9 Dubs forwards, would any not make the Mayo team?

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "honestly ROC, it very hard to have this debate without sounding arrogant, but, they just wouldn't make the Dubs forwards.
They really wouldn't. DOC would bench alright but no chance he would start, and AOS and AM wouldn't be within an asses roar of the Dubs forwards.
If AOS was a Dub, he would be a MF'r. Andy Moran wouldn't make the panel anymore, sorry, but he wouldn't. COC is still young and would make the panel for sure, but wouldn't start.
Funnily, I think Mayos two best players are Colm Boyle and Lee Keegan yet if Dublin had all their players available and back fit, neither would get a game for me. McCarthy O'Sullivan McCaffrey is untouchable when all fit.
Keith Higgins is a supreme player, I dunno where I would play him but I would find somewhere."
I wouldn't count on McCaffrey being back for you guys anytime soon.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 07/09/2016 21:56:18    1911548

In the semi-final Bernard Brogan scored two points and appeared to be through for a goal until he was hauled down by Shane Enright, which resulted in a point being scored from a free, he also set up other players for scores, not bad considering he did not have a good game by his standards. Bernard Brogan is Dublins top player over the last seven years and there is no possibility he will be dropped for the final. If there is any forward that is vulnerable for selection,it would be Paul Flynn.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 07/09/2016 22:02:15    1911553

Ye are all so quick to jump :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/09/2016 22:05:20    1911558

I'll try again and maybe mods will let me give my opinion, On form this year Moran, who provides a great focus for the Mayo attack, is way ahead of Brogan. As for the other forwards, I could not see Rochford swapping O'Shea and the O'Connors for any Dub forwards. That leaves two places for Dub transfers - possibly Kilkenny and any one of the rest.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 07/09/2016 22:15:03    1911563

Whammo86 - Dublin are managing fine without MCCaffrey at present. John Small is more than adequate. It is Rory O' Carroll Dublin miss but they are still getting over the line without him.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 07/09/2016 22:15:51    1911564

Replying To Whammo86:  "I wouldn't count on McCaffrey being back for you guys anytime soon."
Why? He's back in Dublin since the week of the semi final.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/09/2016 22:33:24    1911567

Replying To Whammo86:  "As a neutral with both sets of forwards at my disposal I'd go for a front 6 of:

A O'Shea
Connolly
Kilkenny
Rock
A Moran
McManamon

Really balanced forward line.

Brogan is probably better than Moran all round but Moran is such a good focal point, he'd be great for getting the most out of the guys around him."
I have to agree with this lad again. Seems to think like I do. I defo would not have Cillian O Connor anywhere near there in his form and I'd have Andy Moran because of his current form , O'shea being the other forward and the rest would be Dublin.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 07/09/2016 22:50:50    1911571

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "honestly ROC, it very hard to have this debate without sounding arrogant, but, they just wouldn't make the Dubs forwards.
They really wouldn't. DOC would bench alright but no chance he would start, and AOS and AM wouldn't be within an asses roar of the Dubs forwards.
If AOS was a Dub, he would be a MF'r. Andy Moran wouldn't make the panel anymore, sorry, but he wouldn't. COC is still young and would make the panel for sure, but wouldn't start.
Funnily, I think Mayos two best players are Colm Boyle and Lee Keegan yet if Dublin had all their players available and back fit, neither would get a game for me. McCarthy O'Sullivan McCaffrey is untouchable when all fit.
Keith Higgins is a supreme player, I dunno where I would play him but I would find somewhere."
What ever about anyone else but AOS would start for every team in this country, even half the hurling teams if he could some how manage to even hold a hurl. He is too powerful of a man to leave out. Once he runs at a defence they all start to panic , even Dublin have difficulty trying to stop him from a direct run(not the high ball tactic).

How many players can have three men hanging from their backs and still be running with the ball. He has skill too , he is a goal finisher .He's the type of player you need when everything is going belly up to dig you out. His ownly shortfall is the fact he over carries sometimes into the tackle and is a bit for the self glory but the last few games he's cleaned up on that . He was in poor form up until somewhere around the Fermanagh game but picked up after that and looks in full throttle again.

He needs to be used to perfection for Mayo against Dublin and that is not by dumping high balls into him. I'd imagine it's a better idea to give low hard balls into Moran and lay it off to O'shea for the run and the Dub defence rather than that high ball stuff they have done in the past with Dublin. Switch it up so he doesn't tire out so much and he will cause serious problems on the 18th but I do hope for them and every neutral watching they don't go at that route one stuff to O'shea it simply won't work with the Dubs defence.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 07/09/2016 23:09:51    1911580

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "I have to agree with this lad again. Seems to think like I do. I defo would not have Cillian O Connor anywhere near there in his form and I'd have Andy Moran because of his current form , O'shea being the other forward and the rest would be Dublin."
I think you're wrong about Cillian and I think he will have a big final.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/09/2016 23:49:12    1911588

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I think you're wrong about Cillian and I think he will have a big final."
Truthfully, both teams could use a sports psychologist. Dublin are prone to the yips under pressure and lash out accordingly. Mayo just can't stop pressing the self destruct button, repeatedly pulling defeat from the jaws of victory.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 08/09/2016 00:39:17    1911594

Dubs looking for reaffirmation of their superiority again....it's getting really old.

offtheboat (USA) - Posts: 57 - 08/09/2016 01:34:55    1911598

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Ok, I am sure this topic will annoy a few and so on and so forth.....but so what!
What do people think?

I am gonna name 9 Dubs forwards.
Flynn, Connolly, Kilkenny, Brogan, McManaman, Rock, Andrews, Mannion, O'Gara
Now honestly, would any of those lads NOT get in the Mayo starting 15?
Some may say that Deano is only there for frees, and Mayo have COC, but going on their respective form this year, that argument doesn't stand up.
To be honest, I'd say Cormac Costelloe would most likely start for Mayo too

I have to be honest, if Dublin get 45%-55% at Midfield, I cant see a path for Mayo to win ?

Am I wrong?"
God almighty I hope Mayo smash ye.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 08/09/2016 03:25:02    1911601

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I think you're wrong about Cillian and I think he will have a big final."
Agreed

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 08/09/2016 09:05:29    1911615

Can open, worms everywhere - well done Liam on the OP!

But the Mayo lads have a point - if you were to pick a combined 15 based on FORM, it'd look like this:

Clarke

Higgins
Cooper
McMahon

Keegan
COS
Boyle

Fenton
SOS (and he's not even in great form)

AOS
KK
Connolly

McMenamin
Moran
Rock

That's an 8-7 split in favour of Dublin and most unlucky to miss out is probably D O'Connor, while COC or BB could both light up a final.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 08/09/2016 09:10:28    1911617

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "God almighty I hope Mayo smash ye."
There's a lot of this sentiment around. Plus ça change.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/09/2016 09:24:44    1911624

Some dublin people need to calm down a wee bit.
This Mayo team are a fantastic team one of the best to come out of mayo ever but have blown it a few times near the end of matches. They should have won definately one all ireland if not 2 so it s far from a fore gone conclusion that dublin will win.
Other than rock who like barney will put over 98% of frees a lot of the scores now come from out field to half forward line. Brogan role now is no longer just scoring its opening the 45 yards zone up for players to run into hence he is not scoring as much as he was however i do still believe he is far from on form, he missed two sittners in the kerry game which is unlike him.
i would have AOS anytime however its likel philly will mark him and philly has won that contest many times even in the league.
Mayo's downfall is they will press cluxton which will open up their half back line and will tire them out in the second half and they , unlike kerry, do not have a bench.
Thats why the are far from favourites.
A lot of neutrals will be up for mayo but that date a few years ago when they messed that free up was the one biggest ever mayo f up and mentally they are scarred because of it
can only see one result tbh and thats not bragging its just logic

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 08/09/2016 09:50:11    1911637

Replying To Jackeen:  "There's a lot of this sentiment around. Plus ça change."
Show off. I suppose you'll throw in a few words of Spanish when you come back, just to confuse us!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 08/09/2016 10:22:09    1911658

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Show off. I suppose you'll throw in a few words of Spanish when you come back, just to confuse us!"
Oh ye know us Dubs love a bitta showing off!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/09/2016 10:32:54    1911669

Great thread Liam.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/09/2016 12:26:21    1911768

You've all been had, lads and ladies.

http://hoganstand.com/Dublin/MessagePage.aspx?TopicID=98307&Latest=1#Latest

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/09/2016 12:38:54    1911775