New camera angle confirms it was a goal?

Ohhhhh yes it is!!.......................

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/09/2016 15:43:37    1909195

Just on stills and cameras etc.

Last year Aidan O'Se said Philly McMahon headbutted him. The RTE footage showed clearly Philly headbutted him. The next day video footage from wa reverse angle showed O'Se grabbing Phillys shirt dragging him towards himself and pretending to be headbutted.

Im using that incident as a case where we all definately saw a headbutt on tv, only to be completely wrong seeing the incident from another angle.

So about the goal, I think that angle is really ambiguous. The bigger question is why doesnt hawkeye do the goalline.....the gaa are paying a fortune for it!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/09/2016 16:19:28    1909213

No wonder innocent folks are sent to jail every year with the likes of some of ye sitting on the Jury!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/09/2016 16:24:51    1909215

Replying To jimbodub:  "I think you are right to have you doubts about it being across the line, but you shouldn't be so certain it wasn't a goal because that photo doesn't prove it either way

That's my whole point

It was a massive 50/50 decision worth 3 points to Kerry

The biggest 50/50 call of the day"
We'll give us the goal.. Ye won by 5 then instead of 2 points..what ffing difference does it make now.

Hilarious to see threads on Kerry being bad losers when there hasn't been much said from them and the dubs on here all week complaining about everything. Worst winners ive seen in a long time

DancingSeany (UK) - Posts: 32 - 01/09/2016 16:51:42    1909225

Replying To DancingSeany:  "We'll give us the goal.. Ye won by 5 then instead of 2 points..what ffing difference does it make now.

Hilarious to see threads on Kerry being bad losers when there hasn't been much said from them and the dubs on here all week complaining about everything. Worst winners ive seen in a long time"
Couldn't have said it better myself.
What a crowd! Want everything their way they do.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 01/09/2016 20:14:02    1909290

Think it was a goal alright.Also think Dublin were the better team last Sunday.That's Fitzmaurice's problem.Dublin have a better team than Kerry at the moment. It might be very different in a few year's time.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2171 - 01/09/2016 20:27:05    1909293

I've done nothing but put forward a coherent argument based on the facts

I don't care if that rubs up some posters the wrong way

It was a highly debatable decision which wasn't getting the adequate attention it deserved considering the reaction that some other 50/50 decisions were getting

But unfortunately it's the empty vessels that make the most noise.

Bemoaning 50/50 calls while profiting greatly from the biggest one in the game!

This is the sort of nonsense that should be highlighted

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/09/2016 07:59:24    1909359

Replying To rebelfan:  "if u look at the ball and the goal line, there clearly in line with each other, it wasnt a goal, remember the ball has to be fully behind the line to be a goal"
We cannot say it was not a goal on the basis of this picture as it does not show definitively whether the ball actually went further into the net or not

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 02/09/2016 09:00:35    1909368

Jimbo, sometimes its just best to quit while you're ahead though mate
I get what you're saying, it's a tight call, there's no 100% proof that concludes it's a definite goal but I would say that as far as 'over the line' calls go, I'd be swaying more towards the yes side. You've made some good points to counter it.

Is it a debatable topic, yeah, is it worth debating it to death, no

Lets move on, come on, Dubs going for 2 in a row, Mayo going for their first in 65 years, much better things to be talking about on the board for the next few weeks

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 02/09/2016 10:25:13    1909394

Replying To keithlemon:  "Jimbo, sometimes its just best to quit while you're ahead though mate
I get what you're saying, it's a tight call, there's no 100% proof that concludes it's a definite goal but I would say that as far as 'over the line' calls go, I'd be swaying more towards the yes side. You've made some good points to counter it.

Lets move on, come on, Dubs going for 2 in a row, Mayo going for their first in 65 years, much better things to be talking about on the board for the next few weeks"
Howya KeithLemon

I was only responding to a couple of lax supposed smart arse posts

But you're right

That's the end of it now

Good post.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/09/2016 10:39:51    1909400

Replying To keithlemon:  "Jimbo, sometimes its just best to quit while you're ahead though mate

Lets move on, come on, Dubs going for 2 in a row, Mayo going for their first in 65 years, much better things to be talking about on the board for the next few weeks"
Howya KeithLemon

I was only responding to a couple of lax supposed smart arse posts

But you're right

That's the end of it now

Good post.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/09/2016 10:39:55    1909401

Whole ball over the line? Not conclusive from those pics. One post would block the view of the other post if the pic was taken directly in line with the goal line. Also the umpire who was so sure should have been looking form the other side of the post to see if it actually fully crossed the line, but he bent his head around to look in from the outside so to speak.
No proof of whether it was or whether it was not.
Just as well we won , or this could have been a very hot topic!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 03/09/2016 00:31:04    1909586