Anyone see post by Hill 16 Group?

Replying To the_walls:  "Im involved in a club in Dublin and there would be a lot more people looking for tickets than there are tickets available. However I haven't heard of anyone who is properly involved in the club and who regularly gets tickets for Dublin games through the club, who didn't get sorted."
Most Dublin clubs have more paid up members than tickets. Every club nearly has to have a draw of the paid up members.

Don't understand this myth outside Dublin that there are so few 'genuine' GAA fans in Dublin they all get tickets.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 23/09/2016 14:35:33    1918417

Replying To witnof:  "Most Dublin clubs have more paid up members than tickets. Every club nearly has to have a draw of the paid up members.

Don't understand this myth outside Dublin that there are so few 'genuine' GAA fans in Dublin they all get tickets."
I agree they are very hard to come by, we still have to have a lottery and that is just for those who have consistently purchased tickets through the club are paid up members and do club work. But in general they are all genuine the people who get them.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 23/09/2016 14:54:10    1918424

In my humble opinion, the main issue with regards Hill ticket distribution is price. They are half the price of a stand ticket. Why should Mayo fans be forced to pay the top dollar and not have at least an option for the cheap tickets? It's the All-Ireland final lads, I'm sorry but Dublins stranglehold on the terrace area of our HQ goes out the window.
I absolutely hate the hatred that has come up especially since the drawn game. Was in the Hill for the 2013 and had little or no issue. This time around for somebody reason it was different. There was a very uneasy feeling for us in the section of the hill behind the goal. That should not and cannot be the case in the GAA. 2013 was the finest of craic. They chanted, we chanted. They slagged, we slagged. This time it was as if we were at each other's throats the second something was said. I myself got carried away a couple of times. The gaa has to be a friendly place. Rivals yes, enemies never.
I was one of the mayo supporters behind that Diarmuid Connolly banner the last day. I was aware that it would come down after the parade. A couple of young lads got out of hand and pulled it down. There was a scuffle and it was unnecessary. Our boys were in the wrong. However the description of the incident on FB was exaggerated. Nobody was spat on for goodness sake. I don't even think there was a slap thrown. One of the lads got hit with a bottle but that was as bad as it got.

Another issue I have was the stewarding outside the hill. I was offended that gaa stewards were corralling Mayo fans to the corner section. Why? Why attempt segregation? This is not Celtic v Rangers.
It's all a bit sour lads. The terrace should and will be split for the final. It's where I always go for mayo games in Croker when the option is there. It's the best place to be on Final day IMO. See Ye Saturday week, play nice ;)

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 23/09/2016 14:56:20    1918428

Replying To the_walls:  "I would agree that Dublin do travel in big numbers to away games but so do we. We also outnumbered Cork down in Pairc Ui Rinn this year and out numbered the Kerry support in Killarney the year before. It's actually rare we don't outnumber the home support when away. If we were to allocate tickets on a pro rata basis based on how many club members there are in Dublin and Mayo, as you suggest, it would be fundamentally unfair. Dublin has far more club members and would have the vast majority of the stadium. The vast majority of people, including quite a number of Dublin posters, disagree fundamentally with you on this but it appears to me that you fail to see beyond your own self interest. Competing counties officially receive the same amount of tickets and that is as it should be. Outside of that it is up to people to source tickets from elsewhere and Mayo simply did a better job, aided by having a week extra to search. Now there is an argument that the way tickets are allocated is unfair on BOTH competing counties but that is a different argument."
I cannot see how it would be fundametally unfair.
the gaa trot out this well used line about the club members being catered for.
well shouldnt the club members in the competing counties be first and foremost catered for on all ireland final day?
its their teams afterall.
the gaa divide its funding based on the size of the club membership in counties
why can tickets not be done along the same lines as it makes no sense that if dublin played leitrim in an all ireland final
leitrim would get the same amount of tickets as dublin, despite the fact that they dont have anywhere near that amount of actual club members to fill that amount.
why should club members from non competing counties get tickets for the finals particularly when they dont use them they should then not be given them the next time
they dont take up an allocation of tickets for the actual biggest day in the club calendar the all ireland club finals.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2016 14:59:22    1918430

Replying To the_walls:  "Im involved in a club in Dublin and there would be a lot more people looking for tickets than there are tickets available. However I haven't heard of anyone who is properly involved in the club and who regularly gets tickets for Dublin games through the club, who didn't get sorted."
what does properly involved in the club mean to you???

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2016 15:00:45    1918431

Replying To monaghangael:  "Hill 16 - Am a monaghan man living in meath. Im not really arguing with you here! I think! your 100% correct about the season tickets. I never realised that there was a limited number of them and there was a waiting list! Whats the reason behind that?

The point im trying to get across is that all the tickets given to mayo supporters were given to them because they asked to be given them. Its not as if clubs had free tickets and choose to post them to mayo for whoever wanted them instead of handing them back to be redistributed as a way of getting one over on the dubs.

From what ive seen and heard is that mayo supporters were asking everyone and everywere, doing everthing they could to get a ticket. I've heard of practically no dubs doing the same(outside of dublin). Thats why they got the tickets. Not because the country in general decided to give any spare tickets to mayo supporters only.

Last question to you! Are you suggesting that the hill should be reserved for dublin supporters only?"
you would have to ask the gaa why that is, my guess would be so they can hand out thousands of tickets to non competing counties for the finals.
im not arguing with you either, dont think im being anyway aggresive its just honest debating thats all.
im not 100% sure that is true that mayo people happened to be in all them clubs around ireland
it wouldnt be the first time the tickets were sent to the competing county against dublin in a final
obviously nobody has genuine proof either way.
not suggesting that at all about the hill, im suggesting people who go there all year be rewarded for doing so.
the question has to be asked why only finals will opposing counties look for hill tickets
the well trotted out line of cheaper tickets is proved rubbish as its always the cheaper option.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2016 15:07:33    1918435

Replying To hill16no1man:  "what does properly involved in the club mean to you???"
Playing, helping out with underage teams, selling raffle tickets, general stuff that helps the club keep going rather than lads who just pay their membership (as important as that is) and do nothing else.

Just to make clear also, I didn't get my ticket through the club, I wouldn't have got a look in! I'm a season ticket holder.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 23/09/2016 15:18:10    1918443

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I cannot see how it would be fundametally unfair.
the gaa trot out this well used line about the club members being catered for.
well shouldnt the club members in the competing counties be first and foremost catered for on all ireland final day?
its their teams afterall.
the gaa divide its funding based on the size of the club membership in counties
why can tickets not be done along the same lines as it makes no sense that if dublin played leitrim in an all ireland final
leitrim would get the same amount of tickets as dublin, despite the fact that they dont have anywhere near that amount of actual club members to fill that amount.
why should club members from non competing counties get tickets for the finals particularly when they dont use them they should then not be given them the next time
they dont take up an allocation of tickets for the actual biggest day in the club calendar the all ireland club finals."
And then you would have Dublin having a huge extra support in Croke Park in comparison to their opposition and that would most definitely be an advantage to Dublin. There would be very few Mayo fans inside Croke Park in such a scenario. In things like Champions League Finals, FA Cup Finals, Heineken Cup Finals, the allocation to both clubs is split evenly (Im not suggesting that we have to follow the lead of other codes, its just by way of comparison), regardless of how big of fan base the respective clubs have. In my view, that is only right and proper. Both teams are there on merit and deserve to have equal support in the stands roaring them on.

In regards to the allocation to non competing counties, Im in two minds on that to be honest.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 23/09/2016 15:24:10    1918447

I hear what you're saying hill, I think the fairest way to avoid there being any ambiguity over where tickets are going is to regulate the system of club ticket allocation. We need to move away from the 'it's who you know' model and onto something similar like the season ticket.

What I propose is that all tickets that are allocated to every county on all-ireland final are given to registered GAA members. An allocation already goes to season ticket holders so for the card carrying club members, they need to be signed up club members who in turn are registered with the GAA - hope you're all with me so far.
So lets say 15,000 tickets are allocated to Dublin clubs, each club is allocated x amount of tickets. That amount is based on a members to club ratio. The ticketing system randomly selects the members per club, per allocation that gets a ticket, no favoritism, no allegiances, purely random.
For the non competing counties, the same is done over the allocation to the non competing counties (don't know what that number is). Those who are allocated a ticket but don't want to use it have an option to return. Returned tickets are bounced back into the system for the redistribution with a 50/50 allocation between the competing counties. Allocated tickets are not transferable, so if you see tickets being sold on ebay for crazy prices, the GAA can look up who that ticket was allocated to.
It does mean that unless Joe Soap knows a politician or someone in high authority they're not getting a ticket via clubs. It's not perfect and would require a large overhaul of the current set up. I think there's another question about the number of tickets that are allocated to sponsors, politicians etc but it does at least keep a fairly transparent system for ticket allocation through the clubs and ticket redistribution as opposed to the system that's there at the moment.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 23/09/2016 15:56:05    1918465

Also, I would also add that tickets under such system, as it should also be for all games with the season ticket, is based on the scanning of your season ticket card. These cards should include a photo so people on the turnstiles can identify the person as opposed to a piece of paper with no identification on it.
The Leap card registered to people on the tax saver or through their place of work have such cards so I don't see why this would be too hard to implement. It adds as another control to prevent people gaining entry with someone elses ticket.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 23/09/2016 16:07:37    1918470

I'm just thinking of the wider uses of this system
All playing members would have to swipe their card to allow them to play in any club games. How often do you hear of clubs letting senior players play in junior championship matches or even letting non members play in games posing as one of the teams players.
I know people are shaking their heads thinking that's ridiculous but everyone that wants to play their weekly golf tournament have to be signed up members with a GUI card, is this so different
Slightly off topic to the thread but definitely a topic up for discussion all the same

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 23/09/2016 16:47:01    1918480

Just on the point of the allocation of tickets in non-competing counties. Based on past experience I would suggest that most of those tickets would have gone to genuine Mayo and Dublin GAA people, active in clubs in their adapted counties. Do those people not have a right to attend?

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 23/09/2016 17:24:09    1918488

Replying To the_walls:  "And then you would have Dublin having a huge extra support in Croke Park in comparison to their opposition and that would most definitely be an advantage to Dublin. There would be very few Mayo fans inside Croke Park in such a scenario. In things like Champions League Finals, FA Cup Finals, Heineken Cup Finals, the allocation to both clubs is split evenly (Im not suggesting that we have to follow the lead of other codes, its just by way of comparison), regardless of how big of fan base the respective clubs have. In my view, that is only right and proper. Both teams are there on merit and deserve to have equal support in the stands roaring them on.

In regards to the allocation to non competing counties, Im in two minds on that to be honest."
In FA Cup finals , bar the sponsors and a small amount of FA tickets..the remaining tickets for example are divided between liverpool and arsenal....they are not giving some tickets to all clubs from portsmouth to Newcastle as well....
14,000 tickets for dublin who could sell over 100,000 is a joke.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 23/09/2016 18:13:27    1918506

Replying To the_walls:  "Playing, helping out with underage teams, selling raffle tickets, general stuff that helps the club keep going rather than lads who just pay their membership (as important as that is) and do nothing else.

Just to make clear also, I didn't get my ticket through the club, I wouldn't have got a look in! I'm a season ticket holder."
well i dunno what club your involved in dublin with
but id love to know how they got enough tickets for every player on teams in the club for starters never mind the rest of the others you class as doing work for the club, as you said all genuine club people got tickets

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2016 18:28:06    1918510

Replying To hurler32:  "In FA Cup finals , bar the sponsors and a small amount of FA tickets..the remaining tickets for example are divided between liverpool and arsenal....they are not giving some tickets to all clubs from portsmouth to Newcastle as well....
14,000 tickets for dublin who could sell over 100,000 is a joke."
exactly you saved me a response to walls

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2016 18:31:34    1918511

the walls
the real point hear is your not rewarding people who go all year by the current system thus your never going to grow.
any new person to the gaa that goes to games at start of the year through the league gets the bug enjoys it
come championship follow their team all the way then comes to the final
they would think its crazy that other supporters from other counties are more entitled to go to the final than they are after supporting that team all year. what happens the following year they will turn around and say ah hear im not doing that again this year, lets try something else to support.
the season ticket schemes can do this if they are allowed to.
if you have a limit of 20 thousand per county thats more than enough to grow for all counties.
thats rewarding those who go from the start of the year and look at the league attendances you would see a huge increase.
then come all ireland final day you will be rewarding those who have gone and followed their team all year
not turning around and saying ah well thanks very much for your money all year now we are gonna look after club members from all over the country sorry there mate but come back again next february for the league wont you.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2016 18:39:46    1918516

The allocation for each county for the replay should be 82,000.00 less the corporate premium tickets divided by 2.

It's complete bull that fans from the biggest county in the country and the best supported county per capita are going to potentially miss out because some lads who aren't from the counties involved want a day out.

They've had their day out in the first match there should be no more neutral tickets for the replay.

Semi finals invariably have a better atmosphere than the final because the crowd is almost 100% composed of fans from the 2 counties, the final should have an even better atmosphere.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 23/09/2016 20:48:32    1918557

Replying To hill16no1man:  "And not everyone in dublin is loaded or lives in d4 as most of yez seem to think.
it's just the same wages here especially if your unemployed or self employed
So get down off the high horse"
10 pages of a thread of you on your high horse i could quote you average income per county but i dont think there is much point. Anyways I am looking forward to see the hill full of dubs supporting the ladies which it should be if we are to believe you about the dub support

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 23/09/2016 20:51:54    1918559

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Seriously you got to listen to the points in making. Of course every county has a bandwagon element, I'm not talking about that at all, the fact is most on here are high and mighty about club people getting the tickets but the Dublin clubs are being shafted when it comes to that. I keep telling people in here that a club is the worst place in dublin to get a ticket. Its all well and good in the country where you have nearly as many tickets per club as member's and then you have the other counties who hand them over to mayo, why do they keep getting tickets id they don't use them in these counties surely the Dublin club membership should count when comes to ticket demands. There was 57thousand tickets for Dublin for semi final and only 15thousand for final that's a massive drop. The gaa allocate funding based on the club demand in terms of size and membership it needs to cater for, surely the ticketing allocations should work similiar. If Dublin played leitrim in an all Ireland final do you really think it fair that leitrim could all but have a ticket for every man women and child that's a resident of the county despite having no interest possibly in the gaa until a final while Dublin would still get the same number only."
Competing counties only get a limited amount of tickets in the final. It is different from the semi final which was on general sale. Even if leitrim were to get to a final even though the only have a population of 32000 only about a third would get tickets.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 23/09/2016 20:58:01    1918560

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "The allocation for each county for the replay should be 82,000.00 less the corporate premium tickets divided by 2.

It's complete bull that fans from the biggest county in the country and the best supported county per capita are going to potentially miss out because some lads who aren't from the counties involved want a day out.

They've had their day out in the first match there should be no more neutral tickets for the replay.

Semi finals invariably have a better atmosphere than the final because the crowd is almost 100% composed of fans from the 2 counties, the final should have an even better atmosphere."
Exactly well said

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2016 21:16:30    1918563