Mayo Should Park The Bus V the Dubs

Nah won't work .

Donegal perfected it but had been planning for months .

Mayo can't go completely defensive in three weeks . Too much of a change .

It's impossible to know how to beat Dublin.

They are superb .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 28/08/2016 23:42:18    1907235

Replying To centerfield:  "To stand any chance in this final Mayo need to be going extremely defensive against the dubs. Let the Dubs have there kickouts inside their 40 make sure they are going into heavy traffic from there. Also employ a double sweeper(one who has height) and 3 across the midfield (Diarmuid OConnor, SOS and Parsons)"
Nah they will go for it , no other way to beat Dublin . They leaked two goals yesterday, I presume that is what rochford will be aiming for ,goals and plenty of them ,unless they get them it will be difficult to out shoot Dublin as they are better finishers from out far bar one or two of the mayo lads.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 29/08/2016 06:45:51    1907269

Replying To rossy15:  "Rubbish
Excellent kerry performance today
Mayo won't come close to the dubs in AI final
Kevin McManmen klass act !"
How do you know? Everyone thought the same thing before they played us . I think that Mayo team will be loving the fact everyone is giving them no chance .

My money will be on Mayo just because they are unpredictable( and because of the odds will give a decent return) if they show up they have potential to get more goals than that Kerry team did yesterday.

Big ifs everywhere, but I'm not going to listen to the mayo have no chance train that seemed to be rolling about after the game.Dublin have their weaknesses Kerry exposed them it is up to Mayo to capitalise ...although god knows how many weaknesses Mayo have ..

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 29/08/2016 07:04:46    1907270

It will take a performance of the ages for Mayo coupled with a below par Dubs performance.. parking the bus alone wont be enough as the scoreboard must be kept ticking over and we simply havent been playing that way long enough to do both. Also dublin will comfortably kick points from distance. Rochford, McEtee and co will be relishing the challenge i feel. There are areas that mayo will look to exploit but yesterday will have helped dublin address some of those. Connolly v Keegan will be another one to keep a close eye on. I also think that Dean rock will be "closely monitored" as his ability from place balls is huge for the dubs. Mayo will need to score 2 goals to have any chance... but i believe that they will get chances. Taking them is the key for Mayo

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 29/08/2016 07:35:25    1907276

Replying To MesAmis:  "Take our the 2 goals they were gifted and I think you'll see what I mean.

Mayo a much more difficult proposition for the Dubs in my opinion.

Mayo should have beaten Dublin in last year's drawn semi final. If Mayo can reach that level again then the Dubs will have to be much better than they were today to beat Mayo."
Doesn't matter if they were gifted 2 goals point is that's a really really strong dublin team mayo won't come within 4 or 5 points of them . Doesn't matter whether they push up on Cluxton or not
That game yesterday will bring on dublin even more
Credit to kerry they threw everything at it and Imo were just a player r two short
Best 2 teams in the country

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 29/08/2016 08:17:28    1907282

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "How do you know? Everyone thought the same thing before they played us . I think that Mayo team will be loving the fact everyone is giving them no chance .

My money will be on Mayo just because they are unpredictable( and because of the odds will give a decent return) if they show up they have potential to get more goals than that Kerry team did yesterday.

Big ifs everywhere, but I'm not going to listen to the mayo have no chance train that seemed to be rolling about after the game.Dublin have their weaknesses Kerry exposed them it is up to Mayo to capitalise ...although god knows how many weaknesses Mayo have .."
With respect there is a huge difference between tyrone n dublin.
I actually tipped mayo to beat tyrone too
From what I seen yesterday and on the basis of mayo performances to date they.wont win
This dublin team is too professional too conditioned too athletic and too bloody.good right now
Mayo are always capable of a big performance unfortunately for them even if they get that this year I can't see it being enough

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 29/08/2016 09:10:26    1907307

I was at the game yesterday it was fantastic
I was also in Castlebar for the league game and Mayo employed a blanket but Dublin still won comfortably even if it was low score

Brogan, Andrews and Connolly actually played poor compared to what they are capable of and they were still very effective

Six or seven years ago that Kerry side would be winning All Irelands but Dublin have raised the bar

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 29/08/2016 09:27:21    1907319

Replying To rossy15:  "With respect there is a huge difference between tyrone n dublin.
From what I seen yesterday and on the basis of mayo performances to date they.wont win
This dublin team is too professional too conditioned too athletic and too bloody.good right now
Mayo are always capable of a big performance unfortunately for them even if they get that this year I can't see it being enough"
Dublin made hardwork of beating a good, but far from great, Kerry team. Brilliant in attack, sloppy at times in defence.Galvin, his management team and experience got them through, fair play.

We haven't been great in the championship. Rochford and McEntee setting out teams based upon beating the opposition, we'll probably have yet another different starting 15. Worryingly we switch off in games and Dublin will exploit that severely if we let it happen. But we have a better squad potentially than any of our squads since 2011. A nice blend of youth and experience and many of the youth are victorious minors and U21s.

Dublin will be a mountain that we cannot climb. But this team have a decent record in Championship against Dublin. Dublin, pragmatically, put away the champagne football for the final. They haven't been spectacular in any of their three recent wins. But that's what's impressive about them. They get the job done, great at closing out the opposition in the crucial moments of a final.

I still think for us, Dublin may not be our biggest challenge. For Rochford and McEntee they must have us focussed and face down the biggest challenge which is the day and the occasion that is the All Ireland Final. We need every single squad player and management team believing we will win. But we're highly delighted to be the Lazarus of this years championship to Galvin's invincibles ! Nothing that is written hear will have the slightest bearing o the final result. But we'll have some craic trying to convince each other that it does.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 29/08/2016 09:49:08    1907346

Replying To rossy15:  "With respect there is a huge difference between tyrone n dublin.
Mayo are always capable of a big performance unfortunately for them even if they get that this year I can't see it being enough"
Fair enough. Dublin are obviously an amazing team but they are weaker at the back than they were last year . Mayo will need goals to win . It is the only way i see Mayo winning..but I do think they are capable of out goaling Dublin defo not outshooting them point for point.

Yes,their performances have been very stop start ,their best game probably being against us .Still I just see a bit of weakness in the Dublin defence thankfully for them they have an outstanding offence to balance it out. Mayo have to target atleast three goals ,I'm not sure there is any other way but they have to drive it to them.They have plenty of forwards who aren't afraid to go for goals it is just about what Mayo team turns up. I'm pretty sure Rochford after watching that game will be telling his team goals have to be a priority and I expect to see every half chance near the box being used to go in on goal.

As was seen yesterday ,when Cluxton loses confidence ,the teams level drops too. Few goals would go miles for helping Mayo that way.Provided they don't go into meltdown themselves and leak them at the other end .If that happens Dublin will be on their way to double digit win.

O'shea must be used to perfection too .He is probably the strongest runner in the game right now. It takes on average three players to usually stop him fully . It's important he knows when to run and when to pass. Too often I see him run straight through two players only to have the ball taken from him when he gets surrounded after that by three of four.I think balls should be laid of to him around the box via Andy Moran not the other way around , he's more effective going at the Dublin defense from a running start than from catching balls and then trying to start running with two players already hanging off him.

I'm not saying I expect Mayo to win . I just firmly believe they will come out and play in September and like Kerry yesterday, will be in with a decent chance come the last ten minutes.For their own sanity they need to beat Dublin , another All-Ireland loss for that team is hard to watch even from a neutral perspective .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 29/08/2016 09:56:18    1907355

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Fair enough. Dublin are obviously an amazing team but they are weaker at the back than they were last year . Mayo will need goals to win . It is the only way i see Mayo winning..but I do think they are capable of out goaling Dublin defo not outshooting them point for point.

Yes,their performances have been very stop start ,their best game probably being against us .Still I just see a bit of weakness in the Dublin defence thankfully for them they have an outstanding offence to balance it out. Mayo have to target atleast three goals ,I'm not sure there is any other way but they have to drive it to them.They have plenty of forwards who aren't afraid to go for goals it is just about what Mayo team turns up. I'm pretty sure Rochford after watching that game will be telling his team goals have to be a priority and I expect to see every half chance near the box being used to go in on goal.

As was seen yesterday ,when Cluxton loses confidence ,the teams level drops too. Few goals would go miles for helping Mayo that way.Provided they don't go into meltdown themselves and leak them at the other end .If that happens Dublin will be on their way to double digit win.

O'shea must be used to perfection too .He is probably the strongest runner in the game right now. It takes on average three players to usually stop him fully . It's important he knows when to run and when to pass. Too often I see him run straight through two players only to have the ball taken from him when he gets surrounded after that by three of four.I think balls should be laid of to him around the box via Andy Moran not the other way around , he's more effective going at the Dublin defense from a running start than from catching balls and then trying to start running with two players already hanging off him.

I'm not saying I expect Mayo to win . I just firmly believe they will come out and play in September and like Kerry yesterday, will be in with a decent chance come the last ten minutes.For their own sanity they need to beat Dublin , another All-Ireland loss for that team is hard to watch even from a neutral perspective ."
O shea won't be fit /athletic enough to run at dublin for 70 + minutes huge difference between the physicality dublin bring to what mayo have met to date
O shea will likely have to play ff try n cause a bit of havoc . Dublin don't concede a huge amount of scorable frees either and they'll be extra conscious of that with Coc
Doc hasn't lived up to his potential for the last few games can't see them scoring nearly enough
Then u look at dublin forwards their immense
Bernard brogan and diarmuid connolly didn't do great yesterday but rock and for me and the player of the year Kevin mc were immense
I'd love to see mayo win it but being totally realistic I can't see it i know there'll be year ring or call it what u like from both sides leading into the game but dublin right now are a very serious outfit

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 29/08/2016 10:21:32    1907383

Mayo match up well against Dublin.

Dublin's big strength is their half forward line, Mayo have a top drawer half back line. Lee Keegan and Colm Boyle in particular are top players, playing at a really high level this year.

S O'S vs Fenton will be interesting.

Despite what people say Mayo have quality forwards. Aidan O'S, Moran are coming into form. Big games from the O'Connors could see them do it.

The big worry would be that Mayo's bench isn't as strong. Although Alan Dillon would be an experienced head perfect to come into a tight game.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 29/08/2016 15:34:03    1907674

Massive having EOG back

He destroyed Mayo in 2013

Looked very sharp when he came on, big option for Dublin

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 15:38:39    1907676

Mayo can do it, the negativity among their own fans really surprises me. Kerry showed yesterday in the first half that Dublin are vulnerable. Calling the goals gifts is laughable, they pushed up and forced errors. Cluxton was a mess under a bit of pressure and it's a pity the half time whistle came when it did.

Mayo have the players to do the same and have better backs than Kerry. Put AOS in on top of their FB line and close cluxton down at every opportunity. Even then it'll be a long shot but this defeatist attitude that seems to be common among their fans is depressing. I hope the players have more belief in themselves.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 29/08/2016 16:27:49    1907709

If Mayo park the bus Connolly, from long range and Rock, from frees will have a field day.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 29/08/2016 16:28:39    1907710

You'd have to think that if form is anything to go by Dublin should take this, maybe even comfortably. That said, this Mayo team has underperformed this championship and are coming in under the radar and with the pressure off which might just suit them tremendously; none of the ridiculous hype of recent years! If they can get off to a good start (and avoid their habit of leaking 2 or 3 early goals!) you couldn't write them off.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 29/08/2016 17:35:35    1907750

Replying To rossy15:  "O shea won't be fit /athletic enough to run at dublin for 70 + minutes huge difference between the physicality dublin bring to what mayo have met to date
O shea will likely have to play ff try n cause a bit of havoc . Dublin don't concede a huge amount of scorable frees either and they'll be extra conscious of that with Coc
Doc hasn't lived up to his potential for the last few games can't see them scoring nearly enough
Then u look at dublin forwards their immense
Bernard brogan and diarmuid connolly didn't do great yesterday but rock and for me and the player of the year Kevin mc were immense
I'd love to see mayo win it but being totally realistic I can't see it i know there'll be year ring or call it what u like from both sides leading into the game but dublin right now are a very serious outfit"
he won't be ,but to switch it up for ten min periods where he's catching high balls then laying them off,then running.

Yeah agree ,very impressed with Rock.

Don't know about Cillian O Connor myself. I'd be bold enough not to start him ,don't think Dublin will need to worry about him at all from what I've seen,for me he isnt performing well enough for mayo bar one or two games. Start Evan Regan ahead of him and if that doesn't go to plan bring Cillian off the bench ,Regan can kick frees from what I see anyhow.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 29/08/2016 18:15:41    1907771

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "he won't be ,but to switch it up for ten min periods where he's catching high balls then laying them off,then running.

Don't know about Cillian O Connor myself. I'd be bold enough not to start him ,don't think Dublin will need to worry about him at all from what I've seen,for me he isnt performing well enough for mayo bar one or two games. Start Evan Regan ahead of him and if that doesn't go to plan bring Cillian off the bench ,Regan can kick frees from what I see anyhow."
There is as much chance of you getting hit by a meteorite as Cillian not starting, bar injury, so get that thought out of your head fairly lively.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/08/2016 19:39:26    1907788

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "he won't be ,but to switch it up for ten min periods where he's catching high balls then laying them off,then running.

Don't know about Cillian O Connor myself. I'd be bold enough not to start him ,don't think Dublin will need to worry about him at all from what I've seen,for me he isnt performing well enough for mayo bar one or two games. Start Evan Regan ahead of him and if that doesn't go to plan bring Cillian off the bench ,Regan can kick frees from what I see anyhow."
I'd say ur confusing the 2 o Connors
Cillian has been brilliant for the last couple of games
Its diarmuid that's not playing well ...since he came back from injury

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 29/08/2016 20:20:15    1907805

Hard to park the bus and push up on kick outs.

I think Kerry showed that if you play to you your natural strengths there Apis some mileage in it, Dublin have become very adept at picking a blacker defense, I'd say to get at Dublin you need to run at them and or decent kick passing, less of the high ball I think that's proven a myth to be honest, Aiden O Shea did nothing last year vs us and that tactic undid Mayo in the second game.

In the heat of battle it's about holding your nerve, if Mayo are ahead even by a decent margin they have a psychological barrier to overcome, this Dublin team is never beaten they will go until the 75th minute. The psychology of this could ge key.

Dublin keep their best tempo for the last 15 mins and end stringer then they start.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/08/2016 22:13:48    1907856

Replying To rossy15:  "I'd say ur confusing the 2 o Connors
Cillian has been brilliant for the last couple of games
Its diarmuid that's not playing well ...since he came back from injury"
Nope not mixing them up .Diarmaid was playing fine until injury, Great game against Kildare.Been a little quiet lately but he tips away with distant points here and there.

Cillian has had one or two good games ,he played decent against us and he stepped it up when they played Westmeath but I don't think he played amazing the last day against Tipp ,yes he always gets high scores but he does take the frees . Been missing some of them to lately. I have watched him from his very first game of the championship. His very first game against London he was black carded after 5 mins. Galway he didn't show up . Fermanagh not really, Kildare his brother and Evan Regan really outshun him,westmeath he had a good game(although missed a lot of frees and scored mostly from play if i recall correctly), against us a decent one , against Tipp off form again .

I know Mayo fans reading this hold him in serious high regard but his form is very much like Mayo's this year ,stop start . I always thought he was an amazing player but this year he isn't as good as usual , he may have a cracker of a final and prove me wrong.Evan Regan is their second highest scorer and for the life of me I don't know why he has been dropped for Doherty. Maybe due to inexperience against bigger teams or because he is not exactly a physically strong player like Andy or Cillian I don't know but I really think he should be given a start considering his speed and finese that he would bring against Dublin ,not to mention his free taking from the right side of the pitch which is pretty decent,no Dean Rock but very decent.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 29/08/2016 22:33:22    1907861