Anyone see post by Hill 16 Group?

The ticketing policy for All-Ireland final day is a constant gripe amongst supporters of the competing counties, but it's hard to see what can be done other than redrawing the proportions of tickets going to certain GAA constituencies somewhat (nearly 800 tickets for Central Council and past Presidents?).

As others have said, the All-Ireland senior finals are the blue riband events of the year and it's only right that volunteers from various parts get their reward.

There will always be a problem with Dublin fans in particular missing out as they have a much larger number of fans (in real terms) than anyone else. Short of building a much larger stadium it's hard to see how see how the GAA can square that particular circle.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 21/09/2016 10:31:36    1917340

Replying To hill16no1man:  "The main problem is why are the non competing counties being given the same allocation for the replay.
this is an extra game and as Milton States yesterday the gaa could have sold croke park out twice over with the demand from competing counties so then why don't the gaa out their money where there mouth is and give the competing counties the tickets. The non competing counties already had their big day out.
Its funny also mayo decided to rebuild McHale park as an all seater they purposely opted for no terrace because there was no demand for standing yet come the final against Dublin they are demanding hill tickets haha"
Ah sure look the Dubs played Laois in Nowlan Park as opposed to O'Moore Park as it had a higher seating capacity. And yet a lot of Dubs want to stand!!!! McHale Park wasn't so much rebuilt as converted, the stand is the only new facility and the rest of the seating is concrete benches and from my experience standing on said benches as opposed to sitting is far more comfortable. I don't think Mayo specifically wanted standing tickets they just took whatever they got, the Nally terrace was always going to be allocated to Mayo but they used their contacts well and advanced across the Hill in numbers.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 21/09/2016 10:33:28    1917341

The talk about why fans have stand tickets all year and then go for terrace in the final is simple PRICE..stand all year is 40 which is alright and majority will pay that but then the final jumps up to 80 which is a big hike in price and then add in the clubs in mayo adding an extra charge onto tickets,my own club added on 15, that would 95 which is crazy money..
I was in the hill Sunday but it looked to me like the dubs outnumbered mayo fans in it so i dont where the talk about mayo getting more hill tickets is coming from..i also saw alot of neutrals around town beforehand wearing mayo colours which was unusal but would add to why people think there was more mayo ppl..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 21/09/2016 10:33:48    1917343

Replying To Richieq:  "All exceptionally commendable Clondalkin as is his love of his county but I think he posted before he thought out certain things after last Sunday, having now looked at the page it doesn't look good and some of the comments and reactions by some supporters are pretty awful, it appears he has tried to pull back a bit and reengage with Mayo supporters in recent posts, hope that trend continues. His argument about ticket allocation is without basis or foundation, Mayo were just quicker off the mark in doing deals...."
All the more reason that the non competing counties shouldn't get tickets for the replay, they don't use them and send them to mayo why are the gaa not cutting out the middle men and offering the two counties the tickets, or put the non competing counties allocations on general public sale so everybody has a fair chance of buying one

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/09/2016 10:34:33    1917344

The fact of the matter is Dublin had more supporters at the first round of the national league in croke park in February than they did on all ireland final day in September

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/09/2016 10:38:07    1917345

Both counties got same allocations but Mayo obviously made a better hand at gathering the neutral ticket.
One avenue are the non finalist tickets.
Each club in country gets two tickets for final. Counties usually have agreements with each other in terms of where these go.
E.g. When Kerry get to football final, Tipp will send most of their allocation to them. When Tipp get to hurling final, Kerry send them their allocation. Mayo probably did better at hoovering these up.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 21/09/2016 10:41:38    1917348

Replying To yew_tree:  "Id ignore or block those pages Murph - hill 16 army, all Dublin fans (richie) even mayo gaa banter page....all run by complete and utter fools who have no respect for the ethos of the gaa."
Look it, I can see why some Dubs are annoyed that more of them couldn't get on the Hill. I don't agree with them in that Mayo fans should be let there if they've tickets or if they want do switcheroos with Dubs for stand tickets plus the difference.

But what I saw on the Mayo Banter page on Facebook after the Tyrone game shouldn't be tolerated by anybody. A so-callef humourous picture of Tyrone from Coronation Street from the domestic abuse days, not clever. I commented on it but their brave admin didn't reply. A few people giving out about seating or standing arrangements or the ref or injury-time is one thing, people getting heated is understandable. Laughing at domestic abuse isn't on.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 21/09/2016 10:42:12    1917349

Just read some of the posts on that Hill 16 Facebook......not doing the perception of Dublin fans any favours over there, the sense of entitlement is incredible and noteworthy that a lot of the posters quite openly admit they have no connection to a club.........this organisation us built on the club volunteer , that is our bedrock hence don't be surprised that club members get first call on biggest day of the year

Attending 4/5 games a year generating €150-200 a year......more valuable to this organisation than the man/woman taking the u8s etc down in their club every week????

As I said Mayo have a greater spread of contacts also had the support if vast majority of neutrals hence the so called disparity in supporter numbers but please stop with this we deserve tickets cos we went all year.......... Get a season ticket then or get involved in your club, this isn't Man Utd you are following, the organisation doesn't work that way

BTW I gave a dub ( my cousin) a ticket for Sunday as he didn't win one in his club draw so I get there are genuine dubs out there who list out but hard to have too much sympathy for those posting on that Facebook page when you read through the comments

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 21/09/2016 10:43:18    1917351

This is such a nightmare for Dublin fans, my heart goes out to you!

Thank god Cavan aren't there every other year, I don't think I could handle the blatant discrimination.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 21/09/2016 10:44:57    1917354

I think a lot of the Dubs should look at their level of support towards the team before complaining about ticket allocation. The only time The Hill was vocal was when Dublin were ahead by 5 and by 3 points and immeadiatly after the 2 goals. No wonder it seemed that there was a 70/30 advantage to Mayo as we SUPPORTED our team when down and got behind them. The silence from the hill was deafening when Mayo were on top. It was at these stages Dublin SUPPORTERS were needed and sadly were found wanting.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 21/09/2016 10:46:42    1917356

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I don't get this perception from country people that if your involved in a club and don t bother to go to county games all year and come the final you get a ticket you deserve it solely because you are a member of a club. A person who goes and supports their county all year regardless of if they are in a club or not is more dedicated to the county team and is far more entitled to get a ticket to see their county than somebody who hasn't gone and supported the county all year.
plus a lot of country people don't understand the situation in dublin when comes to tickets. It seems quite clear 90% of club members in mayo can get tickets beacuse the club numbers aren't far off their ticket allocations, in dublin you get a fraction of tickets per club membership. The club is the worst place to get a ticket for an all ireland final in dublin and most clubs have to do a draw to give out tickets as demand is so high. Season ticket schemes like the Parnell pass and the gaa season ticket are only on offer renewals the last number of years so that avenue is closed off to a number of genuine Dublin supporters. For me what's on unfair is the gaa are quite happy for people to buy tickets through supervalu and centra and gaa.ie all year but then when they know they don't need them they dump them and don't sell a single ticket through them for the finals. Supervalu are a sponsor of the football championship and centra a sponsor of the hurling championship surely these two companies should be demanding as sponsors that their customers get rewarded for purchasing tickets through them all year and have a certain amount of tickets made avalible to them. When you see td's radio stationsand celebrities being given tickets it's hardly too much to ask that two of the main sponsors be given tickets to sell to genuine supporters."
Because it is those people who are bothering their holes to be actively involved with teams and clubs that keep the GAA running. It must be nice to have no commitments in life to be in the position to turn up and watch the County team at the drop of a hat and reap the rewards of those peoples toil.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 21/09/2016 10:54:25    1917361

Hill16 no1 man......non competing counties shouldn't get tickets for the replay???? Seriously you are just showing your ignorance of what the GAA is about, the all Ireland final us the centre piece of our association and the volunteers up and down the country are entitled to attend.....as I said in another post this is not Man Utd or some other corporate entity but a volunteer based organisation that should continue to recognise the great work done right across this country to promote our games

What about the man/woman who devotes their live to the GAA in counties like Westmeath, Wicklow, Leitrim etc are we saying they should never get to a final but a guy who does nothing in his local club, doesn't support the grass roots but rocks up to attend an inter county game a few times a year ( primarily as a social event) deserves a ticket more?????

The ticket allocation isn't perfect but doing it through the clubs is the fairest way.....as for neutrals not really wanting to attend, our club got four tickets and had over 25 people in the hat who wanted to go, driving over 120 mile round trip to get there with all the expense entailed ......the Dubs need to get over their sense of entitlement as it does the real Dublin GAA fans no credit

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 21/09/2016 10:56:31    1917362

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Just read some of the posts on that Hill 16 Facebook......not doing the perception of Dublin fans any favours over there, the sense of entitlement is incredible and noteworthy that a lot of the posters quite openly admit they have no connection to a club.........this organisation us built on the club volunteer , that is our bedrock hence don't be surprised that club members get first call on biggest day of the year

Attending 4/5 games a year generating €150-200 a year......more valuable to this organisation than the man/woman taking the u8s etc down in their club every week????

As I said Mayo have a greater spread of contacts also had the support if vast majority of neutrals hence the so called disparity in supporter numbers but please stop with this we deserve tickets cos we went all year.......... Get a season ticket then or get involved in your club, this isn't Man Utd you are following, the organisation doesn't work that way

BTW I gave a dub ( my cousin) a ticket for Sunday as he didn't win one in his club draw so I get there are genuine dubs out there who list out but hard to have too much sympathy for those posting on that Facebook page when you read through the comments"
Well said Paudie. I get the feeling with some posters here that there is no "GAA" outside the county scene. I've spoke to plenty of people involved this week involved at club level and they got a ticket for the match including Dub supporters.

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 21/09/2016 11:03:56    1917367

Hill your sense of entitlement and disdain for culchies seems to be boiling over today. Have a lie down and think about how successful your county is.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 21/09/2016 11:08:15    1917371

The fact that people seem to think its ok for people to get tickets for matches because they go to the matches and dont bother with their clubs ahead of those who maybe dont get to all the matches yet spend the majority of their free time all year round actually working in their clubs, training the young stars of the future, marking the pitch, cleaning the jerseys etc speaks volumes for me.

Talk about not getting what the GAA is all about!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1341 - 21/09/2016 11:28:31    1917376

The ethos of the GAA is togetherness not division which some posters here seem to advocate here. Cop on.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 21/09/2016 11:37:54    1917381

Well said Paudie. I get the feeling with some posters here that there is no "GAA" outside the county scene. I've spoke to plenty of people involved this week involved at club level and they got a ticket for the match including Dub supporters.
Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts:45 - 21/09/2016 11:03:56

Not everyone involved in club scene in Dublin got a ticket.

I know plenty people heavily involved in their clubs that did not get a ticket.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 21/09/2016 11:41:12    1917383

Mayo got a lot more tickets as there's a natural prejudice towards Dublin GAA amongst country GAA people

It's obvious that many more tickets were sent to Mayo from around the country, rather than go back to HQ to be distributed evenly

It's not against the rules but that doesn't make it right either

Dublin have been involved in a number of sell out games now in CP across 2016, and have no doubt brought more fans to games compared to Mayo across 2016, bums on seats stuff, we have a far bigger population compared to Mayo and as such the distribution of tickets was unbalanced and favoured Mayo.

The distribution was not even and there was a large bandwagon Mayo support there that were completely absent from their Semi-final or any of their home games through the qualifiers

This happened because they got more tickets distributed to them, they had easier access to tickets compared to Dublin fans

So a bandwagon support won out

In conclusion

Do I agree with a boycott

= Bloody hell what utter toss...100% NO!!

Was there an uneven distribution of tickets to Mayo GAA based on an active prejudice against Dublin GAA across the country to purposely send unwanted tickets to Mayo rather than be evenly distributed between the two counties in a fair manner

= 100% Yes. No doubt.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/09/2016 11:47:37    1917387

Replying To jimbodub:  "Mayo got a lot more tickets as there's a natural prejudice towards Dublin GAA amongst country GAA people

It's obvious that many more tickets were sent to Mayo from around the country, rather than go back to HQ to be distributed evenly

Dublin have been involved in a number of sell out games now in CP across 2016, and have no doubt brought more fans to games compared to Mayo across 2016, bums on seats stuff, we have a far bigger population compared to Mayo and as such the distribution of tickets was unbalanced and favoured Mayo.

The distribution was not even and there was a large bandwagon Mayo support there that were completely absent from their Semi-final or any of their home games through the qualifiers

This happened because they got more tickets distributed to them, they had easier access to tickets compared to Dublin fans

In conclusion

Was there an uneven distribution of tickets to Mayo GAA based on an active prejudice against Dublin GAA across the country to purposely send unwanted tickets to Mayo rather than be evenly distributed between the two counties in a fair manner

= 100% Yes. No doubt."
So because Dublin have a higher population they should get more tickets? If you did that one ratio dublin's county population is roughly 10:1 of Mayo's. That would mean Dublin would have about 70000 of the seats if the tickets were to be allocated in correlation to population ?Harly fair . Was at that game didn't see any uneven distribution apart from Mayo taking half the hill away , but it isn't Dublin's to own anyway ,it's not as big of a deal as hill16 page is making it to be.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 21/09/2016 12:01:06    1917397

Replying To jimbodub:  "Mayo got a lot more tickets as there's a natural prejudice towards Dublin GAA amongst country GAA people

In conclusion

= 100% Yes. No doubt."
jimbodub = " we have a far bigger population compared to Mayo and as such the distribution of tickets was unbalanced and favoured Mayo.

The distribution was not even and there was a large bandwagon Mayo support there that were completely absent from their Semi-final or any of their home games through the qualifiers "

Complete an utter nonsense. Tickets should be distributed by population so? Give me a break. Also Mayo had over 40,000 fans at the semi final.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 21/09/2016 12:04:11    1917398