Harte can't see Mayo winning the AI

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Yeah no problem with him giving his opinion. With Dublin at 8/11 and Mayo at 9/4 and Dublin still having to play Kerry it shows what the bookies think of our chances. Anyone tipping Mayo on our performances so far is doing so in the expectation of us upping our game 100% and Dublin/Kerry having an off day in the final. Anything is possible but the odds are about right."
I think you'll also find that 31 counties in Ireland will be hoping Mayo up their game no matter who they play in final - bout time some of these players got their hands on an AI medal.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 25/08/2016 18:06:35    1905972

Mickey knows his football!

offtheboat (USA) - Posts: 57 - 25/08/2016 18:07:37    1905973

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Dublin all day long. We have a fairly decent championship record against the Dubs over the last ten years. We can't manage to beat even a poor Kerry team. As soon as the national anthem is finished it's game over. Having said that it's like being given a choice between being poisoned or burned to death."
That isn't correct, those Kerry teams in the noughties albeit not Juggernaut sides were very strong much better than the current side while Mayo are obviously much stronger now than in 2004 and 2006

Mayo would be licking their lips at the thought of facing Kerry this year

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/08/2016 18:20:55    1905982

No problem in him giving his opinion, he is entitled to them. I dont think they will win it either as I think dubs will just bring Sam for a short drive then back again. But they have a better chance of winning it than Tyrone, or for That matter Meath .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/08/2016 18:30:36    1905989

Replying To Jackos_Wacko:  "Question for the Mayo fans.
Who would ye rather play in the final?"
Honestly I think Mayo would beat the pick of Jackeens and Yerras

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 25/08/2016 18:39:04    1905993

Jesus a team hasn't been this written off in a final since Greece in the euros of 2004. I don't think anyone outside of the panel are giving them a prayer including Mickey,a team that does rather well as underdogs and struggles as favourites.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 25/08/2016 18:46:48    1906000

Replying To yew_tree:  "I have no problem with his comment. He is entitled to his opinion and does not say it in a disrespectful way. The whole country is writing us off....it's up to the Mayo team to go out and prove em wrong."
I'm in agreement with the majority of people in the media writing Mayo at least wind won't be blown up the players backside. It is up the the players and management to go out there and prove them wrong! Mickey is calling it how he sees it. That's the way is see it two unless the team produce 76 mins instead of ten mins.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 25/08/2016 19:36:16    1906022

Replying To jimbodub:  "Mayo have been the least impressive team to reach an AI final that I've seen in many year."
I wonder who is the last county to reach a final being at least equally unimpressive? What was the result in the final? Would be interesting to know.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 25/08/2016 19:38:04    1906023

Replying To Spoddgy:  "I wonder who is the last county to reach a final being at least equally unimpressive? What was the result in the final? Would be interesting to know."
Down. They lost.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/08/2016 20:39:23    1906053

For some reason, I think it'll suit Mayo down to the ground to go into a final as serious underdogs. A written off Mayo team is a dangerous proposition, as Mickey Harte found out himself. As I've said before, you don't need to play every match like Dublin to win an All-Ireland. You just need to have one big match when it matters. Mayo have played stylish, exciting football in the past and come up short. They now look like they're sick of moral victories and looking good while losing. They're learning the value of winning ugly and by any means possible. I kinda fancy them to go all the way.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 25/08/2016 22:03:40    1906109

Replying To KYTitletown:  "That isn't correct, those Kerry teams in the noughties albeit not Juggernaut sides were very strong much better than the current side while Mayo are obviously much stronger now than in 2004 and 2006

Mayo would be licking their lips at the thought of facing Kerry this year"
The only time I can remember beating Kerry in a championship match was in 1996. Once in the last fifty years. So tell me again why we should hope for Kerry.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/08/2016 22:14:59    1906118

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I think you'll also find that 31 counties in Ireland will be hoping Mayo up their game no matter who they play in final - bout time some of these players got their hands on an AI medal."
Have you spoken to any Roscommon lads lately?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/08/2016 22:22:38    1906122

I have seen Mayo in 7 finals and in my opinion they had a better chance of winning at least 3 of them. This time around they have done well to reach the final but I have not anything that makes me think they can beat the Dubs.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 26/08/2016 07:20:59    1906163

Replying To royaldunne:  "No problem in him giving his opinion, he is entitled to them. I dont think they will win it either as I think dubs will just bring Sam for a short drive then back again. But they have a better chance of winning it than Tyrone, or for That matter Meath ."
Are you capable of writing a post without getting in a dig at Tyrone? Not sure why you've even got Meath in a post relating to winning All Ireland's as you guys are a world away - in fact you're not even close to winning your own province and haven't been for years. And instead of ridiculing Tyrone you should be kissing the ground they walk on as the last time you won Leinster sure wasn't it a Tyrone man who gave it to you against a much better Louth team - sludden was that his name?

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 26/08/2016 07:38:39    1906164

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "For some reason, I think it'll suit Mayo down to the ground to go into a final as serious underdogs. A written off Mayo team is a dangerous proposition, as Mickey Harte found out himself. As I've said before, you don't need to play every match like Dublin to win an All-Ireland. You just need to have one big match when it matters. Mayo have played stylish, exciting football in the past and come up short. They now look like they're sick of moral victories and looking good while losing. They're learning the value of winning ugly and by any means possible. I kinda fancy them to go all the way."
Exactly this, Mayo haven't played their big match yet. I was very impressed with how they saw Tyrone out - albeit, they nearly managed to end up drawing it with some dodgy choices during the keep ball phase.

The reason I posted the thread was because it seems like sour grapes from Harte from me, sure I admire the honesty and it's refreshing to an extent but had Tyrone beaten Mayo (and then Tipp!) would he say he couldn't see Tyrone winning an AI?

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 26/08/2016 09:41:06    1906196

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Have you spoken to any Roscommon lads lately?"
Well I have overlooked the local rivalry but you get my point - we need a good final and I'm sure even Roscommon folk will want Mayo to up their game in order to provide that at least.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 26/08/2016 10:19:57    1906210

I don't see anything wrong with his opinion, and more so than any of us here (that i know of) he's been there 3 times and won 3 times. his comment on a couple of purple patches is correct. he knows that because he's been there and he's being honest. I'm sure Mayo also know this!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 26/08/2016 10:46:14    1906229

Replying To liner:  "Honestly I think Mayo would beat the pick of Jackeens and Yerras"
Oh sweet lord

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 26/08/2016 10:57:27    1906236

Replying To Byanthon:  "I have seen Mayo in 7 finals and in my opinion they had a better chance of winning at least 3 of them. This time around they have done well to reach the final but I have not anything that makes me think they can beat the Dubs."
Think everyone is in the same boat with you on that one. No form except for not having any form. Only thing that makes me think they can do it is because they clearly stepped up playing us and I wouldn't be shocked if the whole country was eating their hats for disregarding them come September.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 26/08/2016 11:00:56    1906241

Replying To GetOverTheBar:  "Exactly this, Mayo haven't played their big match yet. I was very impressed with how they saw Tyrone out - albeit, they nearly managed to end up drawing it with some dodgy choices during the keep ball phase.

The reason I posted the thread was because it seems like sour grapes from Harte from me, sure I admire the honesty and it's refreshing to an extent but had Tyrone beaten Mayo (and then Tipp!) would he say he couldn't see Tyrone winning an AI?"
The fact that Mayo beat Fermanagh, Tyrone, Tipperary is not the issue; the issue is that they were unconvincing in each game and were assisted in each case by favourable refereeing calls. It's not the results, it's the performance and the performance in each case has been flaky and nowhere near the level needed to beat either Dublin or Kerry. It's not impossible that Mayo could produce a shock and play in the final like they haven't managed to play all year, but it is unlikely.

In that context, when asked in an interview by John Campbell at the Belfast Telegraph, a paper that often interviews Harte, it would have been very odd if Harte had just lied and e.g. said he 'strongly favoured Mayo to win Sam'. The idea that you should spoof in interviews just to avoid thought-police HS posters accusing you of sour grapes is far-fetched.

Incidentally, I note that Tomás Ó'Sé, writing in the Indo on 30 July, also feels that Mayo won't win Sam either - see: http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-mayo-wont-win-an-allireland-unless-they-demand-more-of-themselves-34924732.html.

More 'sour grapes' I suppose.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 26/08/2016 11:05:49    1906246