Dublin v Mayo - All Ireland Football Final 2016

Greetings from sunny España!! Thoughts on the game. Mayo i thought for the most part where superb. Defensively they were fort knox. I think the rain suits a defensive game. Dublin were completely knocked off their stride for long parts. They also looked terribly tired. The two own goals were mistakes by mayo but well worked for Dublin. Clarke was great. Small was a warrior for us. McCarthy going off actually helped Dublin as Paddy Andrews injected a bit of creativity. Mannion was finding space too. My spies in the camp tell me a lot of interesting things about the rumble in the tunnel. Holy jaysus is all I'll say about that. Both teams were little shits to each other. Mdma tackle was red in my book ams Cillian should have gone before his equalizer. Still i will be home for the replay so im a happy gal! Husband raring to go!! COYBIB!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/09/2016 18:51:45    1917088

Replying To Jackeen:  "Greetings from sunny España!! Thoughts on the game. Mayo i thought for the most part where superb. Defensively they were fort knox. I think the rain suits a defensive game. Dublin were completely knocked off their stride for long parts. They also looked terribly tired. The two own goals were mistakes by mayo but well worked for Dublin. Clarke was great. Small was a warrior for us. McCarthy going off actually helped Dublin as Paddy Andrews injected a bit of creativity. Mannion was finding space too. My spies in the camp tell me a lot of interesting things about the rumble in the tunnel. Holy jaysus is all I'll say about that. Both teams were little shits to each other. Mdma tackle was red in my book ams Cillian should have gone before his equalizer. Still i will be home for the replay so im a happy gal! Husband raring to go!! COYBIB!!"
My source in the camp (my workmate) is telling me sweet F A! Enjoy the replay. I'm now in the predicament that you were in and will be away for it :(

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/09/2016 19:26:56    1917097

Replying To Pericles:  "TC, have you a similar view when it comes to the punishment AOS has to take or do you subscribe to the referees view that his size demands a completely different set of rules? Or is it no rules?"
Look at the link CroiGorm posted, I mean that is ridiciulous, not only has Keegan ripped the shirt of Connolly,but 2 other mayo men are there to help him finish the job, how Connolly doesn't retaliate with this going on I don't know,he is one of the best most gifted players in the game, but we got to see very little of his talents because he was taken out of the game by constant fouling,that has to be sorted out.
as for AOS if he was getting treated like this I'd be saying the same thing in his favour,he could be in trouble himself though for his antics as the Dubs were taking the field, I don't see the Dubs giving him the constant fouling and dragging than Connolly gets from Keegan though,

this is easy sorted, book the instigator ie.Keegan and book him again and send him off if he does it again,that will put an end to this rubbish,same with anyone diving and trying to win a penalty etc.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 20/09/2016 20:22:08    1917120

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Look at the link CroiGorm posted, I mean that is ridiciulous, not only has Keegan ripped the shirt of Connolly,but 2 other mayo men are there to help him finish the job, how Connolly doesn't retaliate with this going on I don't know,he is one of the best most gifted players in the game, but we got to see very little of his talents because he was taken out of the game by constant fouling,that has to be sorted out.
as for AOS if he was getting treated like this I'd be saying the same thing in his favour,he could be in trouble himself though for his antics as the Dubs were taking the field, I don't see the Dubs giving him the constant fouling and dragging than Connolly gets from Keegan though,

this is easy sorted, book the instigator ie.Keegan and book him again and send him off if he does it again,that will put an end to this rubbish,same with anyone diving and trying to win a penalty etc."
You obviously missed Connolly slapping Keegan around the head, which he should have walked for.
Also should have walked in Leinster final for assaulting Westmeath player after he had his hair ruffled.
He has too short a fuse, and Jim Gavin needs to have serious words with him (could well have cost Dublin the All-Ireland with his egotistical sideline kick at the end)

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 20/09/2016 21:05:12    1917156

Replying To Bosco98:  "You obviously missed Connolly slapping Keegan around the head, which he should have walked for.
Also should have walked in Leinster final for assaulting Westmeath player after he had his hair ruffled.
He has too short a fuse, and Jim Gavin needs to have serious words with him (could well have cost Dublin the All-Ireland with his egotistical sideline kick at the end)"
"Slapped around the head". Ha, he was having the shirt torn off his back and gave Keegan a pat. If Keegan did that to some other players on other teams he'd be looking for his teeth soon after. Connolly showed remarkable restraint. Did you miss last year's head lock from Keegan. Very convenient. Seems like you have an agenda.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 21:12:20    1917161

Replying To Joxer:  ""Slapped around the head". Ha, he was having the shirt torn off his back and gave Keegan a pat. If Keegan did that to some other players on other teams he'd be looking for his teeth soon after. Connolly showed remarkable restraint. Did you miss last year's head lock from Keegan. Very convenient. Seems like you have an agenda."
No agenda, I was roaring round the house like a mad fella when we knocked Mayo out of the Connacht championship (couldn't go to McHale park cause my young lad was sick), as I'm sick of them swanning around Connacht and never finishing the job in Croker (Galway would have won a couple of All-Irelands with that team).
So stop being so defensive, it was striking around the head. I don't see other forwards (Kerry or Mayo) reacting like that when they get the Johnny Cooper or Philly treatment.
The fact is that Connolly's starting to become a liability and may well have cost you the all-ireland

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 20/09/2016 21:38:22    1917177

Replying To Bosco98:  "No agenda, I was roaring round the house like a mad fella when we knocked Mayo out of the Connacht championship (couldn't go to McHale park cause my young lad was sick), as I'm sick of them swanning around Connacht and never finishing the job in Croker (Galway would have won a couple of All-Irelands with that team).
So stop being so defensive, it was striking around the head. I don't see other forwards (Kerry or Mayo) reacting like that when they get the Johnny Cooper or Philly treatment.
The fact is that Connolly's starting to become a liability and may well have cost you the all-ireland"
He's hardly a liability when he setup one goal, scored a point, made two turnovers and kept Keegan pinned in his own half for 70. If that's a liability then I'll have a few more of them. He is targetted, yes there's that word, by the opposition. Keegan admitted this last year, Westmeath admitted it this year, Brolly, O'Se and others in the media have been encouraging it. When a fella is dragging you around the place, ripping your jersey, blocking your runs, dragging you to the ground in a head lock it must be extremely difficult to keep your cool. He's arguably the best player in the country but he gets some treatment than any other. Dublin need to toughen up the next day.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 23:59:13    1917238

Replying To Joxer:  "He's hardly a liability when he setup one goal, scored a point, made two turnovers and kept Keegan pinned in his own half for 70. If that's a liability then I'll have a few more of them. He is targetted, yes there's that word, by the opposition. Keegan admitted this last year, Westmeath admitted it this year, Brolly, O'Se and others in the media have been encouraging it. When a fella is dragging you around the place, ripping your jersey, blocking your runs, dragging you to the ground in a head lock it must be extremely difficult to keep your cool. He's arguably the best player in the country but he gets some treatment than any other. Dublin need to toughen up the next day."
He's targeted like Bernard Brogan, the Gooch, etc, but the difference is that all of the other top-class forwards in the game have a better temperament.
I agree that he's arguably the best player in the country, but he needs to work on his temperament - he's also got an easy ride in the print media - after the Westmeath incident (his hair was only ruffled for god's sake !!!), all the talk was of the provocation, not his total over-reaction to that incident - he was very lucky not to get a red card.
Brilliant pass for the 2nd Dublin goal, probably the only player in the country who could do that, but his behaviour at the very end when he wrestled the ball from Ciaran Kilkenny was prima-donnish, and I hope Jim Gavin had a serious word with him.
This is not an anti-Dublin post, my favourite 3 football players are all Dubs - Brogan, McCaffrey (massive loss to ye this year) & Kilkenny

Finally, I think Dublin are tough enough, probably just weren't ready for Mayo's intensity (Kerry are over-rated, and Dublin & Mayo are top two teams in the country (in that order) and have been for last few years). I expect a close game, with Dublin still the favourites, but IF Mayo manage to win, can they get the credit they deserve, and lets not have the "Dublin under-performed again" line trotted out. It's very snobbish & derogatory, and it wouldn't be trotted out if Kerry were your opponents

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 21/09/2016 09:57:20    1917315

Replying To Bosco98:  "No agenda, I was roaring round the house like a mad fella when we knocked Mayo out of the Connacht championship (couldn't go to McHale park cause my young lad was sick), as I'm sick of them swanning around Connacht and never finishing the job in Croker (Galway would have won a couple of All-Irelands with that team).
The fact is that Connolly's starting to become a liability and may well have cost you the all-ireland"
He may also win us another all Ireland !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/09/2016 11:16:26    1917373

Replying To Bosco98:  "He's targeted like Bernard Brogan, the Gooch, etc, but the difference is that all of the other top-class forwards in the game have a better temperament.
I agree that he's arguably the best player in the country, but he needs to work on his temperament - he's also got an easy ride in the print media - after the Westmeath incident (his hair was only ruffled for god's sake !!!), all the talk was of the provocation, not his total over-reaction to that incident - he was very lucky not to get a red card.
Brilliant pass for the 2nd Dublin goal, probably the only player in the country who could do that, but his behaviour at the very end when he wrestled the ball from Ciaran Kilkenny was prima-donnish, and I hope Jim Gavin had a serious word with him.
This is not an anti-Dublin post, my favourite 3 football players are all Dubs - Brogan, McCaffrey (massive loss to ye this year) & Kilkenny

Finally, I think Dublin are tough enough, probably just weren't ready for Mayo's intensity (Kerry are over-rated, and Dublin & Mayo are top two teams in the country (in that order) and have been for last few years). I expect a close game, with Dublin still the favourites, but IF Mayo manage to win, can they get the credit they deserve, and lets not have the "Dublin under-performed again" line trotted out. It's very snobbish & derogatory, and it wouldn't be trotted out if Kerry were your opponents"
I think Kerry would have won that tussle with Mayo
After going to watch all the teams play each other during the year, I think Kerry have better forwards,
but Mayo have better backs. Kerry though can handle that pulling and dragging that Mayo do.
Even 25 years ago, playing against teams like Knockmore of Mayo they resorted to the same tactics so its nothing new.
I have seen it all before. And people from Mayo know exactly what i am talking about but wont say it.
I think Dublin now know what to expect so they should kick on and win.

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 21/09/2016 11:38:12    1917382

Replying To Scarabin:  "I think Kerry would have won that tussle with Mayo
After going to watch all the teams play each other during the year, I think Kerry have better forwards,
but Mayo have better backs. Kerry though can handle that pulling and dragging that Mayo do.
Even 25 years ago, playing against teams like Knockmore of Mayo they resorted to the same tactics so its nothing new.
I have seen it all before. And people from Mayo know exactly what i am talking about but wont say it.
I think Dublin now know what to expect so they should kick on and win."
Darragh O'Se

I didn't play well in the drawn All-Ireland final in 2000. For that reason, I was delighted there was a replay and I'd say I was probably able to get focused on it more quickly than some of the guys who had played well.

I was just relieved that I wasn't going to have to spend the winter in the horrors because I had underperformed in an All-Ireland final and lost the game.

Nothing stings like turning up in an All-Ireland final and letting it pass you by. Usually, the best-case scenario is you get back the following year but the reality is most players never get back. So to have another shot a fortnight later is like getting a pardon from the prison warden just as they're strapping you into the electric chair. You'll do everything you can to make it count.

So I'd watch out for Brogan, Paul Flynn, Kevin McManamon and these guys in the replay. They're getting a second bite of the cherry, whether they deserve it or not. I won't make up my mind until next week but I get the feeling that could be the difference in the replay.

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 21/09/2016 12:40:24    1917411

Have not been on here since the game on Sunday so don't know if this was mentioned.

Did anyone think bastick picked the ball straight off the ground right at the end of the game? Right before he and Evan Regan collided. Watching it live on TV I thought it was as clear as day. I think the ref was happy to blow up for a draw.

I think Mayo should have got a free to win the game but they didn't mention it on the Sunday game after the game or in the programme later that night.

DancingSeany (UK) - Posts: 32 - 21/09/2016 19:00:25    1917642

Replying To Bosco98:  "He's targeted like Bernard Brogan, the Gooch, etc, but the difference is that all of the other top-class forwards in the game have a better temperament.

Finally, I think Dublin are tough enough, probably just weren't ready for Mayo's intensity (Kerry are over-rated, and Dublin & Mayo are top two teams in the country (in that order) and have been for last few years). I expect a close game, with Dublin still the favourites, but IF Mayo manage to win, can they get the credit they deserve, and lets not have the "Dublin under-performed again" line trotted out. It's very snobbish & derogatory, and it wouldn't be trotted out if Kerry were your opponents"
Are you joking??? Seiously. All we hear is that Kerry didn't show up in 2015. See Bryan Sheehan's article for a full elaboration on that thought.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/09/2016 20:38:59    1917703

Replying To Scarabin:  "Darragh O'Se

I didn't play well in the drawn All-Ireland final in 2000. For that reason, I was delighted there was a replay and I'd say I was probably able to get focused on it more quickly than some of the guys who had played well.

I was just relieved that I wasn't going to have to spend the winter in the horrors because I had underperformed in an All-Ireland final and lost the game.

Nothing stings like turning up in an All-Ireland final and letting it pass you by. Usually, the best-case scenario is you get back the following year but the reality is most players never get back. So to have another shot a fortnight later is like getting a pardon from the prison warden just as they're strapping you into the electric chair. You'll do everything you can to make it count.

So I'd watch out for Brogan, Paul Flynn, Kevin McManamon and these guys in the replay. They're getting a second bite of the cherry, whether they deserve it or not. I won't make up my mind until next week but I get the feeling that could be the difference in the replay."
I can see where he's coming from and a lot of the Dubs can play better if allowed. On the other hand I don't think the two O Sheas, Higgins, Clarke, and D O Connor will have been overly impressed with their displays on Sunday and will be fairly glad to get a second chance.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/09/2016 21:57:36    1917754

Replying To DancingSeany:  "Have not been on here since the game on Sunday so don't know if this was mentioned.

Did anyone think bastick picked the ball straight off the ground right at the end of the game? Right before he and Evan Regan collided. Watching it live on TV I thought it was as clear as day. I think the ref was happy to blow up for a draw.

I think Mayo should have got a free to win the game but they didn't mention it on the Sunday game after the game or in the programme later that night."
I've watched that a few times and I think the ball came up slightly off his left boot. That's what Cillian was complaining to the ref about as he was calling for the free before Bastick and Regan collided. Don't think it was a free though.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/09/2016 22:02:18    1917761

Replying To avonali:  "Are you joking??? Seiously. All we hear is that Kerry didn't show up in 2015. See Bryan Sheehan's article for a full elaboration on that thought."
I don't agree one bit - the general consensus was that Dublin were the better team in 2015 final and would have won by more if it was a dry day. Bryan Sheehan was mostly complaining about the 2011 final, which ye came with a late burst to win.
Read Malachy Clerkin's article in yesterday's Irish Times - he has it spot on regarding this snobbish/dismissiveness towards Mayo

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 22/09/2016 09:22:22    1917822

Replying To Bosco98:  "I don't agree one bit - the general consensus was that Dublin were the better team in 2015 final and would have won by more if it was a dry day. Bryan Sheehan was mostly complaining about the 2011 final, which ye came with a late burst to win.
Read Malachy Clerkin's article in yesterday's Irish Times - he has it spot on regarding this snobbish/dismissiveness towards Mayo"
I didn't and don't hear any Dubs being dismissive/snobby towards Mayo.

I'm sick of hearing amateur psychologists such as Brolly etc. questioning Mayos mentality. They all do it. It's lazy.

The Dubs were the greatest bottlers ever until of course they started winning all around them. Now they are the shining example of composure under fire.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 24/09/2016 10:13:53    1918625

Cillian complaining to the ref??? You cannot be serious!

Mayo fans can't seriously look for a free there. The ref did trojan work for the draw. He wasnt going to give the game to either side after sticking his neck out for the 7mins. Foul on 70mins was near the touchline. Cillian nearly in front of goal when he clipped it over.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 24/09/2016 10:23:34    1918626

Looking forward to renewing hostilities with our Mayo friends.Fair play to Mayo,they nearly always put Dublin to the pin of their collar.After 5 minutes i knew we were in for a long day.Mayo didnt give us any time to breath and develop our free flowing passing style.The weather probably hindered this also,but it was the same for both sides.

Even though we were a point ahead with 10 mins to go i would have taken a draw although to relinquish a three point lead in injury time was disappointing.

Overall it was another great battle beteen the two counties.Although i was very confident before the first game i am less so now,even though we played so under par.Surely Dublin have more room for improvement?Mayo can improve,also,and will probably need to.Another physical,nerve shredding game to ponder and look forward to.Dubs by 4.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/09/2016 13:03:22    1918655

Replying To SirStrawHat:  "Cillian complaining to the ref??? You cannot be serious!

Mayo fans can't seriously look for a free there. The ref did trojan work for the draw. He wasnt going to give the game to either side after sticking his neck out for the 7mins. Foul on 70mins was near the touchline. Cillian nearly in front of goal when he clipped it over."
There was no way Cillian was going to try a speculative shot from the sideline. That would have been just silly now wouldn't it!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 24/09/2016 20:29:54    1918756