RTE Pundits - No Respect for Mayo football

Replying To galwayford:  "this is the last hurrah for this Mayo team- lets hope they can and will take advantage."
Andy Moran, Alan Dillon are the only Mayo player's I see retiring this year so don't be getting excited.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 25/08/2016 15:32:16    1905882

Replying To galwayford:  "this is the last hurrah for this Mayo team- lets hope they can and will take advantage."
This is said every year.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/08/2016 15:35:31    1905890

Replying To maroondiesel:  "not defending RTE because they have shallow analysis but Mayo are regarded similarily as say the Galway hurlers, often are a couple of french fries short of a happy meal when it comes to finals. Winners get respect. On the other hand, Sky has James Horan who wears red and green pajamas id say, but I would agree that the Sky team are more professional and informative and respectful. Up Mayo"
please spare me . lads on here telling us that watchin peter canavan fiddling with a t v screen is enjoyable to watch must be jokin
give me spillane brolly and o rourke any day . one change i would make is to replace lyster with the beautiful yvanne ni chuillin

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1804 - 25/08/2016 15:37:36    1905892

Cheers Galwayford. Senior club games postponed for now. We have a siege mentality now with everyone writing us off. You're not from Corofin are you ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7348 - 25/08/2016 15:44:04    1905893

Replying To unclegerry:  "Spillane, O Rourke and Brolly IMO were very quick to criticize and dismiss Mayo's chances in next months final right after the Tipp game. Mayo are miles ahead of the majority of counties and in with a huge chance next month v the Dubs or Kerry. They are u21 champions and that team also won a minor title so I have no doubt we will continue to challenge. I just get the impression that this Mayo team are being judged based on much inferior Mayo teams of the past by the RTE pundits. The sky coverage is actually far more balanced and accurate and doesn't have a race to the bottom among the pundits with who came come up with the most clever put-down or sensationalist comment.

The TV rights are up for review again soon. RTE's coverage looks dated and in need of a shakeup. I am 100% against the sky deal but it looks like its here to stay with other possible players in the game like Eir Sports I hope this prompts a significant improvement in RTE's coverage."
There's one way to shut the SG pundits up and make them "eat their hats" and that's win the thing.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 25/08/2016 16:54:50    1905938

I highly doubt this Mayo team need any motivation from commentators in the media...the hurt should be enough. If it's good enough to beet the crowned All Ireland champions this weekend....well we can't only wait and see.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 25/08/2016 17:25:12    1905949

Replying To yew_tree:  "I highly doubt this Mayo team need any motivation from commentators in the media...the hurt should be enough. If it's good enough to beet the crowned All Ireland champions this weekend....well we can't only wait and see."
Great post yew tree. Spot on. If ye are good enough ye will do it. If ye do we will all reappraise. And if Mayo do it i will be genuinely happy for you and JamesH and one or two other genuine Mayo lads here

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/08/2016 18:42:41    1905997

Replying To unclegerry:  "Spillane, O Rourke and Brolly IMO were very quick to criticize and dismiss Mayo's chances in next months final right after the Tipp game. Mayo are miles ahead of the majority of counties and in with a huge chance next month v the Dubs or Kerry. They are u21 champions and that team also won a minor title so I have no doubt we will continue to challenge. I just get the impression that this Mayo team are being judged based on much inferior Mayo teams of the past by the RTE pundits. The sky coverage is actually far more balanced and accurate and doesn't have a race to the bottom among the pundits with who came come up with the most clever put-down or sensationalist comment.

The TV rights are up for review again soon. RTE's coverage looks dated and in need of a shakeup. I am 100% against the sky deal but it looks like its here to stay with other possible players in the game like Eir Sports I hope this prompts a significant improvement in RTE's coverage."
Rte have two or three cameras sure look at the sending off the last day sky had two angles and after the match had said he deserved it while other media couldn't believe it was a red! The rye panel sometimes have to say something controversial just to make something happen

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 25/08/2016 19:45:49    1906029

Mayo are in great position. In All Ireland final waiting for 2 teams to bate each other. Mayo know what they have to do and only 70 mins from lifting Sam if play to their potential.

TraleeDynamo (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 25/08/2016 20:15:18    1906043

Whether you get the respect of RTE pundits or not is not important, what is important is the fact that Mayo has the respect of the nation, to get to so many finals without success and keep coming back imo that's success in itself, it's not all about medals, but they put the finishing touches to it.
I would say, this has to Mayo's most difficult year for the obvious reasons and the transition that it brought, Mayo is now through to the final, the pressure that Mayo haven't been used to is off, the pressure of all Ireland final day is the same sort of pressure that Dublin/Kerry will experience, so perhaps the transition that took place over the past year or so may reap the rewards that's long overdue, what more can I say, other than - - - - Just Do It.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 25/08/2016 20:36:17    1906050

The RTE panel call it as they see it, though I think we get a lot more invective than other "nearly" teams such as Waterford or Galway hurlers, for example.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/08/2016 11:20:18    1906259

Pundits only reflecting opinion of rest of country and are right for once.

Mayo going nowhere until they learn that they got to earn a final win and not just earn getting to finals.

Party starts every time Mayo win a semi-final. Never see Kerry, Dublin, Donegal, Galway, Meath or Tyrone folk acting the maggot like Mayo do in this way. Or any other county that qualifies for an AIF for that matter.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 26/08/2016 22:21:10    1906527

Replying To dingle2:  "Pundits only reflecting opinion of rest of country and are right for once.

Mayo going nowhere until they learn that they got to earn a final win and not just earn getting to finals.

Party starts every time Mayo win a semi-final. Never see Kerry, Dublin, Donegal, Galway, Meath or Tyrone folk acting the maggot like Mayo do in this way. Or any other county that qualifies for an AIF for that matter."
Dingle...please give examples of acting the maggot? Donegal went mental in the build up to the 2912 final and it done them no harm. Last time Mayo went mad was 2004 and even that it was mild compared to 96. Your talking through your hoop.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 26/08/2016 22:59:02    1906545

Replying To yew_tree:  "Dingle...please give examples of acting the maggot? Donegal went mental in the build up to the 2912 final and it done them no harm. Last time Mayo went mad was 2004 and even that it was mild compared to 96. Your talking through your hoop."
Yes, also wondering what exactly acting the maggot means!l
Perhaps it's that Mayo people like to enjoy themselves and look on the bright side, while some others can't understand this.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 27/08/2016 01:57:33    1906572

Replying To dingle2:  "Pundits only reflecting opinion of rest of country and are right for once.

Party starts every time Mayo win a semi-final. Never see Kerry, Dublin, Donegal, Galway, Meath or Tyrone folk acting the maggot like Mayo do in this way. Or any other county that qualifies for an AIF for that matter."
Ah lay of poor wee Mayo , I'm always acting the maggot after a semi win.All about the hype and what not

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 27/08/2016 02:25:26    1906578