Empty Hill today

I hope Kerry are reading this thread, the Dubs looking for hill tickets for the final tis gas.
No divine right to hill 16, Mayo showed Dublin that in 2006 :)
As a Mayo man I was in the hill early in 2013 that day to see our minors win and what came afterwards was disgraceful.
Dubs arrived in late and jostled and pushed, threw bottles of urine at supporters etc.
I was there previously for finals against Kerry and Donegal came out the wrong side but never felt intimidated by the supporters.
If I got free tickets to the hill and we were playing the Dubs Id tear them up.
Admin more than likely wont post this, but if I wrote what actually happened there would be no chance of it going up.

The Dublin team are a serious outfit and have two or maybe three in a row in their sights,
if people wish to sit/stand anywhere in Croke park and pay their hard earned money they should be able to regardless of where they are from

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 22/08/2016 10:30:59    1904330

Ffs club 51 where did I say they couldn't sit or stand where they want? Read my opening post again, this is nothing against Mayo its at the powers that be. My post has been completely twisted and now it's about how far it's to drive to Croker. country posters it's isn't free supporting Dublin by the way we travel to league games and the last 6 years we've been in more league n champion finals than anyone else it costs us money as well.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/08/2016 11:09:52    1904339

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ffs club 51 where did I say they couldn't sit or stand where they want? Read my opening post again, this is nothing against Mayo its at the powers that be. My post has been completely twisted and now it's about how far it's to drive to Croker. country posters it's isn't free supporting Dublin by the way we travel to league games and the last 6 years we've been in more league n champion finals than anyone else it costs us money as well."
Why should Dub be granted more hill tickets, its not like its yers home ground if it was Parnell park fair enough.

Anyway ye are still a long way off the final, Kerry will have lots to say on the matter, you should take a leaf out of Jim Gavins book and use some humility. Pure Gentleman takes his hat off to shake hands with opponents managers his side have decimated.
(as I said Kerry will love reading this!)

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 22/08/2016 11:36:00    1904350

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ffs club 51 where did I say they couldn't sit or stand where they want? Read my opening post again, this is nothing against Mayo its at the powers that be. My post has been completely twisted and now it's about how far it's to drive to Croker. country posters it's isn't free supporting Dublin by the way we travel to league games and the last 6 years we've been in more league n champion finals than anyone else it costs us money as well."
I'm not going to the game but I have serious issue with your opening post. The hill is not for the dubs alone, last time I checked they didn't own it. If mary from Ballina wants to stand in the hill she has every right to do it.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 22/08/2016 11:36:56    1904351

Sure I say give the Dublin GAA as many hill tickets as they can before all these boys start moving into the cusack and Hogan, then we're all screwed! haha

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHPtlvVtNRk

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 22/08/2016 11:44:47    1904354

Replying To club51:  "I hope Kerry are reading this thread, the Dubs looking for hill tickets for the final tis gas.
As a Mayo man I was in the hill early in 2013 that day to see our minors win and what came afterwards was disgraceful.
Dubs arrived in late and jostled and pushed, threw bottles of urine at supporters etc.
I was there previously for finals against Kerry and Donegal came out the wrong side but never felt intimidated by the supporters.
Admin more than likely wont post this, but if I wrote what actually happened there would be no chance of it going up.

The Dublin team are a serious outfit and have two or maybe three in a row in their sights,
if people wish to sit/stand anywhere in Croke park and pay their hard earned money they should be able to regardless of where they are from"
A veteran of the "The great Battle of the Hill 2013" up there with Vinegar Hill

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 22/08/2016 11:48:39    1904357

Replying To club51:  "I hope Kerry are reading this thread, the Dubs looking for hill tickets for the final tis gas.

if people wish to sit/stand anywhere in Croke park and pay their hard earned money they should be able to regardless of where they are from"
Jesus wept...another new poster with tales of woe from the hill.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/08/2016 11:56:13    1904363

'If I got free tickets to the hill and we were playing the Dubs Id tear them up.'

Haha check out Hoganstand's resident hard man!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 22/08/2016 12:08:08    1904373

Jostled and pushed? A bit like on any terrace where there's limited space then? No one has a designated space on a terrace, you simply buy the right to stand somewhere on it. Not sure I believe you on the bottles of urine either, although your imagination isn't quite on a par with the fella from Galway a few days ago. All we were missing with him was Danny Dyer "bowling" round Croker looking to CS gas the other mob. Keep trying though. That or grow a pair.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 22/08/2016 12:10:11    1904375

Replying To club51:  "Why should Dub be granted more hill tickets, its not like its yers home ground if it was Parnell park fair enough.

Anyway ye are still a long way off the final, Kerry will have lots to say on the matter, you should take a leaf out of Jim Gavins book and use some humility. Pure Gentleman takes his hat off to shake hands with opponents managers his side have decimated.
(as I said Kerry will love reading this!)"
Your missing the original point
Why do supporters look for hill tickets when it comes to a final and seem to feel the cost issue is the main reason, when throughout the season terrace tickets are half the price of stand tickets generally.
howcome the same people whinging about cost for games dont avail of the cheaper option for quarter finals or semi finals?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/08/2016 12:10:15    1904376

All them hours we have to get to Croker and we have to pack the hiking boots so we can climb the Hill. We're well used to climbing The Reek in our bare feet but can we conquer the mighty Hill ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 22/08/2016 12:21:26    1904384

For the 2013 all Ireland apparently ticket demands were at a level never seen before they could have a filled the place twice over,so it was only fair they spread out the allocations and supportes should appreciate getting there hands on any ticket full stop,yesterday the place was only 2/3 full so obviously if people prefer the comfort of a stand tickets they were going to choose them

Dublin supporters don't have a devine right to hill 16 tickets,what about Kerry supporters who want hill tickets next Sunday have they been shafted?

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 22/08/2016 12:23:32    1904389

CD though i see your point with regard to the hill being empty up.to the final, we dont have any right to demand tickets for ay section of Croke Park. I hope the kerry lads take ther hill allocation. The banter is great. Maybe club 51 would be better off in the stands. He sounds a bit too fragile for the big bold terrace!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/08/2016 12:34:52    1904396

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Your missing the original point
Why do supporters look for hill tickets when it comes to a final and seem to feel the cost issue is the main reason, when throughout the season terrace tickets are half the price of stand tickets generally.
howcome the same people whinging about cost for games dont avail of the cheaper option for quarter finals or semi finals?"
In a sellout you put your hands out for whatever tickets are available and if 10 people are telling you they'll have a ticket for you you'll keep contacting those 10 until you have a precious ticket in your lámh. Immaterial if it's Hill, Davin, top of the Canal End or halfway line in the lower Hogan. For a non sellout I'd rather a stand ticket, a better view and a bit of comfort and shelter and access to the jacks! Was in the Hill for the '06 and '12 finals. The view wasn't great but the craic was mighty.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 22/08/2016 12:38:45    1904398

Kerry supporters who want to go the hill will be on the hill but I'll be surprised if Kerry bring more than 20 thousand to the game so their won't be a big demand from them for hill tickets. Wexico surely there has to be some loyalty to a county that more or less packs out a terrace the last 40 years? We don't believe we have a Devine right to hill tickets.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/08/2016 12:40:35    1904405

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kerry supporters who want to go the hill will be on the hill but I'll be surprised if Kerry bring more than 20 thousand to the game so their won't be a big demand from them for hill tickets. Wexico surely there has to be some loyalty to a county that more or less packs out a terrace the last 40 years? We don't believe we have a Devine right to hill tickets."
But the original post suggests that you do have a divine right.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 22/08/2016 12:59:55    1904418

Jackeen I'm not saying Dublin should get every single hill ticket but I do think they should be given more Hill tickets than Mayo If If If If we get to this years final , for me what happened in '13 was a disgrace. Also By us getting more hill tickets means Mayo get more stand tickets which after yesterday they obviously prefer to sit.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/08/2016 13:34:16    1904437

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jackeen I'm not saying Dublin should get every single hill ticket but I do think they should be given more Hill tickets than Mayo If If If If we get to this years final , for me what happened in '13 was a disgrace. Also By us getting more hill tickets means Mayo get more stand tickets which after yesterday they obviously prefer to sit."
If Dublin make the final:

Dublin and Mayo should get a 50/50 split of the hill tickets

They should also get a 50/50 split of all other areas once the allocation for counties, clubs, intercounty players, etc has been dispensed.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 22/08/2016 14:16:47    1904466

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jackeen I'm not saying Dublin should get every single hill ticket but I do think they should be given more Hill tickets than Mayo If If If If we get to this years final , for me what happened in '13 was a disgrace. Also By us getting more hill tickets means Mayo get more stand tickets which after yesterday they obviously prefer to sit."
Why what happened in 2013 that was a disgrace?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 22/08/2016 15:36:14    1904511

Replying To GreenandRed:  "In a sellout you put your hands out for whatever tickets are available and if 10 people are telling you they'll have a ticket for you you'll keep contacting those 10 until you have a precious ticket in your lámh. Immaterial if it's Hill, Davin, top of the Canal End or halfway line in the lower Hogan. For a non sellout I'd rather a stand ticket, a better view and a bit of comfort and shelter and access to the jacks! Was in the Hill for the '06 and '12 finals. The view wasn't great but the craic was mighty."
The point im making is non dubs continually state it's the ticket price that makes them feel they deserve them for an all ireland final but why don't they avail of the cheaper option throughout the year when the ticket price is always almost half as cheap to go to the hill?
You say when it sold out you will take what you get but the difference being a hill ticket to non dubs is viewed as a bad ticket by your lack of going there you immediately class it a poor view, where as to the vast majority of Dublin supporters a hill ticket is the prized ticket where they want to be and go for every game. You will see the same people standing in the same areas of the hill all year. A lot of Dublin people rather standing than sitting at games, you can see that by the crowds that go to away league games.
There's a clear solution in my view that they could just give the lower canal end a high percentage of the tickets for finals to the opposition if Dublin are in the final.
that way your pleasing the non dubs who rather sitting and think the view isn't good on the hill and allowing the people who have lined the gaa pockets throughout the season by populating the hill be rewarded with a ticket for the final.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/08/2016 15:48:31    1904517