Ticket Allocation Dublin/Mayo

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "This is stiupid coming from me because I am going on Sunday but I do believe neutrals like myself should not be able to get anywhere a ticket unless they are in Mayo or Dublin.Not that it would stop me from going when I do get them

I do think they should scrap all clubs around the country( apart from competing ones obviously) getting tickets and maybe schools and coperate premium tickets should be released for the two final counties fans but its the gaa and sadly this is how it is.

This leaves so many neutrals .You can spot the them all over the place on finalday ,no jersey or colours and a match programme in hand ,
I myself will be one of those fools but I know there's fans all over Dublin and Mayo who it would value a ticket 100 times more than myself"
Rather you get it, Game of Tyrones, than some 19 year old oik from Dublin or Mayo was never at a game in his life, got tickets for himself and his girlfriend because he's the nephew of the man who sponsored the club U14s 5 years ago and just wants to impress his mates.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 17/09/2016 10:10:28    1915301

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Rather you get it, Game of Tyrones, than some 19 year old oik from Dublin or Mayo was never at a game in his life, got tickets for himself and his girlfriend because he's the nephew of the man who sponsored the club U14s 5 years ago and just wants to impress his mates."
It's a interesting one who gets tickets and who doesn't. For instance do you deserve a ticket just because you were born in a particular county over someone heavly involved in gaa in another county. I don't have a ticket for the final on Sunday but I have been to 5 dublin games and a couple of mayo games which is more then some of the people who are moaning about not getting a ticket from these counties. As well as going to all my own counties games and I wouldn't say I deserve a ticket. Only Four counties have got to a final in the last 6 years. The majority of counties will never get to a final.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 17/09/2016 12:41:38    1915338

Replying To ROS1:  "It's a interesting one who gets tickets and who doesn't. For instance do you deserve a ticket just because you were born in a particular county over someone heavly involved in gaa in another county. I don't have a ticket for the final on Sunday but I have been to 5 dublin games and a couple of mayo games which is more then some of the people who are moaning about not getting a ticket from these counties. As well as going to all my own counties games and I wouldn't say I deserve a ticket. Only Four counties have got to a final in the last 6 years. The majority of counties will never get to a final."
I'm gonna generalise massively here, but a lot of those moaning about not getting tickets didn't look too hard/at all and rather than head to Drumcondra tomorrow in a last-ditch effort to get a ticket they'll sit on a high stool in their local for the match, criticizing players who 'were never county standard'.

I don't know how many tickets go to non-competing counties for a final, I don't think it's a huge amount. Some of those counties have Dublin and Mayo people who have gone to the games and they might get tickets that way. But tomorrow is like Christmas for Gaelic football, not just the counties in the final. I think they should get some tickets. Better that than someone who has never gone to a game or someone being schmoozed and boozed in a corporate box that doesn't even watch the game. There's no perfect system for allocating tickets.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 17/09/2016 13:59:56    1915354

Replying To yew_tree:  "JayP you ate failing again to see the point. Why do Dublin have a bigger fan base than every other county ? It's population man plain and simple"
Not particularly as Tipperary have a bigger support base than Dublin in hurling yet we have a bigger population.
cork would have one of the smallest supporter base in football yet have a big population. Football in Dublin is huge it captures the imagination of all parts of the city that's why support levels have always been high through good and bad times

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/09/2016 14:42:39    1915367

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I'm gonna generalise massively here, but a lot of those moaning about not getting tickets didn't look too hard/at all and rather than head to Drumcondra tomorrow in a last-ditch effort to get a ticket they'll sit on a high stool in their local for the match, criticizing players who 'were never county standard'.

I don't know how many tickets go to non-competing counties for a final, I don't think it's a huge amount. Some of those counties have Dublin and Mayo people who have gone to the games and they might get tickets that way. But tomorrow is like Christmas for Gaelic football, not just the counties in the final. I think they should get some tickets. Better that than someone who has never gone to a game or someone being schmoozed and boozed in a corporate box that doesn't even watch the game. There's no perfect system for allocating tickets."
Would agree totally.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 17/09/2016 14:55:47    1915371

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I'm gonna generalise massively here, but a lot of those moaning about not getting tickets didn't look too hard/at all and rather than head to Drumcondra tomorrow in a last-ditch effort to get a ticket they'll sit on a high stool in their local for the match, criticizing players who 'were never county standard'.

I don't know how many tickets go to non-competing counties for a final, I don't think it's a huge amount. Some of those counties have Dublin and Mayo people who have gone to the games and they might get tickets that way. But tomorrow is like Christmas for Gaelic football, not just the counties in the final. I think they should get some tickets. Better that than someone who has never gone to a game or someone being schmoozed and boozed in a corporate box that doesn't even watch the game. There's no perfect system for allocating tickets."
No perfect system but Michelle Mulherin should be getting one.I'd give her one if I had one.!

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 17/09/2016 16:49:32    1915392

Replying To yew_tree:  "JayP you ate failing again to see the point. Why do Dublin have a bigger fan base than every other county ? It's population man plain and simple"
I see your point. I, like Jimbo, disagree with it!

When the Dubs were average in the noughties, massive crowds turn up. Dublin football fans enjoys summer days and gaelic football. Nothing to do with population at all.

If thats your argument why arent London playing at Wembly?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 17/09/2016 19:15:12    1915410

Replying To JayP:  "I see your point. I, like Jimbo, disagree with it!

When the Dubs were average in the noughties, massive crowds turn up. Dublin football fans enjoys summer days and gaelic football. Nothing to do with population at all.

If thats your argument why arent London playing at Wembly?"
Because GAA is not popular in the UK public. Jesus trying to argue a point with you is like trying to convince a child. Enjoy your day tomorrow tomorrow but hopefully not the result. Hitting the road here at 7:30am

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 17/09/2016 19:45:38    1915416

Replying To JayP:  "I see your point. I, like Jimbo, disagree with it!

If thats your argument why arent London playing at Wembly?"
6 Leinster titles for Dublin in the 00s. Massive media hype behind the dubs plus home advantage. Ten percent of the population of Dublin is bigger than the population of mayo off course that makes a difference

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 17/09/2016 21:24:40    1915437

'No perfect system but Michelle Mulherin should be getting one. I'd give her one if I had one.!
endgame ' Why should she get one - she is not even elected and there are many throughout the country who would love to go to the final and who put huge time into our games. Most of the politicians should not get any either- we pay for their large salaries and pensions-is that not enough!

It is correct that tickets are allocated to all counties and all clubs with majority to competing counties, otherwise their would be counties where they would never see a All-Ireland live. I am aware of a large numbers of clubs tickets throughout the country who end up giving their tickets to individuals from the competing counties and at correct prices.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 17/09/2016 22:24:48    1915462

Replying To ROS1:  "6 Leinster titles for Dublin in the 00s. Massive media hype behind the dubs plus home advantage. Ten percent of the population of Dublin is bigger than the population of mayo off course that makes a difference"
What about from 1995-2002 when we didn't win anything ?
There was the same numbers going to support Dublin.
the fact people are making is its gaelic football in Dublin that's huge, if it was just population sure all sports would be pulling in them numbers in Dublin aswell seen as they can pull from that population also.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/09/2016 22:44:18    1915471

People assume the population of Dublin is made up of Dubs, i thought part of the unfairness was emigration/migration, certainly a huge ex pat population who get there watch their counties in Croke park occasionally, I guess that a "home" game for them too.

I would be interesting to know the players taking the field tomorrow how many from each side work and live in Dublin.

Anyhow I'm on the halfway line in the Cusack tomorrow, great days.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/09/2016 00:27:45    1915506

If you look up tomorrow there will probably be a fair few empty corporate boxes which couldn't be sold. Also if you had a chance to walk the premium level a fair percentage of the seats will be taken up with people reading the papers, knitting { yes, seen it several times } playing with mobiles etc as 1 commenter has said being smoozeled for the day and add to that the atmosphere is crap in it as it seems to be a more stoic up type of supporter who wouldn't be seen dead in county colours. As for the hangers on and feckin politicians etc in the ard chorliath section who only appear for semis and finals and who have passes for tae and buffett @ the 3 games is a disgrace.
As for the ticket touts and others selling inflated priced tickets, the gaa officials accompanied by the gardai should confiscate all tickets from them and sell them off at face value at the ends of jones road. A couple of big games with losing tickets would soon put an end to that shyte
Anyhow best of luck to both sets of supporters and safe journeys for those having to travel. Enjoy the game the craic and the banter and no doubt there will be some fine posts over the next few days to look forward to.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 18/09/2016 01:23:10    1915512

Replying To TheUsername:  "People assume the population of Dublin is made up of Dubs, i thought part of the unfairness was emigration/migration, certainly a huge ex pat population who get there watch their counties in Croke park occasionally, I guess that a "home" game for them too.

I would be interesting to know the players taking the field tomorrow how many from each side work and live in Dublin.

Anyhow I'm on the halfway line in the Cusack tomorrow, great days."
You could also ask how many dubs live the other counties of Leinster. Lots of dubs live in these counties and still go up and support dublin. Plus in the cenus fugures alot of people who only spend the week in dublin but go home for the weekends are put down as still living in their home counties

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 18/09/2016 07:55:01    1915533

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What about from 1995-2002 when we didn't win anything ?
There was the same numbers going to support Dublin.
the fact people are making is its gaelic football in Dublin that's huge, if it was just population sure all sports would be pulling in them numbers in Dublin aswell seen as they can pull from that population also."
I can remember dubs playing kerry in a memorable quarter final in 01 the dubs were never to far away. It's funny when anyone suggests splitting dublin dubs on here come on here saying how this part and that part of Dublin does not play gaa. You can't ignore the massive population advantages dublin has over every other county, your point about other sports is a red herring.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 18/09/2016 08:01:09    1915534

Replying To ROS1:  "I can remember dubs playing kerry in a memorable quarter final in 01 the dubs were never to far away. It's funny when anyone suggests splitting dublin dubs on here come on here saying how this part and that part of Dublin does not play gaa. You can't ignore the massive population advantages dublin has over every other county, your point about other sports is a red herring."
I'm on this forum for 15 years plus and I've never heard any Dub harping on about areas of Dublin not playing GAA. You sure you read that somewhere or are you making it up?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/09/2016 12:37:24    1915608

Replying To TheUsername:  "People assume the population of Dublin is made up of Dubs, i thought part of the unfairness was emigration/migration, certainly a huge ex pat population who get there watch their counties in Croke park occasionally, I guess that a "home" game for them too.

Anyhow I'm on the halfway line in the Cusack tomorrow, great days."
You're right. A lot of Dublin is not dubs. But then you need to factor in the vast majority of the population increase in places like meath, louth. Westmeath, wicklow, cavan, Kildare, wicklow, Wexford are dubs.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/09/2016 14:49:13    1915632

Hill seems pretty fifty fifty

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 18/09/2016 15:26:00    1915657

wouldn't liked to have paid 80 euro to watch this shyte. 32 mins gone and only 7 scores and 1 of those from a dub free.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 18/09/2016 16:02:05    1915659

Replying To Joxer:  "I'm on this forum for 15 years plus and I've never heard any Dub harping on about areas of Dublin not playing GAA. You sure you read that somewhere or are you making it up?"
Every time the splitting dublin thread comes up, you have dubs including hill saying this area is soccer only and that area is rugby only it's constant.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 18/09/2016 16:28:27    1915684