That Macauley Tackle

The tackle was high and late, its a red card. I thought MDM was going to get sent off especially after the replay. Some of the other fouls were probably not helped by the conditions but that one was pure madness. The ref missed it and a lot of other stuff from both sets of players.
Hopefully we will get better weather as the pitch in Croker is treacherous when wet, although the Mayo lads seemed to cope better with it.As for the jersey quaility testing, linesmen need to step in before it gets that silly.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 20/09/2016 17:29:47    1917046

There is some amount of anti Dublin bile on here..

Colm Boyle got away with a complete frontal charge on Small he was substituted for his own sake just after that..

Cillian o' connor is all hands and elbows should have been black carded 15mins from the end.

What does A o'Shea have to do to get booked these days.

Keegan - I don't think its possible to state hear what he is as it would not be posted.7

Diramuid o' Connor - There is trend with this guy I have noticed in the last few mayo games when there is a free in a scorable position he is always within 8 -10 yards of the free taker talking crap yet ref's are letting him away with it.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 20/09/2016 17:44:25    1917054

HOW IS EVERYONE IGNORING CO'Cs ACTIONS IN THE MDMA YELLOW CARD INCIDENT. I FEEL LIKE FRANK GRIMES HERE. LOOK AT HIM!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 20/09/2016 17:57:40    1917065

MDMA should have got a red.
End of.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 20/09/2016 18:41:54    1917084

Replying To Joxer:  "I'm not assuming anything. Like everyone else I saw the video. Keegan went out of his was to run over to Connolly and grab him. Did you not see this? If this isn't instigating then what is? Keegan, just like his encounters with Sean Cavanagh this year and Connolly last year, instigated it and hoped the forward picks up a card that ultimately will lead to him getting the line. It worked against Connolly last year and Cavanagh this year and he was clearly hoping that he had provoked Connolly enough yesyetday for Connolly to lash out and get a red. Whelan's point is valid, stamp it out by yellowing the instigator first. This applies to all counties."
Fair enough if the ref sees the incident but you can't assume that the defender is the instigator if you don't see it. I think this booking of both players if they are rolling around on the ground is a cop out but if you can't see who started it how can you only book one. By automatically booking a defender every time you're encouraging the forward to instigate an incident. Whelan seemed to suggest that you book Keegan early on if there is an incident but do you honestly believe that Connolly isn't capable of starting something himself if it's in his best interests. If you see the incident book the instigator but you can't assume.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/09/2016 20:08:06    1917110

Replying To murphy32:  "Are you looking for retrospective Red for Lee Keegan pulling DC to the ground as highlighted by SG. Keegan gets away constantly year after year and game after game."
They can take a look at Coopers kick at COC at the end as well while they're at it.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/09/2016 20:16:07    1917116

Replying To jacktheDub:  "There is some amount of anti Dublin bile on here..

Colm Boyle got away with a complete frontal charge on Small he was substituted for his own sake just after that..

Cillian o' connor is all hands and elbows should have been black carded 15mins from the end.

Keegan - I don't think its possible to state hear what he is as it would not be posted.7

Diramuid o' Connor - There is trend with this guy I have noticed in the last few mayo games when there is a free in a scorable position he is always within 8 -10 yards of the free taker talking crap yet ref's are letting him away with it."
Some anti Mayo bile there my friend. Feel better now?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/09/2016 20:23:29    1917122

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Fair enough if the ref sees the incident but you can't assume that the defender is the instigator if you don't see it. I think this booking of both players if they are rolling around on the ground is a cop out but if you can't see who started it how can you only book one. By automatically booking a defender every time you're encouraging the forward to instigate an incident. Whelan seemed to suggest that you book Keegan early on if there is an incident but do you honestly believe that Connolly isn't capable of starting something himself if it's in his best interests. If you see the incident book the instigator but you can't assume."
Of course Connolly should be booked if he started it but more often than not it's the back, certainly in Connolly's case anyway. The umpires saw Keegan going over to Connolly and pushing him to start that incident. There are enough eyes on the pitch to catch this stuff on most occassions. But yeah it could start with either man.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 20:49:44    1917147

Diramuid o' Connor - There is trend with this guy I have noticed in the last few mayo games when there is a free in a scorable position he is always within 8 -10 yards of the free taker talking crap yet ref's are letting him away with it."
Oh and of course you have 15 angels in blue have you?? I have no problem with aggression, in fact I love it, Mayo are the only team this year who went out to face the Dubs realising they had a pair of balls and decided to take them on, in every way. Sadly not one other team, my own county included, felt the same. The Dubs are well able to handle themselves and dish it out, your beginning to sound like Mickey Harte after the quarter final, always sinned against but never the sinner.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/09/2016 20:53:41    1917150

Replying To Richieq:  "Oh and of course you have 15 angels in blue have you?? I have no problem with aggression, in fact I love it, Mayo are the only team this year who went out to face the Dubs realising they had a pair of balls and decided to take them on, in every way. Sadly not one other team, my own county included, felt the same. The Dubs are well able to handle themselves and dish it out, your beginning to sound like Mickey Harte after the quarter final, always sinned against but never the sinner."
In fairness he didn't even mention Mayo players attacking Dublin players on the way out onto the pitch but sure it's ok because Dublin weren't the aggressors. Is it ok for Cillian O'Connor and AOS to hit a few fellas coming onto the pitch? Imagine if Dublin players did that or Tyrone. You'd never hear the end of it. Do you not agree Richie? I'm all for the physical stuff but at least let it be during the match.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 21:07:30    1917159

Replying To Joxer:  "In fairness he didn't even mention Mayo players attacking Dublin players on the way out onto the pitch but sure it's ok because Dublin weren't the aggressors. Is it ok for Cillian O'Connor and AOS to hit a few fellas coming onto the pitch? Imagine if Dublin players did that or Tyrone. You'd never hear the end of it. Do you not agree Richie? I'm all for the physical stuff but at least let it be during the match."
Basically, according to about 99% of the articles written about this final it is fine for everyone to ignore the idea of "may the best team win". No, instead Mayo are being urged by all and sundry to do whatever it takes to win SAM, apparently no level of physicality or tackle is beyond the Pale, whatever it takes for Mayo to win ... we can worry about sportsmanship and talent some other time.

I'm actually pretty outraged about it at this stage, I'm sick of reading articles urging or inciting Mayo to bring "anarchy", "warfare" or "mayhem" onto the pitch. Presumably a career ending injury is fair game, so long as Mayo win right? I mean according to Brolly splitting a guys nose to the point the cartilage is showing is admirable and is in line with what Mayo need to bring next day out, a sentiment endorsed by O Rourke and left go unchallenged by everyone else. We even had our Taoiseach at this warrior nonsense prior to the game !!!

We've had so many articles in this vein. Darragh O Se (and others) called for teams to target Connolly with a view to getting him sent off. I wonder how people would react if a former Dublin player called for Dublin to target Cillian O Connors shoulder repeatedly next day out. Is that where they want the game to be going --- whatever it takes to win right, to hell with the consequences and the damage it might cost. I hope our guys are taking note of all this and building their mindset accordingly.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 20/09/2016 21:25:10    1917170

Replying To Joxer:  "In fairness he didn't even mention Mayo players attacking Dublin players on the way out onto the pitch but sure it's ok because Dublin weren't the aggressors. Is it ok for Cillian O'Connor and AOS to hit a few fellas coming onto the pitch? Imagine if Dublin players did that or Tyrone. You'd never hear the end of it. Do you not agree Richie? I'm all for the physical stuff but at least let it be during the match."
Pre match controversy is nothing new between Dublin and Mayo, I certainly don't agree with any of that stuff before the match but I saw a few photographs today which muddy the waters as to who was at fault. At any rate officialdom has to take blame for that incident too, why were Dublin late out and why were they let be late out, a potential meeting between the two teams should have been avoided and Dublin should have been held in a minute or two extra as they had already missed their cue and Mayo were ready to run out at their appointed time. Call me suspicious or just a stirrer but I'm not so sure that the Dubs didn't intend to rattle Mayo's cage a bit by meeting in the tunnel, why did their timekeeping suddenly falter last Sunday?? If that was the intent it backfired badly and only served to fire up the blood of Mayo.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/09/2016 21:33:13    1917174

Replying To Richieq:  "Oh and of course you have 15 angels in blue have you?? I have no problem with aggression, in fact I love it, Mayo are the only team this year who went out to face the Dubs realising they had a pair of balls and decided to take them on, in every way. Sadly not one other team, my own county included, felt the same. The Dubs are well able to handle themselves and dish it out, your beginning to sound like Mickey Harte after the quarter final, always sinned against but never the sinner."
It is always What the Dublin players get away with..

I simply posted some of Mayo's many transgressions as ever from the anti Dublin brigade there is a complete lack of balance.

I guess that comes with being successful there are que of begrudgers only waiting for you to slip up.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 20/09/2016 21:45:04    1917183

Replying To Beacaire Gorm:  "Basically, according to about 99% of the articles written about this final it is fine for everyone to ignore the idea of "may the best team win". No, instead Mayo are being urged by all and sundry to do whatever it takes to win SAM, apparently no level of physicality or tackle is beyond the Pale, whatever it takes for Mayo to win ... we can worry about sportsmanship and talent some other time.

I'm actually pretty outraged about it at this stage, I'm sick of reading articles urging or inciting Mayo to bring "anarchy", "warfare" or "mayhem" onto the pitch. Presumably a career ending injury is fair game, so long as Mayo win right? I mean according to Brolly splitting a guys nose to the point the cartilage is showing is admirable and is in line with what Mayo need to bring next day out, a sentiment endorsed by O Rourke and left go unchallenged by everyone else. We even had our Taoiseach at this warrior nonsense prior to the game !!!

We've had so many articles in this vein. Darragh O Se (and others) called for teams to target Connolly with a view to getting him sent off. I wonder how people would react if a former Dublin player called for Dublin to target Cillian O Connors shoulder repeatedly next day out. Is that where they want the game to be going --- whatever it takes to win right, to hell with the consequences and the damage it might cost. I hope our guys are taking note of all this and building their mindset accordingly."
I certainly would not be of that mindset and I haven't promoted that idea either. Physicality is an important part of the game, and incidents that cross the line will happen, but of course there is a line. Dublin play fine football, their abilities are unquestionable, but they can mix it when needs be as can Mayo, as can Kerry, as can Tyrone or Donegal etc. But the majority of teams Dublin play don't have the belief they can win and don't even try so they don't bring any physicality. Dublin have almost got used to going through games untouched and doing as they will, Mayo decided to change that and the resulting Dublin performance was vastly different to what we are used too, in fact it was awful. Dublin have far more admirers than you would think and I admire the way they play, their fitness and their willingness to attack and play good football in a day when defences, tactics and blankets have smothered Gaelic football. Mayo are desperate for an All Ireland, put the shoe on the other foot, wouldn't you be desperate if you had suffered the mass dissapointments and close calls they have suffered since 1989? That desire, urgency or desperation if you will may cause them to take liberties in the cause of gaining advantages but I really didn't see any Mayo player do any worse than what I've seen from a Dublin player or a Kerry player or a Tyrone player etc in recent times, or indeed a Meath player back in the day. No one is waging war or desiring anarchy, Mayo are just in dire need of an All Ireland so that at least one generation of Mayo supporters can meet St Peter at the pearly gates with a smile and a happy memory, it's not all that bad.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/09/2016 21:48:47    1917187

Replying To jacktheDub:  "It is always What the Dublin players get away with..

I simply posted some of Mayo's many transgressions as ever from the anti Dublin brigade there is a complete lack of balance.

I guess that comes with being successful there are que of begrudgers only waiting for you to slip up."
Yes being successful means you will have begrudgers, thankfully I'm old enough to remember what it's like. But I'm not a begrudger or anti Dub, as I've said before I admire them greatly for their skill and the way they want to play the game and Jim Gavin is a likeable soul even if he appears to be more mellow than I would imagine he is. Look all I'm saying is there were two sides at it last Sunday and the likes of MDMC and Connolly were lucky to stay on the field and ayes there were Mayo players lucky to stay on the field, it wasnt one way traffic and in situations like that it takes two to tango, I doubt the Dublin players were overly concerned by it all Monday morning, they're well able to dust themselves down and prepare for battle again, I'd love to be a fly in the tunnel the next day.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/09/2016 21:57:26    1917194

Replying To Richieq:  "I certainly would not be of that mindset and I haven't promoted that idea either. Physicality is an important part of the game, and incidents that cross the line will happen, but of course there is a line. Dublin play fine football, their abilities are unquestionable, but they can mix it when needs be as can Mayo, as can Kerry, as can Tyrone or Donegal etc. But the majority of teams Dublin play don't have the belief they can win and don't even try so they don't bring any physicality. Dublin have almost got used to going through games untouched and doing as they will, Mayo decided to change that and the resulting Dublin performance was vastly different to what we are used too, in fact it was awful. Dublin have far more admirers than you would think and I admire the way they play, their fitness and their willingness to attack and play good football in a day when defences, tactics and blankets have smothered Gaelic football. Mayo are desperate for an All Ireland, put the shoe on the other foot, wouldn't you be desperate if you had suffered the mass dissapointments and close calls they have suffered since 1989? That desire, urgency or desperation if you will may cause them to take liberties in the cause of gaining advantages but I really didn't see any Mayo player do any worse than what I've seen from a Dublin player or a Kerry player or a Tyrone player etc in recent times, or indeed a Meath player back in the day. No one is waging war or desiring anarchy, Mayo are just in dire need of an All Ireland so that at least one generation of Mayo supporters can meet St Peter at the pearly gates with a smile and a happy memory, it's not all that bad."
I enjoy the physicality of the contest as well - but I don't agree with pundits inciting Mayo to go over the top, and I don't care what anyone says these articles recently have been calling for unrestrained physicality ... I mean what part of "whatever it takes" is the part that has gone over the top?

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 20/09/2016 22:00:07    1917195

Replying To Beacaire Gorm:  "I enjoy the physicality of the contest as well - but I don't agree with pundits inciting Mayo to go over the top, and I don't care what anyone says these articles recently have been calling for unrestrained physicality ... I mean what part of "whatever it takes" is the part that has gone over the top?"
No there should never be incitement, j think some scribes were so surprised that Mayo were not only competitive but could and should have actually won, that they lost the run of themselves post match. Remember Joe Brolly for instance had cut Mayo to shreds in the days befits so felt compelled to issue them a battle cry for the replay. Wise? Maybe not. Will players heed it? I doubt it. We will see incidents in the replay similar in nature to what we saw last Sunday and yes cards of some colour will be issued but I doubt we will see any worse, ultimately players know that football ability wins titles not your battle skills

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/09/2016 22:09:36    1917198

Replying To Beacaire Gorm:  "I enjoy the physicality of the contest as well - but I don't agree with pundits inciting Mayo to go over the top, and I don't care what anyone says these articles recently have been calling for unrestrained physicality ... I mean what part of "whatever it takes" is the part that has gone over the top?"
Looking back on the game, Dublin lost the head and allowed Mayo to knock them of there stride of their natural game, very similar to the first drawn game last year.

Like last year, we need to keep pocession, make Mayo work hard, tire them out and pick them off, need to keep our focus and discipline.

You have to play against every type of test.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/09/2016 22:13:46    1917201

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "On the Keegan/ Connolly thing, I think Keegan is the instigator and the ref should be wise to this, book him the first time he's fouls Connolly and that will put a stop to it, if they tangle again book both and send keegan off with the second yellow, that will put manners on him."
Based on that interpretation, Neil McGee wont last long

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 20/09/2016 22:16:12    1917204

If CARLSBERG did propaganda for the Dubs !!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 20/09/2016 23:00:35    1917223