That Macauley Tackle

Anybody else notice MDMA pulling down a Mayo player right in the middle of the field with about 10 / 15mins to go? A mayo player was in possession at the time and it happened only a couple of yards away? There was no replay shown of it.

I thought the ref was very inconsistent, did he decide after the first black card that he wasnt giving out any more, because 2 or 3 from both sides could have went.

Whos likely to ref the replay?

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 19/09/2016 10:28:46    1916082

I actually thought it was a straight red, very high and dangerous and just reckless disregard for the opponent. As to who will ref the replay I'm not sure but wouldn't be surprised to see one of my own county men in the middle the next day, I'll go for David Gough.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/09/2016 10:36:09    1916088

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You could say Tomas o'sé was the same tonight. I'm surprised he didn't wear a blue tie as well.
I'm glad des Cahill called him on it at the end of the show and you could see the shock on his face.
Pure cringe."
What are they afraid of? I think it is image imo,they don't want to be seen to be having a go at Dublin.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/09/2016 10:42:34    1916097

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "Anybody else notice MDMA pulling down a Mayo player right in the middle of the field with about 10 / 15mins to go? A mayo player was in possession at the time and it happened only a couple of yards away? There was no replay shown of it.

I thought the ref was very inconsistent, did he decide after the first black card that he wasnt giving out any more, because 2 or 3 from both sides could have went.

Whos likely to ref the replay?"
Yeah I noticed,it meant that Mayo didn't have the option to pass the ball to the runner..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/09/2016 10:44:08    1916099

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If a Kerry player or a Tyrone player did what McCauley did to O'connor today the Sunday game would have had an inquest and the knives out.
and why was there an ex Dublin player on the panel? He wasn't very impartial in my opinion and tried to highlight lee keegan as much as possible.
It takes two to tango Ciaran."
I don't get this whole 'why would a forward initiate a situation that leads to both he and the defender getting booked'. It's in the best interests of a forward to get his marker booked as he can then run at him all day as the marker is afraid to tackle. Don't think anyone from the participating counties should be let near a commentary or panel on All Ireland day. With the best will in the world they are going to be biased. Was disappointed with Thomas O Shea though, thought he was going to break into a verse of 'come on you boys in blue'

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/09/2016 10:53:14    1916104

Replying To waynoI:  "What tackle is this lads ? What point in the game was it ?"
The one where C'OC tried nailing him late and he lashed out. Yellow correct call for me.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 19/09/2016 11:05:15    1916112

Yellow card. Rough play. Simple as that.

If we start sending lads off for the kinda thing who knows where it will stop.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/09/2016 11:45:48    1916136

Replying To Richieq:  "I actually thought it was a straight red, very high and dangerous and just reckless disregard for the opponent. As to who will ref the replay I'm not sure but wouldn't be surprised to see one of my own county men in the middle the next day, I'll go for David Gough."
Maurice deegan got the gig.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/09/2016 11:46:58    1916139

Replying To ziggy32001:  "What are they afraid of? I think it is image imo,they don't want to be seen to be having a go at Dublin."
I know what you mean ziggy it was so Ott, it was like they had the script written for a Dublin win and when it ended up a draw they couldn't be bothered to change it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/09/2016 11:51:40    1916144

Replying To gotmilk:  "Second half on O'Connor. Around the neck, very high. Dont think he meant it, but still very high."
Seen it. Bad, bad tackle. Fortunate. Very lucky not to be sent off.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/09/2016 12:05:37    1916153

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If a Kerry player or a Tyrone player did what McCauley did to O'connor today the Sunday game would have had an inquest and the knives out.
and why was there an ex Dublin player on the panel? He wasn't very impartial in my opinion and tried to highlight lee keegan as much as possible.
It takes two to tango Ciaran."
Eh, Ciaran Whelan has been working on the SG all year. There are no Mayo men working for RTE but I do know that after the 2013 final when McStay was part of the SG panel, Both him and Whelan where on the Sunday game that evening.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/09/2016 12:08:12    1916158

Replying To moc.dna:  "High & dangerous yes, a yellow card only though. MDM like Connolly is prone to rash decisions that can cost their team mates. Cillian O Connor also sails close to the edge & should have had a card. He & Aidan O Shea need to concentrate on playing football as they are constantly pushing fellas & trying to red the game, Cillian is now the worst offender after Lee on that team. He could learn from his brother Diarmuid who is a much more balanced footballer."
Nah, it was a straight red.

Was deliberate and dangerous.

In rugby it'd be a spear tackle and that incurs a serious suspension.

The GAA has to wise up to some of this ridiculous dangerous play before someone gets properly injured.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 19/09/2016 12:14:13    1916167

Replying To ziggy32001:  "In fact the bias in the RTE studio towards Dublin was pathetic.They tried to suggest that McCarthy should not have gotten a black card and Spillane went as far as to suggest the Mayo lad got in his way!
It was third man tackle clear black card.
No mention of the black card(that should have been) to Connolly,or the dangerous challenge from MDM. Spillane especially is very aware of not upsetting the Dublin fans or media.."
Completely agree about the bias, Whelan when talking about the Keegan Connolly incidents and I agree with his views that the instigator should be punished and not the one forced to defend himself , but when the other panelists and even he himself said it had been going on all game and no one could say they saw who started it , he decided with no evidence it was keegan, keegan is a defender so is trying to keep him out of the game in any way possible and connolly is a forward just trying to play the game. Complete joke , I know Keegan is no angel I've seen it myself at games what he gets up too off the ball but Connolly is hardly known for his calm temperament.

The ref had some bad calls yesterday but he handled that particular incident as best he could, why did the linesmen not bring it to his attention earlier the were up around the goals most of the game? and the SG did show the high tackle on COC (although glossed over it) the ref is clearly not looking at it.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 19/09/2016 12:14:57    1916169

It appears that there are different rules for different games and in AI's it appears anything goes. What does concern me is the amount of off the ball incidents that go unpunished (including lots of trips yesterday). What are the four umpires and two lines men doing or does their vision only extend a couple of metres.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/09/2016 12:20:58    1916176

Replying To Joxer:  "Oh dear Bennybunny you really do need to attend matches rather than commentate from camera angles to see what's really going on. AOS hurling abuse at umpire, "play on". AOS was it 6 fouls in a row, "play on". He now ranks up there with "star" as one of the most excused players on a football pitch He has done a documentary in the US so everything is game ball now."
That's your opinion on AOS from the game and you may well have a point but what's your opinion on the subject on this thread?

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 19/09/2016 12:21:21    1916177

Michael Darragh should have walked after a deliberate trip on a Mayo player. He went in on Cillian O'Connor with a wild high tackle in the second half, that was a black or even a red card.
The problem with black cards is inconsistency in application. After James Mc Carthy was black carded, the ref apparently decided not to give one to McCauley, as he had already sent off a Dublin player.
Cards should be issued according to the severity of the offence.
The opponents of the black card are the usual ones, TO'Shea, P Spillane etc. They get a bit tiresome.
Maybe if 2 or3 players were black carded in a game it might get through that refs were serious.
They have a hard job in a game,without a few high profile egos criticising them from the comfort of the studio.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 19/09/2016 12:21:45    1916179

Replying To galwayfball:  "Completely agree about the bias, Whelan when talking about the Keegan Connolly incidents and I agree with his views that the instigator should be punished and not the one forced to defend himself , but when the other panelists and even he himself said it had been going on all game and no one could say they saw who started it , he decided with no evidence it was keegan, keegan is a defender so is trying to keep him out of the game in any way possible and connolly is a forward just trying to play the game. Complete joke , I know Keegan is no angel I've seen it myself at games what he gets up too off the ball but Connolly is hardly known for his calm temperament.

The ref had some bad calls yesterday but he handled that particular incident as best he could, why did the linesmen not bring it to his attention earlier the were up around the goals most of the game? and the SG did show the high tackle on COC (although glossed over it) the ref is clearly not looking at it."
I think the ref generally did well,its the lack of coverage on certain incidents involving Dublin players that annoyed me

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/09/2016 12:27:54    1916186

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I don't get this whole 'why would a forward initiate a situation that leads to both he and the defender getting booked'. It's in the best interests of a forward to get his marker booked as he can then run at him all day as the marker is afraid to tackle. Don't think anyone from the participating counties should be let near a commentary or panel on All Ireland day. With the best will in the world they are going to be biased. Was disappointed with Thomas O Shea though, thought he was going to break into a verse of 'come on you boys in blue'"
Well it's just logical isn't it. The forward just wants to get away from the back and score. Look at that incident again and who instigates it? Whelan on the general point of officials not nipping these things in the bud, is correct. There are enough officials to see and act on these incidents. The whole SG panel agreed on it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2016 12:30:54    1916191

Nah, it was a straight red.

Was deliberate and dangerous.

In rugby it'd be a spear tackle and that incurs a serious suspension.

The GAA has to wise up to some of this ridiculous dangerous play before someone gets properly injured.
Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts:952 - 19/09/2016 12:14:13

A spear tackle?? Will ya stop.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 19/09/2016 12:48:11    1916207

A lot of these incidents are being blown out of proportion from what I can see. There wasn't one proper punch thrown so we should all relax. McCarthy should not have got a black card - O'Connor made the most of the minimal contact. McAuley should've got yellow for his tackle on Cillian (which I think he did). The rest of the tackles were fairly innocuous and didn't deserve any action.
Keegan and Connolly were no better or worse than each other. Neither wanted to back down in the "I can hold onto your jersey for longer than you can hold onto mine" stakes.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 19/09/2016 12:50:45    1916212