Dublin v Mayo - All Ireland Football Final 2016

Great win for Dublin which I think cements them as the best Dublin team of all time. Commiserations to Mayo, put in a massive effort this year and fair play to them. Thought dubs were blessed the first day but better team won today. Black card needs to go and be replaced with a 5 minute sin bin, terrible to see players who give so much from both counties forced off the field needlessly

Beepee (Dublin) - Posts: 17 - 01/10/2016 20:32:09    1921200

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Mayo and all their players have got to stick with it for 2017.

They have a great chance next year in my opinion

2017 is a big chance for them, Dublin are the only team that are better than them and as great as they I can't see Dublin being able to keep this up , they look physically and mentally exhausted from the last few years.Kerry,Cork and Ulster (as a whole) are all in transition.

I'd make them joint favourites with Dublin for next years all ireland, they just desperately nee to work on there forward play and find out where Aidan O'Shea has to play to get the best out of him."
Dublin do look a tired team.Full of quality of course but their star players were not at their best over the two games.If Dublin are to do three in a row,Jim Gavin who's a great Manager will have to rest players during the League and give lads like Cormac Costello a starting berth.Dublin have won 4 Leagues in a row but they need to take the foot off the gas for the League next Spring and recharge tired batteries and be ready for the Summer.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2168 - 01/10/2016 20:32:12    1921201

It didn't matter what goalkeeper Mayo played, Dublin would still have won. They missed a chance to bring it to extra time in the last minute with a free and got another extra minute after that also - not good enough and very unfair to blame the goalkeeper for the loss.

ustream (Galway) - Posts: 66 - 01/10/2016 20:38:13    1921209

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "The mods night let me post this time, I thought the ref had a bad game and his decisions favoured Mayo,is that pc enough for ye??
best team won, delighted for Dublin,
Up the Dubs!!"
a miserable, bitter sour donegal man who knows his county wont win an All-Ireland again

Panunipa (Mayo) - Posts: 103 - 01/10/2016 20:41:12    1921212

Replying To endgame:  "Dublin do look a tired team.Full of quality of course but their star players were not at their best over the two games.If Dublin are to do three in a row,Jim Gavin who's a great Manager will have to rest players during the League and give lads like Cormac Costello a starting berth.Dublin have won 4 Leagues in a row but they need to take the foot off the gas for the League next Spring and recharge tired batteries and be ready for the Summer."
I'd agree with that, feck the league, blood the up and coming lads.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 01/10/2016 20:42:51    1921214

Replying To ustream:  "It didn't matter what goalkeeper Mayo played, Dublin would still have won. They missed a chance to bring it to extra time in the last minute with a free and got another extra minute after that also - not good enough and very unfair to blame the goalkeeper for the loss."
To be fair most people are pointing the finger at the manager for selecting the keeper for the replay. In a game between 2 very closely matched sides that really tipped the balance. The better team won today.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 01/10/2016 20:46:53    1921218

Replying To tiobraid:  "Can anyone tell me why Gavin won't shove Connolly into full forward for a while? Keegan panicked everytime the ball went in there in the semi final.
If he was isolated in there id be surprised if Keegan lasted on the field until half time.
On another note...my tip for man of the match. Bernard Brogan!"
It's probably a sin to reply to yourself but Keegan proved my point today. A very poor tackler and can't play close to his own goal. Although the tackling in general today was surprisingly poor. Too many arms in and not enough effort to play the ball.
I said during the summer that I couldn't understand the hype around diarmuid Oconnor and if I was to pick a young footballer I'd want in my team id pick Costello all day long. I was shot down by most! I'm still totally perplexed how diarmuid o'connor was picked today and even more confused how Costello can't seem to get a look in for last two seasons

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/10/2016 20:50:18    1921222

Replying To ziggy32001:  "no three cheers for Mayo?"
Better like that. Its patronizing and should be done away with. As anyone on here will tell you I'm not cluxtons biggest fan, think he is hugely overrated, but on this I'm with him 100%

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/10/2016 20:54:02    1921225

Get rid of the black card put 2 referees on the field and use the rules as they are written in the rule book end of story

fieldman (USA) - Posts: 4 - 01/10/2016 21:10:18    1921230

what was cluxton on about when he said that the dubling supporters followed them all around the country ?

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 01/10/2016 21:21:25    1921232

Replying To Gammy_Knee:  "what was cluxton on about when he said that the dubling supporters followed them all around the country ?"
He was being sarcastic of course.Did you not notice it.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2168 - 01/10/2016 21:51:26    1921246

Replying To fieldman:  "Get rid of the black card put 2 referees on the field and use the rules as they are written in the rule book end of story"
You don't need 2 referees. There are 6 officials along with the referee in any match. Consistency of application is the problem with the black card.
I wonder will some of the senior Mayo players continue in 2017, and will Dublin go on to win 3 in a row?

Referees do not lose games, teams do. The experiment with changing Mayo's keeper did not work, David large should have started the game, and I feel sorry for Rob Hennelly today. He had a bad day, he didn't go out to have a bad game.

Finally, why name dummy teams for an All Ireland Final, it is the biggest day in a player's career. If a manager wants to make changes that should be included in the team announced prior to the final.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1743 - 01/10/2016 21:52:38    1921247

Replying To jj72:  "Definitely taut that was wide. How john small stayed on the pitch in first half is baffling. What he did was way worse than what keegan did. Is this one of our best referees?"
If there is a problem with a point effort, Hawkeye notifies the ref, and he asks the said Hawkeye to confirm.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1743 - 01/10/2016 21:55:53    1921252

Replying To ustream:  "It didn't matter what goalkeeper Mayo played, Dublin would still have won. They missed a chance to bring it to extra time in the last minute with a free and got another extra minute after that also - not good enough and very unfair to blame the goalkeeper for the loss."
What are you on about? Dublin scored 0-4 as a direct result of Hennelly's kick outs. His blunder that led to the penalty would be inexcusable in an under 14 club match. Clark did nothing wrong when he came on. Rochford's decision to pick Hennelly was a reckless gamble that cost Mayo the game.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 01/10/2016 22:06:11    1921258

Replying To Gammy_Knee:  "what was cluxton on about when he said that the dubling supporters followed them all around the country ?"
lol

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 01/10/2016 22:07:12    1921259

He said county first then corrected himself but he was right the first time. Obviously he should thank the supporters but he shouldn't of said that they don't because they don't have to

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/10/2016 22:12:17    1921264

Replying To endgame:  "Dublin do look a tired team.Full of quality of course but their star players were not at their best over the two games.If Dublin are to do three in a row,Jim Gavin who's a great Manager will have to rest players during the League and give lads like Cormac Costello a starting berth.Dublin have won 4 Leagues in a row but they need to take the foot off the gas for the League next Spring and recharge tired batteries and be ready for the Summer."
Yeah probably true, there will be a few retirements, need to start freshening up the panel. What struck me was the lack of confidence seeping into the forward line.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 01/10/2016 22:16:12    1921267

Replying To thelongridge:  "You don't need 2 referees. There are 6 officials along with the referee in any match. Consistency of application is the problem with the black card.
I wonder will some of the senior Mayo players continue in 2017, and will Dublin go on to win 3 in a row?

Referees do not lose games, teams do. The experiment with changing Mayo's keeper did not work, David large should have started the game, and I feel sorry for Rob Hennelly today. He had a bad day, he didn't go out to have a bad game.

Finally, why name dummy teams for an All Ireland Final, it is the biggest day in a player's career. If a manager wants to make changes that should be included in the team announced prior to the final."
That should read David Clarke.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1743 - 01/10/2016 22:17:25    1921268

Replying To tiobraid:  "It's probably a sin to reply to yourself but Keegan proved my point today. A very poor tackler and can't play close to his own goal. Although the tackling in general today was surprisingly poor. Too many arms in and not enough effort to play the ball.
I said during the summer that I couldn't understand the hype around diarmuid Oconnor and if I was to pick a young footballer I'd want in my team id pick Costello all day long. I was shot down by most! I'm still totally perplexed how diarmuid o'connor was picked today and even more confused how Costello can't seem to get a look in for last two seasons"
Stick 2 da hurling tiobraid..Keenan was completely out playing connolly today until he was incorrectly sent off on da black card. What bout ur comment re brogan 4 motm? Think doc did well 2day...infact is they had a couple of more of da u21 forwards to bring n 2day cud have got mayo there I think.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 01/10/2016 22:56:01    1921274

There really is nothing between the two team, both games could have gone either way. For me the big turning point was before the game started, Clarke getting dropped for Henelly. I actually think Henelly is a good keeper but it was madness starting him in a game of this magnitude. He cost about a goal and 4 points and was responsible for Keegan getting black carded.

You have to hand it to Dublin, winning when not at your best is admirable. I really do think Mayo will be a major force in the next few years, especially if they could integrate some of last year's All Ireland under 21 team.

Congrats to a brilliant Dublin team and considerations to a great effort from Mayo.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1875 - 01/10/2016 23:04:25    1921276