Anyone see post by Hill 16 Group?

Croke Park holds 82k. A lot more people than that want to see the two best teams in the country play in the Championship final, from within and without the two competing counties. That's the problem. That and the fact that Dublin's population is a multiple of Mayo's.
The GAA can't please everybody.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 21/09/2016 12:15:28    1917400

Replying To Mickmick:  "Croke Park holds 82k. A lot more people than that want to see the two best teams in the country play in the Championship final, from within and without the two competing counties. That's the problem. That and the fact that Dublin's population is a multiple of Mayo's.
The GAA can't please everybody."
The voice of reason in an insane thread, well done Sir. A lot of the Dublin posters here seem to forget that a similar thing happened to Mayo in 2012 when the Donegal support outnumbered us significantly, having qualified for the final first. It's just the way the cookie crumbles sometimes.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 21/09/2016 13:36:14    1917443

Replying To tearintom:  "The fact that people seem to think its ok for people to get tickets for matches because they go to the matches and dont bother with their clubs ahead of those who maybe dont get to all the matches yet spend the majority of their free time all year round actually working in their clubs, training the young stars of the future, marking the pitch, cleaning the jerseys etc speaks volumes for me.

Talk about not getting what the GAA is all about!"
I don't agree with this.
I'm lucky enough to be a season ticket holder who goes to well over 70% of his counties games all year and throw in the odd few quid when the local GAA club are selling raffle tickets, you're telling me that my contribution doesn't shouldn't entitle me to an All Ireland final ticket (if my county ever made it) over a club member simply because I don't wash jerseys, train a few lads or line a pitch.
The sad thing is, those who do contribute their time in this way are not guaranteed tickets so your system of who is and isn't entitled doesn't really work.
How exactly does your contribution to the cause system work? If there was one ticket left and it was between me and someone else and the deciding factor was our 'contribution', the amount of ham sandwiches I made for the club this year could decide if I get a ticket or not!!
At least the season ticket is logical. We all know the club system isn't fair, it goes down to who knows who.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 21/09/2016 13:42:41    1917449

Why population as a factor what has that to do with GAA.......why not number of clubs but that isn't fair either as likes of Cork would have 2/3 times the number if tickets as their opponents, but it least it would have some GAA basis!!

Reality is current system isn't perfect but is as good as it gets really, the other thing is a Dublin fan can attend all their matches with virtually no expense outside of the ticket....compare that to a Mayo fan travelling from the likes of Westport for Q final, semi final and final......give the Dubs 3/4 couple of hundred round trips in a row ( not a bi annual event) and see how many of the 'real' supporters moaning on Facebook there are then.......the true Dubs will still turn up but I guarantee a lot of the moaners won't be seen for dust

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 21/09/2016 13:42:43    1917450

Dublin Supporters are a cash cow to the GAA year in year out...sold 57,000 tickets in Dublin for Kerry semi final and could have sold another 10/15000 if they had them....increased interest then after Kerry classic and the fact its a final ...Dublin would sell more than 100,000 for first day if they had them and more again now for replay...but what will Dublin get 16000 tickets??
Dublin GAA is a monster at this stage in its size structures & organisation & numbers involved.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 21/09/2016 13:56:37    1917454

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Why population as a factor what has that to do with GAA.......why not number of clubs but that isn't fair either as likes of Cork would have 2/3 times the number if tickets as their opponents, but it least it would have some GAA basis!!

Reality is current system isn't perfect but is as good as it gets really, the other thing is a Dublin fan can attend all their matches with virtually no expense outside of the ticket....compare that to a Mayo fan travelling from the likes of Westport for Q final, semi final and final......give the Dubs 3/4 couple of hundred round trips in a row ( not a bi annual event) and see how many of the 'real' supporters moaning on Facebook there are then.......the true Dubs will still turn up but I guarantee a lot of the moaners won't be seen for dust"
Sure all the Mayo supporters are living in Dublin and Meath. Came up years ago and got the land. Too far for them to travel to Castlebar etc. for a game in the connacht championship.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 21/09/2016 14:25:59    1917464

Replying To keithlemon:  "I don't agree with this.
I'm lucky enough to be a season ticket holder who goes to well over 70% of his counties games all year and throw in the odd few quid when the local GAA club are selling raffle tickets, you're telling me that my contribution doesn't shouldn't entitle me to an All Ireland final ticket (if my county ever made it) over a club member simply because I don't wash jerseys, train a few lads or line a pitch.
The sad thing is, those who do contribute their time in this way are not guaranteed tickets so your system of who is and isn't entitled doesn't really work.
How exactly does your contribution to the cause system work? If there was one ticket left and it was between me and someone else and the deciding factor was our 'contribution', the amount of ham sandwiches I made for the club this year could decide if I get a ticket or not!!
At least the season ticket is logical. We all know the club system isn't fair, it goes down to who knows who."
I never said it doesnt entitle you to a ticket.

What i said it doesnt give you any more right to a ticket than those who do all of that for their Club as has been claimed. I would argue that almost 100% of people who do contribute to their Club also go to as many matches as they can possibly do along with all the contribution to their local Clubs. Thats the core of the GAA so why does someone who just goes to County matches feel their more entitled than someone who also goes to County matches whilst contributing to their local Club.

Where does it stop? Lets say your neighbour has no interest in the GAA but decides ill go to all the game this year as they might win something, never bothered before with it. So he goes to every match for some reason you miss out on 1 or 2 matches for family or work reasons, he's been to every match, should he get a ticket ahead of you? Sure hes been to every match!

Your right, even those who do contribute at club level dont get tickets all the time. But the fact is if people dont bother contributing to their club then the GAA as it is doesnt exist!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1341 - 21/09/2016 14:41:26    1917470

Replying To hurler32:  "Dublin Supporters are a cash cow to the GAA year in year out...sold 57,000 tickets in Dublin for Kerry semi final and could have sold another 10/15000 if they had them....increased interest then after Kerry classic and the fact its a final ...Dublin would sell more than 100,000 for first day if they had them and more again now for replay...but what will Dublin get 16000 tickets??
Dublin GAA is a monster at this stage in its size structures & organisation & numbers involved."
100%

It makes zero sense that Mayo would have more supporters there

But unfortunately they were handed a far greater scale of tickets compared to Dublin

I wonder why?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/09/2016 14:42:07    1917473

There's an agenda against Dublin GAA and the complete lopsided allocation of tickets proves this

I have no problem going 50/50 we don't deserve more than Mayo

But we 100% don't deserve less - which is EXCATLY what happened

Which sees active clubs members in Dunlin go without, in order to benefit a load of Mayo bandwagoner's that were nowhere to be seen before this game!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/09/2016 14:49:17    1917476

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I don't get this perception from country people that if your involved in a club and don t bother to go to county games all year and come the final you get a ticket you deserve it solely because you are a member of a club. A person who goes and supports their county all year regardless of if they are in a club or not is more dedicated to the county team and is far more entitled to get a ticket to see their county than somebody who hasn't gone and supported the county all year.
plus a lot of country people don't understand the situation in dublin when comes to tickets. It seems quite clear 90% of club members in mayo can get tickets beacuse the club numbers aren't far off their ticket allocations, in dublin you get a fraction of tickets per club membership. The club is the worst place to get a ticket for an all ireland final in dublin and most clubs have to do a draw to give out tickets as demand is so high. Season ticket schemes like the Parnell pass and the gaa season ticket are only on offer renewals the last number of years so that avenue is closed off to a number of genuine Dublin supporters. For me what's on unfair is the gaa are quite happy for people to buy tickets through supervalu and centra and gaa.ie all year but then when they know they don't need them they dump them and don't sell a single ticket through them for the finals. Supervalu are a sponsor of the football championship and centra a sponsor of the hurling championship surely these two companies should be demanding as sponsors that their customers get rewarded for purchasing tickets through them all year and have a certain amount of tickets made avalible to them. When you see td's radio stationsand celebrities being given tickets it's hardly too much to ask that two of the main sponsors be given tickets to sell to genuine supporters."
You make some valid points about Centra and SuperValu. Also about the size of some of the larger clubs. I can understand that.

However, people all over the country have a claim on entitlement to go to an All-Ireland final. I might go myself to the final. It will be the first game I have attended in intercounty all year if I do. My club will get a two tickets. There are lots of people that do a lot of work in the club and all are entitled to ask for a ticket if they wish. The GAA recognises the work that these people do and the chance to buy a ticket is not unreasonable. You may have some beef with people like celebrities, politicians but you should not have an issue with hadrworking GAA members.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/09/2016 15:09:26    1917488

Replying To hurler32:  "Dublin Supporters are a cash cow to the GAA year in year out...sold 57,000 tickets in Dublin for Kerry semi final and could have sold another 10/15000 if they had them....increased interest then after Kerry classic and the fact its a final ...Dublin would sell more than 100,000 for first day if they had them and more again now for replay...but what will Dublin get 16000 tickets??
Dublin GAA is a monster at this stage in its size structures & organisation & numbers involved."
Sure lets create a two tier championship structure while we are at it

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 21/09/2016 15:19:22    1917491

Replying To jimbodub:  "100%

It makes zero sense that Mayo would have more supporters there

But unfortunately they were handed a far greater scale of tickets compared to Dublin

I wonder why?"
Not sure they were handed any greater amount but definetly all the clubs in Ireland have someone from Mayo in their clubs who in many cases like my own in Limerick got our tickets...When mayo people relocate they are more likely to get involved in rural clubs than a lot ( not all ) dubs due to rural GAA clubs been the backbone of their communities slightly different models to the clubs in Dublin....

I Think Dublin in terms of its size is different ...thousands are involved in no club and follow the Dublin GAA brand more so... ..and 10,000 tickets on general sale out of 82000 would be seen to show cause to the uniqueness of Dublins supporter base.....Be some queue if they said tickets went on general sale in the Jones road office at 9AM some morning....

If English Soccer was on a county basis and London played Norfolk in a final theres no way you could give both sides similar Small allocations.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 21/09/2016 15:31:29    1917498

But that's just it tearintom, if a persons contribution to a GAA club decides if they get a ticket or not is not equal across the board as hill16man says. Looking at Dublin, their members to club ratio against other counties means come all ireland final, they don't have as equal a chance of getting a ticket as someone in another county. In Dublin, there is no guarantee even at the semi final stage that you'll get a ticket.
I get what you're saying about the ethos of the GAA and what being a member of a club means to it. I agree, it is what makes the GAA what it is. But come ticket allocation it becomes an incredibly grey issue. You could just as well argue that someone who is a paid up member of a club deserves a ticket regardless of how many games they play or how many raffle tickets they sell. Who's going to be able to verify their contribution? Is each club going to keep a rota of different tasks done around the club throughout the year? Keep a database of tickets sold per person? How many games did one fella play? What about lads that got injured for the year and couldn't play? There's too many variables there to hold it up as the 'fairer' way for tickets to be distributed.
In regards the scenario that you painted of someone getting a ticket ahead of me because they went to more games and I didn't make my quota even though I've been to more games down through the years then I'd have to accept that. Is it fair, probably not but it's what I signed up for.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 21/09/2016 15:38:53    1917502

why cant we just make this simple 50:50 split for the final tather than 70:30 in favour of mayo

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 21/09/2016 15:52:39    1917510

Replying To jimbodub:  "There's an agenda against Dublin GAA and the complete lopsided allocation of tickets proves this

I have no problem going 50/50 we don't deserve more than Mayo

But we 100% don't deserve less - which is EXCATLY what happened

Which sees active clubs members in Dunlin go without, in order to benefit a load of Mayo bandwagoner's that were nowhere to be seen before this game!"
Mayo got the same official allocation as Dublin though.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/09/2016 15:52:44    1917511

Replying To hurler32:  "Not sure they were handed any greater amount but definetly all the clubs in Ireland have someone from Mayo in their clubs who in many cases like my own in Limerick got our tickets...When mayo people relocate they are more likely to get involved in rural clubs than a lot ( not all ) dubs due to rural GAA clubs been the backbone of their communities slightly different models to the clubs in Dublin....

I Think Dublin in terms of its size is different ...thousands are involved in no club and follow the Dublin GAA brand more so... ..and 10,000 tickets on general sale out of 82000 would be seen to show cause to the uniqueness of Dublins supporter base.....Be some queue if they said tickets went on general sale in the Jones road office at 9AM some morning....

If English Soccer was on a county basis and London played Norfolk in a final theres no way you could give both sides similar Small allocations."
Very few unwanted ticket allocations around the country came back to Dublin

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/09/2016 15:53:07    1917512

Replying To heresam:  "why cant we just make this simple 50:50 split for the final tather than 70:30 in favour of mayo"
There wasn't a 70:30 split in favour of Mayo though. Mayo got the same allocation as Dublin. It just seems that Mayo got more tickets from neutrals. As someone else mentioned earlier, we were out numbered by Donegal in 2012 due to them having the extra week to source tickets. Mayo and Dublin county boards got the same amount of tickets!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/09/2016 15:59:26    1917518

Replying To MesAmis:  "Well said Paudie. I get the feeling with some posters here that there is no "GAA" outside the county scene. I've spoke to plenty of people involved this week involved at club level and they got a ticket for the match including Dub supporters.
Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts:45 - 21/09/2016 11:03:56

Not everyone involved in club scene in Dublin got a ticket.

I know plenty people heavily involved in their clubs that did not get a ticket."
And not everyone heavily involved in the club scene throughout the country got one. Competing counties never get enough tickets not just a Dublin problem.

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 21/09/2016 16:04:46    1917520

I'm embarrassed for the lads here whining about Dublin not getting equal access to Croke Park. Jaysus lads, have ye no shame.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 21/09/2016 16:07:08    1917521

Replying To keithlemon:  "I don't agree with this.
At least the season ticket is logical. We all know the club system isn't fair, it goes down to who knows who."
Keith - down to 1 one ticket between you (club worker) and another member (no contribution to club) - you have the ticket. Simple

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 21/09/2016 16:09:46    1917524