You know you have Kerry rattled when.....

OOOh Liamy stirring the pot :-)

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/08/2016 12:34:29    1905739

I'm not surprised the Kerry lads are hungry

They hate the taste of humble pie down there!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/08/2016 12:41:15    1905741

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra the nerves have started getting to me this morning, I'll be on a hospital bed by Sunday if this keeps up.

There's a part of me that wishes they could just play the match behind closed doors and just post the result up on the RTE website after..."
Nervous ?

Why ? Are you playing ?

Surely if anything you should be feeling excitement ?

Isn't that the feeling every Dublin and Kerry fan should be feeling this weekend. The two best teams in Gaelic football collide yet again.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/08/2016 12:50:06    1905749

Replying To waynoI:  "Nervous ?

Why ? Are you playing ?

Isn't that the feeling every Dublin and Kerry fan should be feeling this weekend. The two best teams in Gaelic football collide yet again."
I think its a perfectly reasonable emotion to feel nervous ahead of a semi final. Would love if I didn't feel nervous going into every game...even the ones on Leinster!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/08/2016 12:59:49    1905763

Why ? Are you playing ?

Isn't that the feeling every Dublin and Kerry fan should be feeling this weekend. The two best teams in Gaelic football collide yet again."
Each to their own, personally there's a part of me that hates going to big Championship matches like this.

Utterly stupid really when you think about it, why watching 30 lads run after a ball can effect your mood so much.

But its just the way I get before big games...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/08/2016 13:03:27    1905769

You know you have Kerry rattled when..... you mention that they've only played Clare, Tipp, Clare

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/08/2016 13:03:57    1905770

Why ? Are you playing ?

This isn't the 1980's anymore friend, sure yesterday a poster on here had us as the 7th best team in Ireland, now I would have us a bit higher but that is what the neutral perception of Kerry is now.

Also, it is extremely disrespectful to Mayo who not only are in this year's final but have been much better than Kerry this decade and only for this amazing Dublin side would have won at least 2/3 AI's

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/08/2016 13:19:00    1905779

Replying To aidan64:  "Yerra we may as well stay at home with that sort of confidence floating around Dublin. We have no chance so lad. We'll see ye next year at some stage. Mayo will also bow down to ye in the final. Come back to me when ye reach 37."
Well when the present is unplalatable it's natural to want to bask in former glories. Go right ahead. .Invoke your 37 all you want....I respect your past achievements but I am talking about Sunday's game. You may need to reflect on your past come Sunday at 5.10. Hope it brings you comfort.:-p

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/08/2016 13:41:39    1905795

Replying To KYTitletown:  "This isn't the 1980's anymore friend, sure yesterday a poster on here had us as the 7th best team in Ireland, now I would have us a bit higher but that is what the neutral perception of Kerry is now.

Also, it is extremely disrespectful to Mayo who not only are in this year's final but have been much better than Kerry this decade and only for this amazing Dublin side would have won at least 2/3 AI's"
I presume your 'bit higher' is 6? For God's sake, cut the self pitying nonsense and yerra-isms. It's painfully irritating to read that tripe, you know well we're in the Top 4 in the country easily. Don't keep playing the poor 'we are Kerry and we are enduring a tough time' act.

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 25/08/2016 14:05:35    1905813

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra the nerves have started getting to me this morning, I'll be on a hospital bed by Sunday if this keeps up.

There's a part of me that wishes they could just play the match behind closed doors and just post the result up on the RTE website after..."
100% agree Hermit!
in a way, I hate the matches! Cant ever enjoy them, way too nervous!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/08/2016 14:14:54    1905820

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "100% agree Hermit!
in a way, I hate the matches! Cant ever enjoy them, way too nervous!!"
"Why do people pay to go on rollercoasters and feel sick and afraid?" I wonder as I cough up €40 to torture myself for 90 minutes...

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 25/08/2016 14:28:49    1905828

Replying To SecretsOfFatima:  "I presume your 'bit higher' is 6? For God's sake, cut the self pitying nonsense and yerra-isms. It's painfully irritating to read that tripe, you know well we're in the Top 4 in the country easily. Don't keep playing the poor 'we are Kerry and we are enduring a tough time' act."
It doesn't matter whether you are top 4 or top 6, you don't get a medal for doing that

Being top 4 is fine, however Dublin are the benchmark and way ahead of the rest bar Mayo who could catch them on a off-day

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/08/2016 14:38:13    1905834

Replying To avonali:  "Well when the present is unplalatable it's natural to want to bask in former glories. Go right ahead. .Invoke your 37 all you want....I respect your past achievements but I am talking about Sunday's game. You may need to reflect on your past come Sunday at 5.10. Hope it brings you comfort.:-p"
What happened to your 'Kerry favourites' theory, the mask slipped very quickly

You'll have to do better than that to fool us

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/08/2016 14:41:27    1905836

Look, all joking aside for one post if I may :)

I have the height of respect for Kerry. And, should Kerry win on Sunday I will be behind ye in the final. I know i go all gun-ho at this from August to September and I get dogs abuse for it, but I am here long enough to get over it and take it for what it is.

We all have the craic, we all hop off each other. Kerry lads take it as a compliment that I / WE go on about ye so much.

Nothing stirs the senses for a Dub like a Kerry game, not even a Meath game. And sure we all go bravado mad and so on and say things that Donald Trump would wince at, but sure look, we are all long enough in the tooth at the same time not to get our knickers in a twist over it, well most of us are!

Fact is this, the 2 best teams in Ireland are facing off on Sunday. 2 really top quality teams. There wont be more than a kick of a ball in it at the end of the day, and I only hope and pray that we come out the right side of it again. And when its over, as Dublin and Kerry always do, we will shake hands, share a pint and pick our combined teams from 1974-1984 :)

Enjoy Sunday lads, cos Dublin Kerry in the late summer, this is what we all live for, sure you couldnt bate it,

You couldnt bate it.

Up the Dubs!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/08/2016 14:53:05    1905848

I said on another thread that the word hunger is BS .

Yes teams are driven however if hunger existed we would have a new winner every year .

Winning All- Ireland's comes down to better players , good management or in our case excellent and a slice of fortune ( injuries etc ) .

Dublin are the best . If they lose it won't be ' hunger' .

Try and stand outside Dublins dressing room on Sunday . They like all of the counties will be ravenous . Winners don't lack hunger .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 25/08/2016 15:10:40    1905858

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Look, all joking aside for one post if I may :)

I have the height of respect for Kerry. And, should Kerry win on Sunday I will be behind ye in the final. I know i go all gun-ho at this from August to September and I get dogs abuse for it, but I am here long enough to get over it and take it for what it is.

We all have the craic, we all hop off each other. Kerry lads take it as a compliment that I / WE go on about ye so much.

Nothing stirs the senses for a Dub like a Kerry game, not even a Meath game. And sure we all go bravado mad and so on and say things that Donald Trump would wince at, but sure look, we are all long enough in the tooth at the same time not to get our knickers in a twist over it, well most of us are!

Fact is this, the 2 best teams in Ireland are facing off on Sunday. 2 really top quality teams. There wont be more than a kick of a ball in it at the end of the day, and I only hope and pray that we come out the right side of it again. And when its over, as Dublin and Kerry always do, we will shake hands, share a pint and pick our combined teams from 1974-1984 :)

Enjoy Sunday lads, cos Dublin Kerry in the late summer, this is what we all live for, sure you couldnt bate it,

You couldnt bate it.

Up the Dubs!"
Couldn't have put it better (except for hoping Kerry come out on top on Sunday and in September :P )

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 25/08/2016 15:24:57    1905874

Well said SecretsOfFatima. There's no point moping. Kerry have huge respect. That has been earned over many years. It won't change if it does turn out this Kerry team is not as good as their predecessors. There's no county out there that wouldn't be a good bit nervous facing Kerry (at any time!).

If you take us this time we'll clink glasses with rueful good humour and great respect.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 25/08/2016 15:59:28    1905899

Replying To avonali:  "Well when the present is unplalatable it's natural to want to bask in former glories. Go right ahead. .Invoke your 37 all you want....I respect your past achievements but I am talking about Sunday's game. You may need to reflect on your past come Sunday at 5.10. Hope it brings you comfort.:-p"
No bother lad. Lets just wait and see what happens on Sunday. You'd never know what might happen. We might actually get off the bus and decide to take the pitch. Sure it will only be like a training session for ye the way you are going on.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 25/08/2016 16:25:33    1905917

Replying To aidan64:  "No bother lad. Lets just wait and see what happens on Sunday. You'd never know what might happen. We might actually get off the bus and decide to take the pitch. Sure it will only be like a training session for ye the way you are going on."
The Sam Maguire '16 t-shirts are printed. Same as ''92.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7353 - 25/08/2016 16:39:16    1905927

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The Sam Maguire '16 t-shirts are printed. Same as ''92."
Don't you mean '82???

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/08/2016 18:13:03    1905977