Dublin v Mayo - All Ireland Football Final 2016

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Well done bud, the only thing worse than having a pop at your neighbours is showing that you know nothing about the topic being discussed. Jason Gibbons? Have you been asleep for the summer?"
I think people here just repeat what the pundits and media say half the time. I actually rate Regan with high regard. Think he came on far too late for the Tipp game to even judge a performance ,would have started him .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 29/08/2016 23:03:59    1907871

Replying To unclegerry:  "Sure we havent a hope...."
Grow up.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 29/08/2016 23:09:55    1907874

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Talk in Mayo is we are going to send up the U21's for the experience. No point fielding the seniors to get hammered by the mighty Dubs"
Yawn

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 29/08/2016 23:10:59    1907875

Replying To Gleebo:  "Hard to see Mayo living with these Dublin panzers, but sure our lads will turn up and honour the fixture anyway."
3 weeks of this yerra rubbish!!!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 29/08/2016 23:12:48    1907878

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Mayo will win, its all set up for them now. Dublin on a high, thinking they are invincible. Mayo equal to Dublin on power, they have just as good footballers and what they have over Dublin is something that cant be taught but only acquired after years of suffering and loss. Mayo are now nasty, hardened group will go through Dublin for a short cut on all Ireland final day."
Yes I think the Dubs will be in for a battle at the very least,it was much the same set up for when we won it against Kerry all them years ago.No one really gave us a chance..but Mayo are well suited to being underdogs I probably wouldn't think they would do as well if they were favourites and all the pressure that would bring from fans.For the first time in a long time very few people are expecting anything from them in this game,which is no harm. The talking is done on the pitch.

Mayo Half time /Full time in the bookies is 8/1 , might do a double on half time /Full time with kilkenny ( surprisingly slight not the bookies favourite )and Mayo a decent return for twenty euro. Might not see my money again but i'd take them odds with a return of almost 600 euro.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 29/08/2016 23:15:52    1907881

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "They will be a lot sicker when Sam arrives in Castlebar on the 19 sept."
Not going to happen lad!!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 29/08/2016 23:18:11    1907883

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "This should be a very short thread. Dublin posters expect a landslide victory. Mayo posters expect a humiliating defeat. Neutrals know Mayo don't do finals, so how many ways can you say the same thing. Time to move on and talk about how many Dubs will get All Stars, which of them will get player of the year, or what sports books might be out for Christmas."
Rubbish post again!!this game will go to the wire as you well know

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 29/08/2016 23:22:14    1907885

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Mayo will win, its all set up for them now. Dublin on a high, thinking they are invincible. Mayo equal to Dublin on power, they have just as good footballers and what they have over Dublin is something that cant be taught but only acquired after years of suffering and loss. Mayo are now nasty, hardened group will go through Dublin for a short cut on all Ireland final day."
What a load of horse s__t ,nobody in dublin thinks we are invincible.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 29/08/2016 23:29:34    1907886

Replying To Vishred:  "were doomed.."
Eh no your not ,yerra yerra

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 29/08/2016 23:33:28    1907888

Replying To offtheboat:  "Be afraid Dubs, be very afraid!"
Why??

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 29/08/2016 23:35:17    1907890

I'm not playing the "cute hoor" here, but I would be very worried for Mayo in the final for the following reasons,

1) Mayo have no form going into this game and it's very difficult to flick a switch for 70+mins which it will take to win this
2) This Dublin team have a resolve about them even when they are on the back foot, Mayo beat them in 2012 because they panicked when they went behind, on Sunday against Kerry and in last year's Semi against Mayo they did not panic when they went behind they keep calm picked off there points and got themselves back in the game.
3) Kerry scored 2-04 in there purple patch yesterday and this is why they were in the game at 70mins, outside this period Dublin dominated the game, i can't see Mayo scoring that in their purple patch (if they have a purple patch)

too many things have to go right for Mayo to be in this contest at 70mins, Form book will have to go out the window, they will need a purple patch in each half and they will need to put Dublin out of sight (6+) coming into last 10 - 15 mins

My opinion it's a bridge too far, i will gladly eat humble pie if they do it

2winjustonce (Mayo) - Posts: 65 - 30/08/2016 11:12:23    1907994

Replying To 2winjustonce:  "I'm not playing the "cute hoor" here, but I would be very worried for Mayo in the final for the following reasons,

1) Mayo have no form going into this game and it's very difficult to flick a switch for 70+mins which it will take to win this
2) This Dublin team have a resolve about them even when they are on the back foot, Mayo beat them in 2012 because they panicked when they went behind, on Sunday against Kerry and in last year's Semi against Mayo they did not panic when they went behind they keep calm picked off there points and got themselves back in the game.
3) Kerry scored 2-04 in there purple patch yesterday and this is why they were in the game at 70mins, outside this period Dublin dominated the game, i can't see Mayo scoring that in their purple patch (if they have a purple patch)

too many things have to go right for Mayo to be in this contest at 70mins, Form book will have to go out the window, they will need a purple patch in each half and they will need to put Dublin out of sight (6+) coming into last 10 - 15 mins

My opinion it's a bridge too far, i will gladly eat humble pie if they do it"
Not that your points don't all have merit, but I'd put it this way. .

Throw the bloody form book out the window!
Throw Dublin off their game and make sure this final takes on a life of its own (to borrow a Brian Cody phrase). Most finals do anyway.

I don't think Mayo will be 6 points up with 10/15mins to go but I do think there'll be a point or 2 in it either way. Regardless of Dublin's fitness, that still makes it anyone's game. It's then up to your big players to stand up and be counted - Higgins, Keegan, Boyle, SOS, AOS, COC, DOC, Kev Mc, Moran (if still on the field) etc. There's a huge amount of talent and experience there (DOC apart) and absolutely no reason why these guys can't put any opponent to the sword.

To borrow Dublin's 2011 motto, Mayo need to "Believe!"

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5025 - 30/08/2016 11:56:52    1908020

Mayo need to turn it into an awful game of football

Use the same tactics as 2012

Disrupt Dublin momentum and lay down in various parts of the pitch injured with one Physio running up, down, and side ways attending each player

The way Mayo setup against Dublin in Castlebar and the way they setup a number of times in the championship would suggest a far more defensive system to be deployed IMO

Even Kerry had to do the same on Sunday, and Kerry have better forwards to get scores compared to Mayo, the way Tipp opened up Mayo when they played more open at the back, that will have been looked at, and there is no way in hell that Rochford will setup like that again against Dublin

They'll setup very similar to Kerry, plenty of men back, sweeper system and hit long ball

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20605 - 30/08/2016 12:05:27    1908024

Replying To jimbodub:  "Mayo need to turn it into an awful game of football

Disrupt Dublin momentum and lay down in various parts of the pitch injured with one Physio running up, down, and side ways attending each player

The way Mayo setup against Dublin in Castlebar and the way they setup a number of times in the championship would suggest a far more defensive system to be deployed IMO

Even Kerry had to do the same on Sunday, and Kerry have better forwards to get scores compared to Mayo, the way Tipp opened up Mayo when they played more open at the back, that will have been looked at, and there is no way in hell that Rochford will setup like that again against Dublin

They'll setup very similar to Kerry, plenty of men back, sweeper system and hit long ball"
Same tactics as 2012? I love the way that the last few minutes of time wasting and fouling have overshadowed the rest of the game. They scored 19 points so the tactics were hardly that awful.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 30/08/2016 12:55:35    1908054

They'll setup very similar to Kerry, plenty of men back, sweeper system and hit long ball"
Same tactics as 2012? I love the way that the last few minutes of time wasting and fouling have overshadowed the rest of the game. They scored 19 points so the tactics were hardly that awful.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 30/08/2016 12:55:35    1908055

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Same tactics as 2012? I love the way that the last few minutes of time wasting and fouling have overshadowed the rest of the game. They scored 19 points so the tactics were hardly that awful."
Sorry I forgot to also mention persistent yet completely unpunished tactical fouling for the entire game

It was highlighted on the Sunday game, several plays replayed to highlight the tactical fouling that went completely unpunished.

It was picked up in the media

All Ireland Final day time

Bang.. Mayo's first tactical foul that previously they could go about doing all day against Dublin = yellow card

Advantage Donegal. Fair play to Joe Brolly...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20605 - 30/08/2016 13:14:54    1908068

Kerry have handed Dublin the tactic to be avoided now

Mossy Quinn highlighted it

When Kerry had an easy tap over free, that's when they pushed up on the kick out, they pushed up when it was advantageous to do so

It gave them time to have men far up the pitch

Dublin will learn this lesson

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20605 - 30/08/2016 13:18:13    1908072

Rose tinted glasses there jimbo

AS regards the match .. there is a possibility that Mayo could get a hiding..
They have played poorly all year, surviving on small high scoring bursts ..
Tyrone was the only match they played well in .. and should have lost that to be fair ..
Ger Cafferky is a huge loss. Kevin Keane is not trusted by the mgmt. Kevin McL is not a natural sweeper.
Dublin attack is exceptional. Mayo have no choice but to play counter attacking football.
For Mayo to have any chance they will need to hold MCMenamon in peticular. Its almost unmarkable this year.
Then you have mannion, ogara and Andrews coming off the bench .. for the last 15/20
Mayo dont have much on the bench .. maybe parsons coming in , dillon is too old for the dubs intensity .. regan is green

Maybe the osheas and the oconnors, andy moran will have the games of their lives and mayo defense will
hold the dubs to 1-14 but its very hard to see that outcome.

Mayo appear to have regressed since last year .. Dublin have got up another gear ..

Dublin 2-18 Mayo 1-13 something like that would be my guess ..

Hope im totally wrong of course ..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 30/08/2016 13:19:30    1908073

Replying To Belclare1: "If Dublin play at 60% they should win.. The two best teams in the country played yesterday.. Mayo are too reliant on Andy Moran and frees from Cillian O Connor.. Diarmiud o Connor has had one or two moents in the championship againnst lowere division teams.. As for the rest Gibbons, Regan etc not anywhere near the standard of the Dubs..If Dublin want to they could win by 10 plus.."
Well done bud, the only thing worse than having a pop at your neighbours is showing that you know nothing about the topic being discussed. Jason Gibbons? Have you been asleep for the summer?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts:4423 - 29/08/2016 21:20:56 1907831

I apologise, of course i meant Doherty.. although Gibbons has still had a better season than Doherty! and he only lasted 20 mins against Galway.. I was awake in Castlebar when Galway bet ye.. and Galway are no great shakes.. I like everyone else am entitled to my opinion..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 30/08/2016 13:55:18    1908099

You know - that Galway game may well be the biggest clue that Mayo have something up their sleeve for this one.

Let's face it - Mayo are a much better team than Galway. If they hadn't won 5 Connaughts on the trot then I think they'd have beaten Galway and Roscommon quite comfortably.

Did Mayo chose the qualifier route?? It wouldn't surprise me!

Donegal scraped past Armagh in the 2014 1/4 final by a point. Nobody gave them a chance against Dublin as a result. We all know what happened.

The ol' rope-a-dope! Rochford is no slouch!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5025 - 30/08/2016 14:45:22    1908137