Empty Hill today

Replying To KYTitletown:  "It's not as easy fill it when you don't have a million and a half people and have to travel 12 hour round trips to get there"
12 hour round trips?! Hahaha

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 21/08/2016 21:17:35    1904142

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ok this is a little moan but what the gaa did to Dublin in the '13 final with Hill tickets was an absolute disgrace , for a county that more or less packs it out every game to be shafted like that in '13 was so wrong. I had no problem Mayo getting more stand tickets as long as Dublin got more Hill tickets but that didn't happen. Again today the Hill was open and cheaper yet Mayo supporters rather go to the stand, I hope to god the powers that be show a bit of loyalty to the Dublin hill supporters if we make this years final. Just had to get that off my chest."
Jesus is the hoganstand admin going to let this continuous anti Mayo rubbish be spouted by a Dublin posted yet again? Time for some cop on these lad just want an excuse! These fans have less to travel and less to pay to get into the stadium what's the odds of the richest county having the biggest cheapskates!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 21/08/2016 21:27:31    1904151

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "On google maps getting public transport from Ballycastle in Mayo to Croke Park takes 5 hours and 54 minutes."
not even a decent road till swinford! Two buses a day!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 21/08/2016 21:29:28    1904153

Replying To CroiGorm:  "12 hour round trips?! Hahaha"
What would you be tripping on!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 21/08/2016 21:31:21    1904154

The Dubs should have exclusive rights to the Hill, ever since the GAA built a wall to pen us animals in, the very least they can do is allow us to have rights to the cage they built for us.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 21/08/2016 21:31:30    1904157

Sweet Jesus your man thinks its anti Mayo post.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/08/2016 21:37:23    1904164

It seems Dublin people don't have a clue about the realities of those fans living in isolated rural areas, they have been cosseted from these factors having had the luxury of every game at home since time immemorial

If people think you can drive 800km with kids, eat early and late, toilet breaks, bad roads up and down in less than 12 hours then they are made of mighty stuff not withstanding financial cost of doing this multiple times a year. I'm lucky I only face an 8 hour trek!

Some of these lads remind of the Dublin lad recently who drove his car and got stuck in the walkway at Dunquin pier! Poor lad had to stay in his car overnight until the County Council dragged out the car in the morning!

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 21/08/2016 21:42:18    1904168

I understand the hardship you's all have to travel to games but my opening post has nothing got to do with that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/08/2016 22:11:25    1904184

Replying To KYTitletown:  "It seems Dublin people don't have a clue about the realities of those fans living in isolated rural areas, they have been cosseted from these factors having had the luxury of every game at home since time immemorial

If people think you can drive 800km with kids, eat early and late, toilet breaks, bad roads up and down in less than 12 hours then they are made of mighty stuff not withstanding financial cost of doing this multiple times a year. I'm lucky I only face an 8 hour trek!

Some of these lads remind of the Dublin lad recently who drove his car and got stuck in the walkway at Dunquin pier! Poor lad had to stay in his car overnight until the County Council dragged out the car in the morning!"
True, I guess my 10 minutes from Croke Park to my front door makes me see things differently. But the reality is the Dubs had no say were Croke Park was to be built, have no say over what games we play there. But one thing for sure who ever decided to build Croke Park in Dublin knew which side his bread was buttered on. So you'll have to console yourselves with that though on the long trip home.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 21/08/2016 22:13:44    1904185

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ok this is a little moan but what the gaa did to Dublin in the '13 final with Hill tickets was an absolute disgrace , for a county that more or less packs it out every game to be shafted like that in '13 was so wrong. I had no problem Mayo getting more stand tickets as long as Dublin got more Hill tickets but that didn't happen. Again today the Hill was open and cheaper yet Mayo supporters rather go to the stand, I hope to god the powers that be show a bit of loyalty to the Dublin hill supporters if we make this years final. Just had to get that off my chest."
A few points first:
-The hill isn't owned by Dublin and they have no god given right for their supporters to have tickets for it exclusively or to have more tickets for it than any other county.
-For an all-Ireland the price of a hill ticket is €40 compared to €80 for a stand ticket. For this reason people are obviously going to want to pay considerably less for a ticket for a final. This does not happen for semi finals as much as a stand ticket cost €40
-For a final it is hard enough to get one ticket and it is nearly impossible to get two or more tickets together. Getting a hill ticket is in most cases the only realistic opportunity a group of friends or a family might have of going to an all-Ireland and experiencing the occasion together

Going by your logic only Dublin fans should be entitled to these advantages of having a hill ticket more than a fan from any other county. Why is it every non Dublin fan should have to pay €80 and not have the option of a €40 tickets? This is all the more important for non Dublin fans as we have the added expense of traveling to Dublin. why is it non Dublin fans shouldn't be able to attend an all-Ireland final with a group of 3,4 or 5 etc? If a father wants to take his 2 children to the final then getting hill tickets is realistically his only option to do so.

Den32 (Kerry) - Posts: 1 - 21/08/2016 22:28:02    1904203

Replying To waynoI:  "It doesn't take anyone 6 hours each way from any part of the country, to croke park would you give over ha"
Breathtaking ignorance. You don't get out of the pale too often do you Waynol?

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 21/08/2016 22:28:56    1904206

I am beginning to think me and Clondalkin have met in real life as in 2013 I stood on the hill and a Dublin fella said I was standing in his spot and that I or Mayo didn't deserve to be on their hill...maybe Tom Smith was right ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 21/08/2016 22:40:53    1904214

Replying To waynoI:  "It doesn't take anyone 6 hours each way from any part of the country, to croke park would you give over ha"
It takes two hours just to get out of Mayo!

Dubs don't know how easy they have it

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 22/08/2016 00:10:39    1904232

The prices for the final will more than likely be Stand 80 eur, Hill 40 eur. Why shouldn't Mayo fans get their share of hill tickets if they want them?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 22/08/2016 00:13:03    1904233

Rural Donegal ,west Mayo,parts of Kerry on a match day. It could easily be 6 hours up 6 back.No M50 in these areas.Donegal doesn't even have a train station.

Traffic,breaks for food, it all adds up and you could be stuck on the quays for half the day when you do get in. Life outside the pale is harder than you'd imagine..

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 22/08/2016 01:37:40    1904250

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I understand the hardship you's all have to travel to games but my opening post has nothing got to do with that."
It's waynol's post that most people have issue with - and with good reason.

As for your OP, can you not appreciate that in between two 6 hour journeys, a fan may prefer to sit rather than stand?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 22/08/2016 08:19:02    1904261

Replying To Den32:  "A few points first:
-The hill isn't owned by Dublin and they have no god given right for their supporters to have tickets for it exclusively or to have more tickets for it than any other county.
-For an all-Ireland the price of a hill ticket is €40 compared to €80 for a stand ticket. For this reason people are obviously going to want to pay considerably less for a ticket for a final. This does not happen for semi finals as much as a stand ticket cost €40
-For a final it is hard enough to get one ticket and it is nearly impossible to get two or more tickets together. Getting a hill ticket is in most cases the only realistic opportunity a group of friends or a family might have of going to an all-Ireland and experiencing the occasion together

Going by your logic only Dublin fans should be entitled to these advantages of having a hill ticket more than a fan from any other county. Why is it every non Dublin fan should have to pay €80 and not have the option of a €40 tickets? This is all the more important for non Dublin fans as we have the added expense of traveling to Dublin. why is it non Dublin fans shouldn't be able to attend an all-Ireland final with a group of 3,4 or 5 etc? If a father wants to take his 2 children to the final then getting hill tickets is realistically his only option to do so."
The hill tickets are half the price of the stand tickets throughout the championship. I think the original poster is questioning why supporters from other counties only avail of the cheaper option come all ireland final day if cost is such a big thing surely they would avail of it for all games?
From my experience of 2013 most of the mayo supporters around me that day had never been to croke park before never mind the hill. I think the gaa could open their season ticket scheme to a larger amount of terrace tickets or allow the likes of the Parnell park pass scheme expand therefore it would reward people who go all year instead of starting them for Johnny or Mary who only wants a day out and got their ticket.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/08/2016 08:51:36    1904271

If the "powers that be" were to do their job properly and take into account the massive cost of attending games in Croke Park for us culchies they would make The Hill exclusively a Dub-free zone on AI final day !!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 22/08/2016 09:16:56    1904282

If the "powers that be" were to do their job properly and take into account the massive cost of attending games in Croke Park for us culchies they would make The Hill exclusively a Dub-free zone on AI final day !!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 22/08/2016 09:17:07    1904283

like the 2 waterford v kilkenny games and most other matches i go to - didnt seem to be lot of neutrals there, would have thought there be good dublin crowd there as they have good chance of being in final against mayo

west cork can be 6 hour trip as well

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/08/2016 10:22:38    1904324