New camera angle confirms it was a goal?

Lads I've watched the match back several times & I've yet to see a handy free for either team. All were fouls. Philly booked for mouthing at the ref but AOM wasn't. Costello black carded rightly but JOD wasnt for his pull down on CK. Both happened at the same time. Enright should have gone for taking Brogan down when in on goal too. Had Gough given AOM yellow for.his challenge on Philly he would have been off on a second yellow. Gamechanger! Just because KevMc challenge happened at a crucial point in the game doesnt mean he should have gotten penalised for the same tackle that happened earlier. The ref was consistent. Can Kerry lads not accept they got decisions too that may have changed the game?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2016 14:55:44    1908143

Replying To Jackeen:  "Lads I've watched the match back several times & I've yet to see a handy free for either team. All were fouls. Philly booked for mouthing at the ref but AOM wasn't. Costello black carded rightly but JOD wasnt for his pull down on CK. Both happened at the same time. Enright should have gone for taking Brogan down when in on goal too. Had Gough given AOM yellow for.his challenge on Philly he would have been off on a second yellow. Gamechanger! Just because KevMc challenge happened at a crucial point in the game doesnt mean he should have gotten penalised for the same tackle that happened earlier. The ref was consistent. Can Kerry lads not accept they got decisions too that may have changed the game?"
Obviously not, and neither can quite a few others from various counties

They want that to be the narrative while ignoring several glaringly accurate rebuttals

No doubt whatsoever

Kerry got the biggest 50/50 call of the game from a dodgy umpire with a partial view of the ball, that was nowhere near the required angle to give an accurate call.

"He was well positioned"

My hoop he was. :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 30/08/2016 15:14:27    1908153

Dubs would want to start looking forward to the final an forget the bickering about decisions last weekend. As I see it a very average Kerry team came to croker last sun an dismantled the dubs for 15 mins...Mayo should be physically capable of sustaining that kerry effort for at least a full half...dubs will have their work cut out for them in the final I think.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 30/08/2016 15:21:24    1908157

Replying To Jackeen:  "Lads I've watched the match back several times & I've yet to see a handy free for either team. All were fouls. Philly booked for mouthing at the ref but AOM wasn't. Costello black carded rightly but JOD wasnt for his pull down on CK. Both happened at the same time. Enright should have gone for taking Brogan down when in on goal too. Had Gough given AOM yellow for.his challenge on Philly he would have been off on a second yellow. Gamechanger! Just because KevMc challenge happened at a crucial point in the game doesnt mean he should have gotten penalised for the same tackle that happened earlier. The ref was consistent. Can Kerry lads not accept they got decisions too that may have changed the game?"
+1. Great post but you're talking FAR too much sense there Jackeen!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 30/08/2016 15:36:11    1908168

Replying To blacknamber:  "Dubs would want to start looking forward to the final an forget the bickering about decisions last weekend. As I see it a very average Kerry team came to croker last sun an dismantled the dubs for 15 mins...Mayo should be physically capable of sustaining that kerry effort for at least a full half...dubs will have their work cut out for them in the final I think."
At least a full half? A whole half?! Yet we could be in trouble? Surely Mayo would need to be able to perform for more than 'at least a whole half' to trouble Dublin?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 30/08/2016 15:41:42    1908175

Replying To blacknamber:  "Dubs would want to start looking forward to the final an forget the bickering about decisions last weekend. As I see it a very average Kerry team came to croker last sun an dismantled the dubs for 15 mins...Mayo should be physically capable of sustaining that kerry effort for at least a full half...dubs will have their work cut out for them in the final I think."
The problem is its not a 15 minute game!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2016 15:45:41    1908178

Replying To CroiGorm:  "At least a full half? A whole half?! Yet we could be in trouble? Surely Mayo would need to be able to perform for more than 'at least a whole half' to trouble Dublin?"
Dubs outplayed Kerry for 70 mins n last years final an won by 3. Outplayed Kerry for 60 mins last sun an won by 2. If they dominate for 35 mins in the final they'll b doing well an Mayo have a huge opportunity I think. If I was a dub I'd be more concerned with the form of p Flynn an mdma that the free count from last Sunday's game.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 30/08/2016 16:34:36    1908205

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sorry Condorman

But how on earth do you know it was a goal?

To be so certain of something which is so uncertain

"Don't be daft" is right."
Heres how I know it was a goal,
Reason 1. I had a pretty good view of it myself.
Reason 2.the Umpire had a better view and he reached for the green flag IMMEDIATELY .
Reason 3.I saw the papers yesterday they report the match score Dublin 22pts Kerry 2-14.
Alright?

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 30/08/2016 16:35:36    1908207

We are all quick to blame officials when they get things wrong but I have to congratulate the umpire in this case, when he saw the ball coming towards Cluxton he positioned himself in the perfect place to be able to judge whether it was a goal or not. He was spot on in what he done not like some umpires who are standing behind the goal watching seagulls flying around instead of watching the flight of the ball. Well done to that offical

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 30/08/2016 23:38:46    1908457

Replying To jimbodub:  "Obviously not, and neither can quite a few others from various counties

They want that to be the narrative while ignoring several glaringly accurate rebuttals

No doubt whatsoever

Kerry got the biggest 50/50 call of the game from a dodgy umpire with a partial view of the ball, that was nowhere near the required angle to give an accurate call.

"He was well positioned"

My hoop he was. :)"
It does seem that some dubs on here instead of concentrating on the excellence of their team are looking for something no matter how daft to moan at whether a goal been correctly given or mayo correctly getting tickets for the hill three years ago.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 31/08/2016 01:00:06    1908470

Replying To Condorman:  "Heres how I know it was a goal,
Reason 1. I had a pretty good view of it myself.
Reason 2.the Umpire had a better view and he reached for the green flag IMMEDIATELY .
Reason 3.I saw the papers yesterday they report the match score Dublin 22pts Kerry 2-14.
Alright?"
Point 1:

So did I - it looked 50/50 and there was no way I could tell if it was in or not from that sort of distance, for a goal to be given the entire ball has to be over the line, there is no way of judging that accurately from distance

Point 2:

He wasn't well positioned to give the goal, the umpire that was closer to the incident with no Dublin player blocking his view didn't have a clue if it went in, for the umpire to be in a good position to accurately judge if that went over the line, he would have had to be looking straight across the goal line, not moving 3 foot in front of the line while trying to look around Cluxton, who was partially blocking his view of the incident, the same umpire proved he was prone to human error a further two times in the same game.

It was no doubt a 50/50 call.. that many umpire would not have made, and going on every possible angle of the incident there is no clear cut answer if it went in or not, and the positioning of the umpire that awarded the goal is very questionable indeed.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 01/09/2016 10:55:07    1909009

"It was no doubt a 50/50 call.. that many umpire would not have made, and going on every possible angle of the incident there is no clear cut answer if it went in or not"

Nonsense. Take a look at the photo at this link and tell me what part of 'behind the shagging line' do you not understand:

http://certaingoal.blogspot.co.uk/

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 01/09/2016 11:20:47    1909029

Replying To essmac:  ""It was no doubt a 50/50 call.. that many umpire would not have made, and going on every possible angle of the incident there is no clear cut answer if it went in or not"

Nonsense. Take a look at the photo at this link and tell me what part of 'behind the shagging line' do you not understand:

if" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://certaingoal.blogspot.co.uk/"
if u look at the ball and the goal line, there clearly in line with each other, it wasnt a goal, remember the ball has to be fully behind the line to be a goal

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts: 70 - 01/09/2016 11:35:37    1909047

[url=]http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-get-their-neck-in-front-in-the-nick-of-time-1.2771129

I think the picture clearly shows a goal.

The sub argument about whether the linesman had a clear view of it or not, he could see enough of the side of the ball closest to the goal line to deem it over. You can see his face just to the pitch side of the diving cluxton.

But if you squint hard enough, you could say that the umpire's face was supporters in the cussack stand. It's up to you guys to make up your minds on this issue and nothing else.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/09/2016 11:36:49    1909050

Replying To essmac:  ""It was no doubt a 50/50 call.. that many umpire would not have made, and going on every possible angle of the incident there is no clear cut answer if it went in or not"

I'm" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://certaingoal.blogspot.co.uk/"
I'm not trying to have a pop but the camera is behind the goal line

From that photo it is 100% uncertain if the ball crossed the line

The only way to determine that accurately is from above or from the side

That photo does not prove anything, apart from proving the umpires view was partially blocked and he was in a poor position to judge if it crossed the line by standing in front of the ball and away from the goal line view across the goal

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 01/09/2016 12:10:25    1909071

Replying To rebelfan:  "if u look at the ball and the goal line, there clearly in line with each other, it wasnt a goal, remember the ball has to be fully behind the line to be a goal"
I think you are right to have you doubts about it being across the line, but you shouldn't be so certain it wasn't a goal because that photo doesn't prove it either way

That's my whole point

It was a massive 50/50 decision worth 3 points to Kerry

The biggest 50/50 call of the day

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 01/09/2016 12:14:07    1909072

Lying is a very harsh word for having an opinion on a sporting issue, that had ultimately no consequence on the outcome of the game. would mistaken not be a better choice of word?

That picture shows the ball is over the line, whatever way you dress it up.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/09/2016 12:54:59    1909096

Replying To jimbodub:  "Proves nothing

The camera is behind the goal

The only way to prove it was across the line is from above or a side view of the goal line

All that photo does prove is that the umpire that gave the goal had only a partial view of a very difficult call, making his decision even more questionable

Sorry but that proves nothing and it's not the first time its been posted by someone claiming to be so sure

silliness of the highest order."
Draw an imaginary line between the far post through the outside of the ball...that'll give you a definite answer fairly quickly!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/09/2016 12:56:04    1909097

Replying To Donegalman:  "Lying is a very harsh word for having an opinion on a sporting issue, that had ultimately no consequence on the outcome of the game. would mistaken not be a better choice of word?

That picture shows the ball is over the line, whatever way you dress it up."
No it doesn't.

I thought it was over the line at the time. The umpire was in a great position to be fair to him.

However that photo in no way shows all the ball over all of the line.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 01/09/2016 13:16:15    1909108