Street brawl or football?

Dublin are to be fined I see for a late run out on the field.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 19/09/2016 17:12:27    1916488

Replying To cjx:  "Seems clear Dublin were knocked off their stride by the brawl in the tunnel and with Keegan hauling down Connolly behind the play after less than 10 minutes. MacAuley should have gone twice.
A hard physical game is one thing destroying a final with a series of thinly disguised street fights allowed by a clueless set of officials is another thing and a real pity.
Couple that with playing on a skating rink made for soft shoe American football leading to farcical scores and wild ill considered Hail Mary kicks is threatening to make a farce of the whole occasion.
All this disguised by fanciful media hype. Is the media the only message here? Is it media that now obscures all the defects and media rather than merit that decides Croke Park matches?
GAA needs to get organised take control of the game and demand consistency of treatment and reffing or It will lose all those brilliant minors who played the only real football match yesterday"
I take your point cjx. I got that flavour from the game too. It was ugly enough, in too many ways. Hopefully, drier conditions will improve the standard of fare at the replay, or we'll have 82,000 paying customers watching a second instalment of the emperor's new clothes. Mayo don't care what it looks like at this stage. They want that cup, and fcuk the aesthetics.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3468 - 19/09/2016 17:24:12    1916494

Spot on JimmyK and let GAA admin in CrokerGaa take on your view and cut the crap.

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 19/09/2016 17:25:58    1916495

Replying To cjx:  "Seems clear Dublin were knocked off their stride by the brawl in the tunnel and with Keegan hauling down Connolly behind the play after less than 10 minutes. MacAuley should have gone twice.
A hard physical game is one thing destroying a final with a series of thinly disguised street fights allowed by a clueless set of officials is another thing and a real pity.
Couple that with playing on a skating rink made for soft shoe American football leading to farcical scores and wild ill considered Hail Mary kicks is threatening to make a farce of the whole occasion.
All this disguised by fanciful media hype. Is the media the only message here? Is it media that now obscures all the defects and media rather than merit that decides Croke Park matches?
GAA needs to get organised take control of the game and demand consistency of treatment and reffing or It will lose all those brilliant minors who played the only real football match yesterday"
Ye know..this post makes a lot of sense. But I do think the weather ruined the game.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/09/2016 17:35:55    1916500

Replying To Laois76:  "Agreed. It's all bull at the end of the day and a team can't be focused on the game if their minds are on giving lads digs. As a Laois man Pillar teams were unbearable. Mark Vaughan putting fingers in players faces when he scored etc.

Pat Gilroy and Jim Gavin knocked all that stuff on the head. Very fair interview from Gavin post match. Rochford too."
Oh god, didn't remind me... Pointing at the scoreboard etc,,, cringe...

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 19/09/2016 17:38:28    1916503

Replying To JimmyK:  "Always hated that rubbish when pillar caffrey was in charge.. Mayo seem to love all that childish crap.. Get out on the field and play ball,, morons."
bit harsh on your fellow dubs there jim

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 19/09/2016 18:20:43    1916527

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Sorry where did I say a reporter said it? Ex Mayo footballer Casey said all the above."
In fairness, Casey is also a pundit for Mid West Radio, which is the local radio station in Mayo. He commentates on all of Mayo's games and writes a column for one of the local papers, so it's not a million miles away from the truth to call him a reporter.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/09/2016 20:58:36    1916611

Replying To Gleebo:  "In fairness, Casey is also a pundit for Mid West Radio, which is the local radio station in Mayo. He commentates on all of Mayo's games and writes a column for one of the local papers, so it's not a million miles away from the truth to call him a reporter."
A synonym of reporter is columnist ..........

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/09/2016 21:15:34    1916628

Casey didn't fare too well when Mayo incited a brawl 20 years ago. He charged in but got KO within 5 seconds. It seems the tactic worked better for them this time around. The ref will need to be on top of his game next week. I hope bad calls and black/red cards don't play a major part next Saturday.

JammyDodger (Meath) - Posts: 306 - 19/09/2016 21:19:53    1916633

Some very sensitive souls in here. So there was a bit of pushing and shoving, so what? Man up, ffs.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 19/09/2016 21:22:34    1916635

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "A synonym of reporter is columnist .........."
My point was that it wasn't a neutral/random reporter but an ex Mayo footballer that said Mayo started it all. Hilarious thing is you're slagging Dubs off for sticking up for their players in saying they didn't start the incident when you're doing the exact same yourself.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 19/09/2016 21:24:09    1916639

Replying To JimmyK:  "Always hated that rubbish when pillar caffrey was in charge.. Mayo seem to love all that childish crap.. Get out on the field and play ball,, morons."
Exactly.. why were Dublin delaying going out on the pitch?

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 20/09/2016 17:00:41    1917030

Replying To CroiGorm:  "My point was that it wasn't a neutral/random reporter but an ex Mayo footballer that said Mayo started it all. Hilarious thing is you're slagging Dubs off for sticking up for their players in saying they didn't start the incident when you're doing the exact same yourself."
I have no idea who started the alleged incident and neither have you. I'm not trying to defend anyone as there doesn't seem to be anything to defend. I merely pointed out that John Casey was a reporter/ journalist/ columnist as you seemed to be unaware of that fact. The reason I pointed that out was because usually reporters try to turn the mundane into the dramatic. If you find that hilarious then good for you.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/09/2016 20:41:35    1917136

Replying To 15BACSAM:  "I wouldn't blame the ref. Games between the Dubs and Mayo are always extremely difficult to ref. There is a bite there that does not exist between any other two counties. For some reason the Dubs let Mayo get under their skin and Mayo know this. The league game in Castlebar in February, Last years two semi-finals. 2013 all Ireland final. 2012 semi final. 2006.

No doubt Mayo will come to the replay with some sort of a wind-up tactic again. The Dubs have to rise above this."
No, given all the incitement to violence in pretty much every article written in the past two weeks Dublin need to meet fire with fire next time, and bring a brand of mayhem of our own. I'm sick of analysts and pundits calling for Mayo to knock lumps out of our lads or try anything to get our lads involved in scraps so they get sent off. They should be ashamed of themselves ... whatever happened to "may the best team win"

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 20/09/2016 21:51:02    1917190

Just saw some of the pictures released, surely there won't be bans for O' Shea and others involved?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/09/2016 22:10:15    1917199

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "Some very sensitive souls in here. So there was a bit of pushing and shoving, so what? Man up, ffs."
cop on to yourself , s--t like this in front of kids is not on.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/09/2016 22:14:46    1917202

Replying To Beacaire Gorm:  "No, given all the incitement to violence in pretty much every article written in the past two weeks Dublin need to meet fire with fire next time, and bring a brand of mayhem of our own. I'm sick of analysts and pundits calling for Mayo to knock lumps out of our lads or try anything to get our lads involved in scraps so they get sent off. They should be ashamed of themselves ... whatever happened to "may the best team win""
Agree with the thrust of your post but would hate to see Dublin respond in kind.

And you're absolutely spot on: every single columnist, expert, podcast, you name it, called for Mayo to lash into Dublin to throw them off their stride. The salivating that was going on in anticipation of whatever tactic Keegan was going to use to get Connolly sent off was bordering on voyeuristic.

I know there are plenty who will spout the old 'it's a man's game' nonsense or variations thereof, but it reeks to high heavens. At times it was hard to tell if I was watching Gaelic Football or Australian rules...

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 20/09/2016 22:39:51    1917218

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just saw some of the pictures released, surely there won't be bans for O' Shea and others involved?"
Nah it showed it on Sky. Bastick pushed O Shea in the back. O Shea then returned the favour only to be pushed in the back by McCauley. Keith Higgins then tried to get involved but it was all playground stuff. I wasn't even a small bit frightened watching it!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/09/2016 00:08:10    1917239

Replying To Beacaire Gorm:  "No, given all the incitement to violence in pretty much every article written in the past two weeks Dublin need to meet fire with fire next time, and bring a brand of mayhem of our own. I'm sick of analysts and pundits calling for Mayo to knock lumps out of our lads or try anything to get our lads involved in scraps so they get sent off. They should be ashamed of themselves ... whatever happened to "may the best team win""
I'm genuinely confused at all this wind up talk and the Dubs having to be more aggressive etc. Everyone knows that Dublin in full flow are a great team to watch. Everyone also knows that if you stand back and admire them they will destroy you. What pundits were saying was that to beat Dublin you have to knock them out of their stride by denying them the space they needed, which Mayo did. Some posters would have you believe that Mayo turned up with clubs and baseball bats on Sunday. Mayo tackled like demons, which they had to do and which Dublin do at all times. The Dublin defenders are ferocious in the tackle which makes them so good. They can also 'target' players with the best of them. The first dirty tackle of note on Sunday was made by Kevin McManaman. The worst tackle was made by Michael Dara. Yet a lot of Dubs are on here complaining about Mayo's physicality and crying about Dublin being bullied. Mayo players are no angels but the Dubs are well able to stand up for themselves and often get their retaliation in first as evidenced by Cooper kicking O Connor at the end of the game. I really don't mind people giving out about some Mayo players, as from time to time they are deserving of criticism but please spare me the craw thumping, holier that thou attitude as it is getting tiresome at this stage.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/09/2016 00:56:26    1917251