9 Dubs forwards, would any not make the Mayo team?

Whatever about Moran but Aidan O Shea I would not have him anywhere near starting. What would he had that's missing? Been at the end of big long bog ball??? No interest there.

He is like O'Gara was a few years ago, just all about muscle and force, not too many bows to his string.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 07/09/2016 16:18:39    1911395

Replying To Brolly:  "Oh God, please let Mayo win this game."
This crash could be spectacular!!!

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 07/09/2016 16:43:31    1911407

Replying To witnof:  "Whatever about Moran but Aidan O Shea I would not have him anywhere near starting. What would he had that's missing? Been at the end of big long bog ball??? No interest there.

He is like O'Gara was a few years ago, just all about muscle and force, not too many bows to his string."
I think A O'S would be better than Flynn or Brogan.

He's also not the primary long ball option, Moran is.

I have to say there's a serious amount of blue tinted glasses going on here and maybe a bit of the Dublin players profiles being higher than Mayo's.

Mayo's forward line is a well functioning unit, you could plug in a lot of their players in to the Dublin forward line and not lose too much.

I think Kilkenny and Connolly are really the only ones absolutely head and shoulders above anything Mayo have.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 07/09/2016 16:46:24    1911411

Replying To witnof:  "Whatever about Moran but Aidan O Shea I would not have him anywhere near starting. What would he had that's missing? Been at the end of big long bog ball??? No interest there.

He is like O'Gara was a few years ago, just all about muscle and force, not too many bows to his string."
bbbbbbbbbooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!! Take that culchies!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/09/2016 16:53:47    1911414

Jesus! I wouldn't have gone there!

You could be eating those words on the 18th!!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 07/09/2016 16:59:34    1911418

Think we're begging for a slap in the face on the 18th here lads, look lets be honest, if Aidan O Shea, the O Connors maybe one or two others were from Dublin they would be involved in the set up. There is argument to be made for the O' Connors in my opinion.

Perhaps you have to look at it from a different perspective, Dublin have stength through out the team and a really strong panel, they can replenish forwards at will. If some of the Dublin players were playing in a team with a smaller panel and blessed with less quality in depth it may be a different story entirely. The likes of Alan Brogan spent the majority of his Dublin career not getting to finals in inferior Dublin teams until 2011. Bernard and Andrews equally have been on teams that have been hammered. After the hammering in 09 would we honestly have predicted that O Gara, Andrews and the Borgans be going for four all Irelands.

Dublin are blessed at the moment so lets just make hay and enjoy for it is.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/09/2016 17:03:11    1911421

Jaysus lads.

Calm down.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/09/2016 17:26:53    1911431

This thread should be printed and hung on the mayo team dressing room wall. I'd love to see this arrogance silenced on Sunday week. C'mon Mayo

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 07/09/2016 17:50:23    1911448

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "This will annoy a few no doubt Liamo ;)

In all honesty Brogan Kilkenny Connolly McMennamon on CURRENT FORM would walk into their team.

The rest of our forwards, starters and subs, there is a strong case to be made for each of them."
Brogan and Kilkenny were taken to the cleaners against Kerry. Are you saying that form would still get them there?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 07/09/2016 17:54:06    1911449

Replying To cavanman47:  "Jesus! I wouldn't have gone there!

You could be eating those words on the 18th!!"
Maybe Cavanman but I never rated Adian O'Shea, and I am still out on O'Gara. Physically no question they have the strength but you need more, and regardless of the injury O'Gara has gone down in the pecking order.

I have stated this before, if you are to open up Dublin then its with pace and people running at angles off shoulders. I would also question if O'Shea has the stamina, because as usual this game will be won from the 65th minute on.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 07/09/2016 18:22:15    1911466

Replying To Superglue:  "Brogan and Kilkenny were taken to the cleaners against Kerry. Are you saying that form would still get them there?"
Bernard Brogan the corner forward who kicked 2 from play in a game that was won by 2 was "taken to the cleaners" was he :) :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/09/2016 18:25:36    1911467

Replying To Superglue:  "Brogan and Kilkenny were taken to the cleaners against Kerry. Are you saying that form would still get them there?"
Brogan has only scored 1-9 this year and 1-4 of that came against a division 4 side. Brogan has been appalling this year and I saw on another website they are talking about him as a shoe in for an all star

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/09/2016 18:34:21    1911472

Replying To republican:  "This thread should be printed and hung on the mayo team dressing room wall. I'd love to see this arrogance silenced on Sunday week. C'mon Mayo"
It's like a great tune. Music to our ea

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 07/09/2016 19:40:44    1911492

Replying To TheUsername:  "Think we're begging for a slap in the face on the 18th here lads, look lets be honest, if Aidan O Shea, the O Connors maybe one or two others were from Dublin they would be involved in the set up. There is argument to be made for the O' Connors in my opinion.

Perhaps you have to look at it from a different perspective, Dublin have stength through out the team and a really strong panel, they can replenish forwards at will. If some of the Dublin players were playing in a team with a smaller panel and blessed with less quality in depth it may be a different story entirely. The likes of Alan Brogan spent the majority of his Dublin career not getting to finals in inferior Dublin teams until 2011. Bernard and Andrews equally have been on teams that have been hammered. After the hammering in 09 would we honestly have predicted that O Gara, Andrews and the Borgans be going for four all Irelands.

Dublin are blessed at the moment so lets just make hay and enjoy for it is."
A voice of reason in a thread of madness.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/09/2016 19:42:08    1911494

If all the Dublin forwards can manage to stay on the field if pressed and turned repeatedly, I'd be astonished. The € 12 billions question is whether Mayo can put them to the pin of their collar for most of the match.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 07/09/2016 20:22:13    1911507

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "bbbbbbbbbooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!! Take that culchies!!!

:)"
Ah, would that be one of the shining wits taking liberties, Reverend? What they need is the good book. It's as thick as they are.

One wonders how much support Dublin will have as and when they hit the doldrums again? It's easy to support success... but failure is a b*stard!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 07/09/2016 20:28:45    1911513

Replying To gotmilk:  "Brogan has only scored 1-9 this year and 1-4 of that came against a division 4 side. Brogan has been appalling this year and I saw on another website they are talking about him as a shoe in for an all star"
True but marking him leaves a hell of a lot of space, it's a game within a game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/09/2016 20:35:24    1911515

Replying To TheUsername:  "True but marking him leaves a hell of a lot of space, it's a game within a game."
You are right. Last year when I saw him in the flesh. His movement off the ball is excellent and he creates a lot of space for others to take advantage of. Look Brogan is a great player. He is one of the most lethal finishers I've ever seen but this year he has looked off the boil considerably. If it was any other player I think he would have been dropped for mannion, ogara or Andrews.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/09/2016 21:14:32    1911531

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "honestly ROC, it very hard to have this debate without sounding arrogant, but, they just wouldn't make the Dubs forwards.
They really wouldn't. DOC would bench alright but no chance he would start, and AOS and AM wouldn't be within an asses roar of the Dubs forwards.
If AOS was a Dub, he would be a MF'r. Andy Moran wouldn't make the panel anymore, sorry, but he wouldn't. COC is still young and would make the panel for sure, but wouldn't start.
Funnily, I think Mayos two best players are Colm Boyle and Lee Keegan yet if Dublin had all their players available and back fit, neither would get a game for me. McCarthy O'Sullivan McCaffrey is untouchable when all fit.
Keith Higgins is a supreme player, I dunno where I would play him but I would find somewhere."
That is why you are spending your time on Hoganstand playing fantasy manager rather than picking players for real teams getting ready for real matches .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 07/09/2016 21:42:53    1911545

Replying To gotmilk:  "You are right. Last year when I saw him in the flesh. His movement off the ball is excellent and he creates a lot of space for others to take advantage of. Look Brogan is a great player. He is one of the most lethal finishers I've ever seen but this year he has looked off the boil considerably. If it was any other player I think he would have been dropped for mannion, ogara or Andrews."
It's funny mate I think Dubs under appreciate Bernard to be honest, you think he's having a quiet game but then you tot up the scores he has remarkable consistecy. He's been quiet In the quater final and semi, I think that was more to do with Donegal and Kerry set ups then form. Donegal sucked up any space and Kerry sat pretty deep and Dublin had to run at them. It's funny I think his form is very good this year and he's playing well but just hasn't been getting the ball. Funnily enough I thought his poorest season was 2013, but he came to life in the final.

No way will he be dropped, there isn't another forward who can do what he does and is a as a big ga,e changer for Dublin and a leader on the pitch.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/09/2016 21:44:43    1911547