That Macauley Tackle

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "What if Keegan gets the first ball and Connolly fouls him. I suppose Connolly gets away with it cos hes a forward??"
Well if Keegan gets the ball and is fouled then it's a free isn't it? That's the punishment for a foul. Where was the ball on Sunday when Keegan ran over to Connolly, pushed and grabbed his jersey? Too different things no?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 10:35:03    1916793

Replying To Joxer:  "Well if Keegan gets the ball and is fouled then it's a free isn't it? That's the punishment for a foul. Where was the ball on Sunday when Keegan ran over to Connolly, pushed and grabbed his jersey? Too different things no?"
That was a reply to somebody who said that Keegan should be booked once he gives away a free.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 20/09/2016 11:17:50    1916813

Replying To Green_Gold:  "From what I saw on the TV I thought both Keegan and Connolly were as bad as each other. Although Connolly was sailing very close to the wind by raising his hand to Keegan's face. The best bet would be for the ref to book both of them early on.

Michael Darragh should have got a red card for that clothes line tackle, it was a really dangerous and high tackle. You just can't have those kind of tackles being allowed, could lead to a serious neck or head injury.

James McCarthy was very unlucky, pretty harmless stuff, not even a yellow card in my opinion."
And Cillian O'Connor's clothes line on David Byrne was it? Two feet off the ground swinging out of him. That was surely a black and arguably cost Dublin the game as he equalised. Although as Jim said, we wouldn't have deserved a win with that performance. Must improve 200%.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 11:22:01    1916818

Replying To Joxer:  "Eh are you talking about these 2 hand-offs here from Connolly as Keegan tries to block his run. That's a black card, blocking somebody's run. And who drags who to the ground around the neck and holds him in a headlock?

Must try harder bud!

Hes" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/diarmuid-connolly-made-a-serious-allegation-against-lee-keegan-after-their-tangle-in-croke-park/40833"
Hes not blocking his run, Keegan is going towards his own goal and has his hand out to know where Connolly is, you'll see every defender in the country doing that. Connolly throws the first punch, they end up on the ground and Connolly throws more punches to the face.

Take off the blue tinted glasses auld hand.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 20/09/2016 11:23:17    1916821

The neck high tackle is the most dangerous in the game, and it is the one that gets away without more than a yellow if a booking at all. I think it is time that the GAA focused on the dangerous tackles rather than the petty ones. It was a dangerous tackle on sunday, and it was on purpose. I wouldnt like to have been at the receiving end of it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/09/2016 11:26:36    1916823

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "Hes not blocking his run, Keegan is going towards his own goal and has his hand out to know where Connolly is, you'll see every defender in the country doing that. Connolly throws the first punch, they end up on the ground and Connolly throws more punches to the face.

Take off the blue tinted glasses auld hand."
I am not here to defend everything about Diarmuid Connolly but you are missing the point. It is quite obvious that Keegan is the aggressor in the ongoing battle between the two. Of course mayo want to negate connolly as any other club or county manager would do so by trying to putting their best man marker on the marquee forward. Keegan is a fantastic footballer but has the " divil" in him and that is why and how he is getting away with it. Connolly is foolish to get involved with him as it is throwing him off his game and taking away from Dublin as a team. don't forget keegan done it in the quarter final on sean cavanagh as well and who paid the price at the end. Referees and officials are not giving protection to forwards that are shipping constant treatment from the opposition. The trick has to be for Jim Gavin and co. to come up with something that will throw keegan and mayo and put them on the back foot.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 20/09/2016 11:46:38    1916835

Replying To Joxer:  "Well if Keegan gets the ball and is fouled then it's a free isn't it? That's the punishment for a foul. Where was the ball on Sunday when Keegan ran over to Connolly, pushed and grabbed his jersey? Too different things no?"
Connolly was the first to grab the jersey and the first to raise his hand. He started that particular incident.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 20/09/2016 12:08:01    1916847

Replying To Superglue:  "Connolly was the first to grab the jersey and the first to raise his hand. He started that particular incident."
Eh no he didn't. Watch the Sunday Game.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 12:13:20    1916850

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "Hes not blocking his run, Keegan is going towards his own goal and has his hand out to know where Connolly is, you'll see every defender in the country doing that. Connolly throws the first punch, they end up on the ground and Connolly throws more punches to the face.

Take off the blue tinted glasses auld hand."
How did they end up on the ground? You seem to have selective vision, why? Were Diarmuid's boot laces undone? Maybe he tripped over them? What happened when they hit the ground? Oh yeah he was held in a head lock? Did you see the state of his jersey on Sunday? Take off the blinkers bud.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 12:17:17    1916851

Lads MDMAs tackle was a certain yellow but why are people suggesting it was just unprovoked violence. CO'C was trying to nail him with no intention of playing the ball and MDMA reacted.

"Clothes-line" "Neck-breaker" are laughable and inaccurate descriptions.

He got his yellow, get over it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 20/09/2016 12:35:00    1916863

All this talk of who instigated what is ridiculous. I'd say the two lads themselves would laugh at that.

I'll clear it up - Connolly was first onto the field ahead of Keegan, therefore, he instigated it.

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 20/09/2016 12:38:58    1916865

Replying To jason:  "All this talk of who instigated what is ridiculous. I'd say the two lads themselves would laugh at that.

I'll clear it up - Connolly was first onto the field ahead of Keegan, therefore, he instigated it."
Aidan and Cillian sure made some entrance. ;)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 12:58:15    1916879

Replying To Joxer:  "How did they end up on the ground? You seem to have selective vision, why? Were Diarmuid's boot laces undone? Maybe he tripped over them? What happened when they hit the ground? Oh yeah he was held in a head lock? Did you see the state of his jersey on Sunday? Take off the blinkers bud."
No selective vision here bud! I like Dublin and love Connolly as a footballer, hes the best I've ever seen.
They both took into each other then, Keegan didnt have him in a head lock for long cos Connolly ends up on top of him.
I seen the state of it alright. Have you ever seen Connolly grab a fella by the jersey like that before?

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 20/09/2016 13:10:24    1916890

Replying To Donegalman:  "The neck high tackle is the most dangerous in the game, and it is the one that gets away without more than a yellow if a booking at all. I think it is time that the GAA focused on the dangerous tackles rather than the petty ones. It was a dangerous tackle on sunday, and it was on purpose. I wouldnt like to have been at the receiving end of it."
A lot worse than those slaps you see players get sent off for.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/09/2016 13:28:51    1916900

Replying To Joxer:  "Eh no he didn't. Watch the Sunday Game."
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/watch-diarmud-connolly-and-lee-keegan-were-lucky-to-escape-punishment-for-this-bust-up-35058667.html

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 20/09/2016 13:37:55    1916903

Replying To Superglue:  "http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/watch-diarmud-connolly-and-lee-keegan-were-lucky-to-escape-punishment-for-this-bust-up-35058667.html"
Fair play to Hennelly for getting the pair of them apart. Keegan has a name for himself at this stage for winding people up, and Connolly will eventually react if you keep at him. It's probably a case of familiarity breeds contempt at this stage, you certainly get the feelin' that there aint much love lost between these teams. Hopefully both teams will concentrate on football the next day.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 20/09/2016 13:49:00    1916909

Replying To Superglue:  "http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/watch-diarmud-connolly-and-lee-keegan-were-lucky-to-escape-punishment-for-this-bust-up-35058667.html"
Like I keeo saying did you see how it started? That's not the start of the incident even if it was Keegan is pulling the jersey off Connolly before Connolly does anything. Watch TSG bud.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 14:13:36    1916925

Replying To Joxer:  "Like I keeo saying did you see how it started? That's not the start of the incident even if it was Keegan is pulling the jersey off Connolly before Connolly does anything. Watch TSG bud."
I did. Look at when the circle the incident and bring it up close. Connolly clearly is the first to make contact.
After that he's the first to get a hand in the other player's face and he's the first to start swinging.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 20/09/2016 15:22:40    1916981

Replying To Donegalman:  "The neck high tackle is the most dangerous in the game, and it is the one that gets away without more than a yellow if a booking at all. I think it is time that the GAA focused on the dangerous tackles rather than the petty ones. It was a dangerous tackle on sunday, and it was on purpose. I wouldnt like to have been at the receiving end of it."
This particular tackle was extremely dangerous as MDA caught him in a headlock and twisted his head before throwing him to the ground. He definitely deserved a red card for it. So called 'clothes line' tackles can be accidental particularly if a tall player attempts a small player but there was nothing accidental about McAuley''s tackle.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 20/09/2016 17:18:54    1917038

Replying To Joxer:  "Like I keeo saying did you see how it started? That's not the start of the incident even if it was Keegan is pulling the jersey off Connolly before Connolly does anything. Watch TSG bud."
This Cononley Keegan love-in on the pitch has to stop.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 20/09/2016 17:21:29    1917041