Dublin v Mayo - All Ireland Football Final 2016

Surreal game that, Mayo were very good after a weird start and we were probably happy with the draw at the end. I think Dublin can sharpen up enough, especially on a dry day, to win the replay.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/09/2016 21:49:47    1916660

Why are people certain that dublin will improve? They might be better or they might be worse. Saying that dublin will play better the next day is like people saying before the drawn game that mayo have a big game in them. All ifs and buts
IMO Dublin were poor because Mayo were breathing down their collars everytime they were on the ball and forced them to make errors and play the ball quicker then what theyve been used to this year. Dublin i think have not been used to playing against this level of intensity.
I think theres a lot of pressure on dublin now because people are expecting them to play better, unfortunantly its not a switch they can turn on.I would worry about the hype that will start in mayo now and the expectation the fans will have. If mayo bring that same level of intensity and get AOS on the ball more often creating chances for other players and scoring a few points of his own i feel they will shade it.
But for the 2 freak goals dublin were going to be beaten and beaten well. Glad that those 2 goals didnt win it for dublin. It wouldve been cruel for the 2 mayo lads and for mayo.

fireinthebelly (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 19/09/2016 22:31:43    1916687

Did Gavin make a big tactical error in not pulling everyone into our 45 when we went 3 points up with only a few mins to play? I think he completely overlooked that and Mayo cut through to score. Poor game management in last 10m from Dublin.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2016 22:34:12    1916688

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Congrats to everyone on here who has posted pure rubbish in the last couple of weeks. Great game today with two great teams. Yes 2 I said. We heard all the rubbish in the build up about how Mayo wouldn't match them. How Dublin might be the best team we have ever seen. Then after the game what do I hear? Ah well Dublin didn't play well. Ah sure Rock missed a few frees. Ifs buts and bullsh*ts is all I have been hearing on here from people who have zero clue about the game. It's a 50/50 game now in 2 weeks and that is a fact. I haven't even read all the other threads that hard no doubt been set up about different things that happened today but let me say one thing, I am immensely proud of that team after what happened today. And lastly, all the rubbish I read on here about a Connolly being footballer of the year and the best player in the country by a mile etc etc. bad that point which was class no doubt, Keegan has him in his pocket again, as he always does. Maybe time to start recognising just how good Keegan is."
Keegan should be yellow carded the first time he starts dragging and fouling Connolly, then book him again the next time he does it and send him off, Connolly is one of the best players in the country, but how can anyone play when someone is pulling and dragging them by the shirt all day long, of course then when Connolly tries to break free the ref bottles it and books both, I hope Maurice Deegan deals with Keegan early on the next day, then you'll see what a player Connolly is.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 19/09/2016 22:38:54    1916689

Gripping match where the underdogs bite back. Excellent marking by Keegan; he really had Connolly on the edge. Probably the best marker of Connolly in the game.

Small and Andrews played very well but how the Sunday Game only mentioned one Mayo player in contention of MOTM was baffling. I felt Whealan was particularly bias in his analysis and his assumption that defenders are the 'instigators'.

How MDM didn't get a black or red card for that high neck challenge was a cop out. Not that he was playing well anyway, however, I have never thought of him as a dirty player. He seemed rattled and error prone.

Cillian O Connor was a rock. Vaughan, Moran as well.

Most people are still going with Dublin to win. If Dublin brings the same pace and passion and can get a bit of luck (plus a fair ref).,,then it's Mayo!!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 20/09/2016 00:06:49    1916703

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Keegan should be yellow carded the first time he starts dragging and fouling Connolly, then book him again the next time he does it and send him off, Connolly is one of the best players in the country, but how can anyone play when someone is pulling and dragging them by the shirt all day long, of course then when Connolly tries to break free the ref bottles it and books both, I hope Maurice Deegan deals with Keegan early on the next day, then you'll see what a player Connolly is."
Well said. In anyway Connolly had Keegan contained for the whole game. They cancelled each other out.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 00:07:09    1916704

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Keegan should be yellow carded the first time he starts dragging and fouling Connolly, then book him again the next time he does it and send him off, Connolly is one of the best players in the country, but how can anyone play when someone is pulling and dragging them by the shirt all day long, of course then when Connolly tries to break free the ref bottles it and books both, I hope Maurice Deegan deals with Keegan early on the next day, then you'll see what a player Connolly is."
Maybe Keegan is at fault off the ball but we don't know for sure. I was watching them off the ball a lot and they weren't rolling around for half the game as some people would like to make out. Keegan was usually only a foot or two away from him so a pass was hardly ever on. As for you as a poster, sure you are just sickened that Mayo didn't get the tanking you no doubt had predicted.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 20/09/2016 07:14:39    1916722

Bang on. How a lad is supposed to be able to play football with this link going on constantly I'll never know. Hope the next ref makes a stand early on and show's it won't be allowed.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/09/2016 07:49:18    1916728

I'm trying to be as fair on this game as possible but then you have a poster like KerryKerry completely on Mayo's side when he even watched the Sunday game himself that night, yes MDMA was lucky not to be black carded but we have ready made replacement in Bastic so it's not the end of the world, but KerryKerry how can you ignore when the Sunday Game showed Lee Keegan twice dragging Connolly to the ground before one of our goals?? Also why have you ignored Cillan O Connors blatant black card on Darren Daly ? Like really O Connors foul is why the real was brought in, also AOS fouled 5 times in the first half and never got booked and then got a yellow for the exact same thing James McCarthy did, someone explain that to me? You's all wanted Connolly black carded against Westmeath and the play had stopped so what's changed with AOS foul? Again Mayo were the better team and should have won but come on you'd swear only one team was fouling yesterday and the others were saints.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/09/2016 08:17:06    1916732

Replying To fireinthebelly:  "Why are people certain that dublin will improve? They might be better or they might be worse. Saying that dublin will play better the next day is like people saying before the drawn game that mayo have a big game in them. All ifs and buts
IMO Dublin were poor because Mayo were breathing down their collars everytime they were on the ball and forced them to make errors and play the ball quicker then what theyve been used to this year. Dublin i think have not been used to playing against this level of intensity.
I think theres a lot of pressure on dublin now because people are expecting them to play better, unfortunantly its not a switch they can turn on.I would worry about the hype that will start in mayo now and the expectation the fans will have. If mayo bring that same level of intensity and get AOS on the ball more often creating chances for other players and scoring a few points of his own i feel they will shade it.
But for the 2 freak goals dublin were going to be beaten and beaten well. Glad that those 2 goals didnt win it for dublin. It wouldve been cruel for the 2 mayo lads and for mayo."
People are also ignoring the fact that some key Mayo players did not have a good game either. But that's fine...the mantra is Mayo will be lucky to stay with an improved Dublin the next day. Let everyone write us off again.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 20/09/2016 09:38:19    1916754

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Maybe Keegan is at fault off the ball but we don't know for sure. I was watching them off the ball a lot and they weren't rolling around for half the game as some people would like to make out. Keegan was usually only a foot or two away from him so a pass was hardly ever on. As for you as a poster, sure you are just sickened that Mayo didn't get the tanking you no doubt had predicted."
Yet.....Didn't get the tanking......yet.

;-)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/09/2016 09:43:36    1916758

Replying To Joxer:  "Arock I agree. We had 55% possesion, our forwards were pitiful, we conceded a 3 point lead with minutes to go but yet we are still champions. I think any other team would have put us aeay. We've seen the blank defence, we've seen the reliance on AOS. I fully expect a diffetent Dublin the next day."
Joxer, we got zip from AOS. He had a good goal denied for shaking off a man who was fouling him, but apart from that he had a stinker, not bringing others into play, taking the wrong options, he even managed to find himself taking a sideline kick in the closing minutes when he should have been trying to get on the other end of it. If you think all the Dubs need to do the next is to keep fouling Aidan out of it then I can only hope Jim Gavin sees it that way too.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 20/09/2016 10:26:53    1916785

Replying To yew_tree:  "People are also ignoring the fact that some key Mayo players did not have a good game either. But that's fine...the mantra is Mayo will be lucky to stay with an improved Dublin the next day. Let everyone write us off again."
I actually think Mayo will be favourites this weekend. You're right they will improve. Dublin are tired now after two huge physical tests against Donegal and Kerry. Even John Small stated afterwards that he was banjaxed. You could see that Brogan, Flynn and Kev were all labouring. AOS won't be as bad the next day and I expect D O'Connor, who Mayo people keep saying is the new Gooch, to turn it on. That coupled with their mass defending which Dublin struggled with means that I fancy Mayo to sneak it, probably by 2 points. The media seem to be swaying this way also. Dublin are tired and have a cabinet full of cups, difficult to stay motivated. I don't think Mayo will let this famine extend more than 24,000 days.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 10:44:32    1916797

Replying To Pericles:  "Joxer, we got zip from AOS. He had a good goal denied for shaking off a man who was fouling him, but apart from that he had a stinker, not bringing others into play, taking the wrong options, he even managed to find himself taking a sideline kick in the closing minutes when he should have been trying to get on the other end of it. If you think all the Dubs need to do the next is to keep fouling Aidan out of it then I can only hope Jim Gavin sees it that way too."
I watched it back Pericles and I've changed my tune and actually agree with you. Philly completely marked AOS out of the game alright. Not sure about them fouling him, he must have been called for 7 or 8 himself but he won't play that badly again. I think if Mayo's forwards play then they should win by 2 or 3. Dublin's backs and midfield actually played well but their forwards let them down with so many wides, missed frees and poor shot selection. If Dublin don't bring their A game next day they will be beaten. Simple as.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 11:16:14    1916811

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Well done Mayo on putting in a great performance today, drawing a game where lady luck gifted the opposition 2 goals is impressive. I was expecting Mayo to put in a big performance but it will be harder for them the next day. Psychologically everything was in Mayo's advantage going into this game, Mayo are a very good team but due to low expectations had little or no pressure on them while Dublin found it hard to get up for the game being such favourites. Its flipped around for the next day, psychologically Dublin should be in a good place to get a big performance out of themselves in the replay (they and their supporters know they have a serious team standing in their way and to prove that they are better than they performed yesterday) while Mayo will be burdened with more expectation than for yesterdays game (and the pressure this brings). Favourites rarely lose replays."
No expectation, apart from knowing that the Dubs will be a different proposition the next day and that yesterday's performance which was gutsy but far from accomplished won't cut it on Oct 1st. Some confidence gained, and a number of lessons to be digested. Will be looking for a huge leap in terms of delivering the next day. It'll be needed and all the players know this.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 20/09/2016 13:02:34    1916883

TC, have you a similar view when it comes to the punishment AOS has to take or do you subscribe to the referees view that his size demands a completely different set of rules? Or is it no rules?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 20/09/2016 13:16:15    1916894

Some awful rubbish going on here from both sides. Stuff goes on off the ball all the time. Keegan wasn't always the culprit. Absolute nonsense to claim Connolly was being fouled for the whole game, pure and utter tripe. I was a the game, lower Cusack on the 45 and I was watching the 2 lads any chance I got. They both gave as good as they got. Decisions went both ways, James Mc was not himself before he went off and only for Andrews injecting some life into the forward line who knows what could have happened? O Se could have got a black card as well. Bastick picked the ball clean off the ground as well when the clash of heads occured as well from what I saw, which would have been game over. All in all I think everything evened out and I thought the officials did a good job considering the amount of things going on around the field. Awful childish stuff on here.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 20/09/2016 14:48:50    1916949

Well said TheFlaker both teams at it like every other county does be at it, you can't complain about one team and completely ignore what the other team does, your not being fair with your analysis of the game. I used to be ridiculously bias but I've learned to chill abit on here and realise that posters see what they want to see to suit themselves and the team they dislike more. Mayo and Dublin posters on giving out about each other's players for dirty tackles or cynical play or whatever are hypocrites Imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/09/2016 15:04:36    1916964

Dublin are hot favourites again the next day going by the bookies .

I'd put Dublin favourites but only just.

Its almost like Dublin were not ready for the battle that Mayo would bring.

I also don't think Dublin were tired - they won Leinster blind folded and it wouldn't have taken that much out of them .

This is an excellent Dublin team and deep down , they couldn't come down from the high of beating Kerry - similar to us in 2014 after beating Dublin .

Massive credit to Mayo - they are warriors and also can improve next time out .

Jim Gavin looked very annoyed deep down on Sunday . They have so much to work on .

I don't think it's as simple as Dublin improving and winning however I do think that they will do enough .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 20/09/2016 15:04:47    1916965

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Some awful rubbish going on here from both sides. Stuff goes on off the ball all the time. Keegan wasn't always the culprit. Absolute nonsense to claim Connolly was being fouled for the whole game, pure and utter tripe. I was a the game, lower Cusack on the 45 and I was watching the 2 lads any chance I got. They both gave as good as they got. Decisions went both ways, James Mc was not himself before he went off and only for Andrews injecting some life into the forward line who knows what could have happened? O Se could have got a black card as well. Bastick picked the ball clean off the ground as well when the clash of heads occured as well from what I saw, which would have been game over. All in all I think everything evened out and I thought the officials did a good job considering the amount of things going on around the field. Awful childish stuff on here."
Cillian O Connor should have walked for tackle on Darren Daly.
Aidan O' Shea should have walked for persistent fouling.
All in the past now so enough is enough.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 20/09/2016 16:03:34    1917002