it in our games. I don't know McAuley as a person, would never call him scum., but I know he shouldn't have done what he did and I'd like him to be punished for it because then there'd be less of it in our games.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 25/09/2016 02:21:27    1918810

Replying To Beepee:  "Fair enough, Ill bring up the fact that Dublin have twice the amount of Hurling All Irelands that Mayo have in total......lads in work love that one...."
In all fairness if we are being serious we could take a leaf out of the hurlers book, players officials fans and posters!
They just seem to get on with it, and no one can argue with the level of intensity there. Only draw back would be HS would be like a ghost town perish the thought.

mactomac (UK) - Posts: 37 - 25/09/2016 08:36:59    1918816

Replying To Beepee:  "OK thread title was a bad one, I meant the discussion after games is being ruined. I am not condoning diving or sledging. What I said was I can't honestly say I haven't lost my temper on a pitch and called someone a p###k. I always knew the difference between a real nasty player/incident when I was playing and a messy/bad tackle type of thing. I watched the drawn game and saw a competitive contest with savage intensity, maybe not the best football in the world but I enjoyed it. Mayo were the better side and Dublin were blessed with the two goals tbh. I wasn't paying for cards, I thought the ref did well but I turn on hoganstand and lads are talking about spear tackles and who should be sent off? Just makes no sense to me. Every game now is being discussed on the basis of who should have been sent off, what the ref missed and lately where the refs from/where he works? I just don't see the craic in that"
Controversy sells Beepee. Always has and always will. ill be honest, id much rather come on here and debate controversial issues from games than throw obvious praise at players or teams that are doing well, discussions rarely develop from that. But i dont see any of the name calling your suggesting as the admin keep a closed lid on that sort of stuff on here.

you mentioned that the likes of Mick Lyons recieves great respect from Dublin people but i remember him getting dogs abuse from the stands in those days. I'd say in 25 years time the likes of Lee Keegan will get the same respect from Dublin people. all the abuse from the stands or forums are in the heat of the moment, similar to actions that happen on the field. It's wise to take it all with a ponch of salt.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 25/09/2016 12:18:37    1918868

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Controversy sells Beepee. Always has and always will. ill be honest, id much rather come on here and debate controversial issues from games than throw obvious praise at players or teams that are doing well, discussions rarely develop from that. But i dont see any of the name calling your suggesting as the admin keep a closed lid on that sort of stuff on here.

you mentioned that the likes of Mick Lyons recieves great respect from Dublin people but i remember him getting dogs abuse from the stands in those days. I'd say in 25 years time the likes of Lee Keegan will get the same respect from Dublin people. all the abuse from the stands or forums are in the heat of the moment, similar to actions that happen on the field. It's wise to take it all with a ponch of salt."
Agreed, pinch of salt seems the way to go, I remember mick Lyons getting plenty stick too but it was over with the whistle and everyone to a man reckoned at that time he was a great player and a good gaa man. Same way I reckon keegan is a top player and a great gaa man today. Fella doesn't know when to stop giving. If he's involved in a sloppy tackle or a handbag episode, let the ref deal with it and admire him for what he is, a good man who gives more to his people than he gets. I just can't help being annoyed by the focus, Joe brolly included on what fellas do wrong, it seems to be blown out of all proportion

Beepee (Dublin) - Posts: 17 - 25/09/2016 12:51:00    1918881

Replying To Beepee:  "Agreed, pinch of salt seems the way to go, I remember mick Lyons getting plenty stick too but it was over with the whistle and everyone to a man reckoned at that time he was a great player and a good gaa man. Same way I reckon keegan is a top player and a great gaa man today. Fella doesn't know when to stop giving. If he's involved in a sloppy tackle or a handbag episode, let the ref deal with it and admire him for what he is, a good man who gives more to his people than he gets. I just can't help being annoyed by the focus, Joe brolly included on what fellas do wrong, it seems to be blown out of all proportion"
well Joe Brolly is one of those who should be taken with a bowl of salt never mind a pinch. He's in that position, purely for entertainment value as opposed to any serious analysis. Another thing that should be noted is the influence of social media in todays society as well as coverage of far more games than there was 25 years ago. It gives everyone a platform to express their opinion, this was simply unheard of in previous eras so it is impossible to compare.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 25/09/2016 13:06:27    1918885

beepee only admin can change the thread title

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 25/09/2016 20:36:42    1919011

I think the key conclusion here is that the decline in Gaelic football is largely Tyrone's fault; and that the decline dates from 2003. In order to reform the game, serious consideration needs to be given to a 26 county GAA, like the soccer. The Nordies, especially Tyrone, are not as honourable as anyone from down South. This may be because of because of the Troubles, or it just may be the way they naturally area; either way, the game would be better off without them.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 26/09/2016 10:49:37    1919151

Replying To alano12:  "of all the incidents that have went on..you select something to do with tyrone..theres a suprise"
His own county are more than able to do their own sledging when required too alano!

As the original poster stated it has been going on for years, we all have experienced it and dished it out im sure and it will continue.

There are certain lines that should not be crossed and most of us would deal with it on the pitch if they are crossed.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 26/09/2016 11:08:00    1919160

Replying To essmac:  "I think the key conclusion here is that the decline in Gaelic football is largely Tyrone's fault; and that the decline dates from 2003. In order to reform the game, serious consideration needs to be given to a 26 county GAA, like the soccer. The Nordies, especially Tyrone, are not as honourable as anyone from down South. This may be because of because of the Troubles, or it just may be the way they naturally area; either way, the game would be better off without them."
Haha, while you're obviously tongue-in-cheek above, I would say this:

That Tyrone team raised the standard of the game to a new level that hadn't been seen previously. Armagh (briefly) and Kerry matched that level and gaelic football was at its highest ever standard in the middle of the last decade. It has not reached the same heights since nor do I expect it to in the next 4-5 years.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 26/09/2016 11:12:09    1919166

Replying To alano12:  "of all the incidents that have went on..you select something to do with tyrone..theres a suprise"
Agreed, his righteousness is fatally undermined by his blatant and constant bias.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 26/09/2016 11:45:15    1919190

It's not just posters and it's not just the GAA. "Analysis" of both GAA and soccer is overwhelmingly negative and critical (a few sacred cows excepted) and this seems to appeal to a lot of people.

Obviously nothing should be above criticism but the level of it is hugely misrepresentative.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 26/09/2016 12:11:19    1919203