Music at the end of matches

Replying To unclegerry:  "It adds to the atmosphere for the winning team IMO. Whats the alternative? Silence?"
silence? the Mayo fans would be silent should the beat Dublin on the 18th??

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 08/09/2016 11:46:43    1911729

Why not contact GAA about it? - i did on monday
It isn't needless. - well if its not needless it must be needed - then please explain why is it needed
Fans wont make that much noise -they did on sunday i was mong them
and playing a song works well. - how does it work so well
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:641 - 07/09/2016 17:39:39
Fans will only make/be able to make such noise for a short period unless they all start singing/chanting the one song and that just wont happen. The song/music adds a lot to the atmosphere and it isn't really an issue
why is something needed - does it attract more fans to a game maybe
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:641 - 07/09/2016 17:41:09
Because it creates something when otherwise there would be less noise/volume.

ormond i also asked you If is doesnt make the winning players feel better or if the song is stupid (as you stated in a previous post) - then why play it -its needless
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:641 - 07/09/2016 17:44:48
How would I know if it makes players who win feel better? They most likely wont hear it or care. This isn't just in GAA. It happens in all sports and with good reason.

no it is not, i happen to believe defeated players deserve respect and playing the opposition team song the second the game is over is totally disrespectful in my view.
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:641 - 07/09/2016 17:57:11
You must like a very sheltered life if you think a song played over a PA is disrespectful to players who lose a game on the pitch.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/09/2016 11:51:08    1911734

The music played at Croker is generally annoying and totally unnecessary. Playing the script as Brendan Maher lifted the cup was a ridiculous decision and it really took away from the importance of the occassion. I'd have no issue with them playing a song for the winning county after the cup has been lifted and speeches are finished.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 08/09/2016 11:51:23    1911736

Because it creates something when otherwise there would be less noise/volume.

ormond are you really telling me that the tipp fans on sunday would have been not noisy after the game, again i have to ask you when clare won 95 and 97 and there was no music did the occasion need something then given they werent playing canned music

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/09/2016 12:14:05    1911753

ou must like a very sheltered life if you think a song played over a PA is disrespectful to players who lose a game on the pitch.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts:11830 - 08/09/2016 11:51:0

no i dont live a sheltered life - so please desist from personal insults

i just happen to believe that the losing players deserve better treatent - you obviously dont

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/09/2016 12:15:32    1911754

I'd have no issue with them playing a song for the winning county after the cup has been lifted and speeches are finished.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts:1258 - 08/09/2016 11:51:23 1911736

id agree with you on this - think it better old school when somebody sang it over the mike

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/09/2016 12:16:36    1911756

The music played in croke park is loud and not needed...seen loads of old and not so old putting their hands up to their ears....be playing high pitched noise soon to drive people out of the stadium as soon as possible so all the eastern European security guards can get onto their door security jobs..... ...you cant hear yourself think and if you did want to give a few roars or break into a song with fellow county people you haven't a hope...most of the people in that turn on this deafening music haven't a ounce of connection with the GAA fan on the ground.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 08/09/2016 13:17:41    1911807

Replying To janesboro:  "I was at the All Ireland finals yesterday while the matches were absolutely brilliant. There was one part of the occasion that i found to be in poor taste. At the end of both games the song of the winning county was blared over the tannoy (in both cases yesterday slievanamon). I have noticed this phenomenon in recent years at other all ireland series games, and i do not think it is right or fair to subject losing players to this.

Players are on the pitch in tears after being beaten having defeat rubbed in to them by whats played over the tannoy. Young lads of 17 and 18 years old having been beaten in the biggest game of their lives having the defeat rubbed in by playing slievenamon after the game (albeit not deliberately on anybodys part) It does not matter that it was my own beloved Limerick that were affected yesterday, if we had won and the same thing done to the Tipperary players it would be equally horrible. The GAA is a great organisation and does the vast majority of thing right ,but lets get rid of this music at the end of games. It adds nothing to the occasion.

One other small thing the minor lap of honour overlapped with the jubilee team presentation and they both took from each other - if possible and if time allows it might be no harm to delay the presentation by 5 - 10 minutes. Otherwise 2 great matches great day -well done tipp - just wonder we i ever see ourselves win it"
This is life they just have to accept loss , they will get a lot worse from fans of other counties than a little sing . No harm in a song.

If anything use it for inspiration. Mayo should have Molly Malone and Dublin in the rare auld times blaring during training sessions to remind them of the last time they heard it in croker

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 08/09/2016 13:37:11    1911825

Replying To hurler32:  "The music played in croke park is loud and not needed...seen loads of old and not so old putting their hands up to their ears....be playing high pitched noise soon to drive people out of the stadium as soon as possible so all the eastern European security guards can get onto their door security jobs..... ...you cant hear yourself think and if you did want to give a few roars or break into a song with fellow county people you haven't a hope...most of the people in that turn on this deafening music haven't a ounce of connection with the GAA fan on the ground."
Ah come off it. . .the speakers that the music plays from are on the front of the roof above the upper tier.

I've been on the top tiers, the bottom tiers and the hill/nally end and nowhere that I've been would I say it is too loud or "deafening". I talked over it and I've sang along to it.

Whether you agree with it being played or not is one thing, but it certainly is not too loud.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/09/2016 13:53:12    1911842

Replying To browncows:  "You are obviously more into the music than the hurling- I would have thought as a supporter winning is in orders of magnitude above anything else on the day. The point I have made previously is that it adds nothing to most attendees and it is not music irrespective of the song - it is just distorted sound which most of us call noise being blared thru a speaker at high volume. Music is for concerts/festivals/radio etc. and has little place at a football or hurling match"
Ah would ya go away out of that! So the Tipp players are more into the music than hurling so if they were singing it in the dressing room after the match? And the Clare lads playing an accordian in 2013?
Some amount of rubbish being spouted.
It adds to occasion.
It didn't hurt or offend me to hear the Rose of Mooncoin in 2014 and why would it.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/09/2016 14:58:45    1911882

The music played at Croker is generally annoying and totally unnecessary. Playing the script as Brendan Maher lifted the cup was a ridiculous decision and it really took away from the importance of the occassion. I'd have no issue with them playing a song for the winning county after the cup has been lifted and speeches are finished.
pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts:1258 - 08/09/2016 11:51:23
Playing the script or any other band/act isn't disrespectful or take away from Tupp winning. And speeches shouldn't happen at the trophy presentation. Let that occur to media or later on in the day. Its just so old fashioned..

ormond are you really telling me that the tipp fans on sunday would have been not noisy after the game, again i have to ask you when clare won 95 and 97 and there was no music did the occasion need something then given they werent playing canned music

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:645 - 08/09/2016 12:14:05
I said less not none. Tipp fans did make lots of noise after the game but they would have shouted for joy and unless a chant/song was started there wouldn't have been much noise so a song is very much needed.

you must like a very sheltered life if you think a song played over a PA is disrespectful to players who lose a game on the pitch.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts:11830 - 08/09/2016 11:51:0
no i dont live a sheltered life - so please desist from personal insults
i just happen to believe that the losing players deserve better treatent - you obviously dont
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:645 - 08/09/2016 12:15:32
You missed my point. Playing music at the end of the game isn't at all disrespectful to players who are on the losing team. They can still console with each other and the opposition can console with them.
What would you prefer as the GAA will want something and playing music allows for the atmosphere to continue.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/09/2016 16:03:35    1911925

What would you prefer as the GAA will want something and playing music allows for the atmosphere to continue.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts:11842 - 08/09/2016 16:03:35 1911925

i would prefer no music over the tannoys, re both finals sunday there was approx a 5 minute gap between the game ending and the presentation, so by the time the cheering has subsided its time to present the cup - and if the winning team wants to sing give them and work away , but not immediately after the game please

once again i have to ask you did either of clares all ireland victories in the 90s lack something because there was no music the second the game ended

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/09/2016 23:12:43    1912072

The music played in croke park is loud and not needed...seen loads of old and not so old putting their hands up to their ears....be playing high pitched noise soon to drive people out of the stadium as soon as possible so all the eastern European security guards can get onto their door security jobs..... ...you cant hear yourself think and if you did want to give a few roars or break into a song with fellow county people you haven't a hope...most of the people in that turn on this deafening music haven't a ounce of connection with the GAA fan on the ground.
hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts:694 - 08/09/2016 13:17:41
Jaysus. It isn't that loud. Yes some will find it an irritant but its not going to stop. You can still roar and shout but a roar/shout only lasts a few seconds and people then quieten up unless they are singing a song/chant. The music is better than just random noise from the crowd.

i would prefer no music over the tannoys, re both finals sunday there was approx a 5 minute gap between the game ending and the presentation, so by the time the cheering has subsided its time to present the cup - and if the winning team wants to sing give them and work away , but not immediately after the game please
once again i have to ask you did either of clares all ireland victories in the 90s lack something because there was no music the second the game ended
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:648 - 08/09/2016 23:12:43
Cheering wont last 3/4 minutes. A song played over PA is perfect for the end of the game. Fans can still chant and sing. Connacht when in last of their league games. The fans in the clan terrace were chanting "we are top of the league" "we are top of the league" and they could do that but that didn't stop music being played over PA straight after the final whistle.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/09/2016 11:35:10    1912184

ormondbannerman (Clare) - What the rugby or soccer folk do is of little interest to our discussion, maybe their games are so boring that the require loud music/noise to cheer them up!- maybe you are posting on the wrong tread. I would say that you are an expert at 'copy and paste' though

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/09/2016 11:59:25    1912197

Really really enjoy the music at the end .

I have not read any other posts but I really don't think it's cringe at all.

I know in 2012, it really added to the atmosphere .

Well done Croke Park on this .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 09/09/2016 12:15:02    1912204

What the rugby or soccer folk do is of little interest to our discussion, maybe their games are so boring that the require loud music/noise to cheer them up!- maybe you are posting on the wrong tread. I would say that you are an expert at 'copy and paste' though
browncows (Meath) - Posts:1142 - 09/09/2016 11:59:25
I don't see what is wrong with copying and pasting posts and emboldening other posts to differentiate those posts from my own,
What other sports do is very relevant to this discussion and no sports do it in relation to boredom.
And I was posting in the correct thread....

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/09/2016 14:11:05    1912254

once again ormond i have to ask you did either of clares all ireland victories in the 90s lack something because there was no music the second the game ended

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 09/09/2016 14:35:16    1912265

once again ormond i have to ask you did either of clares all ireland victories in the 90s lack something because there was no music the second the game ended
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:651 - 09/09/2016 14:35:16
different time and different era completely so irrelevant

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/09/2016 16:53:34    1912344

I agree with Janesboro. I don't mind the aong being played, it's nice it is the traditional county song but I also think that it is too soon to start playing it immediately after the final whistle. I'd leave it for a few minutes before playing it.
On a slightly related topic, I remember when they'd play a snippet of the county song when a player from that county was going up to pick up their all star on awards night. Now they play the same piece of pop music for all recipients. I think they shoul return to the old method. It would be nice to heat the chorus of Limerick You're A Lady being played nine times in 2017 on all stars night after our all Ireland victory

pj_mcmanus (Limerick) - Posts: 431 - 11/09/2016 13:58:24    1912741

Replying To pj_mcmanus:  "I agree with Janesboro. I don't mind the aong being played, it's nice it is the traditional county song but I also think that it is too soon to start playing it immediately after the final whistle. I'd leave it for a few minutes before playing it.
On a slightly related topic, I remember when they'd play a snippet of the county song when a player from that county was going up to pick up their all star on awards night. Now they play the same piece of pop music for all recipients. I think they shoul return to the old method. It would be nice to heat the chorus of Limerick You're A Lady being played nine times in 2017 on all stars night after our all Ireland victory"
Sure you could argue the same way songs are played for the All-Stars as the end of a game. Imagine you are a county player who played the best stuff of your life and they pick someone else for an All-Star in your spot and then they play the other county's song. Heartbreaking stuff. Maybe they could play it half an hour later when the player has left?

I'd like to believe everyone can see the sarcasm in this post and hypocrisy of the above post. It appears the Limerick boys are not happy county songs are played after a match, unless it's their own. I'd like to believe that the fact the player lost has more of a bearing on him than what's playing on the tannoy. Sure you argue it doesn't take away from the occasion if it's not played, it actually adds to the occasion when it is played and your county wins.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 12/09/2016 16:21:25    1913161