Worrying for Dubs

The dubs score 4 from play in last years final against our selfs and what 4/5 from play in today's final. And they're supposed to be the best team to ever play the game they say!
Ye must be kidding me.
Kerry and Tyrone and cork in transision since 08/09/10 have left Dublin with a free run on the playground which makes them look brilliant.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/09/2016 00:05:00    1915969

Keep trying Kid. What's that 28 unbeatean now. 3 points up with mins to play, playing the worst we have ever played and we're still holding Sam must kill you bud :). Must try harder KB. Send our regards to 'star' and the Kerry lads down on a beach in Ballybunion or somehwere training for next year.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2016 01:53:37    1915979

Replying To arock:  "Gavin will make very very few changes. For instance as much as I cannot stand MacAuley he will start him, and Brogan and Rock."
You are probably right, what I cant understand is how Fitzsimons isn't starting, steadied the ship, also Dublin more so than any team have players that can come in..
Watching as a neutral got to say small was exceptional and I think he really stood up when the "stars" of the team were found wanting. Great player and attitude.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/09/2016 07:37:16    1915992

Replying To arock:  "Gavin will make very very few changes. For instance as much as I cannot stand MacAuley he will start him, and Brogan and Rock."
Andrews not Fitzsimons, head not right this morning lol.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/09/2016 07:55:05    1915997

Wouldn't worry too much for Dublin. They had a bad day out yesterday but won't be that lethargic in the replay. McCauley, Flynn and Brogan need to be phased out of the team from next season, Flynn and Brogan will be lucky to keep their places for the replay actually. There looks to be fairly solid replacement already there and Dublin have won a couple of U21's in recent years so I expect them to find players easier than most counties. They should also have O'Carroll and McCaffery back.

I hope Mayo win the replay, as most neutrals do, but Dublin have far more room for improvement and will benefit from two weeks preparation time more than Mayo. I expect a very different game in the replay. Hopefully we'll get a dry day.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 19/09/2016 09:19:45    1916021

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Usually would agree with Dubs if they were better but I'm sorry ,watching that as a neutral mayo totally 100% out played ye,if not for own goal ye would have been I serious bother ,worst performance I've seen by a Dublin team for 6 years"
It was our worst performance for a long time yet we still found a way of staying in front throughout the second half and it was mayo who needed an equalizer at the very end to force a replay, so over the course of the game you couldn't say we were lucky to draw when we were ahead for the vast majority of the game.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/09/2016 09:49:41    1916047

The question to answer is why were Dublin so poor yesterday? Was it down to intense Mayo pressure and getting in Dublin's faces? Certainly that was a major factor I think, Dublin haven't faced intensity like that all year as most teams believe their beaten before they even run out against them. Were Dublin complacent? I severely doubt Jim
Gavin would let any team of his enter a field of play with such notions and even if a player or two did have such notions they shouldn't have as Mayo are one of the few teams with a decent record and performance level against the Dubs in recent years. So all the talk of Dublin never playing as bad again may really depend on how Mayo play the next day as their intensity, determination and in your face play was a major factor in Dublin looking so ordinary yesterday.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/09/2016 10:00:26    1916055

Replying To hill16no1man:  "It was our worst performance for a long time yet we still found a way of staying in front throughout the second half and it was mayo who needed an equalizer at the very end to force a replay, so over the course of the game you couldn't say we were lucky to draw when we were ahead for the vast majority of the game."
You were lucky Michael Darragh didn't see black, you were lucky Connolly didn't see black (although given his petulance at the sideline ball perhaps you were unlucky he didn't see black) you got a considerable slice of luck with two goals, Dublin got a three point lead by the 68th minute largely due to Mayo errors and not their own brilliance. Jim Gavin quite rightly and graciously acknowledged the luck Dublin enjoyed yesterday, it cannot be denied however I am also firmly in the camp that Mayo missed a massive opportunity yesterday. They were by far the better team and should have nailed Dublin.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/09/2016 10:08:48    1916061

As soon as I heard "rain"

I knew BB was going to have a below par game

Very rarely plays well in those conditions

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/09/2016 10:15:03    1916069

The Dublin forwards were diabolical. I think this coupled with the conditions and probably unexpectedly facing a blanket defence went against Dublin. Still, playing that badly they still had 55% possession and were 3 points up with a couple of mins to go, in the lead for all of the second half. I'd take that result all day long. The element of surprise is gone now for Mayo, hopefully conditions will be better the next day and you would expect our forwards to play. We opened Mayo up 3 or 4 times yesterday so the signs are promising for goals the next day.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2016 11:08:48    1916116

Replying To Richieq:  "You were lucky Michael Darragh didn't see black, you were lucky Connolly didn't see black (although given his petulance at the sideline ball perhaps you were unlucky he didn't see black) you got a considerable slice of luck with two goals, Dublin got a three point lead by the 68th minute largely due to Mayo errors and not their own brilliance. Jim Gavin quite rightly and graciously acknowledged the luck Dublin enjoyed yesterday, it cannot be denied however I am also firmly in the camp that Mayo missed a massive opportunity yesterday. They were by far the better team and should have nailed Dublin."
Probably right about mccauley but not so sure about connolly. He is no angel but it is obvious that keegan is the aggressor and connolly's game is struggling. Anyway if you want to go down the route, cillian o connor and aidan o' shea should have walked. Be fair with your postings.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 19/09/2016 11:20:41    1916123

Replying To Adamski:  "Probably right about mccauley but not so sure about connolly. He is no angel but it is obvious that keegan is the aggressor and connolly's game is struggling. Anyway if you want to go down the route, cillian o connor and aidan o' shea should have walked. Be fair with your postings."
Wasn't trying to be unfair adamski just pointing out some luck factors to your county collleague, I fully agree that Mayo should have had black cards the referee copped out of decisions on both sides of that there is no doubt

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/09/2016 11:46:50    1916138

Mayo were the only team to put pressure on Dublin for the entire hour including pressuring the kick outs. Kerry did it for about 30% of the game. I felt going into the game that Mayo would be more mobile than Kerry. Most Kerry Dublin games are great to watch as players are usually allowed space to show their talents. It was a different yesterday with very high intensity and a great game to watch. One could make a good case to say that Mayo have the advantage going onto the next match even though I would not back either team as it is all to play for- best of luck to all and Dublin have been exceptional over the last few years.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/09/2016 12:01:43    1916150

Replying To hill16no1man:  "It was our worst performance for a long time yet we still found a way of staying in front throughout the second half and it was mayo who needed an equalizer at the very end to force a replay, so over the course of the game you couldn't say we were lucky to draw when we were ahead for the vast majority of the game."
Thanks to 2 own goals.

We didn't score for 31 minutes, And even that was a free.

We where blessed to be still in the game at half time let alone winning it by 5.

I agree though that it Is a huge positive that we are still in the tie. Cause that performance was the worst Dublin performance I can remember in 5 or 6 years.

We cant and wont be as bad next time out.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/09/2016 12:13:59    1916166

Replying To Richieq:  "The question to answer is why were Dublin so poor yesterday? Was it down to intense Mayo pressure and getting in Dublin's faces? Certainly that was a major factor I think, Dublin haven't faced intensity like that all year as most teams believe their beaten before they even run out against them. Were Dublin complacent? I severely doubt Jim
Gavin would let any team of his enter a field of play with such notions and even if a player or two did have such notions they shouldn't have as Mayo are one of the few teams with a decent record and performance level against the Dubs in recent years. So all the talk of Dublin never playing as bad again may really depend on how Mayo play the next day as their intensity, determination and in your face play was a major factor in Dublin looking so ordinary yesterday."
to answer your question it was down to both things.
yes mayo performed really well defensivly
but 8 or 9 of dublins starting players didnt show up, they all had really off days were they didnt look like they were at the level they have been.
its only the second time of jim gavins tenure that its happened to be fair on them. they have shown remarkable consistency for several years running. we didnt get a second chance in 2014 to go out and put that performance behind us, this time despite beeing the ones who were ahead for the majority of the game, we do get the chance to go out and put that poor performance behind us and win the game the next day.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/09/2016 12:43:57    1916204

Replying To waynoI:  "Thanks to 2 own goals.

We didn't score for 31 minutes, And even that was a free.

We where blessed to be still in the game at half time let alone winning it by 5.

I agree though that it Is a huge positive that we are still in the tie. Cause that performance was the worst Dublin performance I can remember in 5 or 6 years.

We cant and wont be as bad next time out."
Wayno, I'm beginning to think there might be something in the Mayo curse business, they were the better side and the OGs were unfortunate. How we can expect to win a game not scoring for 31 minutes is beyond me. Glad we came out of it with the draw because Mayo didn't deserve to loose.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 19/09/2016 12:51:52    1916215

Replying To Richieq:  "You were lucky Michael Darragh didn't see black, you were lucky Connolly didn't see black (although given his petulance at the sideline ball perhaps you were unlucky he didn't see black) you got a considerable slice of luck with two goals, Dublin got a three point lead by the 68th minute largely due to Mayo errors and not their own brilliance. Jim Gavin quite rightly and graciously acknowledged the luck Dublin enjoyed yesterday, it cannot be denied however I am also firmly in the camp that Mayo missed a massive opportunity yesterday. They were by far the better team and should have nailed Dublin."
your very selective in your viewing.
yes mccauley was lucky no doubting that
but on the black card mccarthy should never have got his
aidan o shea could have gotten three black cards in that game and committed about 9 fouls before he finally got a yellow card.
cillian o connor shouldnt have been on the field at the end to kick the last point as he clearly committed black card offence on darren daly.
lee keegan committed a black card offence on connolly while the first goal was being scored.
so your a great man for spotting things on one team but basically ignoring what happened on the other side.
now you say dublin got a three point lead due to mayo erros
well mayo got them scores back due to dublin errors as there was a complete mix up for dillons point when david byrne was standing waiting for the ball and mayo went up and kicked the point. then for the last point instead of holding onto possesion connolly kicked a 1/20 effort from sideline to hand mayo possesion with 30 seconds to go to get the equaliser.
yeah dublin didnt perform but mayo did and still needed to kick a last chance score to get a draw on the day.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/09/2016 12:51:53    1916216

Replying To hill16no1man:  "your very selective in your viewing.
yes mccauley was lucky no doubting that
but on the black card mccarthy should never have got his
aidan o shea could have gotten three black cards in that game and committed about 9 fouls before he finally got a yellow card.
cillian o connor shouldnt have been on the field at the end to kick the last point as he clearly committed black card offence on darren daly.
lee keegan committed a black card offence on connolly while the first goal was being scored.
so your a great man for spotting things on one team but basically ignoring what happened on the other side.
now you say dublin got a three point lead due to mayo erros
well mayo got them scores back due to dublin errors as there was a complete mix up for dillons point when david byrne was standing waiting for the ball and mayo went up and kicked the point. then for the last point instead of holding onto possesion connolly kicked a 1/20 effort from sideline to hand mayo possesion with 30 seconds to go to get the equaliser.
yeah dublin didnt perform but mayo did and still needed to kick a last chance score to get a draw on the day."
If you read my above response to Adamski you will see I have acknowledged Mayo should have received black cards, there is no argument there. My points were to counteract your argument that Dublin weren't lucky, I think Dublin had some considerable slices of luck yesterday and really given that they scored a total of 2-9 of which only 0-5 was from play they should have been taken to the cleaners.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/09/2016 13:00:36    1916226

I've watched McCarthy's black card half a dozen times on the player.

http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/the-sunday-game-live-1374/10624796/

Start at 1:33:40 - where McCarthy himself takes a free kick out of Dublin defence.

At the black card moment, he ran across O'Connor intending to shield Kilkenny and connected I would say heavier than intended with O'Connor.
But, no doubt,
1. He intended to commit a foul (shield Kilkenny)
2. Committed a foul as per black card rule - "Deliberately body collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of a movement of play"

Was the referee consistent with his application of the rule throughout the game? No.
Was McCarthy's justified according to the rules? Yes.
Which team benefited more from the decision? Dublin. (Not diminishing McCarthy, he's a super player, but Andrews came on way earlier than he would have otherwise)

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 19/09/2016 13:05:31    1916231

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The dubs score 4 from play in last years final against our selfs and what 4/5 from play in today's final. And they're supposed to be the best team to ever play the game they say!
Ye must be kidding me.
Kerry and Tyrone and cork in transision since 08/09/10 have left Dublin with a free run on the playground which makes them look brilliant."
And yet they can still grind out results when they play badly, which is the sign of a great team.

The truth is Dublin can't win no matter what they do in the eyes of the begrudgers.

They hammer Mayo the narrative will be Mayo are rubbish not a sign of Dublin being great, they just scrape past Mayo the story is Dublin aren't great sure they should be hammering them.

Dublin are missing 2 of their 6 best defenders from last year one of whom is footballer of the year.There aren't too many teams in history who would cope with that.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 19/09/2016 13:29:02    1916252