Tipperary footballers deserve more respect.

Tipp have had a great year, and are on the up ,but lets be honest, they are a few years away from the level of Mayo, Dublin Kerry
Mayo by at least 7.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/08/2016 09:38:03    1903448

Tipperary have been decent enough in the previous 4 championships. They made round 4 twice and round 3 last year. They had lost to Galway in two good games in recent years. They were knocking on the door of beating Cork to make the Munster final. Kearns is just the man to improve on situations like that. It's no coincidence under his leadership that they did get the better of both.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 20/08/2016 10:23:57    1903456

Replying To legendzxix:  "Tipperary have been decent enough in the previous 4 championships. They made round 4 twice and round 3 last year. They had lost to Galway in two good games in recent years. They were knocking on the door of beating Cork to make the Munster final. Kearns is just the man to improve on situations like that. It's no coincidence under his leadership that they did get the better of both."
What's your point? Everyone here has said that already. It was you who started this thread with a fictional account of people being disrespectful to Tipperary football. Buy better bait the next time you go fishing.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 20/08/2016 10:55:33    1903460

Replying To Gleebo:  "Yeah, they're still whingeing, in a desperate attempt to deflect from the ocular probings of one of their number."
Shh!

Don't mention THAT incident. We don't want to pique the interest of the Dubs legal eagles!

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 20/08/2016 13:01:31    1903498

Replying To roundball:  "Mayo? Controversial? Are you still whinging about Aidan O'Shea falling over? Or was it Lee Keegan having a roll around with poor wee Diarmuid Connolly that has you all hot and bothered? Maybe you've been taking TheMaster a bit too seriously.

Come on man! How are Mayo any more controversial than your boys and their fabled "principles"?"
HAHA very true .They are no more controversial than ourselves or the Dubs, in fact probably less that either of us. Just people are still screwed up over O'shea and his trip/dive thing.We are all guilty counties , except maybe Tipp (yet)

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 20/08/2016 13:39:16    1903522

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "HAHA very true .They are no more controversial than ourselves or the Dubs, in fact probably less that either of us. Just people are still screwed up over O'shea and his trip/dive thing.We are all guilty counties , except maybe Tipp (yet)"
The fact that we're not guilty of it yet is the main reason I think we'll be beaten tomorrow! Mayo, like Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal are streetwise. Dublin GAA try to frame the debate to make it seem they are somehow different. They're not. And I'm not naive enough to think that hurling is devoid of a bit of skullduggery either. That's the nature of top level sport. As long as we never become bitter or get the level of systemic corruption we see from FIFA and the IOC, I'll be happy.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 20/08/2016 14:14:52    1903536

Replying To legendzxix:  "All-Ireland minor winners '11.
All-Ireland U21 finalists '15.

There's a lot of bitter comments directed towards Tipperary in other threads. It's totally uncalled for. They are in the semi-final on merit. They superbly beat Cork to make the Munster final. They dusted themselves down from defeat to win a qualifier round and then knock out the Connaught champions."
Absolutely. Forget about their inter county pedigree to date, theyre here on merit, they tore us apart, and on form should give Mayo a serious game.
I feel that Tipp might win tomorrow.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 20/08/2016 17:05:59    1903597

Replying To roundball:  "The fact that we're not guilty of it yet is the main reason I think we'll be beaten tomorrow! Mayo, like Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal are streetwise. Dublin GAA try to frame the debate to make it seem they are somehow different. They're not. And I'm not naive enough to think that hurling is devoid of a bit of skullduggery either. That's the nature of top level sport. As long as we never become bitter or get the level of systemic corruption we see from FIFA and the IOC, I'll be happy."
Yeah true. Tipp might not be the most angry of opponents yet. Mayo have lost 7 AI finals since 1989 in a row , and a number of semis in the last few years on top of that ,if that doesn't make a team angry enough on the pitch I don't know what will.They won't be think twice about doing what ever has to be done to any player in the dark arts so they can get into another final.

Personally I don't mind all that handbag and targeting stuff.Not a fan of verbally winding a man up but physically and mentally within the rules.Even at the sake of a yellow but then again it is how we play up this way.Tipp are a young team and also don't really come up against the big boys often in big matches like this anyway.....but we will see what they are made of tomorrow .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 20/08/2016 23:23:03    1903701

Fair play to Tipperary for giving it their all. They fully deserve respect. They need to kick on now and get out of Division 3. All-Ireland semi-finalists and provincial challengers should not be hanging around down there.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 21/08/2016 17:33:29    1903942

Tell that to Messrs Brolly & O'Rourke!

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 22/08/2016 13:34:52    1904439

The Mayo fans hung around to clap Tipp off the pitch yesterday, how's that for respect?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 22/08/2016 17:16:23    1904563

The Mayo fans hung around to clap Tipp off the pitch yesterday, how's that for respect?

Gleebo (Mayo)

If Mayo win the All-Ireland, ye're final opponents will most likely do the same for ye. There was a touch of Mayo's true colours 2 years ago when ye thought ye had the semi-final won the first day. The only county who won't want ye to win on the 18th of September is ye're final opponent for obvious reasons.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 22/08/2016 18:51:26    1904595

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Yeah true. Tipp might not be the most angry of opponents yet. Mayo have lost 7 AI finals since 1989 in a row , and a number of semis in the last few years on top of that ,if that doesn't make a team angry enough on the pitch I don't know what will.They won't be think twice about doing what ever has to be done to any player in the dark arts so they can get into another final.

Personally I don't mind all that handbag and targeting stuff.Not a fan of verbally winding a man up but physically and mentally within the rules.Even at the sake of a yellow but then again it is how we play up this way.Tipp are a young team and also don't really come up against the big boys often in big matches like this anyway.....but we will see what they are made of tomorrow ."
Yeah. I think it showed again yesterday. Our lads are physically tough and mentally resilient but just not up to Mayo's level of street smart. Mayo out Tyroned Tyrone after all! Top teams know how to push the rules right to the limits and it's that sort of competitive instinct that's kept Mayo in this championship despite not being in form. Tyrone were past masters, Dublin and Kerry do it, the Kilkenny hurlers, the All Blacks, the New England Patriots...

I know it drives people nuts at times. I certainly don't think Mayo are the worst offenders ever but they're certainly not without that bit of poison. And a lot of Mayo lads I know are quietly happy about that.

Anyway... hopefully we'll be back. We definitely have the talent to compete.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 22/08/2016 19:27:47    1904606

Replying To Gleebo:  "The Mayo fans hung around to clap Tipp off the pitch yesterday, how's that for respect?"
Above and beyond respect fair play to Mayo and thanks it was great from their fans.
Probably the last and only time we'll be clapped off the field.
Our underdog status is gone. We'll be expected to beat anyone outside of Dublin Mayo Kerry Tyrone Donegal and probably Monaghan from now on such is our progress.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 22/08/2016 19:39:15    1904614

Replying To WildPundit:  "Above and beyond respect fair play to Mayo and thanks it was great from their fans.
Probably the last and only time we'll be clapped off the field.
Our underdog status is gone. We'll be expected to beat anyone outside of Dublin Mayo Kerry Tyrone Donegal and probably Monaghan from now on such is our progress."
Does John Evans deserve some praise for the success of Tipperary football ? I think he brought Kearns onboard with him in Tipp and was instrumental in Kearns getting the main job. I heard him on Wooly's show on about Tipperary football. Like a proud father talking about his children the man has enough enthusiasm that could raise the dead.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 22/08/2016 22:15:54    1904670

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Does John Evans deserve some praise for the success of Tipperary football ? I think he brought Kearns onboard with him in Tipp and was instrumental in Kearns getting the main job. I heard him on Wooly's show on about Tipperary football. Like a proud father talking about his children the man has enough enthusiasm that could raise the dead."
Peter Creedon deserves more credit in my view. Very smart football man, laid the ground work for this with his stint as senior manager and years working at underage.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 22/08/2016 23:19:24    1904697

Replying To legendzxix:  "The Mayo fans hung around to clap Tipp off the pitch yesterday, how's that for respect?

Gleebo (Mayo)

If Mayo win the All-Ireland, ye're final opponents will most likely do the same for ye. There was a touch of Mayo's true colours 2 years ago when ye thought ye had the semi-final won the first day. The only county who won't want ye to win on the 18th of September is ye're final opponent for obvious reasons."
I've often heard you make vague references to something that obviously offended you from the Mayo support that day, so here's your chance. Spit it out or forever hold your peace.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 23/08/2016 08:41:18    1904723

Its important Tipp have a good year next year and keep the momentum growing. The experienced they've gained over the summer should be invaluable and should help them going forward.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 23/08/2016 14:28:27    1904883

As I Galway fan I have been very impressed by some "new" teams making great strides such as Tipp, Clare, and Roscommon, etc. I believe my beloved Galway are on their way up too. At least I hope so.

WoodlawnPat (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 23/08/2016 15:37:42    1904924

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "Its important Tipp have a good year next year and keep the momentum growing. The experienced they've gained over the summer should be invaluable and should help them going forward."
They've earned a seeding for a bye to the provincial semi-finals next year. The 4 minnows of Clare, Cork, Limerick and Waterford will be starting out in the quarter-finals.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 23/08/2016 19:37:09    1905037