Can Mayo exorcise the ghost of '13?

Someone was talking about the '13 final today. In all Mayo's years chasing the holy grail. That final was there for them. It's harsh to use a word someone has already used in this thread.

It's hard to tell if they have the mental toughness. I think they have. While I hope it's not the case, if it is a repeat of the '13 final, I think we'll see Mayo exorcise the ghost of '13.

Sunday's winner will be the only county not wanting Mayo to win for obvious reasons.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 26/08/2016 16:33:17    1906418

Replying To legendzxix:  "Someone was talking about the '13 final today. In all Mayo's years chasing the holy grail. That final was there for them. It's harsh to use a word someone has already used in this thread.

It's hard to tell if they have the mental toughness. I think they have. While I hope it's not the case, if it is a repeat of the '13 final, I think we'll see Mayo exorcise the ghost of '13.

Sunday's winner will be the only county not wanting Mayo to win for obvious reasons."
Excercise a ghost? Jesus lads they had a chance to win but in fairness they couldn't have lost to a better team in my opinion!
So let's stop talking nonsense!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 26/08/2016 17:03:36    1906433

Replying To legendzxix:  "Someone was talking about the '13 final today. In all Mayo's years chasing the holy grail. That final was there for them. It's harsh to use a word someone has already used in this thread.

Sunday's winner will be the only county not wanting Mayo to win for obvious reasons."
Ah come on man. Not another one of these.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 26/08/2016 17:05:15    1906436

Replying To downside:  "mayo will win the all ireland if their believe is strong , enough,

they are in the same position now as kerry were in 2009 , poor

passage through the qualifiers good quarter final and poor semi final

it is set up for them , opposition in final will be overconfident , so if the preperation is
correct they will win it"
Not sure if belief comes into it. They have probably believed they could win it as much as they could this year as the last 4/5 .If they are good enough on the day they will win,belief can only do so much ,I doubt it is that part of their game they are lacking,

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 26/08/2016 17:47:36    1906452

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Leave our Cillian alone."
He's a great player when he plays well , he has shown it in one or two games this year ...but he has not being playing and certainly does not deserve am all star of any kind , it is very obvious to most of the country.Andy Moran , Evan Regan, Jason Doherty picking up the places around him.Mind you I've high praise for what Andy has being doing this year, himself and O'shea should be in the running for an All-star granted they have a decent final.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 26/08/2016 17:51:24    1906455

Jesus lads they had a chance to win but in fairness...
Spoddgy (Mayo)

Many people who have watched many a final could not believe how ye left it behind ye. It might be hard for you to see that but it was shocking stuff. If your current team don't land the holy grail there'll be many chapters written about the final of '13.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 27/08/2016 07:56:15    1906586

Whoever comes through tomorrow will be clear favourites and deservedly so. This Mayo team has stumbled it's way into the final and far from any giddiness, most supporters are staying very realistic about our chances. We just would like to see the team go out and perform and if that doesn't turn out to be good enough, so be it. We'd also take a jammy win if that comes our way, it would transform the team's belief like 2011 did for the excellent Dubs.

People suggesting that Aidan O'Shea should be doing more are missing the bigger picture in my view. He was trying to do so much at times in past seasons that he was behaving like a one man team. I was advocating dropping him earlier in the year as a result, because his contributions were diminishing the overall team effort. He seems to have reached the same conclusion himself, and become better integrated into the overall game plan.

While Cillian has been hot and cold this year the performances of the other forwards have taken the focus off him, and he certainly doesn't shrink from the less glamorous but equally important jobs of pressurising defenders and running off the ball.

Mayo haven't really shone this year so far, but they've been playing more like a team than just a collection of good players, so whoever comes out on top tomorrow can expect a game in 3 weeks time.

A draw wouldn't be a surprise tomorrow.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/08/2016 11:06:11    1906613

Replying To legendzxix:  "Jesus lads they had a chance to win but in fairness...
Spoddgy (Mayo)

Many people who have watched many a final could not believe how ye left it behind ye. It might be hard for you to see that but it was shocking stuff. If your current team don't land the holy grail there'll be many chapters written about the final of '13."
If want to to talk about belief id say this it didn't surprise me in the end sure only Mayo could have a team steamrolling everyone then get to the final against another team walking over everyone else. If another county had a team playing like mayo that year no one else would have got near them but with mayo there had to be another team at the same level! Typical Mayo!!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 27/08/2016 14:48:45    1906654

Ye have yere own box of tricks up there, but ye'd be well advised to look at what Kerry did do and what they should have done today. Try to do in the final what Kerry did in 14, learn from the lessons from the other semi.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 28/08/2016 18:38:38    1907046

Mayo? 2 Hopes. Bob Hope and no Hope.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 28/08/2016 19:03:44    1907063

No-one can stop this Dublin panzergruppen.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/08/2016 19:52:07    1907104

I think we are really up against it being honest. We need Dublin to be a bit undercooked and for Mayo to bring their A game. I understand why people are writing is off. Thought though it was a bit disrespectful with Brolly and Spillane laughing when Lyster mentioned Mayo.

Keep the Faith

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 28/08/2016 20:01:59    1907106

I would say it's near impossible for mayo to beat the Dubs, however cast the mind back to 2008 when Kerry with their twin towers were set to steam roll over a Tyrone team. The whole talk and betting the week before was by how much would Kerry beat them by. Rte even went as far as saying that it was a very poor match up for this final and that the only thing Tyrone had going for them was their cute beards.... Well we all know what happened.. It's 15against 15 for 70 minutes. Anything is possible... Keep the faith.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 28/08/2016 20:20:13    1907114

It doesn't matter If Mayo win they won't have won it Dublin will not have played up to their standards At least that's what the pundits and A lot of Dublin fans will say Me at this stage I couldn't care less how we win it Good reffing Bad reffing or no reffing at all I just want a Friggin All Ireland Win

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 28/08/2016 20:37:03    1907125

Mayo going in as complete underdogs with few if any giving them a chance, its set up nicely for them to give it a go.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 28/08/2016 20:40:06    1907127

Replying To Glensboy:  "Mayo? 2 Hopes. Bob Hope and no Hope."
The first time I heard that one I nearly fell out of the pram laughing.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/08/2016 21:45:44    1907184

Replying To Gleebo:  "No-one can stop this Dublin panzergruppen."
No need for that kind of language!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/08/2016 22:52:17    1907214

Replying To border Gael:  "I would say it's near impossible for mayo to beat the Dubs, however cast the mind back to 2008 when Kerry with their twin towers were set to steam roll over a Tyrone team. The whole talk and betting the week before was by how much would Kerry beat them by. Rte even went as far as saying that it was a very poor match up for this final and that the only thing Tyrone had going for them was their cute beards.... Well we all know what happened.. It's 15against 15 for 70 minutes. Anything is possible... Keep the faith."
Aye , that was a sweet day . All the sh1te talk in the build up to that one . Its all talk until the day , Mayo can do a Tyrone , it would be good for football nobody wants a monopoly like Kilkenny have in hullrling except Kilkenny of course .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 29/08/2016 07:27:16    1907274

Replying To Gleebo:  "No-one can stop this Dublin panzergruppen."
The nation expects a Dublin blitzkrieg on us how can you stop it?

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 29/08/2016 14:16:18    1907600

Replying To Spoddgy:  "The nation expects a Dublin blitzkrieg on us how can you stop it?"
No point in sending in the cavalry anyway.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/08/2016 15:01:01    1907643