Interesting picture from Sunday's game

Replying To DancingSeany:  "Jaysus ye dubs are the worst winners ive ever seen..can ye not let kerry deal with the defeat without bringing up any more rubbish topics. None of the players..management or ex Kerry players have made any excuse about Sunday.

Very childish stuff but the dubs true arrogant disrespectful behaviour is being shown in full light.. It's a surprise as most of the dubs after the game were very gracious in defeat."
Very childish stuff but the dubs true arrogant disrespectful behaviour is being shown in full light.. It's a surprise as most of the dubs after the game were very gracious in defeat.

Sorry, I don't mean to be smart but that is a blatant contradiction right there. I don't quite get your point.

Anyway, have you seen the attempts to smear the ref's good name? Did you see members of Kerry's backroom team yelling at the ref as he left the pitch? what about the abuse of those who hurled bottles, spat at and abused him. I have Kerry relations and the whinging and the whining is pathetic. Kerry fans are lovely when they're winning but by Jesus they are very, very sore losers. When you see facebook campaigns circulating photos purporting to show Gough as a Dublin fan and when your phone is full off smart arsed texts from relations about Favouritism shown towards the Dubs it's very hard not to conclude that a fair cohort of Kerry fans have a real difficulty accepting that just perhaps they were beaten by the better team. They must have nothing to do but concoct conspiracy theories. They always have an excuse. As I said before, they had no issues with the GAA when the second semi-final replay was held in LImerick in 2014 nor had they any issue with referee Cormac REilly, I wonder why?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 01/09/2016 17:45:52    1909242

Replying To avonali:  "Very childish stuff but the dubs true arrogant disrespectful behaviour is being shown in full light.. It's a surprise as most of the dubs after the game were very gracious in defeat.

Sorry, I don't mean to be smart but that is a blatant contradiction right there. I don't quite get your point.

Anyway, have you seen the attempts to smear the ref's good name? Did you see members of Kerry's backroom team yelling at the ref as he left the pitch? what about the abuse of those who hurled bottles, spat at and abused him. I have Kerry relations and the whinging and the whining is pathetic. Kerry fans are lovely when they're winning but by Jesus they are very, very sore losers. When you see facebook campaigns circulating photos purporting to show Gough as a Dublin fan and when your phone is full off smart arsed texts from relations about Favouritism shown towards the Dubs it's very hard not to conclude that a fair cohort of Kerry fans have a real difficulty accepting that just perhaps they were beaten by the better team. They must have nothing to do but concoct conspiracy theories. They always have an excuse. As I said before, they had no issues with the GAA when the second semi-final replay was held in LImerick in 2014 nor had they any issue with referee Cormac REilly, I wonder why?"
I'm going by what I have witnessed from players..management and ex Kerry players and pundits who have commented on the game in the last few days. I have seen very few who have said anything other then Dublin deserved to win.

You can go and point out comments and things said on here all you want but we can all do that. What I've seen on here is bad winners..threads created complaining about the Kerry seconds goal and how much of sore losers we are..and only a few days after a big defeat. Really classy

DancingSeany (UK) - Posts: 32 - 01/09/2016 18:23:43    1909256

Replying To DancingSeany:  "
Replying To avonali:  "Very childish stuff but the dubs true arrogant disrespectful behaviour is being shown in full light.. It's a surprise as most of the dubs after the game were very gracious in defeat.

Anyway, have you seen the attempts to smear the ref's good name? Did you see members of Kerry's backroom team yelling at the ref as he left the pitch? what about the abuse of those who hurled bottles, spat at and abused him. I have Kerry relations and the whinging and the whining is pathetic. Kerry fans are lovely when they're winning but by Jesus they are very, very sore losers. When you see facebook campaigns circulating photos purporting to show Gough as a Dublin fan and when your phone is full off smart arsed texts from relations about Favouritism shown towards the Dubs it's very hard not to conclude that a fair cohort of Kerry fans have a real difficulty accepting that just perhaps they were beaten by the better team. They must have nothing to do but concoct conspiracy theories. They always have an excuse. As I said before, they had no issues with the GAA when the second semi-final replay was held in LImerick in 2014 nor had they any issue with referee Cormac REilly, I wonder why?"
I'm going by what I have witnessed from players..management and ex Kerry players and pundits who have commented on the game in the last few days. I have seen very few who have said anything other then Dublin deserved to win.

You can go and point out comments and things said on here all you want but we can all do that. What I've seen on here is bad winners..threads created complaining about the Kerry seconds goal and how much of sore losers we are..and only a few days after a big defeat. Really classy"
I'm sure the irony won't be lost on you. You give out about Dublin being sore winners but then you call their fans childish, arrogant and disrespectful. So you have effectively resorted to name calling and an attempt to slur all Dublin fans to make a point about them being sore winners.

My own view is that the game is over. I honestly couldn't care less what Kerry fans say or think. They are history for this year. I think it's sad to see some so called neutrals whinging about the referee when really an official that was spat at and had bottles thrown at him probably needs people in the game to support him. Dublin have done their talking. They don't need their egos massaged, their record speaks for itself. The game is over. Move on.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2016 22:04:15    1909327

Replying To bennybunny:  "What do you want him to say? Do you want him to fawn over ye?

why don't you point out the sentence where Bryan Sheehan clearly states that Dublin did not deserve to win the games."
I don't want him to do anything but you can't come on here saying Kerry take their beatens and don't make excuses when their captain came out with one for each of three championship defeats that's all.
No need to be smart with fawning malarkey man didn't think you were like that.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2016 23:50:03    1909348

Don't know who's whinging about second goal as i had clear view of it from where was standing and it was a perfectly clear goal. I also thaught the ref was spot on with most of his decisions.
the 45 that the red overturned was correct the defender blocked mcmannomans point effort. Also I thaught he was consistent in the overcarrying rule blowing James McCarthy for that first free for Kerry to start the comeback.
plus he also was conistent in the last couple of minutes allowing o mahonys big challenge on Philly McMahon and then allowing mcmannomans big challenge on Crowley so whatever whinging I have seen from people about that macker challenge they don't seem to even remember o mahonys same tackle only before it.
the one thing you ask from a red is consistency and for me that's what he did

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2016 00:00:21    1909349

Get over yourselves lads, the auld sowing factory is in full swing again :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 02/09/2016 00:53:57    1909354

Posters the Kev Mac Aidan O Mahoney 45 was it or wasn't , well it was 100% the right call I was right in line with that in the lower hogan and O Mahoney blocked the hand pass, also Hill I disagree I thought the McCarthy over carrying free was extremely harsh, both shoulders were stone wall frees.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/09/2016 11:10:20    1909409

It amuses me that we often see frees brought forward because of players protesting the decision, yet we often hear it said 'ah it must have been a penalty' etc because the players didn't protest, eg someone said it must have been a goal because Cluxton didn't even protest, seems your damned if you and damned if you don't.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 02/09/2016 13:22:14    1909453

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I don't want him to do anything but you can't come on here saying Kerry take their beatens and don't make excuses when their captain came out with one for each of three championship defeats that's all.
No need to be smart with fawning malarkey man didn't think you were like that."
Its the Kerry captain's role to look at their performance and see how they might win the next game. If you expect them to do anything more than congratulate Dublin on their victory (which they have done), then you are expecting too much. I would hope those players would be sore losers. If you are training all year and you lose, you had better be sore about it. The question is whether they are gracious or not - and whatever, the actions of a handful of fans and the comments of a few on here we can say for certain that the vast majority are gracious.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/09/2016 14:35:46    1909480

Replying To TheHermit:  "You know there's a way you conduct yourself in victory as well as defeat that tells a lot.

For example setting up this topic and as justification posting up a photo of Walsh with his mouth open to Cluxton.

I suppose from your vantage point you missed the dirty stroke Small pulled as he was being substituted at the same time as Donaghy was coming off? Classy stuff, I was three rows behind the Dublin subs and everyone around us saw it as clear as day.

But I suppose you don't want to talk about that sort of thing do you? It wouldn't sit well with the whole heroic Dublin and evil Kerry theme you want to indulge today.

You won the game, we lost. We accept our defeat and we go home and lick our wounds for the winter ahead.

When we win we don't spend a week on here posting up gloating threads and when we lose we don't come on here b*tching to all and sundry.

In the aftermath of Sunday's game we could be on here starting topics about referee selections, decisions, Dublin's 'Dark Arts' etc etc but we don't.

We don't because we are Kerry people and we know that in the grand scheme of things you win some and you lose some but there's always another game, another championship, another All-Ireland down the road.

So Waynol why don't you grow up, be grateful you have a great team to support at the moment and be a bit gracious in victory."
We don't because we are Kerry people and we know that in the grand scheme of things you win some and you lose some but there's always another game, another championship, another All-Ireland down the road.

Yea right yea just take it out on the ref !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/09/2016 19:04:29    1909542

TheHermit I wouldn't be one to gloat myself but I do believe in calling out no matter what, whether that be Dublin or other county behaviour. Kerry people are in no position to preach good sportsmanship for many reasons, least of which was the sledging of Cluxton or the strangulation of Johnny Cooper. Kerry fans behaved disgracefully in the Lower Cusack on Sunday. I didn't realise how bad it was until I spoke to a fellow Dub today who was unfortunate enough to be seated in the section right beside the Kerry crowd. He was in row G and his kid got clocked on the shoulder with a bottle. The reports are timid by all accounts. As for Donaghy, to be honest is there anybody who would have sympathy with him? He was in the referee's face on every decision, let's forget the punch on Philly and Cooper treatment. Philly got a yellow for having words with an umpire yet "star" can mouth all day it seems. What's done is done. Move on pal and distance yourself from the embarrassing referee whinging.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/09/2016 20:40:42    1909553

Fair dues to D Walsh... Now I know why Cluxton sh*t himself 4 da 15 mins b4 half time!!!
Jasus lads anyone who thinks that pic is an example of da dark arts hasn't played a whole lot..

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 02/09/2016 22:29:34    1909568

Replying To Joxer:  "TheHermit I wouldn't be one to gloat myself but I do believe in calling out no matter what, whether that be Dublin or other county behaviour. Kerry people are in no position to preach good sportsmanship for many reasons, least of which was the sledging of Cluxton or the strangulation of Johnny Cooper. Kerry fans behaved disgracefully in the Lower Cusack on Sunday. I didn't realise how bad it was until I spoke to a fellow Dub today who was unfortunate enough to be seated in the section right beside the Kerry crowd. He was in row G and his kid got clocked on the shoulder with a bottle. The reports are timid by all accounts. As for Donaghy, to be honest is there anybody who would have sympathy with him? He was in the referee's face on every decision, let's forget the punch on Philly and Cooper treatment. Philly got a yellow for having words with an umpire yet "star" can mouth all day it seems. What's done is done. Move on pal and distance yourself from the embarrassing referee whinging."
Joxer you hardly think that I would condone that behavior by those Kerry 'fans'. I was in the lower hogan so personally I did not see anything but if the scenes you describe are accurate that its not right, not right at all regardless of what happened out on the pitch.

I do think Gough made a few bad calls in the last quarter of the game which could have denied Kerry a couple of points and I can see where the frustration of him comes from for Kerry supporters. BUT nothing justifies what you said happened.

As I wrote elsewhere Kerry had 3-4 scoring opportunities over the final few minutes which they didn't take and ultimately that's what cost them the game. Gough giving a free here or there should not have mattered.

My original post was simply stating that this topic smacks of gloating.

I didn't think Sunday was in the least a dirty match, some niggles happened of course but that is par for the course in any big GAA match these days. But Joxer are you really trying to tell me that Dublin players don't carry on just like Kerry players in this regard?

While I am disgusted by the actions of those morons in the upper Cusack last Sunday there's been plenty of cases of such things from 'fan's from many other counties down the years.

Look at how some Mayo 'fans' tried to get at the ref as he was coming off down in Limerick 2 years ago. The Sunday game highlighted footage of the Gaurds having to knock a few of them on their asses.

What about the actions of some Louth 'fans' in 2010?

I was in the Nally terrace for a Kerry/Dublin game was the Semi in 2007 and when the match was over plastic bottles full of liquid where thrown from the back by Dublin fans on a group of Kerry supporters below me as they were walking out.

There are idiots everywhere, I have no illusions some of them support Kerry. I was in Killarney that day in 2006 when some of those cowards thought it was acceptable to heckle a player like Declan O'Sullivan coming off the pitch because he had lost a bit of form.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/09/2016 11:23:29    1909625

Replying To TheHermit:  "Joxer you hardly think that I would condone that behavior by those Kerry 'fans'. I was in the lower hogan so personally I did not see anything but if the scenes you describe are accurate that its not right, not right at all regardless of what happened out on the pitch.

I do think Gough made a few bad calls in the last quarter of the game which could have denied Kerry a couple of points and I can see where the frustration of him comes from for Kerry supporters. BUT nothing justifies what you said happened.

As I wrote elsewhere Kerry had 3-4 scoring opportunities over the final few minutes which they didn't take and ultimately that's what cost them the game. Gough giving a free here or there should not have mattered.

My original post was simply stating that this topic smacks of gloating.

I didn't think Sunday was in the least a dirty match, some niggles happened of course but that is par for the course in any big GAA match these days. But Joxer are you really trying to tell me that Dublin players don't carry on just like Kerry players in this regard?

While I am disgusted by the actions of those morons in the upper Cusack last Sunday there's been plenty of cases of such things from 'fan's from many other counties down the years.

Look at how some Mayo 'fans' tried to get at the ref as he was coming off down in Limerick 2 years ago. The Sunday game highlighted footage of the Gaurds having to knock a few of them on their asses.

What about the actions of some Louth 'fans' in 2010?

I was in the Nally terrace for a Kerry/Dublin game was the Semi in 2007 and when the match was over plastic bottles full of liquid where thrown from the back by Dublin fans on a group of Kerry supporters below me as they were walking out.

There are idiots everywhere, I have no illusions some of them support Kerry. I was in Killarney that day in 2006 when some of those cowards thought it was acceptable to heckle a player like Declan O'Sullivan coming off the pitch because he had lost a bit of form."
I wouldn't argue with any of that Hermit. As a matter of interest, what soft frees do you think Dublin got in the last quarter? I've heard a few Kerry people say this yet none have given examples. These things usually even themselves out. Kerry got a crucial point in the first when James McCarthy was incorrectly called for over-carrying. I thought Dublin got one in the second, I think a foul on EOG that could have been let go.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/09/2016 12:10:19    1909634

Replying To Joxer:  "I wouldn't argue with any of that Hermit. As a matter of interest, what soft frees do you think Dublin got in the last quarter? I've heard a few Kerry people say this yet none have given examples. These things usually even themselves out. Kerry got a crucial point in the first when James McCarthy was incorrectly called for over-carrying. I thought Dublin got one in the second, I think a foul on EOG that could have been let go."
I don't think Dublin particularly got many soft free's more that Kerry did not get a couple of calls that should have been frees.

The 45 seemed to be a strange call, which is what a lot of Kerry people have highlighted.

To be honest I still havn't brought myself to sit down and rewatch the match in its entirety. I'm only remembering what I saw on the day itself so I'm not going to pretend I can point to each specific incident and call whether the ref was right or wrong. It's only my opinion from being there on the day.

As I said I thought he was wrong about the Crowley call but we should have still been a couple of points up if we had taken our chances regardless.

It's done and dusted now. We gave it a good rattle. The Kerry team of old would have probably won that match, but we aren't as strong as we once were, though we are still a damn decent side.

I just wish some people could be a bit more gracious to Kerry when we lose.

IMO just in the last 3 years we've been involved in 3 of greatest matches of the modern era, 2013, replay in 2014 and Sunday.

We went out each time to play football and if we lost at least we died with our boots on. That's the Kerry way.

We give people a lot of great entertainment, you'd just want people to be grateful once and a while!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/09/2016 14:01:08    1909664

Replying To TheHermit:  "I don't think Dublin particularly got many soft free's more that Kerry did not get a couple of calls that should have been frees.

The 45 seemed to be a strange call, which is what a lot of Kerry people have highlighted.

To be honest I still havn't brought myself to sit down and rewatch the match in its entirety. I'm only remembering what I saw on the day itself so I'm not going to pretend I can point to each specific incident and call whether the ref was right or wrong. It's only my opinion from being there on the day.

As I said I thought he was wrong about the Crowley call but we should have still been a couple of points up if we had taken our chances regardless.

It's done and dusted now. We gave it a good rattle. The Kerry team of old would have probably won that match, but we aren't as strong as we once were, though we are still a damn decent side.

I just wish some people could be a bit more gracious to Kerry when we lose.

IMO just in the last 3 years we've been involved in 3 of greatest matches of the modern era, 2013, replay in 2014 and Sunday.

We went out each time to play football and if we lost at least we died with our boots on. That's the Kerry way.

We give people a lot of great entertainment, you'd just want people to be grateful once and a while!"
They have been fantastic clashes and I'm not saying that because Dublin won them but they have been so close, fiercely fought with some great football. When BJK hit that point off his right on Sunday I thought we were gonners but Dermo responded with his own beaut. 3 totanic clashes in the last 5 years that have gone right to the wire. We've been privileged to see these teams duke it out alright.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/09/2016 15:55:04    1909694